Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car registration

• 26-05-2011 7:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭

Hi Folks.

There is a car constantly parking in my mothers driveway entrence. Now the place where she lives is prity packed so i imagine the people assume because she has not got a car she will not need it.

Thats fine.

However I am a carer for my mother and without going into too much detail I need to have access for provisions i bring. Believe me they are heavy.

Now i dont want to go to the garda and report the car as i would prefere just to approach them. Is there any way of finding out the address of who owns the car. There is so much you can find out these days I imagine there is.

I am also guessing that this would be illegal but just wanted to check before i contacted the garda

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Write/type a note.

Say, "the last few times I've tried to get into my driveway, you've been blocking it. If you park here again I'll be forced to have your car towed."

I'd be very surprised if a note didn't get rid of them. Finding out their name & address would be quite difficult and a definite Data Protection Act issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

-Chris- wrote: »
    Write/type a note.

Say, "the last few times I've tried to get into my driveway, you've been blocking it. If you park here again I'll be forced to have your car towed."

I'd be very surprised if a note didn't get rid of them. Finding out their name & address would be quite difficult and a definite Data Protection Act issue.

Thanks. I had considered this option however i dont know how the note will be taken no matter how nice i write it and as my mother is on her own i dont want her a target when i am not there.

Like i say i know i can go to the garda and they can approch it but i would just like to talk to them first and show them why its so important.

I imagined it would be impossible to find out who owns the car however I just thought i would ask. There is always things we think we cant do and we later find out it was not so difficult.

Thanks again for your help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Thanks. I had considered this option however i dont know how the note will be taken no matter how nice i write it and as my mother is on her own i dont want her a target when i am not there.

Like i say i know i can go to the garda and they can approch it but i would just like to talk to them first and show them why its so important.

I imagined it would be impossible to find out who owns the car however I just thought i would ask. There is always things we think we cant do and we later find out it was not so difficult.

Thanks again for your help.

Just be polite but firm,it has to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

And if that doesn't work, should it happen to lose it's numberplates - it can be removed officially

I am laughing. ^ you really dont know me and where my mother lives the car is more likely to be stolen than the numberplates.

Like i said i prefere to approach someone. But thanks for the advice.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Like i said i prefere to approach someone. But thanks for the advice.

then your only option is to wait insode your mothers some day and watch out for the owner to come to their car, and then have the friendly chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭ondafly

knock into each house/place alongside your mothers, and ask each of them who owns the car ? eventually you'll find them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

Joey,
    Would it be possible for your mother to get a "blue badge"?
    You can then petition the council to create a disabled parking bay outside her house. You could then use that space, with her badge when visiting?

either that, or request them to double yellow line the space on the ground across the drive, anyone parking is liable to get a fine from either gardai or council parking warden.
    One ticket on the double yellows would be enough to give someone a hint, and would over the cost of the paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 debbie353

id go with try the pleasant and polite route and explain
    the situation
    but dont be too surprised if your not greeted with the same
    pleasantries as some people just have no manners
    please keep us informed how it goes!!
    good luck!

kceire wrote: »
    then your only option is to wait insode your mothers some day and watch out for the owner to come to their car, and then have the friendly chat.

my mother lives 30 miles from me. I dont go every day but i agree sometimes the obvious needs to be done. The problem is her house is at the back of the parking area
    ondafly wrote: »
    knock into each house/place alongside your mothers, and ask each of them who owns the car ? eventually you'll find them.

Did that. Its an abandoned car it seems.... But its not...
    Bogger77 wrote: »
    Joey,
    Would it be possible for your mother to get a "blue badge"?
    You can then petition the council to create a disabled parking bay outside her house. You could then use that space, with her badge when visiting?

either that, or request them to double yellow line the space on the ground across the drive, anyone parking is liable to get a fine from either gardai or council parking warden.
    One ticket on the double yellows would be enough to give someone a hint, and would over the cost of the paint.

Your not entitled to this when you have a driveway.

Thanks folks...The question has been kinda answered. If it cannot be found out legally then i can only wait as you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭jjmcclure

I believe when its on your property you don't have to give it back. If you block the car in you can charge the owner to get it back. If he won't pay theres nothing he can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

TBH , if no one is claiming it and is ignorant enough in the first place to block a driveway, I'd say **** them and just try get it towed. Why put yourself out over someone else being an arse. If someone makes a mistake I'm all for being nice, but these things are not accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Someone is parked over my driveway now i am going to get it towed away cant get out to go to work:mad: do i call the Guards or tow company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Years back some spanner blocked me in with their fiesta (crappy old one)

Had a thing for carrying panes of glass, stuck to window, pushed it down, left off hand brake, pushed car out of the way, closed window and then went off to work.

Apparently yer one parked there because it was 'her space' and she was teaching me a lesson, her reasoning was that the parking space was closer to door of her apartment block than mine.

What a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Gardai, I'd say. If you call a private towing company they'll want to charge you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Years back some spanner blocked me in with their fiesta (crappy old one)

Had a thing for carrying panes of glass, stuck to window, pushed it down, left off hand brake, pushed car out of the way, closed window and then went off to work.

Apparently yer one parked there because it was 'her space' and she was teaching me a lesson, her reasoning was that the parking space was closer to door of her apartment block than mine.

What a muppet.

I have one of them in my shed will it work with electric windows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Hootanany wrote: »
    I have one of them in my shed will it work with electric windows

Wouldn't chance it with electric windows, you might damage the mechanism.