Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More possible insurance fraud woes

• 23-05-2011 3:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭

I'm sure most of you are aware of this previous thread (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72088145). My situation echoes a similar scenario.

Basically, I was rear ended while stationary on the main road where I live. Insurance information was exchanged but the driver who hit me left the scene before the guards arrived. I reported the accident to both my own insurer and the insurance company of the other driver the same day. I have been in regular contact with the other driver's insurance company who were telling me they could not contact the driver of the other vehicle by phone or post and were in the process of sending out a registered letter.

Now, over two weeks after the accident, the other driver has contacted their insurance company claiming that I reversed into them AND that they now have a witness, who has magically appeared out of the blue. I cannot believe the type of people that come up with these ridiculous fabricated stories and those who assist in blatant insurance fraud :mad:

I have checked with local businesses around the scene of the accident for possible CCTV footage but have come up with nothing. And, even though I found 1 person who remembers seeing what happened AFTER the accident, they cannot say they saw the accident as it took place.

Where does this leave me now? Could the events of that day really be in question even though the other person left the scene and decided only now to contact their insurance company? What the other driver is claiming is complete and utter lies and it sickens me to the core that they can justify doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

On which parts of the cars did they collide (your front or rear vs his)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭kkelly77

Matt Simis wrote: »
    On which parts of the cars did they collide (your front or rear vs his)?

The rear end of my car was hit by the front of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

Surely an insurance assessor will be able to determine which of the cars was stationary after examining them???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Yeah, sure they can check for tyre movement on your car and impact would determine the stationary car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Sorry to hear of your troubles OP. Something similar happened to my Mother years ago.

Car was rear ended quite badly, took the offenders details, said he'd sort it out. Agreed price would have been €200 or €300. Even though her neck was sore, she felt sorry for him.

Guess what, he never paid, recieved a solicitors letter 2 weeks latter. Himself, he's wife and mother-in-law were suing her for having reversed into her!!!

Took two years, ended up in court, truth won out in the end.
    Get all your paper work in order, engineers report and a good solicitor.
    Don't let the scammer win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

kkelly77 wrote: »
    I'm sure most of you are aware of this previous thread (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=72088145). My situation echoes a similar scenario.

Basically, I was rear ended while stationary on the main road where I live. Insurance information was exchanged but the driver who hit me left the scene before the guards arrived. I reported the accident to both my own insurer and the insurance company of the other driver the same day. I have been in regular contact with the other driver's insurance company who were telling me they could not contact the driver of the other vehicle by phone or post and were in the process of sending out a registered letter.

Now, over two weeks after the accident, the other driver has contacted their insurance company claiming that I reversed into them AND that they now have a witness, who has magically appeared out of the blue. I cannot believe the type of people that come up with these ridiculous fabricated stories and those who assist in blatant insurance fraud :mad:

I have checked with local businesses around the scene of the accident for possible CCTV footage but have come up with nothing. And, even though I found 1 person who remembers seeing what happened AFTER the accident, they cannot say they saw the accident as it took place.

Where does this leave me now? Could the events of that day really be in question even though the other person left the scene and decided only now to contact their insurance company? What the other driver is claiming is complete and utter lies and it sickens me to the core that they can justify doing it.
    Theres an unmerciful amount of dishonest bastards out there.Fight this and screw the the c***.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Also try to get a hold of the Garda that came out. They can show that they came out but the other guy was gone. If you would have hit him he wouldn't have left - imo.

Muckie wrote: »
    Sorry to hear of your troubles OP. Something similar happened to my Mother years ago.

Car was rear ended quite badly, took the offenders details, said he'd sort it out. Agreed price would have been €200 or €300. Even though her neck was sore, she felt sorry for him.

Guess what, he never paid, recieved a solicitors letter 2 weeks latter. Himself, he's wife and mother-in-law were suing her for having reversed into her!!!

Took two years, ended up in court, truth won out in the end.
    Get all your paper work in order, engineers report and a good solicitor.
    Don't let the scammer win.

I just don't get how these people are programmed. Or how they live with themselves. Good to hear you won out in the end but it's 2 stressful years I'm sure you and your family could have done without.

biko wrote: »
    Also try to get a hold of the Garda that came out. They can show that they came out but the other guy was gone. If you would have hit him he wouldn't have left - imo.

That's true and I have. Just waiting for a call back from the Garda that were on scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

I just don't get how these people are programmed. Or how they live with themselves. Good to hear you won out in the end but it's 2 stressful years I'm sure you and your family could have done without.
    These people are programmed like our former Taoiseach-Bertie.All his money was won on the horses:p

Quick update on this situation. The other driver's insurance company have agreed to pay for the repairs for the car and thus assume liability. Result :)

I was wondering, do I have to accept the offer for repair? Could I ask for the value of the car as it's close enough to the repair cost and let the car go as a Cat C write off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

'quit while you are ahead,' occurs to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

I wouldnt get greedy but id definately get a valuation

I'm just surprised they agreed to the repair. I was told if the repair was 2/3's of the value of the car they would normally write it off. I guess I was just expecting that outcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

You can ask, they might agree, they might not. I doubt they'll mind what you do so long as it doesn't cost them more or expose them to greater liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Quick update on this situation. The other driver's insurance company have agreed to pay for the repairs for the car and thus assume liability. Result :)

I was wondering, do I have to accept the offer for repair? Could I ask for the value of the car as it's close enough to the repair cost and let the car go as a Cat C write off?

If they've agreed a repair cost, then you have the option of taking that cash amount and keeping the car as it is to get it repaired somewhere else or sell. They're unlikely to give you any more than that.