Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prince - Malahide Castle - July 30th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

Are PaddyPowers offering odd's on this gig being cancelled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Its hard to see it going ahead alright after the last no show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭Deisler

Could be some truth. Malahide Castle is Aitkin Promotions as you would never see MCD working with him again! Alot of rumours on fan forums of a Dublin gig..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭seandotcomm

Fúckin schweet! Missed him in South Carolina by a day a few weeks ago!!!!
    Tickets were $20. And Bill Murray was there!

I except tickets will be.. €75. and Ryan Tubridy will be there....

But still! Nice one. I had Gold circle for 2008's cancelled gig. I'm excited by this if it's true

Looks like its happening. Tickets out Friday...

www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0524/1224297639155.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

fo' real???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

This is great news, don't like Prince at all but i live 2 mins from the Castle, and they're sure to have other gigs there now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

Tickets are from €89.50!!!!!!:eek:

Yet for his concerts in LA:
    Prince has set dates for the 8th, 9th, and 10th nights of his ‘21 Night Stand in LA’ leg of the “Welcome 2 America” tour. The three additional shows at The Forum will put Prince and the New Power Generation at the half-way mark after pledging to play 21 nights in L.A. during his current tour.
    These latest shows, which are on sale now at ticketmaster.com, begin Thursday and run through to Saturday. The vast majority, a generous 85% of the tickets, are on sale for $25 with the highest running for less than $200.

I know there are more costs etc associated with coming to Ireland but the price they have set is crazy.

Had tickets for the last gig but don't think Id bother with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

"Tell that cat to chill."

Do you think the Artist Formerly Known As Prince Then Known As A Symbol And Now Known As Prince Again knows this is on? He didn't seem to know about the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

There's no info about it on ticketmaster yet anyway.

It's on the main page so there is info

I'm glad as there's no way they'd set Malahide up just for 1 gig, hoping there will be a series of gigs there this summer, here's hoping for some decent bands

scudzilla wrote: »

I'm glad as there's no way they'd set Malahide up just for 1 gig, hoping there will be a series of gigs there this summer, here's hoping for some decent bands

I swear those b*stards at ticketmaster only put it up now to make me look like a fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Pod Concerts confirmed it on Twitter/Facebook.

I guess he fell out with MCD after the last gig that didn't happen.

I swear those b*stards at ticketmaster only put it up now to make me look like a fool!

That's just the way ticketbastard roll ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

scudzilla wrote: »

I wouldn't hold my breath. Based on their previous patterns it'll either be two nights of Prince (in the unlikely event it sells out) or there is a remote chance of one other gig a week later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Anyone living in Malahide register for your free tickets now! I'd never pay that much to see him. Daft. Hope he cops on this time around.

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Pod Concerts confirmed it on Twitter/Facebook.

I guess he fell out with MCD after the last gig that didn't happen.

If MCD brought you to court for over €2 million, you might be less inclined to work with them again too! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Have yet to miss out on a Prince Gig in Ireland (Cork - RDS - Point x2 )..so I hope Ticketmaster does not let me down on Friday feck the cost!

ps . on the issue of his normal aftershow party ..POD's connection with Aiken does make one dream of a "Vicar Street" gig my fav and the best music venue in Dublin ..and it looks like it is available. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

DominoDub wrote: »
    Have yet to miss out on a Prince Gig in Ireland (Cork - RDS - Point x2 )..so I hope Ticketmaster does not let me down on Friday feck the cost!

I can't imagine you'll have trouble getting tickets. Couldn't see it selling out really quickly given the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭Hmm_Messiah

Saw him in O2 London on his long stint there

Best Gig ever, without a doubt

maybe it was the intimacy, or just his mood

It was so good I'd nearly pay this if Malahide astle was a good gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Nasty_Girl

Had six tickets for the 2008 gig.
    Dunno if id pay ninety quid for this even tho it's only ten mins from my house.
    I think it's a wee bit of a piss take.
    It Aint 2008 no more!!!!

90 quid the cheapest ticket...

...Standing and seated tickets on sale 9am Fri 27th May. Prices range from EU89.50 / EU99.50 / EU120 / EU130 (incl bookng fees)

Probably 'Gold Circle' tickets the dearest..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I also caught him in London in The o2 arena when he priced all tickets at £31.21 and gave out free copies of his Planet Earth album to everyone coming in the door.

Also his LA gigs are priced around $20-25 general admission, so €90 for Malahide Castle is just scandalous. Given the fiasco that was his last scheduled Irish appearance, you would think he might want to be seen to actually give a damn about repairing his reputation on this island :confused:

Suppose the organisers know people will pay the money regardless :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

saw him in O2 a few years back - when it was the point - and it was 75euros a ticket and i was only sorry i had not bought tickets for the second night!
    by far the best ever gig.
    If I can manage to get tickets this friday I will be so happy happy happy,but after the last fiasco I am not too sure i should, I was sooo looking forward to it, my only gig that year as I was pregnant and I still can't believe how let down we were ;-(
    Ahh heres hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

had tickets for croker. also saw him in cork, so i am a bit of a fan, not a huge one tho....

but theres no way on earth i would give 90 euro to watch him in a field. i can see this concert selling feck all tickets, and him bailing out again. lads this is a joke of a price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

emo72 wrote: »
    i can see this concert selling feck all tickets, and him bailing out again. lads this is a joke of a price.
    dead right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭poundhound

I suggest "liking" pod live on Facebook and telling them what we think of their ticket prices. Shambo@*x!

Got 2 tickets for the "Purple Pit" :D
    Can't wait....

Got 2 "PIT" feck the cost ...:D

Strange ...it says standing when ordering but the online confirmation receipt shows this :

Section
    PIT
    Row
    G4
    Seats
    4** - 4**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭applejam

I bought 2 and I just paid €135 per ticket, eek

I hope to god this show is amazing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

Strange ...it says standing when ordering but the online confirmation receipt shows this :

Section
    PIT
    Row
    G4
    Seats
    456 - 457

Pretty sure this is a common occurrence on any standing tickets these days. Probably a capacity / insurance thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Bluscreendream

Section
    PIT
    Row
    G4
    Seats
    456 - 457

I'm fairly pissed off over this, I would have bought Pit tickets if I knew they were seated as I have a sore ankle and didn't want to be standing, I ended up with a ticket on Block B. :(

mine are pit and aren't numbered...

I've also booked to stay in a local hotel
    Can not wait :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

I would have bought Pit tickets if I knew they were seated. :(

You've not made an error. The pit is standing only. The only seats are Block A and B on either side of the rear of the concert area, so you've done alright. As Toast said, those figures don't correspond to any rows or seats, they're just there as a reference number.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭steve_

just got mine, 4 o clock is an early start, my poor liver.

Iv never been to malahide castle is it an indoor or outdoor venue?

steve_ wrote: »
    just got mine, 4 o clock is an early start, my poor liver.

Iv never been to malahide castle is it an indoor or outdoor venue?

It's outdoor, a really cool place, go up there nearly every day wit me dog.

IMO it's a far superior venue than Marlay Park as just 1 road leads to it from the city centre (Malahide Road) and there's a DART station more or less across the road

http://www.malahidecastle.com/

applejam wrote: »
    I bought 2 and I just paid €135 per ticket
    Wow. Just....wow.

Savman wrote: »
    Wow. Just....wow.

Lol
    I'm still in shock, BUT they are a present for my DH for his 40th :D
    Otherwise there is no way i would spend that kind of money ( have been saving for ages for a decent present for him and the announcement of Prince playing here was like an answer to my present buying prayers :D)

applejam wrote: »
    Lol
    I'm still in shock, BUT they are a present for my DH for his 40th :D
    Otherwise there is no way i would spend that kind of money ( have been saving for ages for a decent present for him and the announcement of Prince playing here was like an answer to my present buying prayers :D)
    Ah no then it makes sense...ish!

Malahide Castle can be a very good gig with the right artist or a disaster with the wrong one (Monsieur Clapton, please stand up), I'd be fairly sure Prince can pull it off if
    1) he actually turns up this time and
    2) he's in the mood

He was excellent when I seen him in London and I wasn't a huge fan before that, but he definitely puts on one helluva show. Hope you gets your moneys worth!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭poundhound

I've seen Prince 4 times and he was fantastic twice and average twice.

I've also bought tickets for 2 shows he cancelled, Cork show #2 1990 and Croke park 2008.

I bought a ticket for Malahide and it's a gamble how it'll pan out.
    I'm hoping (a) it stays dry and (b) it's not full of drunken zombies ala Slane.

When he's on form he's incredible. Outdoor in the RDS in 1992 was unforgettable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Philip42

I've seen Prince about 5 times over the years and I've never been really disappointed. I have two Block B row A tickets for 135 euro a ticket. I've been checking Ticketmaster and there still seems to be loads of seats and standing available. I have a feeling he's going to cancel again because of ticket sales this time. I tried booking two seated tickets and there's still Block B, row P available. That doesn't sound too bad until you consider that the rows go A-Z, then AA,BB,CC etc, I know upto at least NN. Plenty of pit tickets and other standing still available too.

I think he dropped the ball this time unfortunately. Annoucing a gig of that size in May for the end of July?! :eek: By rights, this should've been advertised about a year in advance. Let's face it, he hasn't exactly been on the scene in a LONG time, and also, his audience demographic wouldn't be the type that'd be keen to stand in a field I reckon...I know the delay in announcing the gig was a lot to do with his outstanding fine to MCD for his last cancellation, but I just don't think he's left enough time for the tickets to sell. I hope to god he doesn't just appear for the sake of it to a half empty venue. I'll be in Block B...imagine the atmosphere in the seats with the crowd all up near the stage and surrounded by space! I'd prefer my money back than that...:(

I agree with what Philip42 has said, especially the comment about Prince's audience demographic not necessarily being keen to stand (or even sit) in a field. If decent seats and gold circle standing tickets are still available after several weeks, that's a bit unnerving. I think there is an element of panic creeping in about ticket sales on this one, even though it is generally accepted that a lot of people aren't necessarily buying as far in advance of gigs as they once did.
    There have been massive, full-page ads in all print media every weekend since it went on sale, with initial ads quoting glowing US concert reviews, and the more recent ones listing his European dates with big SOLD OUT signs over the three Dutch dates, presumably to show how urgent it is for Irish punters to grab tickets while they can. The problem is that they're all part of a jazz festival, and no other European dates seem to have sold out. Also, some people just don't like going to outdoor shows on principle, and would prefer an indoor arena show. There is no question that Prince in the O2 would have sold out in a matter of minutes.
    People may well stall until the week in question to see what the weather will be like, for fear that they end up with a repeat of Eric Clapton's rain-soaked and windswept Malahide debacle, which had the resultant appalling sound. The Prince show will be probably end up being respectably full, but nowhere near sold out.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

My buddy is seeing him at a festival in Poland that costs about 40 quid less than the most expensive Malahide ticket,its a ridiculous price,between that and his carry on last time he(and the promoters....what were they thinking??)has shot himself/themselves in the foot here,id love to go see him,i wouldnt go to the last one as i have no interest in stadium gigs and theyre always just a pain in the ass,the tickets this time are just too much for someone who may cancel because he cant be bothered turning up,id feel genuinely sorry for people if this gets cancelled due to poor sales but he'd deserve it

And in pre-recession times he was about 60 quid,now hes up to 140?? wtf? big mistake by Pod here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Philip42

it'd be a real shame if he cancelled as he is a legend but I think it's going to happen unfortunately..tried looking for a best available seat again a few minutes ago on Ticketmaster and they're still on row P of block B...they were on that at the weekend...granted they've sold another ten tickets or so in the row! look at it this way, if they were doing a survey they'd take an average...he's sold 16 rows in a 40 row seat section...that's 40%..I would've thought the bulk of tickets would be sold in the first few days so I'm reckoning it doesn't bode well for his highness...I reckon this'll be the last time he'll come to Ireland if it goes ahead..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Prince sends a shiver up my spine. He likes to do a "jive bunny" on many of his songs live e.g. You might be looking forward to Sign Of The Times, but he morphs it into another hit after a few minutes. Yuk

Philip42 wrote: »
    I would've thought the bulk of tickets would be sold in the first few days so I'm reckoning it doesn't bode well for his highness.

I agree. In relative terms, Prince went on sale very close to the date of the actual show. For a gig of that scale, I would have thought that the bulk of the tickets need to sell in the first 48 hours, with the remainder being bought intermittently by fair-weather fans over the next few weeks.
    It must be a cause for concern for the promoters that plenty of tickets for the pit are still available, an area that should surely have gone within minutes on the first day of sale, if the demand was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭2cool4school

not sure about buying a ticket for this as i only know a few tunes from my sisters tapes

anyone know if theres any chance of him playing that song rasberrie berray? is it in his set list these days?

thats a class song and so is purple rain but id want to be sure of hearing them before shelling out 40 or 50 quid to see him

not sure about buying a ticket for this as i only know a few tunes from my sisters tapes

anyone know if theres any chance of him playing that song rasberrie berray? is it in his set list these days?

thats a class song and so is purple rain but id want to be sure of hearing them before shelling out 40 or 50 quid to see him

Setlists from this tour in the US

http://www.setlist.fm/setlists/prince-13d6b9ed.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Try doubling the figures quoted, and you'll be getting close to the price.