Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Animal under the brake pedal

• 28-05-2011 1:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever had this happen?

A few years ago I picked up a cat off some fine beour. Twas all grand he was in the back seat, had no box or it was only an ould carboard box he escaped from I can't remember.

anyway the fecker started running around the inside of the car and planted itself under the brake pedal for some unknown reason while i was coming up to a junction. I knew he was there and was hoping for him to move but he didn't. and a fella pulled out infront of me out the junction. Jaysus there was some screetch out of the cat, only a couple weeks old at the time.

cat is still alive and well but next time one needs to be transported they're going into the boot. although I will probably open it to find a massive heap of sh1t in there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Get a cat carrier - pretty cheap in Argos and safer for you and the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

I know I wouldn't have waited for the cat to move, prompt decisive use of my left foot would have ensured it was moved.
    Had a dog once try jump out a half open window. Luckily for him he could only get his head and front legs through the gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Why not leave the cat in the booth? No chance of him/her getting in the way then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Kojak wrote: »
    Why not leave the cat in the booth? No chance of him/her getting in the way then.

Thats what I should have done

another stray we picked up years ago started pissing inside the car. took months to get rid of that stench

Delancey wrote: »
    Get a cat carrier - pretty cheap in Argos and safer for you and the cat.

Tried but the screw wouldn't go in far enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Don't carry dogs in your car, you may get distracted and run over a famous horror writer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Dartz wrote: »
    Don't carry dogs in your car, you may get distracted and run over a famous horror writer.

I can remember transporting my then housemates adolescent Great Dane for her in the back seat of her VW Polo. Not a fantastic idea as he got a bit restless at one point and almost sent the bloody thing off the road:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Our aul' buddys from the travelling community love that word 'beour':D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Saw a woman a couple of weeks back driving with her dog on her knee - no joke!:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Daegerty wrote: »
    cat is still alive and well but next time one needs to be transported they're going into the boot. although I will probably open it to find a massive heap of sh1t in there

Was there not a big heap of it under the brake pedal after that? Or on the drivers seat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

You should not have an animal loose in your car. If for no other reason than it will become a furry missile if you have an emergency.

I also saw a woman driving with a dog on her lap. Outside Mullingar, like it's pertinent :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

I'm just after remembering something from hereabouts many years ago, when a small bullock was 'inserted' across the back seats of a Fiat 131 for transport from field to yard.
    He had his head out the window though, and we they weren't going far, so it was all grand.

Oh, and the upholstery was vinyl, which made hosing it all down afterwards easier :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Saw a woman a couple of weeks back driving with her dog on her knee - no joke!:eek::eek::eek:

Ah , don't be so judgemental , I think that sounds really cute and fuzzy like :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

is it safe to put an animal in the boot? Does anybody do it and do your dogs not mind? I sit mine in the back seat with seatbelts on, they can't jump around but they get hair bloody everywhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Always use a cage, there's just no excuse for not having one.

Bit tricky with these beauties:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I would never allow a pussy in the car well not while driving anyway..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

^^ I'll see your two camels in a car and raise you 9 goats in a Merc estate:)

I took this in Morocco a couple of years ago

IMG_3266.jpg

I remember when I was a wee lad sitting in the front seat of a Peugeot 304 with two goats in the back to bring em to the billygoat :)

never tried putting 9 in though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

I have goats in my car. My friends keep saying "but what about the smell?"
    I usually say "They'll get used to it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Daegerty wrote: »
    anyway the fecker started running around the inside of the car and planted itself under the brake pedal for some unknown reason while i was coming up to a junction. I knew he was there and was hoping for him to move but he didn't. and a fella pulled out infront of me out the junction. Jaysus there was some screetch out of the cat, only a couple weeks old at the time.

You could have pulled the handbrake instead. Anyhow, a cat carrier or the boot is probably the better option.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Marlow wrote: »
    You could have pulled the handbrake instead. Anyhow, a cat carrier or the boot is probably the better option.

/M

You would want to have a long stopping distance for the handbrake to do much good, useless for stopping a car anything like the proper braking will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

robbie7730 wrote: »
    You would want to have a long stopping distance for the handbrake to do much good, useless for stopping a car anything like the proper braking will.

The second the animal is under the brake pedal you should have slowed down anyway, to get to a stop and remove it. It is a liability at that point. And for that, the handbrake + the slowing down is plenty. Waiting for the animal to move elsewhere is wreckless .. just my 2c.

/M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Why was animal under the brake pedal????? :confused:

AnimalReplica.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Best of luck grabbing a hold of a cat that's been travelling in a boot for more than five minutes. As soon as you open the boot it'll bolt and you'll spend the rest of the day trying to catch it again. Cat carrier, only way.

Cat's are known for not being fond of travelling in cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

Our dog goes in the boot. It's pretty much like a kennel. He has bedding in there and the way the lid sits he can just about pop his head up for a nose but not enough to jump up through.
    The look on some of the drivers' faces behind us when he pops up can be priceless.

It's not ideal if you were to be hit behind but what other choice is there?

We did try the doggy seat belt thing. Looked like he was wearing a bullet proof vest. He did not like it one bit. Proceeded to chew through the seat belt. Little bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

dont be putting animals in the boot of a saloon car. its not good for them.
    and defintely keep them restrained in the car... as you have learnt above but i find it hard to believe this isnt a joke of some sort.
    its abit farfetched for someone to be proud of the above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

We had a dog in the boot regularly and it never seemed to be bothered. I'd say a cat is a different matter though. Might as well try to fight against furry razor blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭stesaurus

subway wrote: »
    dont be putting animals in the boot of a saloon car. its not good for them.
    and defintely keep them restrained in the car... as you have learnt above but i find it hard to believe this isnt a joke of some sort.
    its abit farfetched for someone to be proud of the above

Huh??? I never said a saloon. Get off your high horse. The boot is absolutely fine.

He's in the boot of a hatchback and like I said he can pop his head up whenever he wants.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

you can get special leads for cats , don't get dog ones as the cat will choke

some like the parcel shelf where they can see everything going on and it's nice and sunny.

best to get the cat used to being in a stationary car first though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

s.welstead wrote: »
    Huh??? I never said a saloon. Get off your high horse. The boot is absolutely fine.

He's in the boot of a hatchback and like I said he can pop his head up whenever he wants.
    i wasnt replying to you, i would have quoted you if i was...
    take a deep breath ;)