Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My 1st 100KM

• 26-05-2011 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

I have been cycling consistently since February and I am attempting my first 100KM tomorrow. Just wondering has anyone got any tips that I should keep in mind as a sort of novice. I will be eating on the bike as I think taking a break isn't really a real 100KM round cycle. Just wondering is there any thing I can do the day before to prepare or anything worth knowing the morning of.

I hope to god that there is no strong winds tomorrow like today. Here is my route:

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/435865

If I achieve this tomorrow my next goal is 100 miles.

Anyway, this is a milestone for me tomorrow so I hope it comes off. Thanks to all on here for all the advice and help to date. Heres hoping the wind stays away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

you'll get better advice than mine but the first time I did 100k (110 i think) I didn't take enough water - same as any sport if you feel thirsty it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

In terms of eating and drinking. Dont eat or drink anything that you have not tried in training.

Cramps or feeling blouted is not plesent on the bike.

Really just go out and enjoy it. Have an early night the night before, do the usally pre bike checks before you head off, take your time, dont focus on a finish time to much, and good luck.

(have not done a 100k in along time, really should get out there again)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭MREGAN

Just relax and take it as any other training ride. Pace yourself even if you are feeling great at the start. Remember to eat and drink plenty. Most important ENJOY it.

Eat a good breakfast a good few hours before starting. Porridge, toast with nutella is good too.

Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Are you doing this on your own or with a group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭torturedsoul

Thanks for the tips so far lads, that one on not eating anything new is a good one. Was all set to bring a ham sandwich with cheese with me. Might just stick to bread and jam.

Thats also a nice sounding breakfast. ( id pay money for it :D)

Also I am doing it alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Also I am doing it alone.

All sound advise so far then. All I'll add to it is see if you can get someone else to go with you. Its much more enjoyable and you can "share" the headwind! ;)

Don't forget a mobile phone and some money. A spare inner tube and pump. a light rain jacket would be good...your in Kerry after all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Good luck, that's not a bad spin. Even if there is a strong wind, you'll benefit from it on the way home when you need it most, so don't be disheartened if it's in your face on the way out.

The advice given above is spot on. Pace yourself. A bad habit of mine has always been to push myself at the start when I feel good, and endup being utterly destroyed about 75% of the way through the ride. So hold back a bit at the start, ride feeling like you could ride a little harder.

Eating is a personal preference thing. Yep, don't eat anything that you've not eaten before. You shouldn't need to eat anything during the first or last hours of riding. During the first hour you should be running on your breakfast and anything eaten during the last hour won't be disgested quickly enough to have any effect.

I tend to bring a 500ml bottle of lucozade along with 2 bidons of water for 100km+ rides. Take a small sip from each at the top of any climb. I aim to have finished the bottle of lucozade in the first two hours and then eat something small like a banana and/or a nutri-grain around the start of the 3rd hour. I never actually feel hungry while riding, that's why I have to time it.

Also bring a small bag of jellies or something insanely sugary to suck on towards the end of the ride. It's probably psychological, but I find that very sugary stuff helps give a little kick. Someone will probably say that I should be sucking on lucozade sweets.

In terms of stopping, I have to either stop completely or not at all. Stopping for 5/10 minutes doesn't work. I either keep on trucking or sit down in a café for 30 minutes, otherwise my legs feel destroyed.

Edit: Oh yes, make sure you have your phone with you and it can be a good idea to have someone "on call" who at least knows what you're doing so that you can call them in if something goes completely wrong. The last thing you want to be is 50km from home in the middle of nowhere and with a bike that's going nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

That's a nice route - I'd echo the advice already given (remember to drink enough, don't try energy products you've not used in training, enjoy it) and add:

*ride your own pace, don't try to match someone else's. [Edit; just seen it's a solo run so no worries there]

*use your gears on the climbs - you've paid for them. Find one that allows you to keep an even cadence of 70/80 rpms without putting undue pressure on yourself and spin your way over the top.

*if it's a ride where you can stop for a break at a place of your choosing, JAM on Henry St in Kenmare does nice coffee, buns, soup (beef & tomato FTW!) ect, are happy to refill a bottle with water and are very friendly (we stopped in there only 2 weeks ago - tell them they come recommended by the Chain Gang CC, it won't do any harm :D)

*there are a few bits around there where mobile coverage is bad/nonexistent so make sure you have the necessary to deal with minor mechanicals (complete puncture repair kit, pump, multi-tool and tyre levers) as an unprepared break down in these spots could mean a bit of a walk before being able to make a call.

Outside of that - Enjoy the ride, you've some nice scenic road chosen and (best of all) the good chance of a tailwind on the way home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭manafana

broke 100km just last weekend myself, proud as involved more climbing, than previous time id fallen just short. As above i had 2 water bottles and bit of lucozade keep me going, a bar, and some sugary sweets, i ddi stop for can coke, wind changed bit on me which made it hard, but havnt felt as strong on bike in long time, so bodys getting better,

as above just spin up the climbs dont push too hard or you'll leave yourself in red for way home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭macnab

That is a nice looking ride. I would advise that you coast down as many hills as possible to allow your legs to revive. You have only 9km before you start a 13km climb so warm-up is a bit short, take it easy at the start because of this. Bring at least 2 750ml bottles of fluid. I would have a bowl of porridge 2 to 3 hours before set off (Plenty of water this evening and a pasta dinner if possible) Stretch those leg muscles just before you start, and after the ride too. When you get off the bike take some protein on board, low fat milk is good. This will help with muscle repair. As its your first 100km I would advise that you keep your speed below what you usually aim for. Basically enjoy the ride, if you hurt your body this time you will find it hard to motivate yourself the next time.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Outside of the excellent advise already given, if this is your longest spin to date you may want to use a bit of chamois cream in the shorts. Those bumpy roads can be a very literal pain in the ar$e after a few hours in the saddle. If you don't have chomois cream, sudocream or E45 would do the trick. Clothes wise I tend to bring arm warmers and leg warmers with me for longer spins, and wear a wind proof gilet, full waterproofs can get a bit too sweaty on the climbs. Don't worry too much about the weather, on many longer spins you get all of it at some point or other.

Cheers lads, Thats some good advice. I'll try not to push myself too hard at the start. To be honest anytime I go for a cycle the first 15K is the hardest part for me. I really feel like giving up and then suddenly after about 20K im fine and then before I know it I have put in 75 to 80K. But its always the start of a cycle thats the worst for me rather then the end.

Having sugary sweets is a good tip, nothing like a sugar rush to get you through the last 15K. I use Nuun energy drinks and Pulsin energy and protein bars. I find them great, especially since im a coeliac.

Looking forward to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

Jealous of your route - enjoy! Would have thought on your first 100k you should do it on the flat but you've obv been training on similar climbs already so you'll be grand

Would love to hear other people's advice on what exact stretches to do? Prob doing the 170k this Sunday and find I get a lot of pains after a decent run out and am wondering if stretches could help?

I second that. I only ever really spend 5 minutes stretching (i suppose i should do more)

What is this 170K you are doing by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

BEST OF LUCK.

Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

I second that. I only ever really spend 5 minutes stretching (i suppose i should do more)

What is this 170K you are doing by the way?

Thinking of doing the Lucan 170k on Sunday, there's a thread on it here somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭pantani

fair play to ya,ive been cycling since october and still haven't done 100k ,should be ashamed of myself ive done over ninety a few times even on hilly courses ie mount leinster.id agree with the guys ,lots to drink and a bar or a banana.always bring some money in case you feel the need for something really sugary,a stop at the shop wont take too long(and when your standing at the counter in your gear and the person behind the counter asks "an petrol or diesel" you'll have a laugh the rest of the way home!enjoy:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭MREGAN

(and when your standing at the counter in your gear and the person behind the counter asks "an petrol or diesel" you'll have a laugh the rest of the way home!enjoy

Is it just me or are shop workers becoming more and more like the american's i.e. robot manner with a generic sales line they come out with.

As you say "Any Petrol or Diesel" Seriously like I came in on a push bike. The other one is Subway or the like when they have there wee line too give you but you tell them before they ask. That really fvcks with them. They get flustered and dont know what to say next cause you have told them exactly what they are about to say. Then ask you anyway regardless of you just telling them. Try it next time your in a shop.

Sorry to go off topic there.

Back to the 100k let us know how you get on. Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

MREGAN wrote: »
    Is it just me or are shop workers becoming more and more like the american's i.e. robot manner with a generic sales line they come out with.
    When you work a robotic job you become robotic.

I worked in a burger bar in the states and had to say "Lettuce Tomayyydo Mayonnaise?" several hundred times a day for 3 months, but it took much longer to stop saying Tomayyydo. I still sometimes worry I'll say it when buying a sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I still sometimes worry I'll say it when buying a sandwich.

I spent a week in the states and still say Toosday sometimes :D

OP while there's lots of good advice on here I just went out and did 118 km without changing anything. that was in my 8th week of cycling and wasn't that big a deal IMO. It's only pushing past 120 where I've really started to feel it, mainly cos I don't really eat while cycling at all, just stop once for lunch generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭LCRC_BAX

a148pro wrote: »
    Thinking of doing the Lucan 170k on Sunday, there's a thread on it here somewhere

Is indeed - Its the Around the Mountains

Kicks off this Sunday @ 9.15am from Baldonnel Aerdrome.

Taking entries on the morning from 7.30 - 8.30am if anyone's interested - check out the thread plenty of info on there.

Regards,

BAX

Firstly apologies for the late update on the 100K attempt. In the mean time I had move house, (which for anyone who knows) is an absolute pain in the butt.

So I managed the 100K, actually did a little over it but it didn't go according to plan as such. I will give ye the low down.

1 Got up early but wasn't feeling great. I had muesli, bananas, Gluten-free Sandwich and two cups of tea.

2 Headed out around 11am and after the first 20K I was really not feeling it at all. I was not helped by a damn headwind

3 Then the worry set in. "**** did I lock the front door, what if the dog gets out!" I own a Chihuahua (it was the lady friends idea). I kept worrying about it because if the dog gets out Im shagged

4 About 2K from the top of the first mountain some guy came out of a house on a bike about half a Km in front of me which was great as a target and to keep me focused to try and catch him before the top which I duly did

5 At the top of the mountain I had quarter of an energy bar which for some reason turned my stomach. I suddenly started cramping and spent the next couple of KM's trying to keep the breakfast down. It was very disturbing and I think that maybe I shouldn't of had the bar so close to the top of the summit.

6 At the top of the mountain I decided that the 100K was not going to happen this time. Its actually a funny image now thinking back. There I was, a huge cycling fan, addicted to his bike, in love with his latex shorts, struggling up a mountain not feeling great in my legs (which was the biggest worry at the time), worrying about a friggin dog and now feeling sick in my stomach (don't you love cycling;-). I was really concerned about my legs and the lack of strength in them. I couldn't understand how some days (most) they are pumping away great and suddenly today they were limp. Then I thought I shouldn't have had a weeks rest before attempting the 100K.
    So I decided to head for home to check all was ok there and maybe try again some other day

7 reached home, balanced again the door, it was locked (of course). I noticed that it was a round trip of about 52Km that brought me home. I felt a little better so I said why not keep going and just do the whole thing again.
    8 so i did. Into a stronger head wind. Reached 100K after 3hours 45 minutes of cycling with an average speed of 28KPH. I punched the air a little at the 100K mark

When I try another 100K soon I will not rest for a week before I do it. That was a stupid idea. I will do my normal 50K then 70K then 80K cycle the week before I do the 100K again.

Lastly just a huge thanks to all the folk on here that gave me sound advice and support and apologies for the delay in updating.

Find my 100K below and also a nice little training route I have located in my new area. Check out the climb at the end of the second one!!!!

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/437622
    http://ridewithgps.com/routes/505601

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Well done on completing the 100km.
    1 Got up early but wasn't feeling great. I had muesli, bananas, Gluten-free Sandwich and two cups of tea.
    Each to their own but for me that would be more than I could stomach for breakfast. Is that what you'd normally have or were you just loading up for the spin?

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,569 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

, in love with his latex shorts,

prefer lycra myself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Check out the climb at the end of the second one!!!!

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/437622
    http://ridewithgps.com/routes/505601

Man, if you can get up Temple Hill, you've nothing to worry about!

prefer lycra myself ;)

YIKES!!! Let ye all into some bedroom secrets there :D:eek:

Of course I meant Lycra.

Man, if you can get up Temple Hill, you've nothing to worry about!

nice one onthenickel. Believe me it was some struggle, especially since there are two points were dogs come out barking at you. The last thing you need while your trying to keep your balance:)