Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is it with this Wallace guy?

• 24-05-2011 3:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭

WTF

This lad seems to be deep in the smelly stuff.

Still holding a spot in Dail Eireann.:eek:

I hear that his companies are about to be taken over, and yet he portrays and projects a liberal image such as legalising weed and using his 'projects' to facilitate anti EU stuff.

Chickens have come home to roost Mick;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

WTF

I hear that his companies are about to be taken over, and yet he portrays and projects a liberal image such as legalising weed and using his 'projects' to facilitate anti EU stuff.

Yeah, what we need is more FFers, Lowry and Healy-Rea. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

His building company has gone into receivership, no big shame in that as the country went into receivership last November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

WALLACE WALLACE WALLACE AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

great movie Braveheart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Crosáidí wrote: »
    WALLACE WALLACE WALLACE AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

great movie Braveheart

I don't think Mick would like to be hanged drawn and quartered somehow, although that's probably better than being skint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The one asset of his that urgently needs to go into recievership is those purple shellsuit bottoms I sometimes see him wearing around town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

stovelid wrote: »
    The one asset of his that urgently needs to go into recievership is those purple shellsuit bottoms I sometimes see him wearing around town.

There you go man, if you want to talk the talk , you gotta walk the walk.

No use being a left winger if you can't back it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭patneve2

In his defence he did develop quite a successful and vibrant area (the "Italian quarter") just north of the Liffey. Most developers built soulless apartment complexes/housing estates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Camackaze

He's a decent skin. Hopefully his financial troubles don't affect his Wexford Youths project

Camackaze wrote: »
    He's a decent skin. Hopefully his financial troubles don't affect his Wexford Youths project

There is the problem ,if I may say so.

I don't doubt he is a decent skin, but he hung himself out to dry with those fcuking banners against Lisbon.

Got ahead of himself, never thought that he might topple, totally cocooned in the property bubble , and started to think he was something different.

Thought he could run things and influence people.

Sharp let down Mick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Eh he's been in trouble for years, was very open about it during the election and since. He believes in things and put money into them - more than a million into Wexford Youths football complex, a huge donation. I was at an event once organised by Dublin City Council and he was a speaker and he tore into them over what they'd done to the city and how it wasn't being run for the benefit of its people - he got a massive round of applause. It looks like he might have been right on Nice, Europe is being run by the Germans and French for their own benefit, despite all the promises. Bloom's Quarter is one of the nicest developments from the boom - it has a bit of a soul and vibe, would struggle to think of anything else that was built that has that. He deserves credit for having the balls to get some stuff done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

But none of his companies owed anything to the Irish banks...

jdivision wrote: »
    Eh he's been in trouble for years, was very open about it during the election and since. He believes in things and put money into them - more than a million into Wexford Youths football complex, a huge donation. I was at an event once organised by Dublin City Council and he was a speaker and he tore into them over what they'd done to the city and how it wasn't being run for the benefit of its people - he got a massive round of applause. It looks like he might have been right on Nice, Europe is being run by the Germans and French for their own benefit, despite all the promises. Bloom's Quarter is one of the nicest developments from the boom - it has a bit of a soul and vibe, would struggle to think of anything else that was built that has that. He deserves credit for having the balls to get some stuff done.

Yeah, should have stuck to building and left politics to those who understand it.

Owes 42 million, not much balls in running that bad boy up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

As far as I can tell he's been honest about what he owes and doesn't seem to be corrupt.

Correct me if I'm wrong people, I know not much of this how you say.... Wallace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

the_syco wrote: »

ACC are looking for a few million off him so I don't think thats true.

Edit: Not just a few, €20 million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

the_syco wrote: »
    ACC Bank has had a receiver appointed to a number of properties controlled by Wexford TD Mick Wallace.
    Declan Taite of FGS has been appointed as receiver to the Italian Quarter on Ormond Quay, the Behan Square apartment complex on Russell Street near Croke Park and to development land in Rathgar.

All the assets were under the control of Mr Wallace's main development company, M&J Wallace Ltd.

It is understood that ACC Bank is owed €20m and had fixed charges over the specific assets in question.

Mr Wallace has said that he owes a total of over €40 million to the banks but doesn’t believe he will be declared bankrupt, which would disqualify him from membership of the Dáil.

Accounts for the year to the end of August 2008 show MJ Wallace Ltd owed the banks €42.7 million. It lost €2.67 million during the year and wrote down assets by €2.12 million. At the end of the period, the company had shareholders’ funds of €13.5 million.

Mr Wallace and his fellow director and son Sasha Wallace received remuneration of €289,605 during the year.

Mr Wallace said earlier this year the company, which develops property in the Dublin area, was getting temporary tax certificates from the Revenue Commissioners to allow it to work and to earn money which is used in part to pay debts to the Revenue.
    There we go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

patneve2 wrote: »
    In his defence he did develop quite a successful and vibrant area (the "Italian quarter") just north of the Liffey. Most developers built soulless apartment complexes/housing estates.

Given it's essentially a junkie short-cut with a mural, I'm not too sure it ranks far above Liam Carrolls crimes against architecture.

Given it's a junkie short-cut with a mural, I'm not too sure it ranks far above Liam Carrolls crimes against architecture.
    Decent coffe, decent food. That puts it leagues ahead of pretty much every where else in the city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Politician/developer gets into debt because of the recession.

Didn't realize it was 2008 again.

Although I will say the Italian quarter next to the Jervis is a pretty nice place - apart from the scum who reside on the LUAS tracks beside it. Couldn't be all bad, this Wallace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Given it's essentially a junkie short-cut with a mural, I'm not too sure it ranks far above Liam Carrolls crimes against architecture.

That's harsh. Some nice coffee shops and restaurants there.

Decent enough spot in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

Yeah, should have stuck to building and left politics to those who understand it.

Owes 42 million, not much balls in running that bad boy up.
    I'm sorry but there is not ONE competent politician in this country, events of the last five years and the performance of the new crowed prove it

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Politician/developer gets into debt because of the recession.

Didn't realize it was 2008 again.

Although I will say the Italian quarter next to the Jervis is a pretty nice place - apart from the scum who reside on the LUAS tracks beside it. Couldn't be all bad, this Wallace.

No couldn't be indeed.

If he stuck to what he was good at instead of stringing banners across his projects and trying to 'hippiese' the electorate.

These lads are good at something , it's when they try to influence the electorate and take them for idiots is their snag point.

Just do what you are paid to do Mick, leave the peripheral stuff and the politicking to those who understand it.

fcuking public are not idiots;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

ACC are looking for a few million off him so I don't think thats true.

Edit: Not just a few, €20 million

ACC => Rabo => Dutch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Nevore wrote: »
    Decent coffe, decent food. That puts it leagues ahead of pretty much every where else in the city.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    That's harsh. Some nice coffee shops and restaurants there.

Decent enough spot in town.

You're possibly both right.

I'm making the mistake of comparing the 'Italian quarter' to Italy.

You're possibly both right.

I'm making the mistake of comparing the 'Italian quarter' to Italy.
    Well, that's not his fault. It's actually named the Millenium Quarter because of the bridge. The public just call it the Italian Quarter because of all the Italian retaurants that took leases, there were originally four or five, down to two now.
    So it's not like he was trying to emulate Italy.

Just do what you are paid to do Mick, leave the peripheral stuff and the politicking to those who understand it.
    The last thing we need is more professional job for life politicians.

Would have thought that the last thing we need is jumped up gimps with a bit of money behind them at the time, telling us what way to vote.

General expression there, no personal liability impugned.

You gotta be able to stand over your statements, no use mouthing off from a position of advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

If he's alright with Gromit then he's alright with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

In running for the Dail, surely he is doing what he's paid to do.

He did pretty well in the election. Which the public voted on.

If a property developer wants to drape his developments in political banners, then so what? He can do what he wants with his land (or could do, before it all went bust). He's certainly not as bad as some other developers: his developments are miles ahead of any other development I've been unfortunate enough to live in (both the outside and inside).

His treatment of worker/workers looking for overtime, however, I would say flies in the face of his so-called liberal leftie persona.
    apart from the scum who reside on the LUAS tracks beside it

As far as I know, Wallace's part in that development ends where the big arch is on Strand street. The rest is done by some other developer, and if this is true, you can see a definite change (for the worse) from the arch to the luas tracks.

Would have thought that the last thing we need is jumped up gimps with a bit of money behind them at the time, telling us what way to vote.

General expression there, no personal liability impugned.

You gotta be able to stand over your statements, no use mouthing off from a position of advantage.
    You were telling us what way to vote at the time, albeit you don't need a bit of money behind you to do it on boards I guess, but other than that I'm not sure I see the difference.

Any back up for that statement jumbo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

WTF

Don't worry I heard hes missing.

On a serious note he is one of many building contractors going or gone down the swanee. If he is attempting to pay back the money fair enough its more than some has done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Flutt's talking sense as always I see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

he built the coffee too did he? Impressive

ebixa82 wrote: »
    Flutt's talking sense as always I see!

Yep, Das roiihat man.

Parse it and analyse it man and you will see I am talking sense.

People who while they are on top of an artificial bubble can be forgiven for believing they are omnipotent, can strew banners across the nations bridges promulgating their individual views.

And, get this, they expect the public and taxpayer to heed them:D

Lift has shot to bottom Mick, get used to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Its a limited company.........

wild_cat wrote: »
    Its a limited company.........

Is it?

Mickey said on RTE 1 that he was personally liable for a lot of the stuff.

If I heard it right that is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Yep, Das roiihat man.

Parse it and analyse it man and you will see I am talking sense.

People who while they are on top of an artificial bubble can be forgiven for believing they are omnipotent, can strew banners across the nations bridges promulgating their individual views.

And, get this, they expect the public and taxpayer to heed them:D

Lift has shot to bottom Mick, get used to it.

What language are you speaking? Completely ignorant and incoherent rambling as always.
    Trying to decipher your posts is next to impossible.

They're like Ross O'Carroll Kelly on crack.

ebixa82 wrote: »
    What language are you speaking? Completely ignorant and incoherent rambling as always.
    Trying to decipher your posts is next to impossible.

They're like Ross O'Carroll Kelly on crack.

Sometimes people who can't take the truth, throw up a flim flam excuse.

Address the point man, or back off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

No couldn't be indeed.

If he stuck to what he was good at instead of stringing banners across his projects and trying to 'hippiese' the electorate.

These lads are good at something , it's when they try to influence the electorate and take them for idiots is their snag point.

So how do you explain the other developers that didn't go into politics going bust?

Are they all "left wing"?

Do please elaborate on this wonderful theory of yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

€20mio debt judgement today, a further €18mio pending. The game is up for MW.

Game, set and busted. Say goodbye to Dail seat. Pity, he hardly warmed it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

He owes money alright, but it's nothing compared to his wealth. He owns all those Italian restaurants beside the Millennium Bridge for one thing and an enormous property portfolio abroad and in this country also, that far exceeds his supposed possible debts.

One thing about the guy, all throughout the 90's, I always remember seeing his barnet sticking up from many a hole in a road. Whatever he owns, I think he earned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

WTF

Presumably since you're the one giving out about the man the issue for you is that his political sentiments are not exactly to the right of Genghis Khan, or even of your hero Margaret "no such thing as society" Thatcher.

Ergo, Mick Wallace must be attacked by FlutterinBantam.

Got it in one, eh. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

Sometimes people who can't take the truth, throw up a flim flam excuse.

Address the point man, or back off.

Of course people can take the truth Flut, in fact they welcome it! But if i may draw an analogy between your posting history, and the previous government of the last fourteen years-

When 99% of what you talk/post, is nothing but purely unadulterated verbal diahorrea, then you shouldn't expect to be taken seriously the 1% of the time you might actually be making sense.

you can't have it both ways either, but perhaps you could employ one of the unemployed FF spin doctors to redeem your tarnished image.

there's a school of thought that says "you can't polish a turd!", but i've never closed myself off to the possibility that anything is possible! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

No couldn't be indeed.

Mick Wallace got elected in Wexford on the first count: http://www.electionsireland.org/candidate.cfm?ID=6103

So by your definition the public ARE idiots. Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    Mick Wallace got elected in Wexford on the first count: http://www.electionsireland.org/candidate.cfm?ID=6103

Eh, the public are idiots. Generally speaking. I think ignoring the mounting indicators of financial catastrophe, and taking FF and Bertie at their word, demonstrated that long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

OutlawPete wrote: »
    He owes money alright, but it's nothing compared to his wealth. He owns all those Italian restaurants beside the Millennium Bridge for one thing and an enormous property portfolio abroad and in this country also, that far exceeds his supposed possible debts.

One thing about the guy, all throughout the 90's, I always remember seeing his barnet sticking up from many a hole in a road. Whatever he owns, I think he earned it.

A person of wealth doesnt have a 20 million judgment against them if they can pay the debt, he obviously cant.
    Also receivers have been appointed to his companies.
    The guy is at best insolvent and is going to loose all his assets except the family home, at worst he is broke and will be made bankrupt and may have to sell even his house.
    That is the reality here either way hes fcuked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Sharp let down Mick.

I don't think he actually reads your posts

I don't really know much about him except i saw him once in dublin and didn't see anything upsetting about his appearance. Plus hes not a fianna fail supporting c**t so I bear him no ill will :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 lazk

hardCopy wrote: »
    ACC => Rabo => Dutch

ACC=scum=scum=more scum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Benny_Cake wrote: »

No buddy they are not...just the scobies down in Wex who were blinded by the peroxide hair and the strong personality.

Much like similiar scobies who elect |Lowry in Tipp and assorted Healy Raes in South Kerry.

None of the developers ,Wallace included wanted Lisbon...because they knew that would be the end of the nod and wink stuff and the end of the golden years of fleecing the public for dogbox apartments.

Unfortunately the combination of cojones the size of snooker balls and limited intelligence make a poor mix.

Mick and a lot of fcukers like him have been rumbled ...the jig is up !