Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anthony is Tired yaaaawn !

• 23-05-2011 8:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,503 ✭✭✭

Anthony Stokes has pulled out of Ireland squad for the up coming games stating that he is tired.
    WTF, its not like he played every game for Celtic !! Just having got back into the Irish squad in recent months he's now too tired............ Guys like that are a waste of space, when you compare him to Doyle and his work rate in games, never ever heard him say he was too tired.

Another S Ireland by the sounds of it !!!!!!

Secman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Has always been a waste of space, one of the nearly men in football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Waster .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Get Wes Houlihan in please Trap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Well what use is a fatigued player to Ireland? We can't prove that he is telling us bull so there's no point in giving him stick.

Nailz wrote: »
    Well what use is a fatigued player to Ireland? We can't prove that he is telling us bull so there's no point in giving him stick.

Think its more the fact of how can he be fatigued that will cause him to get some stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭pokerface_me

Well if he is suffering from fatigue from sitting on his hole on the bench he needs to get himself to a doctor asap.

I'd give my right arm and leg to play for my country.

Em, tired poor lad has not even played that much for Celtic in recent weeks. Though those twenty mins on sat must have been a killer. Such a waste of a decent talent , thought he made it when he joined arsenal ruined a decent chance at sunderland by being a tosser and sums it all up with his father as his agent. .nuff said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

He obviously hasn't inherited any of his father's “patriotism”. No loss.

Well that's fair enough, but saying that he can't be tired because he's played very little recently doesn't mean that mean that he's not generally tired anyway, the finger pointing is just a load of crap. Even if it's just a case that he doesn't want to play for Ireland this time round, then that's grand, the public shouldn't get annoyed with him because of this and call his a waster and such, if he doesn't want to play he should not play without being lambasted and ridiculed.

Same goes for Stephen Ireland, he might be an idiot and he certainly went the wrong way about dropping out of the Ireland squad, but if he doesn't want to play, that's fine. Playing for Ireland stopped being a big deal and I can see why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I wonder would this "fatigue" be an issue if this was a tournament final summer and he was in the squad.....

Well that's fair enough, but saying that he can't be tired because he's played very little recently doesn't mean that mean that he's not generally tired anyway, the finger pointing is just a load of crap. Even if it's just a case that he doesn't want to play for Ireland this time round, then that's grand, the public shouldn't get annoyed with him because of this and call his a waster and such, if he doesn't want to play he should not play without being lambasted and ridiculed.

Same goes for Stephen Ireland, he might be an idiot and he certainly went the wrong way about dropping out of the Ireland squad, but if he doesn't want to play, that's fine. Playing for Ireland stopped being a big deal and I can see why.

For an irish player not to want to play for your country just cause your a little tired is a joke. He should take a leaf out of richie dunnes bok who has had a tough seson in a proper league playig week in week out , is suspended for themacedonia game but still comes over this week. Its called dedication and proud to play for your country.

Stokes is a rich young lad who doesn't seem to have any respect for his club or country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Well if he is suffering from fatigue from sitting on his hole on the bench he needs to get himself to a doctor asap.

Well you'd be **** all use so if you did get called up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭TerryTibbs!

Doubt you would get a professional contract if you lost you right arm so getting a call up would be unlikely.

For an irish player not to want to play for your country just cause your a little tired is a joke. He should take a leaf out of richie dunnes bok who has had a tough seson in a proper league playig week in week out , is suspended for themacedonia game but still comes over this week. Its called dedication and proud to play for your country.

Stokes is a rich young lad who doesn't seem to have any respect for his club or country.
    Maybe he just doesn't see the point in playing for Ireland. All this patriotism bullshit only works for a few people, I personally don't see the point. If I was a professional football player I wouldn't give a fuck whether or not I played for Ireland - and I certainly don't see any reason to be proud. People have different points of view, not everybody feels the same way as myself or yourself.

Well he doesn't seem to care whether he plays for Celtic or Sunderland before that going by his attitude. A moderately talented footballer who has wasted the little talent he has already. Can see him doing a Sean Thornton and slowly moving down the leagues. Gladly your not a professional footballer and your attitude to play for your country gladly is not representative of the current squad.

Well he doesn't seem to care whether he plays for Celtic or Sunderland before that going by his attitude. A moderately talented footballer who has wasted the little talent he has already. Can see him doing a Sean Thornton and slowly moving down the leagues.
    Well that's his problem, isn't it?
    Gladly your not a professional footballer and your attitude to play for your country gladly is not representative of the current squad.
    Don't give a fuck. "Patriotism" is silly, loving a state you were born into is just as stupid as worshipping based on a religion you were born into without thinking about it - countries are based on non-existant divides based on state government legislation which nobody should be enforced with, it just so happens I live on an island called Ireland, I like this island, it's nice, it doesn't mean I have to love the state (or its' international Soccer team).

Well that's his problem, isn't it?

Don't give a fuck. "Patriotism" is silly, loving a state you were born into is just as stupid as worshipping based on a religion you were born into without thinking about it - countries are based on non-existant divides based on state government legislation which nobody should be enforced with, it just so happens I live on an island called Ireland, I like this island, it's nice, it doesn't mean I have to love the state (or its' international Soccer team).

Was that not the point of the thread about his problems ?? Patriotism is not silly, most people in ireland be proud to play for their country and the difference it makes to the country when we are in a tournament is brilliant. You must be a fun guy at parties me thinks .

Was that not the point of the thread about his problems??
    It is.
    Patriotism is not silly, most people in ireland be proud to play for their country and the difference it makes to the country when we are in a tournament is brilliant. You must be a fun guy at parties me thinks .
    Absolutely mad craic, hi. That's all well and good to the people who care, it'd be good to see them do well - still doesn't explain why you think patriotism is not silly. But this is all beside the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

He has been overlooked by Trapp all season who has favoured absolute dung like Caleb Folan. A couple of players pull out, he is called up, decides he is unfit and the knives are out?

Its an end of season friendly. Why are you not criticising the players in the original squad who withdrew with the same venom?

His father isn't his agent and hasn't been for years. But carry on anyway

He has been overlooked by Trapp all season who has favoured absolute dung like Caleb Folan. A couple of players pull out, he is called up, decides he is unfit and the knives are out?

Its an end of season friendly. Why are you not criticising the players in the original squad who withdrew with the same venom?

His Father was his agent up till very recently , had huge problems with sunderland due to this and his interference. Its not and end of season friendly we have a qualifier to come you know. What other players withdrew who were tired ? He is never in the squad as his attitude stinks and he has not played in a rangers v celtic game from the start wich says it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I think its a disgrace that these games are even happening. Its piss taking on UEFA's part to allow games in June and dont get me started about this Italy friendly. Saying all that, for Stokes to say he is tired despite being a benchwarmer gets a big :pac:

Trap wont have him back in the squad after this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

In fairness mate his attitude doesn't seem to be the best what with his "trouble" in Glasgow last week.

He's lucky that Celtic came in for him a second time when they did and his attitude at times is poor for Celtic though there's no denying that he is actually a fairly decent striker.

His Father was his agent up till very recently , had huge problems with sunderland due to this and his interference. Its not and end of season friendly we have a qualifier to come you know. What other players withdrew who were tired ? He is never in the squad as his attitude stinks and he has not played in a rangers v celtic game from the start wich says it all.

He hasn't played for Sunderland for 2 years. His father ceased to be his agent at some point when he was at Sunderland, so at least 2 years ago.

We are giving out that our 7th or 8th choice striker, who will return to league action in July, has withdrawn from an end of season squad, while letting the more established squad players who aren't willing to take part off the hook.

Should he be there? Yes. Does he deserve this abuse for not? No.

He hasn't played for Sunderland for 2 years. His father ceased to be his agent at some point when he was at Sunderland, so at least 2 years ago.

We are giving out that our 7th or 8th choice striker, who will return to league action in July, has withdrawn from an end of season squad, while letting the more established squad players who aren't willing to take part off the hook.

Should he be there? Yes. Does he deserve this abuse for not? No.

OK once more I will spell it out we have a qualifier and inform me of those established players who are not taking part ? He has wasted the talent he has through his belief that he has made it as a player. Had a good chance at celtic but will be shown the door in the summer now i would think.

He is behind Keogh and Folan in the Ireland pecking order. Daft, I know, but he is.

Suddenly when he withdraws from the squad he is getting dogs abuse. He won't play in either game.

Something is not right for the amount of abuse he is getting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

He plays for the second best team in a third rate league. He's not going to make any difference to our hopes of qualifying for Euro 2012 or any other tournament in the future. If he wants to keep himself out of the picture then let him. He has embarrassed himself again so good riddance I say.

You are dead right. All the rest of the Irish options are top players at top CL clubs.
    Like Folan playing mid table (2 goals in 11 games) at a standard below the LoI or Keogh being punted on loan to third teir English sides, or Walters.

Stokes scored more competitive goals this season than the rest of the Irish squad combined.

Trapp has not given Stokes a fair crack and he is throwing a temper tantrum now and heading to the beach instead.

You are dead right. All the rest of the Irish options are top players at top CL clubs.
    Like Folan playing mid table (2 goals in 11 games) at a standard below the LoI or Keogh being punted on loan to third teir English sides, or Walters.

Stokes scored more competitive goals this season than the rest of the Irish squad combined.

Trapp has not given Stokes a fair crack and he is throwing a temper tantrum now and heading to the beach instead.

Stokes has hardly set the world alight though I do think Trap doesnt give certain players a fair go.Walters Long Doyle(When Fit) and Keane are all ahead of him for me. Stokes has not proven it for Celtic in the top games hence why he is left on the bench against Rangers. He needs to be more consistent.

For you. But for Trapp garbage like Best, Folan, Keogh and even this Cox guy are ahead of him.

So he has the hump and won't postpone his holidays to not make the Irish bench behind players that are inferior to him.

He is on the bech v the dark side because Lennon plays one up against them, and that is Hooper or Samaras.

Its the wrong decision, but doesn't justify the abuse he has gotten above!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Doubt you would get a professional contract if you lost you right arm so getting a call up would be unlikely.

A one armed man scored for Uruguay in the first World Cup final. Not that important a fact!

Stokes is being an idiot by pulling out. Trap has a history of ignoring people who don't come to the end of season games, so pulling out for "tiredness" in dubious circumstances might be the end of him getting in Trap's squads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

A one armed man scored for Uruguay in the first World Cup final. Not that important a fact!

Stokes is being an idiot by pulling out. Trap has a history of ignoring people who don't come to the end of season games, so pulling out for "tiredness" in dubious circumstances might be the end of him getting in Trap's squads.

He's been ignored plenty by Trap already. I'd love to see him getting a proper chance to play for us, I think he could do very well.

And he has a history of ignoring Stokes...

Its clearly Stokes making a stand about being 8th choice. He must know full well that finishes him with Trapp and with Tardelli to follow, its quite the stance.

I understand everything you've said, but if withdrawing from a squad to make a stance against being 8th choice or whatever....why not play/train and prove to the manager that you're better than that?

Mushy wrote: »
    I understand everything you've said, but if withdrawing from a squad to make a stance against being 8th choice or whatever....why not play/train and prove to the manager that you're better than that?

Because if he makes himself available to Trapp for the duration, he gets less than two weeks holidays.

He obviously wants to sit on a beach more than sit on the Irish bench.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Its the wrong decision, but doesn't justify the abuse he has gotten above!

This board is notorious for gving dogs abuse to our greatest ever striker, so to see our 7th choice forward getting a hard time shouldn't be surprising either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Playing one's football in the English Championship or something equivalent to it is of much more benefit to a player than getting the odd competitive match in the SPL. Aiden McGeady clearly realised this and got the hell out of that place. Stokes has scored the vast majority of his goals in Scotland, his record elsewhere is appalling. That speaks volumes.

But my point is he is at least scoring the goals in Scotland.

He is behind a guy not scoring goals in the MLS, not scoring goals in the English second division etc.

We aren't exactly blessed with top tier talent and he was by a mile our most prolific striker last year. He deserves to be much higher in the pecking order.

That said, Stokes should really take the chance to stake his claim, but two weeks off isn't ideal preperation for next season either.

It is not as if Stokes has had a stellar career as a model professional, there are good reasons why he has been ignored even with our limited options up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I dont care what anyone else thinks but imo Stokes is a fool in a lot of ways.

The talent that man has and yet he wasted himself by acting the fecking idiot.

I was out in Sunderland one night and never forget him being out with few other players. The rest them while seemed well sound and Stokes really looked a total prick amongst them with the whole do you know who I am crap even getting into fight for no reason after that I knew why Wenger sold him off

It is not as if Stokes has had a stellar career as a model professional, there are good reasons why he has been ignored even with our limited options up front.

So whats the problem...?

He is a bad professional with an inflated belief of his abilities. Dropped at Sunderland, dropped at Crystal Palace, dropped at Sheffield United, dropped at Celtic. Spotting a trend? He causes trouble wherever he goes. Trap presumably does not want a disruptive influence in the team who is not worth the hassle.

His workrate is poor in games, John Hughes publically scolded Stokes for his lack of effort in games. Look at his behaviour at Sunderland and his desire to score in The Glass Spider instead of the pitch. The same way he caused trouble in nightclubs at Hibs. He has been in constant disciplinary trouble everywhere he goes. He was lucky to be in the cup final squad at Celtic due to disciplinary action.

Then add in that this is not the first time he has pulled out of an international squad in dubious circumstances.

He is a bad professional with an inflated belief of his abilities. Dropped at Sunderland, dropped at Crystal Palace, dropped at Sheffield United, dropped at Celtic. Spotting a trend? He causes trouble wherever he goes. Trap presumably does not want a disruptive influence in the team who is not worth the hassle.
    His workrate is poor in games, John Hughes publically scolded Stokes for his lack of effort in games. Look at his behaviour at Sunderland and his desire to score in The Glass Spider instead of the pitch. The same way he caused trouble in nightclubs at Hibs. He has been in constant disciplinary trouble everywhere he goes. He was lucky to be in the cup final squad at Celtic due to disciplinary action.

Then add in that this is not the first time he has pulled out of an international squad in dubious circumstances.

I ask again, so whats the problem?

My issue with this polemic is that there are posters claiming he is both useless and has a bad attitude and then in the same breath panneling him for withdrawing from the squad. Which is it? Is not good enough or vital to the team? He can't be both.

As I have said a couple of times, I think he is far better than he is being given credit for, but really shouldn't have withdrawn like this. It was his chance to come in, score a couple and get above dross like Keogh and Folan in the pecking order. This is an up yours to trapp and I don't think its a good idea.

James McCarthy has pulled out of the squad too. Lets see does he get the same abuse...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I was going to write something funny and witty .....but I'm too tired!:rolleyes:

I ask again, so whats the problem?

My issue with this polemic is that there are posters claiming he is both useless and has a bad attitude and then in the same breath panneling him for withdrawing from the squad. Which is it? Is not good enough or vital to the team? He can't be both.

It is pretty clear what the problem is. The clue is in the words "disruptive influence ". Hence the post explaining why he is a disruptive influence not worth the hassle at a large amount of teams in which he has played.

It is not a question of ability to get in the Ireland squad, he has a certain amount (but nowhere near the level some would give him credit for). There is no point having a disruptive influence who doesn't add that much to the squad. He has only ever scored goals in Scotland.

And if you can't grasp the concept of somebody finding him to be an average footballer, yet still annoyed at seeing a player turning down a chance to play for Ireland, your comprehension skills must be pretty poor.

It is pretty clear what the problem is. The clue is in the words "disruptive influence ". Hence the post explaining why he is a disruptive influence not worth the hassle at a large amount of teams in which he has played.

I don't disagree with that.
    It is not a question of ability to get in the Ireland squad, he has a certain amount (but nowhere near the level some would give him credit for). There is no point having a disruptive influence who doesn't add that much to the squad. He has only ever scored goals in Scotland.

Which is more than at least three of the strikers ahead of him in the pecking order. So no wonder he has the hump. It must be very hard to see Folan, Keogh and Macken ahead of you and dispiriting. Then he is asked to give up an already too short off season to be on the bench?

His disruptive nature seems to have receded recently, although he seems to have stepped over a line last week.
    And if you can't grasp the concept of somebody finding him to be an average footballer, yet still annoyed at seeing a player turning down a chance to play for Ireland, your comprehension skills must be pretty poor.

No, I'm questioning the logic of being happy he isn't in the squad and then lashing him for making that choice. Its bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

You wouldn't be very useful to us without one of your legs

EDIT: Damnit so equally witty poster got there first :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

The usual nonsense from a select crowd on boards. From a Celtic point of view, I am glad he has not answered the late call up as the season break is quite short this year.

ONYD talks a lot of sense in this thread

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Have to admit, much as it pains me, I agree with the Celtic bashers on this one. :(

The guy has an attitude problem it appears. I thought he might have left that behind but obviously not. I'm less and less interested in him and aside from a short spell where he seemed to be building a decent strike partnership with Hooper, he's been average in most games.

I wouldn't lose any sleep if he was moved on from Celtic tbh, and his attitude as regards the national team is pretty poor. This is exactly the type of game a player like him should be pushing hard to be playing in, and to pull out because of tiredness is bad form.

The usual nonsense from a select crowd on boards. From a Celtic point of view, I am glad he has not answered the late call up as the season break is quite short this year.

ONYD talks a lot of sense in this thread

A select crowd and almost every manager Stokes has had in football. It is not the craziest thing ever to suggest that a player with Stokes' career is seen as damaged goods. Throwing the rattle out the pram and not showing up hardly does the Stokes side of the debate any favours.

Seemingly making reasoned points is "nonsense". I guess everybody should have myopic, biased viewpoints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

PauloMN wrote: »
    Have to admit, much as it pains me, I agree with the Celtic bashers on this one. :(

The guy has an attitude problem it appears. I thought he might have left that behind but obviously not. I'm less and less interested in him and aside from a short spell where he seemed to be building a decent strike partnership with Hooper, he's been average in most games.

I wouldn't lose any sleep if he was moved on from Celtic tbh, and his attitude as regards the national team is pretty poor. This is exactly the type of game a player like him should be pushing hard to be playing in, and to pull out because of tiredness is bad form.

Agree I think Celtic would do themselves a favour if he was to leave.