Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eoin Kellys Goal Incident

• 30-05-2011 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭

No mention in the media about the incident straight after Eoin Kellys goal yesterday in Thurles. The Tipp forward purposely walked on Cusacks back after the ball hit the net. A cowardly act and he should be dealt with accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Didnt notice that till i watched the replay there, very cowardly alright and looked like it was done intentionally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

It was Lar Corbett who stood on Cusack's back. It happens in the 31st minute of the match in case anyone wants to have a look at it on rte player etc. It looks intentional.
    Cusack needs treatment with the physio after the incident. I'm suprised that he didn't complain to the umpires and ref about it (not that I can see anyway).
    If there isn't a mention about it in the media then the CCCCCCCCC committee probably won't do anything about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

Noticed that myself when i seen it after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭largepants

It was Lar Corbett who stood on Cusack's back. It happens in the 31st minute of the match in case anyone wants to have a look at it on rte player etc. It looks intentional.
    Cusack needs treatment with the physio after the incident. I'm suprised that he didn't complain to the umpires and ref about it (not that I can see anyway).
    If there isn't a mention about it in the media then the CCCCCCCCC committee probably won't do anything about it.

Thats what it looks like to me. If the Sunday Game highlight we'll make a move. Otherwise say nothing.BTW I'm not a Corkman just in case anyone thinks its sour grapes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Just watched it there.

Ouch!

That hurt with studs and momentum of running. Umpires should have seen it. they looked pretty poor yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

If this incident was carried out by a kk player the media would not let it lie until the cccc investigated it and lifetime bans would nearly be called for.A certain dublin player involved in both flash points in the league final was up to his usual tricks yesterday and can be seen pulling the face guards on two helmets but there is no metion of this in the media either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭big toenails

I noticed the Cork team physio looked a bit embarrassed at having to rub Donal's back.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Video is available here on 42 seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

He could have easily avoided Cusack there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

This is the new thing now is it?

I dont see how anyone can tell with how much force Corbetts boot goes into his Cusacks back.

1) He is running that direction in anticipation of a save or rebound

2) His eyes are probably not on Cusack when the goal goes in

3) He probably shifts his weight back to his left foot when he feels his right foot on Cusack

However, I admit that this should be investigated to determine whether it was intentional.

This is the new thing now is it?

I dont see how anyone can tell with how much force Corbetts boot goes into his Cusacks back.

1) He is running that direction in anticipation of a save or rebound

2) His eyes are probably not on Cusack when the goal goes in

3) He probably shifts his weight back to his left foot when he feels his right foot on Cusack

However, I admit that this should be investigated to determine whether it was intentional.

dont think there was that much downward pressure in it to be fair but i still think he had time to avoid Cusack pretty easily.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,980 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I must admit I didn't see it yesterday although I did wonder why Donal Óg needed treatment. Having watched it a few times now it is abundantly clear that he Could have missed him him if he wanted - but he didn't and in my eyes it was totally intentional, a very cheap shot. That is fairly poor form out of him in IMHO. How much damge/force there was is irrelevant as far as I am concerned.
    He definately could have avoided him, he didn't. Some players would have rolled around for a while screaming blue murder, I'm glad Donal Óg just got on with. I don't think he asked the umpires/ref if they saw it, but I could be wrong about that.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Matty Forde was vilified and got a 3 month ban and pretty much was never let it be forgotten when he did virtually the exact same thing againts Offaly in a football game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

might be worth dropping off the ball a line to try and get it into the media, no place for this

as a Clare man i might just do that :p we need a the help we can get and getting Corbett suspended is one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

bruschi wrote: »
    Matty Forde was vilified and got a 3 month ban and pretty much was never let it be forgotten when he did virtually the exact same thing againts Offaly in a football game.

No, Matty Forde deliberately stamped on the Offaly player's head.

Didn't Forde make contact with the Offaly player's head?
    There's a bit of a difference between contact with the lower back and the head. But I'm not saying that Corbett will/should not receive any disciplinary action just because he didn't make contact with the head either!
    I'm just pointing out that the two incidents weren't exactly the same :)

istabraq wrote: »
    If this incident was carried out by a kk player the media would not let it lie until the cccc investigated it and lifetime bans would nearly be called for.A certain dublin player involved in both flash points in the league final was up to his usual tricks yesterday and can be seen pulling the face guards on two helmets but there is no metion of this in the media either.

Like Tommy Walsh pulling across Andy Smith's legs last year or one of Jackie Tyrell's shoulders into the chest which he has got away with the last 2 years in the all ireland final???

When did they get banned so??:rolleyes:

If Corbett did deliberately stamp on Donal Og then shame on him to be honest but i dont see how they can prove the intention was there based on what Uptheslashers said

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Cant see what the fuss is about. With the jump he made, he was trying to avoid Cusacks dive, it looks like it was merely mistimed. Surely if he doesnt hit his back then hes going to fall on Donal Ogs legs which would have been way worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

Like Tommy Walsh pulling across Andy Smith's legs last year or one of Jackie Tyrell's shoulders into the chest which he has got away with the last 2 years in the all ireland final???

When did they get banned so??:rolleyes:

If Corbett did deliberately stamp on Donal Og then shame on him to be honest but i dont see how they can prove the intention was there based on what Uptheslashers said

All three incidents were seen by the referee and dealt with, so you've wasted one of your many rolleyes here

Nice goal by Kelly though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Looks to me like it could have been avoided. Wouldn't have thought Corbett was a dirty player though so it would surprise me if it was intentional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

It was a great goal, wasn't it?

Le King wrote: »
    It was a great goal, wasn't it?

Good man Le King your spot on it was a class finish from one of the best

....Amazing it must be the first time an OP has taken a thread off topic because a thread titled 'Eoin Kellys goal' has instantly become a thread about an alleged incident with a hurler who i would say has barely amassed a handful of bookings since 2001.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Good man Le King your spot on it was a class finish from one of the best

....Amazing it must be the first time an OP has taken a thread off topic because a thread titled 'Eoin Kellys goal' has instantly become a thread about an alleged incident with a hurler who i would say has barely amassed a handful of bookings since 2001.

Sorry but you're wrong there. The topic of the thread is the incident following Kelly's goal. Maybe he titled it incorrectly but it's not off topic.

Annuv wrote: »
    All three incidents were seen by the referee and dealt with, so you've wasted one of your many rolleyes here

Nice goal by Kelly though!

Ill refer you to the quote again from istabraq
    If this incident was carried out by a kk player the media would not let it lie until the cccc investigated it

Well the media didnt bring numerous incidents involving your beloved boys to the GAA's attention and the referees word is not always final so i am asking istabraq why werent the players subsequently banned based on media evidence??? Because none was presented thats why.

heres a few more for you
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Ill refer you to the quote again from istabraq

Well the media didnt bring numerous incidents involving your beloved boys to the GAA's attention and the referees word is not always final so i am asking istabraq why werent the players subsequently banned based on media evidence??? Because none was presented thats why.

heres a few more for you
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Well my point was that you're trying to compare incidents that were caught and dealt with by the referee to an incident that wasn't which as far as I am aware makes a big difference where the CCCC are concerned

While I wouldn't entirely agree with what istabraq says about the CCCC, and I suppose he was exaggerating, I do agree with the premise of his post, if this was done by a KK player they're would be a lot more about it, it's the hypocrisy that's annoying. I could only imagine the over the top posts peppered with words such as 'horror' 'thuggery' 'cynical' 'tramp' etc that would spewed out here if T. Walsh did what Corbett did

Anyway, I don't really give a **** what happens concerning Corbetts incident, i'm just interested to see how the usual Tipp pontificators see this one
    ..an alleged incident with a hurler who i would say has barely amassed a handful of bookings since 2001.

Tommy Walsh has only 'amassed a handful of bookings' since 2002*....

*his sending off was two bookings I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Leroy Lita

there was absolutely nothing in that incident. get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

I noticed the Cork team physio looked a bit embarrassed at having to rub Donal's back.

Ah, the eye of the prejudiced beholder.

Didn't Forde make contact with the Offaly player's head?
    There's a bit of a difference between contact with the lower back and the head. But I'm not saying that Corbett will/should not receive any disciplinary action just because he didn't make contact with the head either!
    I'm just pointing out that the two incidents weren't exactly the same :)

thats why I said virtually the exact same, player lying on the ground, and player could have avoided putting the foot on them. there was no force in either incident, as if there was, both players would have been properly injured. (fordes was more the back of the neck too). its a precedence though for any diciplinary action that could be taken. I doubt there will though. Both incidents were petulant rather than malicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

In fairness to Lar I don't think he could of done that much. Throwing a hurley at someone is worse. It's a a red card in the rule book. Where is all the commotion over that?

Again though, what a goal.

Well if the idea of this thread is to paint Tipp as a dirty team then the evidence presented is pretty lame and laughable. Try harder the next time or actually focus your attention on those teams and counties that try and pass off cynical filth as 'A mans game'.

I think its fair to say that every county and that is including our own have their players with cynical streaks which is not nice to see but there are counties who take immense pride in it and then there are those who actually don't condone it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Deise_Davy

Did anyone spot that Eoin Kelly took at least 8 steps before he flicked the ball on to his Hurley.

Deise_Davy wrote: »
    Did anyone spot that Eoin Kelly took at least 8 steps before he flicked the ball on to his Hurley.

Probably. Ah sure John Mullane never does that :D

Well if the idea of this thread is to paint Tipp as a dirty team then the evidence presented is pretty lame and laughable. Try harder the next time or actually focus your attention on those teams and counties that try and pass off cynical filth as 'A mans game'.

I think its fair to say that every county and that is including our own have their players with cynical streaks which is not nice to see but there are counties who take immense pride in it and then there are those who actually don't condone it.

Where has anyone tried to paint Tipp as a dirty team?. An incident involving a Tipp player has been taken in isolation for discussion, is that not permitted? Don't try and turn the thread into something it's not in order to prevent analysis of the incident

Which teams are you implying take 'immense pride' in cynisim?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Ye should all stop arguing. It was the best goal of the championship so far and leave it at that. Surely the OP could have came up with a more suitable title for the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Skyrim

Get over it. Jog your memories back to last May when Cadogan took out Brian O'Meara and there wasn't a word of it, so why should it be any different this time? Hope Cusack is ok btw. During the Tipp v Wexford game last year, one of the Wexford lads decided to stand on Conor O'Mahony's hand with the studs sticking in almost fully and there wasn't a word about it. Great win for Tipp, much to improve upon and now onto Clare.

jeez, fairly paranoid there or what. Corbett did a petulant thing, do you not agree? no one has said anything about Tipp being dirty or cynical or anything. no need to need to be so defensive about it. If the ref had seen it, it would probably have only merited a yellow card. it was just a stupid thing to do.

Le King wrote: »
    In fairness to Lar I don't think he could of done that much. Throwing a hurley at someone is worse. It's a a red card in the rule book. Where is all the commotion over that?

Again though, what a goal.

I'm just wondering what's throwing the hurl got to do with anything here? Pulling across a guys face is worse but it's just as much out of context here as throwing the hurl

By the way, I wasn't aware that throwing the hurl warrants a red card, is this a recent rule change?

From the GAA website, I see two references to throwing the hurl:

RULE 4 - TECHNICAL FOULS

4.8 To drop the hurley intentionally, or to throw the hurley in a manner which does not constitute a danger to another player.

PENALTY FOR ABOVE FOULS - Free puck from where the foul occurred, except as provided under Exceptions of Rule 2.2.

RULE 5 - AGGRESSIVE FOULS

5.23 To throw a hurley in a manner which constitutes a danger to another player(s).

PENALTY FOR ABOVE FOULS -
    (i) Caution offender; order off for second cautionable foul.
    (ii) Free puck from where the foul occurred except as provided under Exceptions of Rule 2.2.

I haven't read the rule book in its entirety so I stand to be corrected

jeez, fairly paranoid there or what. Corbett did a petulant thing, do you not agree? no one has said anything about Tipp being dirty or cynical or anything. no need to need to be so defensive about it. If the ref had seen it, it would probably have only merited a yellow card. it was just a stupid thing to do.

The argument is whether it was petulant or not.

If you think it was petulant then fair enough you are entitled to your opinion but i really dont know how you can establish that without seeing a close up of the incident?

The argument is whether it was petulant or not.

If you think it was petulant then fair enough you are entitled to your opinion but i really dont know how you can establish that without seeing a close up of the incident?

:confused: why would I need a close up to see that he stood on Cusacks back? its clear as day.

How do you know the intent was there so? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

While there's no doubt that Lar Corbett did make contact with Donal Og's back there wasn't any Cork players making an issue out of it and as far as I'm concerned the issue should be dropped now.

Cork should be quite happy with themselves after giving a good performance against a Tipperary team who IMO will get stronger as the championship goes on. Congratulations to Tipp on winning and well done to Cork for making a great game of it yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Deise_Davy wrote: »

I really didnt think we'd become the new "kilkenny" until (IF) we won at least 2 in a row, but people seem to looking for ways to stain Tipp already. Its seriously pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I really didnt think we'd become the new "kilkenny" until (IF) we won at least 2 in a row, but people seem to looking for ways to stain Tipp already. Its seriously pathetic

Well as a Corkman I have nothing but the highest respect for this Tipp side.

They dont have a dirty player in the team, they have some wonderful skillful players and some tough players but none them dirty and anyone who says otherwise is talking through their arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

As a Corkman also, I've got to say also these things happen....every county will have a player who steps out of line from time to time (remember Tom Kenny to Cha Fitzpatrick). Corbett shouldn't have done it, he'll know that better than anyone today. Credit to Donal Óg too for not making anything of it.

Move on.

Credit the Tipp line too for making the right changes when Cork drew level in the second half.

Cork have to learn how to score goals. Without goals nowadays, you're never going to beat the top teams.

eigrod wrote: »
    As a Corkman also, I've got to say also these things happen....every county will have a player who steps out of line from time to time (remember Tom Kenny to Cha Fitzpatrick). Corbett shouldn't have done it, he'll know that better than anyone today. Credit to Donal Óg too for not making anything of it.

Move on.

Credit the Tipp line too for making the right changes when Cork drew level in the second half.

Cork have to learn how to score goals. Without goals nowadays, you're never going to beat the top teams

On that note i felt Cork were unlucky with them 2 goal chances and they are certainly a team i wouldn't accuse of not being clinical enough. tipp scored 6 goals in the 09 semi final albeit against a poor limerick side but it just wouldn't go in for them in the final the same year. it happens teams on a given day too.

thats why I said virtually the exact same, player lying on the ground, and player could have avoided putting the foot on them. there was no force in either incident, as if there was, both players would have been properly injured. (fordes was more the back of the neck too). its a precedence though for any diciplinary action that could be taken. I doubt there will though. Both incidents were petulant rather than malicious.

I'll accept your definition of virtually :pac:

How do you know the intent was there so? :confused:

are you honestly saying that one of the most agile and skillful players in hurling could not have side stepped or jumped over Cusack coming from so far away? he took 2 steps before he got to Cusack. I'm not saying Corbett is dirty or anything, just it was a silly thing to do. Forde pleaded innocence with his 'stamp' also, saying it was momentum, but like this one, it could easily have been avoided, and he was being petulant.

no one is trying to stain Tipp. things like this happen in all games. you will have to have bigger shoulders than this if you want to take all the crap KK have taken for the last few years, there was almost something new every year for them with the mud slinging thrown at them.

I'll accept your definition of virtually :pac:

:pac: in the Jamie Redknapp sense of the word...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Ahhhh, 1 of my favourite defences "I didn't mean to do it", or intent, whereas Soccer ref's are supposed to have psychic and know whether the player meant to do something or not, us poor mortals of hurling refs don't have the same powers, they can just decide on the severity of the action of the player.

If the ref thought that it was a free, then he would need to decide what category the foul fell under, you could have

Category II Infraction

5.4 To behave in any way which is dangerous to
    an opponent
    or

Category III Infraction

5.13 To stamp on an opponent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

SeaFields wrote: »
    Umpires should have seen it. they looked pretty poor yesterday.

Waving wide for a blatant 65 at the very start of the match showed that there was a problem.