Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurosport & Sky + (disaster)

• 26-05-2011 9:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭

Is any body else having difficulties with recorded highlights been cut short. it has happened twice since saturday and is very frustrating usually only cuts of the last 3 km. is it a problem with my sky box or is it a scheduling issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

With the live coverage of Roland Garros (the French Open Tennis), the times for highlights etc are subject to last minute changes if a match goes on later, so the only thing you can really do is tell sky+ to record up to 20 mins or so after the scheduled end time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭kellt

TE simple solution to a simple problem ill do that in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭MREGAN

Yeah as already stated above I always set the recording to run on for a bit afterwards. I have found the Eurosport schedule to be way out on many occasions. This has always seemed to be the case. Its annoying as you say missing the most important part. I hear they do an iplayer type version online with highlights etc if thats any good to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

MREGAN wrote: »
    Ye I hear they do an iplayer type version online with highlights etc if thats any good to you.

it just shows the coverage that is on and its a subscription service - and you cant record it, you cant watch old programs (but i'm too tight to subscribe to sky so it suits me )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭HurlyBurly

Yeah they have an online player - i think it's http://www.eurosportplayer.com/ but have never used it.

There schedules are always off when there's live sport involved. It's great when you are watching in real-time cos they stick with the event to the end but a pain in the hole if you want to record something.

Have both eurosport and eurosport 2 and love them both! Although I've been annoyed the last 2 evenings when I have missed the cycling highlights cos of the tennis totally screwing up the schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

happens every year once the french open starts, the giro gets relegated in their priority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Why would you record the highlights?

Full stage or nothing. Sleep is for the weak. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Europsort have been like this since the early 90s. Nothing seems to have changed. Their schedule is more a suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Europsort have been like this since the early 90s. Nothing seems to have changed. Their schedule is more a suggestion.

In fairness, it's the best way to do it. The alternative is to cut the end of live events that overrun to accommodate the start of the next show. I'd prefer to miss the 80-70k bit of a stage that they start the broadcast with, than the last 5k.
    On UPC you can set up repeat recordings at set times. For something like the Grand Tours it works better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Stokolan

Yeah I was setting it to record last week and was only getting the last 20k of the live broadcast. it was ideal!

Diarmuid wrote: »
    In fairness, it's the best way to do it. The alternative is to cut the end of live events that overrun to accommodate the start of the next show. I'd prefer to miss the 80-70k bit of a stage that they start the broadcast with, than the last 5k.
    On UPC you can set up repeat recordings at set times. For something like the Grand Tours it works better.
    I know what you're saying and yeah it was fine when it was only 1 channel, but they have 2 now and it sometimes beggars belief what they have on instead of starting Cycling coverage. They could move live coverage from one channel to another like the BBC do.

Missing the start of the cycling is not acceptable when the curling over runs.

And sometimes they put on those mini 5 minute programs about Moto GP when the cycling was supposed to start 20 mins before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

And sometimes they put on those mini 5 minute programs about Moto GP when the cycling was supposed to start 20 mins before.

The other day they repeated the same 5 minute reel of MotoGP crashes at least 4 times when the TOC was supposed to be on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Last nights was fine for me, nothing was cut off at the end.

I know what you're saying and yeah it was fine when it was only 1 channel, but they have 2 now and it sometimes beggars belief what they have on instead of starting Cycling coverage. They could move live coverage from one channel to another like the BBC do.
    That's fine until you get home to find that the cycling coverage you had set up to record was moved to a different channel and you've missed ALL your coverage

Would it not be better to have say channel 1 for the scheduled tv and 2 for any run over or interuptions. Or will it still go pair shaped because the run over will then be effecting the second run overs? I dont know I gues they have thought of these things tho. Eurosport 3 anyone :D

That's fine until you get home to find that the cycling coverage you had set up to record was moved to a different channel and you've missed ALL your coverage

Nah, move the one running over on to Eurosport 2 (i.e. the tennis). Like the BBC do with the darts or the snooks when Eastenders is coming on. Tennis matches can vary greatly in length. The cycling never really runs over.

But the whole scheduling problem is caused by events running over. You're just proposing a solution that works for cycling (when it doesn't run over) at the expense of other sports. That's not really a good solution.

Most decent sports have a reasonably predictable schedule. Its only rare occasions when they run over. Tennis is all over the place and it causes the most problems. Move it when it runs over or make a tennis channel.

Monday: 00:00 - 24:00 some tennis matches
    Tuesday: 00:00 - 24:00 some tennis matches, with some continued from the day before cos it was raining.
    Wednesday: 00:00 - 24:00 some tennis matches, with some continued from the day before cos it was raining. There may be 30 mins of Moto GP howlers because Federer finished up early. And maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

With the live coverage of Roland Garros (the French Open Tennis), the times for highlights etc are subject to last minute changes if a match goes on later, so the only thing you can really do is tell sky+ to record up to 20 mins or so after the scheduled end time

How can you get it to record after the scheduled finishing time? Is it by recording the next scheduled programme also?

You can do that or go into the settings and add a run over to all recordings, You can also do it at the start record before a show starts. I am not near the TV so cant give you the exact settings but I'm sure some of the good folk on here will be along to point you in the right direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

finbarrk wrote: »
    How can you get it to record after the scheduled finishing time? Is it by recording the next scheduled programme also?

Rather than going into settings for adding time onto recordings just record the next program,that's what I do. Much easier.

Sometimes I get home and coverage started early and you'd miss something so now I tend to set the box to record the program before and after it's scheduled slot. Sad I know,but Tour coverage can be a lottery on certain days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Ok, thanks lads. I'll have a look at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

HurlyBurly wrote: »
    Yeah they have an online player - i think it's http://www.eurosportplayer.com/ but have never used it.

There schedules are always off when there's live sport involved. It's great when you are watching in real-time cos they stick with the event to the end but a pain in the hole if you want to record something.

Have both eurosport and eurosport 2 and love them both! Although I've been annoyed the last 2 evenings when I have missed the cycling highlights cos of the tennis totally screwing up the schedule.

The Eurosport player is pretty good, HD channel too if you've got a half-decent connection. They've also got the player as an iPhone app - although you have to pay €2.99 (extra) a month to watch it on the iPhone.

The online player supports content on demand - but sadly not much for cycling, i.e. not available next day. Contacted them about it last year but they said they don't have rights to show it on demand - bit like RTE not being able to show the Premiership highlights on the RTE player.