Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If You Won The Euro Millions......

• 25-05-2011 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭

Now this thread is a little different than the usual lotto type thread. The way things are these days if you did win the Irish lotto you would barely have enough to pay off your debts, buy a nice house and have a savage holiday.

If you won the Euro Millions however it would be quite a different story: Champagne would fall from the sky, you could buy multiple houses, cars, maybe a modest 'plane or pleasure cruiser, have coke and hookers for breakfast, etc. - you get the picture.

So picture this: you are in a long term loving relationship, married or 'partner' status, with or without kids but strong ties and planning to spend the rest of your lives together, then you win the Euro Millions with a ticket you bought yourself for yourself.

Can you see yourself staying with your current partner in this scenario?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Yes because I am with my partner because I like them not because I am not wealthy. Don't be mad just because you settled for an ugly bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Yes, why would the money make a difference to your relationship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Now this thread is a little different than the usual lotto type thread. The way things are these days if you did win the Irish lotto you would barely have enough to pay off your debts, buy a nice house and have a savage holiday.

If you won the Euro Millions however it would be quite a different story: Champagne would fall from the sky, you could buy multiple houses, cars, maybe a modest 'plane or pleasure cruiser, have coke and hookers for breakfast, etc. - you get the picture.

So picture this: you are in a long term loving relationship, married or 'partner' status, with or without kids but strong ties and planning to spend the rest of your lives together, then you win the Euro Millions with a ticket you bought yourself for yourself.

If I win the euro millions nothing will change, as regards my love for my wife!

But by fcuk I'd miss her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Why have one hooker for life when you can have one hooker a week??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Fuck no.... I'd be gone like a fart in the wind >_> [/AH]

Not really. It would do everything I've wanted to do, and would love him to be there with me, and enjoy it all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Yes, why would the money make a difference to your relationship?

More holidays!

I'd stay with my current g/f, she's a proper lady and it's true, Irish girls are the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

it depends, if shell let me have hookers and take exotic trips to foreign brothels then id keep her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Honey, I won the Euro Millions, pack your bags!
    Oh my God baby, where are we going??
    We are going nowhere, I said pack YOUR bags.

Think if I was in love I would stay with who I was with, threesomes would become more interesting though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

jive wrote: »
    Yes because I am with my partner because I like them not because I am not wealthy.

Same as that!

My OH is loving, caring, thoughtful, stable, pretty, on my level, i.e. all the good things with pretty much none of the bad. In fact I can't think of any petty reason, let alone a good reason why I wouldn't want to spend the rest of my life with her.

If I suddenly had €100 million in my back pocket I would hope that things would stay the same - but would they really? In fact half that €100 million would be hers so things would change massively for both of us!

It's a very hypothetical question obviously but realistically, if it happened to you and your lifestyle changed completely and every door was open to you could you honestly see your outlook on life remaining the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

I'd be staying with my husband, giving my kids everything they will ever need (not necessarily want, they do have to learn some morals). There will be trips all over the world (with private tutors for the kids), and I would have the time of my life, for the rest of my life!

It's a very hypothetical question obviously but realistically, if it happened to you and your lifestyle changed completely and every door was open to you could you honestly see your outlook on life remaining the same?

In terms of lifestyle it wouldn't make that much of a difference to me. I might buy some stupid **** and ridiculous cars but at the end of the day I'd probably go home to the same house equipped with a theatre and ****. I'd still live in the same area, be with the same person and do the same things. I would take more holidays and the likes and buy properties around the world but I'd still go to college and work in the summer. It's not fun sitting on your ass doing nothing regardless of having money or not. You get used to everything - if I drove a lambo it might be cool for a while but after a few months it'd be just normal to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

As i am single i would be more worried then ever about gold diggers.:)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,992 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Gone like shít out of a goose..... but I'd be back!

jive wrote: »
    In terms of lifestyle it wouldn't make that much of a difference to me. I might buy some stupid **** and ridiculous cars but at the end of the day I'd probably go home to the same house equipped with a theatre and ****. I'd still live in the same area, be with the same person and do the same things. I would take more holidays and the likes and buy properties around the world but I'd still go to college and work in the summer. It's not fun sitting on your ass doing nothing regardless of having money or not. You get used to everything - if I drove a lambo it might be cool for a while but after a few months it'd be just normal to me.

You win the Euro Millions and you would still go to college? For what exactly? Just to learn for the sake of it?

I can see myself changing very little if I won the irish lotto but with Euro Million type money, no matter how down to earth you are you're just going to project yourself to a different level than your buddies!

Have none of you really thought about this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

That's some shallow, cold-hearted sh*t right there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

I would invest into a company in the states so I could get a green card, and the mighty ducks team the real one, and a nice house.

You win the Euro Millions and you would still go to college? For what exactly? Just to learn for the sake of it?

I can see myself changing very little if I won the irish lotto but with Euro Million type money, no matter how down to earth you are you're just going to project yourself to a different level than your buddies!

Because 1) it's something to do, 2) college is fun and 3) I'd rather do something worthwhile with my life than sit on my arse because I got lucky.

The only reason you would project yourself into a different level is if the money changed you. There's more important things than money and I know for a fact that I wouldn't get along with most rich people because when most people become rich they become snobs; snobs aren't fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I would buy boards.ie and ban users from posting "If You Won The <insert name> Lotto" threads.

/evil grin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭JOCookie

The usual stuff,

go traveling for a while, than build my dream house and try and set up a business. something i enjoy don't really need to make a profit just breakeven,!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I'd say he was an idiot before he won the lottery. He gave £1 million to a football club?

Winning the EuroMillions would be the death of me, I honestly wouldn't be able to manage to keep myself grounded. I don't really have any wish to win that much cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Im already on a different level to my buddies, but i would overtake them, and pass them out if i won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I wouldn't change much I don't think,I'd just be a lot less stressed!I'd buy a house in Dalkey,quit my ****ty office job and relax!

Probably buy a house with a pool in Florida or somewhere too and go there during the Irish winter.If I had a wife/gf I wouldn't dump her just because I won the lotto,I'm not a prick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

I'll still love my GF, i'll always love her even if i won it but
    I'll miss her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Probably by a plane, Airforce 1.1

That's some shallow, cold-hearted sh*t right there!

Is it fcuk - it's the truth!

Picture it:

Yourself and herself have been together for say 5 years. She's a lovely girl, pretty enough but no model but you like her well enough. In fact she's also a really good person to boot and you would be happy enough to be together for life. You've got a nice gaff in a fairly decent area, no kids yet but planning on same, maybe a couple of cats, or a dog, neither of you are on the dole or anything but struggling a little like us all.

Then all of a sudden BAM! You win €100k Million! First thing you do is round up all your buddies, family and friends for an all in session and before you know it there is 2000 in attendance and you don't know 90% of them but you're paying for their beer.

That over you buy a nice little gaff in Dalkey, not too far away from Bono, another 'Cribs' type residence in the Hollywood Hills, maybe an apartment in Monaco overlooking the GP Track and a small little cabin in the Swiss Alps.

While your friends are still struugling to pay their mortgages or are in council accomodation you are swannnig around in an Aston Martin, the wife in an M3 convertible and you've got your V12 whatever just for the weekend. You're gonna fine dine every fcukin' night of the week just because you can and all the while your buddies are still in their Fiat Punto and having Lidl brand fish fingers for dinner.

Do you think you'll be on the same level for long?

Is it fcuk - it's the truth!

Picture it:

Yourself and herself have been together for say 5 years. She's a lovely girl, pretty enough but no model but you like her well enough. In fact she's also a really good person to boot and you would be happy enough to be together for life. You've got a nice gaff in a fairly decent area, no kids yet but planning on same, maybe a couple of cats, or a dog, neither of you are on the dole or anything but struggling a little like us all.

Then all of a sudden BAM! You win €100k! First thing you do is round up all your buddies, family and friends for an all in session and before you know it there is 2000 in attendance and you don't know 90% of them but you're paying for their beer.

That over you buy a nice little gaff in Dalkey, not too far away from Bono, another 'Cribs' type residence in the Hollywood Hills, maybe an apartment in Monaco overlooking the GP Track and a small little cabin in the Swiss Alps.

While your friends are still struugling to pay their mortgages or are in council accomodation you are swannnig around in an Aston Martin, the wife in an M3 convertible and you've got your V12 whatever just for the weekend. You're gonna fine dine every fcukin' night of the week just because you can and all the while your buddies are still in their Fiat Punto and having Lidl brand fish fingers for dinner.

Do you think you'll be on the same level for long?

BONO I pay real money just to live no were near him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Fucking oxegen stealer is all he is.

What a hero. He's trying to make out he likes being on the dole again. His missus left him and took their daughter with her. Now he wouldn't get a ride in a stampede.

cosmicfart wrote: »
    BONO I pay real money just to live no were near him

Funny! :p

You know what I'm saying though. When you've got that sort of money it wont be too long until you have a different set of friends. Next thing, the best looking women in town are falling at your feet, Glenda, Georgia and Philipa are attending your house parties and even though your sworn to your loved one the eyes are bound to wander.

All of a sudden Salpa has her push up t1ts stuck in your face as you're coming out of the bathroom after snorting a line or two and you just can't say no! You give her a quick shift but tell her you're no easy pull and happy in your relationship but man she is HOT and the dose of the horn is ateing the leg o' ya!

You're strong enough to put off her further advances but after numerous soirees and repeated taunts you sat fcuk it, I'll go for the didy **** just this once - FAS girl me whole! Then all of a sudden it becomes a regular thing and your burd catches you just after the fact in the jacks and Salpa has a face like a painters radio.

Realistically - could you ever go back to a trusting, loving relationship after that!?!

Funny! :p

You know what I'm saying though. When you've got that sort of money it wont be too long until you have a different set of friends. Next thing, the best looking women in town are falling at your feet, Glenda, Georgia and Philipa are attending your house parties and even though your sworn to your loved one the eyes are bound to wander.

All of a sudden Salpa has her push up t1ts stuck in your face as you're coming out of the bathroom after snorting a line or two and you just can't say no! You give her a quick shift but tell her you're no easy pull and happy in your relationship but man she is HOT and the dose of the horn is ateing the leg o' ya!

You're strong enough to put off her further advances but after numerous soirees and repeated taunts you sat fcuk it, I'll go for the didy **** just this once - FAS girl me whole! Then all of a sudden it becomes a regular thing and your burd catches you just after the fact in the jacks and Salpa has a face like a painters radio.

Realistically - could you ever go back to a trusting, loving relationship after that!?!

You do live in a sick twisted world man :cool:

cosmicfart wrote: »
    You do live in a sick twisted world man :cool:

Not really - it's never gonna happen to me!

Point I'm trying to get across is bar our best intentions with that sorta wonga in your back pocket and the change in lifestyle it would be damn hard to stay faithful.

I'm not saying it's the right thing to do - not by a long shot, but chances are with that sorta money you're likely to become a completely different person - a person that will find it difficult to hold on to his normal life, friends and life partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

What if you're not attracted to Georgia Salpa? Will Christina Hendricks come to your parties instead? How about Dita von Teese? Zooey Deschanel? Maggie Gyllenhall?

House in LA it is.

Also: why on earth would you quit college when you win a hundred million quid? You've got a readymade social circle who sleep in late, party too much and generally have no pesky responsibilities. You'd be the same, except with a sack of cash the size of a shed. Winning piles of money while in college would be incredible.

On a very, very non-AH note: I think it's a bit beyond the usual to go into that level of detail about a specific person and imply that they'd break up a relationship to get with somebody purely because they're loaded. Fine if it's in the abstract, but it seems unpleasant to talk about Georgia Salpa specifically. There are probably friends and relatives of hers who read Boards; hell, she might. They shouldn't have to see that.

What if you're not attracted to Georgia Salpa? Will Christina Hendricks come to your parties instead? How about Dita von Teese? Zooey Deschanel? Maggie Gyllenhall?

House in LA it is.

Also: why on earth would you quit college when you win a hundred million quid? You've got a readymade social circle who sleep in late, party too much and generally have no pesky responsibilities. You'd be the same, except with a sack of cash the size of a shed. Winning piles of money while in college would be incredible.

On a very, very non-AH note: I think it's a bit beyond the usual to go into that level of detail about a specific person and imply that they'd break up a relationship to get with somebody purely because they're loaded. Fine if it's in the abstract, but it seems unpleasant to talk about Georgia Salpa specifically. There are probably friends and relatives of hers who read Boards; hell, she might. They shouldn't have to see that.

It was just an example and for sure you know there are plenty of boys who 'think' about her and other models lots.

Either way, I'm just trying to set the scene here!

How many of you, male or female, can say if you were put in this position that your lifestyle wouldn't change in any way and that you would remain true to the 'girl down the street' that you expected to be your life partner?

Not many I would imagine!

(P.S. I sincerely hope I would be able to remain true in this circumstance)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

We might go on a little holiday, but if she thinks I'm paying for everything, she must be mad.

If I had a girlfriend thats how it might go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

a few bob off the euromillions would make me and her a bit more comfortable. even if I bought the ticket the money would still be ours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭7sr2z3fely84g5

Pre nuptial -fck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Folks chances of winning this

1 in 116,531,800

So best not to think about it.

This person always sticks out in my head.

'In May 2009 a 25 year old Spanish woman got lucky on the Euromillions Lottery when she pocketed a win of €126,231,764 (£113,229,891) on draw number 274 with the winning numbers 4, 23, 24, 29, 31 with Lucky Stars 8 and 9'.

I wonder what she done with her life. How it changed. Is she a different person now.

msg11 wrote: »
    This person always sticks out in my head.

'In May 2009 a 25 year old Spanish woman got lucky on the Euromillions Lottery when she pocketed a win of €126,231,764 (£113,229,891) on draw number 274 with the winning numbers 4, 23, 24, 29, 31 with Lucky Stars 8 and 9'.

I wonder what she done with her life. How it changed. Is she a different person now.

Of course she's a different person now - how could she not be?

That's the point!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I think winning that much cash would have some negative consequences too.
    Sure getting to set up your family would be great, but if your win ever became public knowledge then your life would never be the same.

Consider the spate of tiger-kidnappings recently. I would be fearful of something happening to the family in such a case. Then i'd have to consider getting security to prevent something like that. I'd hate to have to travel around in an Obama style entourage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I'd probably stay with my oh.

We often talk about all the stuff we'd do if we had money, would be nice to actually do some of it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 b vitamins

The way I see it, your sense of place in the world becomes inverted if you win that kind of money.

Your relationships with everybody changes, whether you want them to or not.

You lose your motivation to work for money and you lose your ability to appreciate the value of money; therefore, you become scared of losing your easily acquired mega-fortune and retaining it becomes the main focus of your life. You start planning out how to live on interest alone so that your money never disappears. You become afraid to eat into the money-generating "principal".

Before you won, you might have had a job you enjoyed and that gave a nice routine to your day/life, got you up in the morning and made you feel like a contributing member of society with a clear sense of role and purpose.. a healthy, natural balance of work and play; this routine becomes turned on it's head when you win 100 million euro as you will never need to work again. You can pretend to yourself it doesn't make a difference but after a while with the money you would feel a niggling feeling that something isn't right and that feeling will never go away as you'll never work again.

Even if you try your hardest to keep your huge win private, it will almost certainly eventually become known to people. If you give money to some friends, which is an understandable desire, what happens when you don't give to those you only half-consider to be friends? They grow to hate you, and everyone begins measuring their worth as your friend by the amount they received. Parasites and hangers-on come out of the woodwork to skim off your millions and if you make any new "friends" or meet a new girl, you don't know if they want to know you for you, or your money; the cynic in me tells me that it's practically guaranteed the money would play at least a contributory role in all cases.

You will be inundated with begging letters which will break your heart. But giving money to some and not to others will mess with your head. You don't know which are fake or genuine, deserving or undeserving. It would mess with your head having the resources to consider all these letters.

You will be a prime target for death threats and tiger kidnappings, as will your kids and family if you have them.

If you move to an extremely upmarket neighbourhood, none of your neighbours will accept you as their will be a chasm between your financial capital and the social class you have suddenly been plucked from.

If you remain in the home you lived in when you won, your neighbours will eventually find out you won and will grow to treat you differently, in a bad way. And if you try to force yourself to "not change a bit", you will find yourself putting all your effort into this and you won't be able to enjoy the money anyway.

You might feel guilty possessing such enormous wealth in a world where enormous poverty exists.

Basically, there are many reasons an amount of money like that can ruin your life. That said, it would be nice to win 1 or 2 million just to give yourself an easy life where you'd still know the value of money. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

If I won the euromillions lotto it would be freaking miracle....mostly because I don't buy tickets :D

Assuming I did play & win, I'd be reported as one of the 'missing persons'. Bye bye suckers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

With that kind of money I could finally afford to buy her a forged passport and she wouldnt have to live in the cupboard under the sink anymore. A life of luxury indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Less massive jackpots and more smaller prizes would be the thing...but unfortunately €100million as a prize seems to be more newsworthy than 100 prizes of €1million. Here for some sad tales. (Doesn't include stories of Italian winners who had to pay off the Camorra.)