Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tipp/Cork

• 23-05-2011 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

Have my ticket on the way, looking forward to it. Even if Munster is pretty irrelevent in the bigger scheme of things with good weather we'll hopefully get a decent game of hurling.

The Evening Echo says that this will be the Cork team...

Donal Og

S. McDonnell E. Cadogan S. O'Neill

J. Gardiner W. Egan B. Murphy

P. Cronin L. McLoughlin

B. O'Connor C. McCarthy N. McCarthy

L. O'Farrell M.Cussen P. Horgan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Tipp by 10+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Tipp by 10+

Overrating Cork there a bit mate.

Orizio wrote: »
    Overrating Cork there a bit mate.

Ya your right more 18+

I think Cork will be beaten out the gate myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

No epic OPs this time Orizio? Poor form based on the stuff you were coming out with last year :P

This is Tipp's to lose and by some distance. That said it won't be a 18+ hammering, a comfortable 8-10 win with Tipp in 3rd gear most of the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Feels like the Summer has really started when the Munster hurling gets going. I wonder do cork have any sting in the tail like last year? Hopefully will head down for a look, you can never get enough of Thurles during Championship season.

Daysha wrote: »
    No epic OPs this time Orizio?

Didn't even think about it. Can't be arsed.

Thurles is the only place for game of Hurling love the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

There's a backlash a comin'

SeaFields wrote: »

Tipp looking good for a bit of revenge alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Orizio wrote: »
    Tipp looking good for a bit of revenge alright.

Even if we had preformed reasonably competently in the league I think Tipp would be looking for a major scalp after last year. Taking into account our league performance and displays in challenge matches, I hope Denis Walsh's back door plan better be in good nick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

A short and bleak summer lies ahead for the Cork hurlers and I fully expect Tipp to beat Cork by at least 9 points at their ease.

There is no buzz to this game though is there?? Jesus I remember 90 91 and 92 games as kid and the old man and myself be talking for few weeks before the game about what we think,

getting tickets were gold, Jesus I miss those days, you could never beat a TIPP/Cork match in Thurles

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I think some of the newer Cork lads will be out to impress. Some of the older lads will be out to prove they still deserve to be there. The fact that it's the first game for both of them will help Cork more. Cork are normally capable of causing an upset but I feel that happened last year - lightning won't strike twice. I would expect Tipp to come through by about 6-8pts.
    Looking forward to it but won't be travelling as I expect an early start and a late finish in the high chair on Saturday, hence couch spud Sunday!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Hopefully we can do it.

I'd say the team will be:
    Cummins
    Stapleton Curran Cahill
    O'Keefe O'Mahoney Maher
    McGrath Ryan
    Bonnar McGrath O'Brien
    Bourke Kelly God

Although you never know. Will be interesting to see how the forwards line-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Le King wrote: »
    Hopefully we can do it.

I'd say the team will be:
    Cummins
    Stapleton Curran Cahill
    O'Keefe O'Mahoney Maher
    McGrath Ryan
    Bonnar McGrath O'Brien
    Bourke Kelly God

Although you never know. Will be interesting to see how the forwards line-up.

Callinan will definitely start he is on fire atm, prob bourke loose out and Johnno into the corner, agree with you that O'Keefe has done enough to get ahead of D Young.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Callinan will definitely start he is on fire atm, prob bourke loose out and Johnno into the corner, agree with you that O'Keefe has done enough to get ahead of D Young.

Heard he played for the B's yesterday. I hope Callanan starts, but I'm basing the starting info on the information I got this morning.

Bourke will lose out if Callanan starts though, I agree with you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Fair play to Bonnar if he can start, it wasnt looking too good there a few weeks ago. I reckon Callinan will start going on the form he's supposed to be on at the minute. I dunno will it be Bourke or JOB that makes room for him though, Bourke has been playing very well whereas JOB has proven he can hang in these kinda games. I reckon we should win by 5/6 points, more if Cork dont show up

edit - actually if theres any of ye living in Bangkok will ye let us know if theres a pub showin the game, my heart will be broke if I dont find it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

SeaFields wrote: »

Quiet possibly. Tipp got a lot of stick last year on the back of their loss to Cork (which, in a weird way, helped them win the the AI) so they will want to go out to avenge last year.

Also, Cork are going nowhere at the moment - they let their best chance for sliverware slip by them last year when they couldn't close out the deal against Waterford in the Munster final. There doesn't seem to be a huge amount of players coming through from underage, unlike tipp where its doesn't look like stopping anytime soon.

Tipp by at least 8 points I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ballbag05

Trouble a brewing again, heard after the Waterford match behind closed doors last week, that donal og had a blowout with denis Walsh, apparently not happy with team and methods of play, again all very messy week before championship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

I predict a very tight game with nothing only a few scores in it.

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Tipperary on Sunday in the Munster Quarter-Final (Semple Stadium, Thurles, 4pm - preceded by Intermediate game at 1.45pm) will line out as follows:

1. Donal Óg Cusack
    Cloyne

2. Stephen McDonnell 3. Eoin Cadogan 4. Shane O'Neill
    Glen Rovers Douglas Bishopstown

5. John Gardiner 6. William Egan 7. Brian Murphy
    Na Piarsaigh Kilbrin Bride Rovers

8. Lorcán McLoughlin 9. Pa Cronin
    Kanturk Bishopstown

10. Ben O'Connor 11. Cian McCarthy 12. Niall McCarthy
    Newtownshandrum Sarsfields Carrigtwohill
    13. Luke O'Farrell 14. Paudie O'Sullivan 15. Patrick Horgan
    Midleton Cloyne Glen Rovers

Captain: Shane O'Neill

Subs:
    16. Martin Coleman - Ballinhassig
    17. Eoin Dillon - Milford
    18. Conor O Sullivan - Sarsfields
    19. Jamie Nagle- Midleton
    20. Tom Kenny - Grenagh
    21. Jerry O Connor - Newtownshandrum
    22. Cathal Naughton - NewtownShandrum
    23. Kieran Murphy- Sarsfields
    24. Michael Cussen - Sarsfields
    25. Jamie Coughlan - Newtownshandrum
    26. Bill Cooper - Youghal

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Bar the obvious one or two players... that is quite a young looking team. They might bring a vibrancy to the game that has been lacking.... really looking forward to this one now. If they all gel on the day, they might get something out of it. Kenny, O'connor and Naughton in particular, are very experienced fellas to have on the sideline aswell.
    Tip should win, make no mistake about it, but reading through that team I'm a little more optimistic for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Whip on it

Right lads..my heart is saying that Cork will win and once again I'm going to go with it..Cork to win with a last minute point!! Please God!:P but on a different note..should I be proven wrong I'm going to be hitting the pubs in Thurlas after to drown my sorrows and well I'm asking ant Tipp lads out there...is there a pub in Thurlas with Smithwick's on tap?? if any of ye know would ye drop me a line here!! :P cheers!:D

Rebels Abú!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Tip should win, make no mistake about it, but reading through that team I'm a little more optimistic for some reason.

I am a little more optimistic as well, well at least until the Tipp team is named after which I will probably revert back to my previous sombre disposition. For better or worse that is about as good a Cork team as we have at the moment so it is a case of getting behind them now and hope we can upset the odds.

I remember the last game in Thurles in 2009 where Tipp were on a high after giving Kilkenny a fright in the league final and Cork had just come off a strike and a 27 point beating from Kilkenny in the league. Tipp were extremely lucky to have won that game.
    I wouldn't like to call it Sunday. Cork don't fear Tipp whatever the case may be and Sunday wont be any different and bear in mind Tipp are under new management and haven't been flying thus far this year and i refuse to consider the game against Galway in the league as a barometer of form.