Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland: KO 7.45pm

• 24-05-2011 3:28pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

For what it is worth there is a game tonight though you would hardly notice.

ROI starting 11 (pretty much the 3rd tier team, the 2nd tier are on the bench)

S Given, P McShane, D Delaney, S Kelly, M Wilson, L Lawrence or S Coleman, K Andrews, K Foley or K Fahey, K Treacy, R Keane, S Cox

NI starting 11

A Blayney, A Thompson, C Cathcart, G McAuley, L Hodson, J Carson, S Clingan, S Davis, J Gorman, W Feeney, J McQuoid.

(Never heard of them)

It's obvious from that why there is not exactly excitement about this match. But maybe it will supprise us..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Whats this about McCarthy not wanting to play against Scotland? Anybody heard anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Is this on TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

Whats this about McCarthy not wanting to play against Scotland? Anybody heard anything?

one of the many reasons i dont agree with this granny rule ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

McCarthy is out for a month from his run-in with Pennant on Sunday. But don't let that get in the way of your anti-granny rule rant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

I predict a ROI win. It should be easy enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

A N.I 3-0 victory.

darkman2 wrote: »
    For what it is worth there is a game tonight though you would hardly notice.

ROI starting 11 (pretty much the 3rd tier team, the 2nd tier are on the bench)

S Given, P McShane, D Delaney, S Kelly, M Wilson, L Lawrence or S Coleman, K Andrews, K Foley or K Fahey, K Treacy, R Keane, S Cox

NI starting 11

A Blayney, A Thompson, C Cathcart, G McAuley, L Hodson, J Carson, S Clingan, S Davis, J Gorman, W Feeney, J McQuoid.

(Never heard of them)

It's obvious from that why there is not exactly excitement about this match. But maybe it will supprise us..

Yeah only heard of a few of the Northern boys like Cathcart from Blackpool , McAuley , Sammy Clingan , Stephen Davis from Rangers and warren feeney very poor side though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Paully D wrote: »
    Is this on TV?

Live on SS1.

Highlights on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

BigCon wrote: »

No need.

We are just going to beat these guys on the pitch tonight.

Im still waiting for Keith to put a smilie beside his 3-0 prediction :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Fair play to Trap for picking McShane and giving NI a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Didn't expect anything less from the Northern Ireland supporters to be honest. The bitterness is strong in them, no wonder so many of their players want to play for the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Who have we on the bench?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Live on SS1.

Highlights on RTE.

Can't say I'm too excited about this game to be honest, but it's football on TV so I'll be watching :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I'm heaading in. Long day in work and I'm tired, no place quite like the Aviva these days for sleep inducing football.

Really hope I'm wrong and we stuff them.

Didn't expect anything less from the Northern Ireland supporters to be honest. The bitterness is strong in them, no wonder so many of their players want to play for the Republic.

Winding up opposition fans? So what, dont be so bloody sensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

See a draw myself...

Anyone know the team line ups not on rte.ie or anything

See a draw myself...

Anyone know the team line ups not on rte.ie or anything

Start of thread

TAXI for The_Kew_Tour:D

McCarthy is out for a month from his run-in with Pennant on Sunday. But don't let that get in the way of your anti-granny rule rant.

i wont!

anyone know where the 'atmospheric singing section' for the ireland fans is in the aviva. havent been at a game in the new stadium yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Het-Field wrote: »
    I predict a ROIT

fyp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Doubt there will be enough fans there for a riot.

Will there be even 15,000 turn u for this, sounds like nobody is interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,518 ✭✭✭✭briany

I'm really surprised by the apparent lack of enthusiasm over this fixture. I've seen threads started much sooner over totally meaningless friendlies and while some would say that this match is another one of those, it's still a fixture with a history to it.

Can't believe McShane is back in the mix once again though. Sometimes it's like all the Irish Soccerteers' rings got stolen by the enemies of Irish football, reverse engineered and used to summon the anti Paul McGrath.

I wonder what the individual anti-powers would be to summon Mcshane?

Predicting a scrappy Irish win. Probably squeak it by a goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

That is a cracker to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

briany wrote: »
    Can't believe McShane is back in the mix once again though. Sometimes it's like all the Irish Soccerteers' rings got stolen by the enemies of Irish football, reverse engineered and used to summon the anti Paul McGrath.

I wonder what the individual anti-powers would be to summon Mcshane?

What?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Does anyone know whats parts around the ground where the ticketmaster vans will be ?

Went to get my tickets today in ticketmaster but was told i had to buy them at the ground before the match.

LD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Who have we on the bench?
    i'm guessing nobody as we have McShane and Andrews starting, wouldn't make sense otherwise. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Des wrote: »
    What?:confused:

He's using some Captain Planet-esque means to insult Paul McShane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Northern Irish fans in bitterness shocker

Have they even qualified for a play-off for a euro championship or world cup since the 80's or do they just focus all their energy on how we are getting on?

Expect Worthington to get them all riled up tonight and a few nasty challenges flying in, can i put money on a Republic of Ireland player going off injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Anyone know if this is on the rte site, and if so can u watch it from Spain?

Cheers lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

If ur in Spain, RTE will prob detect ur outside the country so will probably block it anyway.
    Alternatively, u might get lucky with another site like mypremium.tv or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Apparently only 200 Northern Ireland fans are going, the rest are boycotting tonights match. They're p*ssed off about the Republic poaching players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,741 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Winding up opposition fans? So what, dont be so bloody sensitive.

Exactly, not everyone loves plucky Eire, get over it

i'm guessing nobody as we have McShane and Andrews starting, wouldn't make sense otherwise. :rolleyes:

good point:)

donfers wrote: »
    Northern Irish fans in bitterness shocker

Have they even qualified for a play-off for a euro championship or world cup since the 80's or do they just focus all their energy on how we are getting on?

Expect Worthington to get them all riled up tonight and a few nasty challenges flying in, can i put money on a Republic of Ireland player going off injured?

For **** sake, how is this being bitter? Thye're trying to wind us up, big bloody deal, so what. Talk about getting on the offended bus.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

For **** sake, how is this being bitter? Thye're trying to wind us up, big bloody deal, so what. Talk about getting on the offended bus.:rolleyes:

If the point of it is to wind people up, why are you getting wound up by people getting wound up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

roryc wrote: »
    Anyone know if this is on the rte site, and if so can u watch it from Spain?

Cheers lads
    its actually on Eurosport on the continent.
    In germany and spain at least as they are all ive checked, but often the entire continent have the same schedules.

EDIT: heres eurosport spain tv guide: http://tv.eurosport.es/
    EDIT2: its on sky in irl/ uk , not rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

Confirmed Team:
    Given
    McShane-Kelly-Delaney-Ward
    Coleman-Foley-Andrews-Treacy
    Keane-Cox

Subs: Forde, Randolph, St. Ledger, O'Dea, Lawrence, Hunt, Keogh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

What time is this kicking off? This must be the least advertised Irish match I've ever seen.

darragh16 wrote: »
    Apparently only 200 Northern Ireland fans are going, the rest are boycotting tonights match. They're p*ssed off about the Republic poaching players.

aww me heart bleeds! they probably just realise the northern ireland football team will eventually subside and become an all ireland football team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Only about 200 Republic fans there as well by the looks of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

God Save The Queen booed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Were the crowd booing during the Northern Anthem?

If so, it's fairly pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Jaysis the place is empty :eek:

That and the IFA wouldnt give them tickets unless they spent 30 quid on the official coaches and wouldnt let them drink either. Cant really blame them in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

It's not because of that.

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/ifa-slam-fans-plans-for-aviva-boycott-134737-May2011/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

Jaysus the stadium is empty:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

nummnutts wrote: »
    Were the crowd booing during the Northern Anthem?

If so, it's fairly pathetic.

Here here, pity we couldn't have shown more respect FFS :rolleyes:

guess we are lucky its not a sell out :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Christ, will the FAI lower the ticket price even more? That's a shocking crowd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

of course it's bitter, making a large banner about an event that happened to another team almost 2 years ago = bitter in my book, although yes you can call it banter or winding people up if you wish

they have the right to do that if they so wish and I have the right to call them bitter for it

also i don't recall remarking that I was offended by it

anyway let's put that to one side for the moment

i am intrigued by our back four, kelly and delaney at centre-back, two players who have spent most of their career at fullback, kelly will never be a centre-back in my view as he is simply not good enough in the air

I would have played wilson at centre-back (but trap had him at left back where he has been playing for stoke but for our needs i would have had him at centre-back for us in the provisional line-up) and also mcshane is a better centre-back than fullback as his poor ability on the ball is not as exposed as much at centre-back, really I think Trap is putting players in the wrong positions in the back four but it shouldn't matter too much tonight