Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do you live?

• 31-05-2011 2:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38 hollyday

Hi All,

I have found myself in a pickle with regards to accomodation lately. I'm 27, female, single and working full time. However, I can't afford to rent my own apartment or get a mortgage as I am in quite a low paid job. So I'm still stuck living at home and this is driving me insane! I spent one year abroad and loved my own freedom. None of my friends are in a position to rent with me as they are all in relationships and living with their partners. My options seem to be either to move in with strangers, (which seems worse than living at home) or move out of the city and live all alone :confused: Just wondering what living arrangements others with the same circumstances as me have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I'm on a PhD stipend and paying off a loan at the mo, but I've realised that spending money on a nice place to live where I feel comfortable is my absolute priority.

Obviously you can't live beyond your means, but I know people on social welfare who are living independently. It all depends on priorities. I'd much rather spend my money on rent for a place of my own than on eating out, or going drinking.

Right now rents are seriously cheap, there are decent studios and one beds for €450-500 per month. Most employed people who are full-time should be able to afford that, if you're smart about your utilities too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Why do you say living with strangers is worse than living at home? Have you ever house-shared before? I think it's one of those life experiences that can be a positive thing! I'm not saying that there wouldn't be issues - there always are with people sharing common areas, but it would give you independence. I've also found that if you live with people who are from different cities they often go home a fair bit and you get the place to yourself from time to time ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I'm 23 and I've been living in Dublin paying my own way since I was 19 (moved to college when I was 18 and my parents payed my first year in student residences) I've moved around a fair bit and lived with complete strangers every time.

Personally I would like a flat to myself. I did get on very well with my flatmates in my other houses but my flat mate now is a taxi driver and sometimes he wakes me up coming in or going out to work, that is my only complaint about him.

With reference to your own position I would tell you to house share, it would be cheaper, you would make new friends and just have more options in general. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I've been house sharing since I was 17, and like sqeaky I've lived in a good few different places at this stage! At the mo though, I'm sharing an apartment with one girl, and it's the best arrangement I've had so far. I get my own space when I need it, but there's someone there to chat to if I want to aswell :) I didn't know her before she moved in but she's a really sound girl, so I think if you have a proper chat with people before moving in with them, and make sure you get on etc., then I can't see any mad problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

I moved out of home to the far side of the country when i was 19, then moved again to another completely different part of the country at 20.
    The whole time I was living away I was house sharing, and although I didn't get on with everyone I lived it, it was the best way to go for me!
    I moved home to go back to college when I was 24, but only planned on staying at home for 6 months. Now I'm living here 2 years, still in college, and pregnant.
    Am planning on moving out before the baby comes, but this time it won't be house sharing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

I live on my own, and while the rent does cripple me, i wouldnt have it any other way. Ive tried house sharing before, but im a shift worker, and it can be a nightmare to shere with people on normal hours!!

I moved back home last year (well "home", it's somewhere new that mum is living) after my last lease was up and my ex and I thought he might move over soon, so I didn't want to commit to a new one
    Mum and I are more like housemates than anything else now so it's quite easygoing and I don't mind and she appreciates the rent.
    I don't think anything is wrong with housesharing at all, I got lucky in my last place but if you have a nice chat with whomever before you move in, you should have no issues.
    I was thinking it might be time to move on again but I'm pretty fussy about what I want in a living place and I'm not in a massive rush - a friend should be moving out in the coming months and I said we could look for somewhere together maybe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I've been renting or house-sharing since I left home at 16. We now own a house we don't like in a town we don't want to live in....yay!!!

It was supposed to be an investment that with a bit of work gave us a leg up to the next rung of the housing ladder but now it's worth a bit less than we paid for it. I guess we should thank our lucky stars that we didn't saddle ourselves with a humongous mortgage which we'll never make back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Moved out when I was 16 [though went to boarding school before that] and went through a series of college dorms, shared flats and living alone and living alone would always be the first choice for me even if meant having less spare cash. I keep very odd hours and there wouldn't be many who would be able to house share with me and I've also had one too many bad house share stories to want to go there again. One flatmate stalked me and made me feel so uncomfortable that I couldn't leave my room. I was only 18 and when I told my mum I got some amount of abuse for not being able to share etc etc She never understood and it just put me off sharing with strangers for a long time. Next time I did end up sharing girl turned out to be a massive coke head....le sigh! I do currently share a flat but with my brother which is a heck of alot of easier as I'm big sister so get my way *evil laugh*....just kidding.....honest!

My friend Tom has had the worest luck ever when it comes to house shares, first place turned out the guy was subletting illegally and hadn't paid rent in months. Tom came home after a few months to find him gone and police there. Moved in a hurry in with this random girl who turned out to have serious mental health issues. She was also doing something dodgy with rent and was secretly moving her stuff out and when he caught her she screamed rape and had him arrested! He moved in to a place on his own after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I moved out with my boyfriend when I was 19 after only being together 12 months. Had intended to move out with friends, but they needed to live southside and I needed to live northside so it didnt work out at the last minute, so we kinda just went for our own place! At 23, we are in our fourth apartment-the favourite so far-and loving it.

Dunno if I could house share with strangers-Ive heard horror stories and would always choose to live with friends. That said, I would choose who carefully. I could never live at home again no matter how broke I was-there would always be another option.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Have lived out of home since I was 18, always in houseshares and they've nearly always been great craic. I've been hugely lucky with finding housemates of mostly the same mindset as mine. There has been one or two dodgy ones along the way but thankfully either of us have moved on before it became a massive issue.

My second best house ever was when I lived with my brother and another girl, we were like a proper little family with the messing that went on. I used love coming home on a daily basis for the couple of years we lived together and was completely devastated when we decided to let the house go. I know that sounds dramatic but I can't tell you guys just how lovely our little home was.

Currently I live with one of my best friends and it is my best house. We are like a married couple and every day is a right giggle, we have only had one argument and that was because we felt we weren't doing enough fun things and that we didn't want to take our friendship for granted just because we were living together. It was the nicest basis for an argument ever. She's gone off on hols now, they did ask me to go but I declined as it wasn't my kinda holiday, she's only gone since this morning and already I miss her. :o

Mind you, she texted me to say she misses me too so I don't feel like such a saddo. :D

Anyway, the point of all my rambling OP was to tell you to just go for it and houseshare. It could be the best thing ever, you could meet some super people and sure if you meet some horrors then it gives you a good story to tell your mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I've been out of home since my early 20s.

Best bit of independence was sharing with another girl, we got on great, socialised together, shared clothes etc. Only moved out because I bought my own place and I was so lonely I let out the spare rooms to two other girls.

Now myself and my OH have our own place in the countryside and I love it.

I've only just realised I've never lived alone:eek:

hollyday wrote: »
    I'm 27, female, single and working full time. However, I can't afford to rent my own apartment or get a mortgage as I am in quite a low paid job.

I'm assuming you live in Dublin - where rent is just crazy.

I'm 22, female, and working part-time.
    And yet, I can still aford to rent.
    Funny isint it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭wha

I lived away from home for 3 years in college and loved being independent but HATED being the cleanest one in the house! lived in some awful kips.

Back home now and I hate not being able to do simple things like have day time naps without being disturbed, and having to be home at a certain time for dinner and having my every move questioned!

I've an offer to live with some really cool people in a few months, rent is really cheap (250) and its right beside my job so i'll be able to work about 20 hours a week while doing a diploma. My parents think i'm being ridiculous and won't be able to afford it but I'm determined!! Independence is amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Smeggy

hollyday wrote: »
    Hi All,

I have found myself in a pickle with regards to accomodation lately. I'm 27, female, single and working full time. However, I can't afford to rent my own apartment or get a mortgage as I am in quite a low paid job. So I'm still stuck living at home and this is driving me insane! I spent one year abroad and loved my own freedom. None of my friends are in a position to rent with me as they are all in relationships and living with their partners. My options seem to be either to move in with strangers, (which seems worse than living at home) or move out of the city and live all alone :confused: Just wondering what living arrangements others with the same circumstances as me have?

OP I am in exact same situation, I'm also 27 :) lived abroad for a year, low paid job.. I considered breaking the bank to rent but I can't justify it, better the devil you know (my parents haha)

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

When I saw this thread, I counted all the different places I had lived. 18 different house shares :eek:

I met heaps of people - made lots of friends along the way, met their friends, introduced to dateable guys. Mostly I have lived with lovely people, but I also had a handful of assholes, lazy ones, manky ones, clean freaks sharing with me from time to time. My boyfriend had even zanier ones - he counts a soapbox religious street evangelist, an african prince (complete with entourage :p) and someone who was a serious dealer he was blissfully unaware of until the Drugs Squad raided the gaff as his more memorable flatshares.

It is a great experience to learn to live with all different types of people, even the ones who wreck your head. The vast, vast majority that i shared with were grand.

Go for it - if it doesnt work out, you can always move out.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Neyite wrote: »
    When I saw this thread, I counted all the different places I had lived. 18 different house shares :eek:

It is a great experience to learn to live with all different types of people, even the ones who wreck your head. The vast, vast majority that i shared with were grand.

Go for it - if it doesnt work out, you can always move out.

I shared with the same if not more than that amount, learned loads from it. NOthing wrong with sharing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

I'm living at home at the mo but hope to have moved out by this time next year, tho only at home 9-10 days out of 14 cause i head over to the bf's every second week, well have to annoy his parents too at some stage:D

dont think i could live with other people tbh, i have a weird sleeping pattern and wouldnt feel right sittin up all night watching tv while others are sleeping....yes i know im strange:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

I'm 27 and live at home as well OP. I was working in a badly paid job as well, and decided to go back to college last September to get a degree, so I'll be at home until that is finished. It doesn't bother me too much as I have my car, and I'm not questioned as to where I'm going to be at any time of the day. Plus, I can't really complain, my parents have been really supportive since I decided to go back to college, and have helped me out financially a lot, so I'd be a total hypocrite to be giving out about them!

• If you're working full time and can't afford to rent, you're doing something seriously wrong. Rents in Dublin are pretty reasonable now. Even if you think renting a studio or a one bed apt is a waste of money (which I could understand), why not just rent a room in a houseshare? I've had some bad flatmates but I've had lots of good ones as well. I'd definitely always pick a houseshare over living at home. I've lived with all sorts of people from tons of different countries - I can't imagine not having had all those experiences. You can get OK rooms for about 300 euro a month now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

I am living at home as well. I am in my late 20s. Yes, sometimes it can be a bit of a pain in the backside, but I am lucky in that I can come and go as I please and I get on grand with my family.

I suppose I never needed to move out. I went to University in Cork and I live within walking distance of the city, so for me to move out would be a waste financially given that I can walk to the city, so no point moving nearer to the city and if I moved to a different area, I probably wouldn't be in walking distance so not only would I have to budget for rent, I'd also have to budget for extra petrol (I do drive, but not all the often) as well as buses etc.

I will have to grow up one of these days and move out, but for now it is suiting me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I still live at home (along with 2 of my brothers) and I reckon I'll be here for the forseeable future cos I'm going back to college next year so there'll be no way I could afford to move out!

I love my parents though and get on great with them so I don't mind, they give me a lot of freedom and the money we all pay in rent really helps them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

I moved out of home when I was 18 and other than a brief spate back at home when I was 22, I've been in house shares all that time - some good, some bad.

I bought my own place in 2008 though and I love it, I think I've grown out of the house sharing phase at this point.

As other posters have said it is a renters market, if you have a full time job you should be able to rent as well, not sure where in the country you are, but there are plenty of options these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

I'm hurtling towards 30 and living with my parents. I emigrated when I was 16 and this is my first proper experience of living with them when I'm not an angst ridden teenager they don't understand :D I earn enough to live away from them, but they're not getting any younger and I guess I've missed the last 13 years of them really so staying close is important to me, for now.

I lived by myself for about half the time I was away and the rest was in house/apartment shares (and in one cases a room-share with a stranger who is now my very best friend in the world). As most people have, I had some truly strange and often downright creepy housemates, but they've been balanced out by the nice and 'normal' ones. It's nowhere near the worst decision you'll ever make and may turn out to be the best. I look back on the bad housemates as character-building and the good ones as friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i moved out of home at 17. i spent most of college living with housemates but have lived alone for 10 year now, maybe a bit longer, and i love it. i love the freedom and independence, the fact that i dont share my home and personal space with others.

if for some reason i had to share a house again i imagine i'd find it very difficult. i'm quite a private person and sharing my life does not come easily to me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Does it not get lonely living on your own? I think about doing it, but I think I'd end up going for days without seeing another person.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

When my brother first moved to London he had a flat to himself, but found it very lonely - I suppose it is different when you've just moved to a new city, but he said the realisation that he might die and nobody would notice for a few days wasn't very nice.

Sharing with people does have its nuisance aspects, but I think living with people who aren't your family is a good experience and teaches you to be more tolerant. Sure, there are things that wreck my head about my flatmates - one of them is seriously OCD, one walks around singing off-key the whole time, one was awful for putting the heating on the whole time resulting in massive bills, and we had one girl who was a drama queen/bítch/no sense of personal hygiene (well rid of her, ugh) - but then I'm probably not the perfect flatmate either, and it's certainly cheaper than renting a place by myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

If you're working full time, you can easily afford to share.

I went back to college last september and to do the course I had to move and move out of home. I lived of €150 a week. It can be done. €75 on rent, €25 on bills, €20-30 for food, €10 for bus fare. So it worked out to be €300 pm on rent, €100 on bills, €120 on food, €40 bus fare.
    Now, 100 a month on bills might seem alot when you're sharing, and we had cheap ESB every two months, i think the most i ever paid on ESB was €35. But i saved the rest, which was kept for bills only like oil.

Now that college is finished for the summer, im on the dole so i have an extra €30 a week.

It can be done.

I think moving out was the best thing i ever did. I have more money. My mother constantly drained me out of every penny i had. She expected the girls to pay their way while at home. But she never took money of the lads. She even refused to take it off my brother once when he offered and had the money in his hand.
    It was very unfair. She did everything for them and took no money for it. She bought their clothes, food, toiletries, everything. Never took a penny of them.
    While she expected housekeeping of the girls. As soon as a new bill arrived through the door she expected us to cough up. She expected us to buy our own food too. The food was always taken. If i did a weekly shop for myself, it would be gone. If i bought food daily, it was far too expensive shopping in the small local shop. I just couldn't win.

While she did everything for the lads. I didn't expect to be living like that in my 20s. Im so glad im out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Faith wrote: »
    Does it not get lonely living on your own? I think about doing it, but I think I'd end up going for days without seeing another person.

Not quite but I have gone full days without speaking because the opportunity never arose.

Look everything is an experience and if I had a list of things to do before you settle down I would put living a year on your own on it. Think of all the things you can do and nobody will ever know ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Faith wrote: »

not for me, but as i said I'm a very private person. I love living alone and I can never imagine choosing to house-share again. I enjoy my own company and I very rarely get bored.

I see friends and colleagues 5 days a week at work , and some weekends we also meet up. sure, there are days when I don't meet anyone but that doesn't bother me, in fact i usually welcome the solitude .

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I would love to live on my own but at the moment its not option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I would sell a limb to live alone. Housesharing truly is hell (see ranting and raving thread). Ive lived with so many oddballs over the past 10 years, I think I need some time alone! Unfortunately I cannot afford to rent on my own with 1 beds being out of my price range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

If you are in your late 20's and have never lived away from home it time to grow up.
    Get a house share and see how things go. You will met new people, learn to get on with people, learn to budget and have a life without your mother knowing where you are and who your always with. You can have a relationship in comfort also.
    I had several different jobs in Dublin and some did not pay great but I could afford rent by not going out every night drinking/ buying designer clothes/ having a new car or spending to keep up with friends who were on better wages. If you find the house share does not work look for a studio.

I know a girl who is in her late 30's with a great job who does not have a lavish lifestyle.
    She never left home and she moans to me why is she not married. Her mother is elderly and knows every time she meet someone for a drink. Her sister told her recently that she should get a move on and get married. This girl could buy a house with no mortgage in the morning but is waiting for a man to come along and take her away from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭managerman

i recently movbed into a studio in rathmines, so im living alone and i love it, im 25 and single, the freedom is amazing.. i dont get lonely at all, couple of my friends live near by so their always calling over or passing by..

studio is 500 a month and well able to afford it, less than a weeks wages,

i have house shared before and it was just not for me.. i found it better on my own as im not worrying about other people, as in if i was to go out late, or have people over... can do whatever i want now! its good!!!

I first moved out of home when I was 19 - it was basically to get close to this girl I had the serious hots on at the time, but it was also because I was living about an hours bus trip from the college, which I couldn't stand. For the first year, my parents supported me, but in the second year I got a job and have supported myself since then. I tend to move every 1 1/2-2 years and I've had quite a few .. interesting housemates.

managerman wrote: »
    i recently movbed into a studio in rathmines, so im living alone and i love it, im 25 and single, the freedom is amazing.. i dont get lonely at all, couple of my friends live near by so their always calling over or passing by..

studio is 500 a month and well able to afford it, less than a weeks wages,

i have house shared before and it was just not for me.. i found it better on my own as im not worrying about other people, as in if i was to go out late, or have people over... can do whatever i want now! its good!!!

I had a look at some of the studio ones - I can't decide if living in a claustrophobic-looking room (with a full bed in it :confused: ) or housemates would be worse - probably the former :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

sam34 wrote: »
    not for me, but as i said I'm a very private person. I love living alone and I can never imagine choosing to house-share again. I enjoy my own company and I very rarely get bored.

I see friends and colleagues 5 days a week at work , and some weekends we also meet up. sure, there are days when I don't meet anyone but that doesn't bother me, in fact i usually welcome the solitude .

I'd love to live on my own as I've always house-shared since 18. After years of living with various strangers I live with 4 of my friends now so it's a lot nicer, but I still think I'd like my own place. Not that I could afford it- I'm in London where rent is ludicrously high. Even though I earn a decent amount now it would almost all go on rent if I were to do that.

I'm naturally quite reclusive though so I think it's good for me to have to socialise though! I know if I lived on my own I'd end up never seeing anyone else, apart from work people, ever and my habit of audibly talking to myself would get way out of hand!

BTW: What is living in a studio actually like? It would be all I could afford if I move in the immediate future but would it drive me crazy? I do spend a lot of time in my room as it is so it probably wouldn't make a massive difference, but I'm not sure if I'm keen on the idea of cooking and sleeping in the same space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 hollyday

Thanks for all the replies ladies, some great stories and input. I am living in Cork where rent is quite high. I had a quick look at some bedsits/1 beds and there really isn't much around, compared cork with dublin and it seems south city dublin has many more places at reasonable costs. Maybe it's just a cork thing :rolleyes: I will keep looking though! Really don't think I could house share again, I did it while in college in the UK and it made me realise how much I like my own space.
    Hopefully in the meantime my prince charming will come along, sweep me off my feet and we can move in together and live happily ever after! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭managerman

bluewolf wrote: »
    I had a look at some of the studio ones - I can't decide if living in a claustrophobic-looking room (with a full bed in it :confused: ) or housemates would be worse - probably the former :pac:

well its not that bad... its clean and everything works... put your own stuff into it and it looks grand... i seen a lot of other places and they were ****holes! this place is nice and in a lovely area,

but depends on if you could live alone is the main thing!