Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is ignorance bliss?

• 27-05-2011 8:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭

Is it best to know if your wife has had an affair which ended or you have a son who really isnt yours?If your wife puts the affair behind her(so to speak)and you raise and love the wee bastard as your own,yet die with the knowledge that you had a wife that loved you and a son who was yours,is there a problem?

I ask questions.....about every BLOODY everything and why it happens,as a two year old would,but putting all of the pieces together to come to my own conclusion.

I used to question religion,which peaked in a hatred of any controlled effort to force people to believe in something.I have mellowed and understand the reasons why some believe what they do,but am still irked by the pressures,guilt,moral and ethical beliefs foisted on some by many powerful religions.

I used to question politicians and their motives.Their bloody unstinting resolve never to answer a question put to them.The claims expenses furor and the economic collapse bellowed the flames of my untrusting mind.I dont give a flying fook now and chuckle at the next scandal.I am done with being stressed with how we are governed(I still vote...wtf?)and am resigned to believing that the majority of politicians are what they are,and that they are there because they they dont necessarily want to make a difference but that they crave the status that their position affords them,and not to help society.

Many people go through their lives not watching the news and thus dodging this inner anxiety.I covet their apathy sometimes.I see myself becoming this "couldnt give a damn about the news,I live my life and feed my family and thats all I need"eventually due to the inner machinations Ive had to deal with.

If you live in a bubble and it is never punctured,surely you live a happier life than someone who...err..thinks outside the bubble(coined a new phrase there:))

The internet only exacerbated my condition,but I now am beginning to shed the multi-skinned layers of sceptism and cynicism.I feel that I have a reasonable grasp of what the craic is and how the world turns in these materialistic and turbulent times but would rather be ignorant to all of these questioning thoughts.

Im not suicidal:),I havent found god(s) and wasnt made redundant,but was just interested in what other people felt on this matter.

Im not totally at peace with the world.Some things do still peeve me(inhumanity mainly),but do wonder is ignorance bliss?

*in brace position*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Christ alive, it's Friday, relax and have a **** :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭cesc77

kfallon wrote: »
    Christ alive, it's Friday, relax and have a **** :D

I need one after that....

no sneaky finger mind.

Although,I am relaxed......

Didnt go the link..just saw the Kylester.

Very harsh,sir.

I agree that his muppetshow are ignorant.

His show and the erm participants used to get my goat.

Not any more.Modern day circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

If ignorance is bliss,surely Brendan O'Connor should be the happiest man on the planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

cml387 wrote: »
    If ignorance is bliss,surely Brendan O'Connor should be the happiest man on the planet.

Your ideas are intriguing to me and I wish to subscribe to your newsletter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

cesc77 wrote: »
    I need one after that....

no sneaky finger mind.

Although,I am relaxed......

I bet you will sneak one in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

Im not totally at peace with the world.Some things do still peeve me(inhumanity mainly),but do wonder is ignorance bliss?
    If you're only 'peeved' by inhumanity, I'd say you're doing alright (for yourself).

DFD.

If you're only 'peeved' by inhumanity, I'd say you're doing alright (for yourself).

DFD.

I didnt want to extend the feckin long post more than necessary but will now.

Deliberate causation of pain or suffering to animals or humans still makes me:mad:

Oh, and the implied selfish tone made me happy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

My first wife had an affair while we were married.
    As there was at the time considerable money and property involved, the matter was brought to my immediate attention by persons out to look after my interests.

Ignorance is not bliss - its just a cheap way of trying to shy away from incoming inevitable pain.
    Deal with it now or deal with it later, maybe when it could be even worse in amount!

"What if you never know?" I might hear some cry...
    Well ask yourself the question: "Would you want all your friends forever knowing something deeply personal about your private life, knowing your in total innocent bliss, and they holding it back from you?"
    Only each individual can answer for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

if ignorance is bliss then the shell2sea hippys must be the happiest people alive, nothing but pure ignorance down there anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

It depends on what you are ignorant of.

If it's a spouse having an affair or the like...then no, as Biggins said, it's putting off the inevitable.

But for example, sometimes I'd love to just be able to care about going out every weekend, getting mashed, looking forward to an annual holiday in Tenerife, settling for a **** job that I was comfortable in and marrying an average-looking girl who was into some heavy kinky **** cus she knew she hadn't much else going for her.

I envy those people sometimes. Their blissful ability to walk through life concerned with nothing else but finding a balance that simply made them as happy and hassle-free as possible. So, in one way, yeah it's bliss.

That said, I live a pretty fun life. I would already have more than enough content to write a hell of an entertaining book (at 23)...and there's still so much more to come (provided no stray buses run me over). The lows are lower than most, but the highs are probably higher. And the feeling of getting those wins is 100x better than the satisfaction of any sex I've ever had or any hooker I've ever killed...

...er, I've said too much.

In short, the more apt phrase is 'the grass is always greener...' If you're arguing that ignorance is bliss, that's essentially what it boils down to. Each to their own. There is no ever-lasting 'bliss' in either equation. All you can do is sort your own life out and forget about the so-called 'ignorant' and what they're doing.

Biggins wrote: »
    My first wife had an affair while we were married.
    As there was at the time considerable money and property involved, the matter was brought to my immediate attention by persons out to look after my interests.

Ignorance is not bliss - its just a cheap way of trying to shy away from incoming inevitable pain.
    Deal with it now or deal with it later, maybe when it could be even worse in amount!

"What if you never know?" I might hear some cry...
    Well ask yourself the question: "Would you want all your friends forever knowing something deeply personal about your private life, knowing your in total innocent bliss, and they holding it back from you?"
    Only each individual can answer for themselves.

But if it never came to light,you would be none the wiser.

In the orininal post of marital wrongdoing, I was referring to something which no-one knew about,yet a persons state of ignorant bliss was uninterrupted.

I agree with the friend knowing thing ,but the crux is ,if a person was just wandering around in life,oblivious,then they lead a mentally happier existence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭18AD

You can only get to a certain (sh*t) level of bliss through ignorance.

I'd rather bliss through knowing it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

cml387 wrote: »

I think he is. Have you not seen the smug lumpy potato head on him at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Ignorance is absolutely not bliss. I say this as someone who has been backstabbed and lied to by a group of friends again and again "so as not to hurt my feelings", and I put it to you: To know that someone you trusted has been lying to your face and carrying on regardless is infinitely more painful than any truth they could possibly have been hiding.

Furthermore, in terms of an affair, I would definitely want to know so I could break up with her. I wouldn't stay with someone who cheated on me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

But if it never came to light,you would be none the wiser.

In the orininal post of marital wrongdoing, I was referring to something which no-one knew about,yet a persons state of ignorant bliss was uninterrupted.

I agree with the friend knowing thing ,but the crux is ,if a person was just wandering around in life,oblivious,then they lead a mentally happier existence.

You have a point, they might be happier.
    Its a personal opinion for every individual.
    Myself, I'd prefer to know than look a possibly fool, which by effect could have further consequences.

As for the first wife, I would have known later - had it not been sooner.
    I have people watching out for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

It is yes.

I have no idea how to type. My armless secretary types everytjhing for me with her pointy appendages. She is ignorant of bliss

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Seems to be working for Prince Charles.

He was obviously happy enough to ride horseface while Di took enough cock to put a handrail around Heathrow.

That Harry lad looks an awful lot like a certain Mr Hewitt.............

Ignorance is absolutely not bliss. I say this as someone who has been backstabbed and lied to by a group of friends again and again "so as not to hurt my feelings", and I put it to you: To know that someone you trusted has been lying to your face and carrying on regardless is infinitely more painful than any truth they could possibly have been hiding.

Furthermore, in terms of an affair, I would definitely want to know so I could break up with her. I wouldn't stay with someone who cheated on me.

Im truely sorry to hear that,but your issue was raised by Biggins.

I dont mean to patronise,but I feel that I explained the level of ignorance which would lead to bliss in my original post.

Biggins wrote: »
    You have a point, they might be happier.
    Its a personal opinion for every individual.
    Myself, I'd prefer to know than look a possibly fool, which by effect could have further consequences.

As for the first wife, I would have known later - had it not been sooner.
    I have people watching out for me.

I may not be conveying myself to well.

I stated initially about an affair that was undiscovered.I didnt imply further discretions.Just the one.

As with the second statement about the bastard kid raised as your own.

Im not referring to someone having multiple liasons and making a fool out of someone publicly with friends knowing.Nor am I referring to the painful aftermath of who knew what.

No-one else knew.The adulteror and the adulteree(??)went separate ways,was my point,which followed onto the politics and religion point.

I didnt mean to touch on certain nerves here.

It was the concept of general ignorance(happiness?:)) and the ignorance is bliss phrase which has only just hit me as to its meaning, in the last few years

Rawhead wrote: »
    Seems to be working for Prince Charles.

He was obviously happy enough to ride horseface while Di took enough cock to put a handrail around Heathrow.

That Harry lad looks an awful lot like a certain Mr Hewitt.............

I think there may a recent thread for that.

Im sure you have posted this original thought there too,though.

Copy and paste is grand...:pac::pac::pac:

when you know where to copy and paste:(