Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rosanna Davison awarded €80,000 in damages

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Cryinair....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Not that she needs the money but it's good to see Ryanair taken to task on their bull****.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Great! Might teach them a bit of manners in future!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Ryanair fúck off. Davison fúck off. A pair of attention seeking whores. Give the 80k to charity and then get out of my sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

edit for play to her, ryanair are muppets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I hate Ryanair and Rosanna Davidson equally. There is no possible outcome in this case that could satisfy me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

The ryanair advertising dept. spin on this one could be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

So being labelled a racist is a lot less serious than being accused of naked sleep walking.

That makes sense. Well done Irish Justice System.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

RD wrote:
    "If I was (organising) it, I would have made sure that Irish women were involved because it's an Irish charity and Irish fundraising."
    Ryanair wrote:
    bordered on racism and demonstrated an elitist attitude against Ryanair's international cabin crew

I agree with Ryanair tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

RD wrote:
    "If I was (organising) it, I would have made sure that Irish women were involved because it's an Irish charity and Irish fundraising."[/QUOTE

I agree with Ryanair tbh

That's because you're a fool who doesn't know what racism is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

Eh, the key point is she wasn't labelled a racist...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

UDAWINNER wrote: »
    stupid bitch should have been fined 80k.

Why for saying there should be more Irish models used by an Irish company.

Braaaaaaaaaaaains!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Winners here are the legal teams....

...and Michael O leary. Nothing surer than there's a win in it somewhere, we just dont see it.

Fire him into a barrel of shít and he'll surface with a tenner in his mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Sad to see miss world has to make money through suing people. Sad, sad, sad.

2Scoops wrote: »
    Eh, the key point is she wasn't labelled a racist...

She got an off the cuff remark to a journalist and they went to town on her over it. Saying her comments 'bordered on racism' is enough to libel someone apparently. I don't really care about the story to be honest, but if I had to pick a side in that disagreement I'd have picked her side. Ryanair over-reacted in a nasty kind of a way and had multiple chances to avoid it becoming a court case. imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Any and all abuse, be it against other users or Ms Davison, will result in infractions etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Why for saying there should be more Irish models used by an Irish company.

An Irish company that employs people all over Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Get this crap off of AH and over to Celebrity and Shitbiz where it belongs. I could have sworn we voted about this. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

why ? she might be a Ge3bag but ryanair STUPIDLY called her a racist in a friggin press release !!!! how stupid was that , it was 80,000 euro stupid

and it will cost them a lot more on legal fees also , so bet this is going on to the price of a flight

she said " if she had organized it she would have more irish girls" , well
    if I had to organized it i would have had all Brazilian goddesses instead of the grumpy orange face leprechauns they have working at the moment

dont know where they get them from - i would wager its a farm in sligo
    and they are fed batter burgers and tango :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Trigger13222

ejmaztec wrote: »
    An Irish company that employs people all over Europe.

But in fairness she cant be labeled a racist for saying they should use more Irish models.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

This thread could probably get her another 80k.

PS The publicity alone is probably worth more than 80k to Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

non event turned into non story affecting a non celebrity, the media hard at work

krudler wrote: »
    non event turned into non story affecting a non celebrity, the media hard at work

Those comments are bordering on cynicism.

But in fairness she cant be labeled a racist for saying they should use more Irish models.

Obviously, or she wouldn't have won the court case. It's just that word again "begrudgery", which isn't illegal.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

themadchef wrote: »

...and Michael O leary. Nothing surer than there's a win in it somewhere, we just dont see it.

That would make it 79990 he owes her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Justice was served imo.

Ryanair is the best thing to ever happen as regards civil aviation in Ireland/Europe - can't understand why people hate them so much.

Why all the hate for her here?

Ryanair called her racist and jealous, she took them to task and the jury agreed with her. Don't see the problem myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭touts

Careful lads. Don't think she (and her Daddy) won't come after anyone who says something they don't like here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ryanair were dead right , she deserved nothing as it was definitley an elitist attitude towards ryanair

I would say mroe but theres a mod warning above ,

@MickeyDolenz - Is ryanair / mick oleary abuse in there too , just seems a little unfair to allow 1 sided abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Venting against the huge amount of a settlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 kudos73

themadchef wrote: »

Heres the winner, Ryanair and Rosanna Davison get mentions on the 6.01 news each night for the last week.

think of it: If Ryanair/Michael O'Leary went to RTE and asked them how much would it cost, to stop the news midway through the Main News of the day, so he could chuck on a 3 minute advert..... How much do you think he'd be quoted... now multiply that by 5 nights....

Alot more than 80k.....

A few things strange about this case if you ask me, Rosannna Davison, Ryanair, Chris de burgh and a troop of Cabin Crew (models) all get honourable mentions...

theres no such thing as bad publicity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

she should do the right thing and donate it to charity, she proved her point

@MickeyDolenz - Is ryanair / mick oleary abuse in there too , just seems a little unfair to allow 1 sided abuse

You can't personally abuse a company. But people within that company count, so yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

HER FATHER BOASTED THAT HE HAD SUED 16 TIMES AND WON THEM ALL ,I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE THE RESULT OF THIS CASE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

I agree with Ryanair tbh

That'll be another €80k so!
    Please make cheque out to me, and I'll give to Ms. Davison. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Orbiter

I don't understand the hatred here for Rosanna Davison?? As far as I know she has never committed a terrible crime or hurt another human being, there's a lot of begrudgery in this isle. Pity really.

I think she stood up for herself and did it in a dignified way and won. Fair play to the justice system.....it worked this time. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Well done to Davison and her daddy, taking a profitable Irish company that trades internationally, a company that is very important to our economy, to court over some complete bullshít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Dub.

barney4001 wrote: »
    HER FATHER BOASTED THAT HE HAD SUED 16 TIMES AND WON THEM ALL ,I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE THE RESULT OF THIS CASE

Ryanair boasted they had been sued 35 times and won every single time.

Well, i guess they lost one now.

Orbiter wrote: »
    I don't understand the hatred here for Rosanna Davison?? As far as I know she has never committed a terrible crime or hurt another human being, there's a lot of begrudgery in this isle. Pity really.

I think she stood up for herself and did it in a dignified way and won. Fair play to the justice system.....it worked this time. :rolleyes:

Examples of hatred please.

It's the first time that Ryanair's having to pay someone for a case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Somebody sues Ryanair for saying bad things to public about her.

Thread here starts abusing her when she wins.

Careful now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Orbiter wrote: »

ohh here comes that word again, the AH word for when somebody has no clue what theyre talking about and are losing arguments ,

nobody is begrudging her in the slightest, regardless of who she is and what she does , some of us genuinely believe that her comments were elitist and bordered on racism , unfortunately a jury didnt agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Nice to see talentless rich kid winning against useless airjunk. It has a poetry to it.
    Thats one less toilet roll per flight for us plebs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

flash1080 wrote: »
    Well done to Davison and her daddy, taking a profitable Irish company that trades internationally, a company that is very important to our economy, to court over some complete bullshít.

Ryanair does not give a fcuk about 'our economy' it cares about profit for shareholders. Ireland is a small part of their market.
    If Dublin routes suddenly became unprofitable, they would be dropped in a heartbeat.
    RD took them to court because they refused to withdraw the original remark.
    The court agreed with RD - what's wrong with that?

It's not the first time that courts have sided against Ryanair. Maybe judges have an agenda against them:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Lustrum

squod wrote: »
    Sad to see miss world has to make money through suing people. Sad, sad, sad.

I thought this was how she made her money....

...did a diploma in PR and Event Management. She is also a newspaper columnist.

A friend of mine (granted he's 84) would argue long and hard about any of these being jobs!

Some bird though

Nice to see talentless rich kid winning against useless airjunk. It has a poetry to it.
    Thats one less toilet roll per flight for us plebs.

I thought they did away with those, on account of the big sh1ts not flying with them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 pof233

I would smash her back doors in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

So which charity is she donating the money to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

gman2k wrote: »
    Ryanair does not give a fcuk about 'our economy' it cares about profit for shareholders. Ireland is a small part of their market.
    If Dublin routes suddenly became unprofitable, they would be dropped in a heartbeat.
    RD took them to court because they refused to withdraw the original remark.
    The court agreed with RD - what's wrong with that?

It's not the first time that courts have sided against Ryanair. Maybe judges have an agenda against them:rolleyes:

It's still a profitable Irish company, they pay taxes here, they employ people here.

I'd say nobody would even remember the press release(s) involved if this hadn't gone to court.