Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is your goal in life?

• 31-05-2011 1:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

My goal in life is to be a successful businessman,
    In particular to open a garden center as flowers and plants,etc are one of the things I have a passion for.
    So whats your life goal(s)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

To reach my full potential. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

To reach legendary statues!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Oranage2 wrote: »
    i hear they have them on facebook now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Before I had kids: to conquer the world (so to speak).

After had (4) kids : see that they are raised as best I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

To have a movie made from a screenplay that I write.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

To create a perfect undersea city in which superhumans could practice objectivism!!

However, it is surprisingly difficult for convicted sex offenders to secure construction loans. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

strobe wrote: »
    To create a perfect undersea city in which superhumans could practice objectivism!!

However, it is surprisingly difficult for convicted sex offenders to secure construction loans. :(

Hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Biggins wrote: »
    Before I had kids: to conquer the world (so to speak).

After had (4) kids : see that they are raised as best I can.

Or, better yet, have them conquer the world for you.

Me, my only goal is not to have any regrets. Don't want to be too old looking back wishing I did something that I have ample time to do now...............like building that rocket to collect some moon cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I don't know.

Closest I can come to is to have a wife I love, a decent house, decent second hand car, a job I like and just enough money to pay all the bills and have a little left over.

Maybe a few kids, oh and a dog too.

That sounds nice.

Much less specific answer: Be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

Kojak wrote: »
    Your ma.

Wow, first time I posted that.

I'm actually at my mothers house right now(visiting).
    I told her and she thinks your the television character, and she said she wouldn't mind,ha! She thinks 'your' a hunk. I'm in stitches here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

iguy wrote: »
    I'm actually at my mothers house right now(visiting).
    I told her and she thinks your the television character, and she said she wouldn't mind,ha! She thinks 'your' a hunk. I'm in stitches here.

Very good, but the tv character has been dead for years....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Enjoy myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Oranage2 wrote: »

So you want to feel-up legendary statues!

Kinky

To drive as much of the world as I can by motorbike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

to forget who I am and what Im doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

And how far have you got good sir?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

To be happy and that those I love be happy too.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    And how far have you got good sir?

4,550km all over Vietnam last year so fek all really.. Gave me the taste for it.
    Now I'm saving for the next 15/18 months for South America and started learning Spanish already. Fly to Argentina and drive to Venezuela or do it the other way around.

After that, find somewhere to save money and do it again somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Jude13

Be a good father.
    Get back the one that got away.
    Save enough money up here so I can move back to reality within two years.
    Get one more rugby season out of my achillies.
    The first one is obviously priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

shag 30 women in 15 days....

midgets don't count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Fame!

To be happy again!

To have no regrets!

To have as many experiences as I can!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

My goal? To have a goal. Having wasted 4 years of my life doing a course i didn't like, any ambition or hope i once had has been completely drained away. I just want to do something that has some positive impact somewhere in the world. I just don't know what that something is yet. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Tilt Gone

Having been raised in Philadelphia and spending most of my days playing basketball on the playground there. Hopefully my mother will get tired of me getting up to no good and force me to move in with my rich auntie and uncle in Bel Air

Hilarity ensues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭dead one

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Fame!
    What you will do with this Fame.. in this mortal world....
    To be happy again!
    If you want to be happy..... don't be materialistic...
    To have no regrets!
    alway speak truth and be just....
    To have as many experiences as I can!
    Learn, Learn and Learn!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Kojak wrote: »
    Very good, but the tv character has been dead for years....

So has the "yore ma" joke but that didn't stop you from posting it, did it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

4,550km all over Vietnam last year so fek all really.. Gave me the taste for it.
    Now I'm saving for the next 15/18 months for South America and started learning Spanish already. Fly to Argentina and drive to Venezuela or do it the other way around.

After that, find somewhere to save money and do it again somewhere else.
    Nice.

Good to see a pretty sweet goal and some serious dedication to it.

Enjoy it man, although I'm sure you will :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Life goals would be to travel, see the world and have no regrets.
    Its harder than it sounds when you aren't loaded but Im working on it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

iguy wrote: »
    So whats your life goal(s)?
    to have no regrets.

to have sunny mornings, when everyone is happy, the kids are laughing and the smell of coffee spread around the house. family trips, barbecue in the garden, doing/seeing as much as i can before i die - this is my time, here and now.

it's simple, but seems fun to me.
    dreaming about business, big money, stress - sorry, i've grown up from that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

vagina and vagina-related activities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

To once, just once, say to myself "just an hour on boards, no more" and actually stick to it. The rest will take care of itself after that I'm sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

To achieve sufficient capital that I can live off interest. (i.e. dividends etc)
    Then I can choose to work or not. But if choosing to work, then it would be something I'm passionate about. That's the conundrum for me. Finding that passion. The capital accrual will take care of itself.

I believe it's called financial freedom :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

To once, just once, say to myself "just an hour on boards, no more" and actually stick to it. The rest will take care of itself after that I'm sure.

:o thought that was just me.

well I don't want to get married or have any children, so i guess the usuals are out. hmm. i'll have to go with the generic to be happy. it's a monsterous goal in itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

A rocket car and a solid gold house. As long as I have them, I'll want for nothing more.

medium term, qualify and make enough to be comfortable. travel a lot. live life.
    get out of the habit of omitting capital letters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭willow tree

iguy, i also want your ma but just to hang out with, she sounds gas.. yeah broadly spaeaking, happiness and health,, ... but after doing work i love for the last 10years for little money i now want money.. id love to do work, something tto do with what michael pollan writes about the relationship between the land and health, the more you spend on good food the less you spend on healthcare interests me.. id like to get healthier:) the most important thing to me is my daughter 11wks, i want all the good things life has to offer for her so if i can be a good mam to her and good role model im happy:D:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

To be a good father and good husband.

I them have my Bucket list which includes:

Rafting in the Grand Canyon
    Munich Beer festival
    Le Mons 24 hour.
    Dive with Great Whites
    Dive Truk
    Travel to Australia by land
    Drive down the Florida Keys in a Ford Mustang
    Be a Grandfather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

To get my Italian to the point where I can teach it in an English speaking country. Then to learn a language with roots in a different alphabet, ie Arabic or Russian.

Oh and custody of my first crush Heather Locklear every second tuesday of the month would be nice, but for some unknown reason the wife is not 100 per cent behind me on that one:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

To write a series of multi-award winning novels and then become stinking rich on foot of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭BrerWolf

to get to the ships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

My goal is to see tomorrow. I realise this isn't as fancy or as grand as most of ye and I hope ye all achieve your goals but I'll probably live into old age and when I fall off the perch they can do what the **** they want with me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

At the moment, to run a 10k obstacle course in October.

Next year to do a series of long distance cross country runs/treks.

Life ambition...

...global domination sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Buy a hostel on the coast of Colombia and spend the rest of my days there with my wonderful hunky Latin husband and 3 kids (Fiach, Naoise and Tadhg....yep, my unborn children have names).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

to be happy, simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

To do no harm & a little good if I can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

To get out of bed everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Victory!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

To be the world number 1 tiddly winks champion! Not a wink left un-tiddlied!

Failing that I will travel the world. Ideally I'd love to save and feck off on a big adventure and see as much as possible before settling down but with paying rent and bills etc it's hard to save that big and have a life so I'll be contented to see it all a small piece at a time, which I'm doing well enough at.

My dream would be to live somewhere tropical and sunny on the beach and have a small bar or surf shop and just live the easy life but I'd be happy with a more typical life with good people and good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Pdfile wrote: »
    shag 30 women in 15 days....

midgets don't count.

Just stack 'em two high and it's fairly achievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Miss Fluff wrote: »
    To write a series of multi-award winning novels and then become stinking rich on foot of them

Do something with a kid wizard in it. That should get you on the road.