Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tomas O Se incident

• 22-05-2011 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭

I was amazed to see that their was no mention of Tomas O Se's sending off in the Sunday Game highlights. I suppose the Sunday Game panelists must have got threatened by the Kerry County Board after what happened to Galvin and Tomas O Se last year. It should have been mentioned, it was a straight red card and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Did you see the incident? If not why are you arguing about it not being shown. It was off the ball so the camera's didn't pick it up so stop making a storm in a teacup.

Ó'Sé was sent off for a strike to the stomach, after 30minutes of harassment from his marker. Lost his cool and deserves his suspension which will be 2 months down to the 48 week rule. End of story. No big deal.

Kerry have been hard done by in the past. This is not one of those occasions.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,992 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I must admit that there was a lack of comment from the panelists in comparison to the other red cards shown today. There was a comment from his brother but as he said himself.... " but I suppose I would say that because he's my brother" - classic honesty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

teednab-el wrote: »
    I was amazed to see that their was no mention of Tomas O Se's sending off in the Sunday Game highlights. I suppose the Sunday Game panelists must have got threatened by the Kerry County Board after what happend to Galvin and Tomas O Se last year. It should have been mentioned, it was a straight red card and all.
    I hear he got a super injunction, These GAA players are as bad as soccer internationals now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Did you see the incident? If not why are you arguing about it not being shown. It was off the ball so the camera's didn't pick it up so stop making a storm in a teacup.

Ó'Sé was sent off for a strike to the stomach, after 30minutes of harassment from his marker. Lost his cool and deserves his suspension which will be 2 months down to the 48 week rule. End of story. No big deal.

Kerry have been hard done by in the past. This is not one of those occasions.

I didnt see the game today so I wanted to see what he did that merited his sending off. What im saying is that the Panelists didnt even refer to it, and I wonder why? They probably got threatened by the County Board not to mention it on the Programme. Hopefully O Se gets what he deserves anyway, hes a great player but like Galvin he is a thug full stop.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,992 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I didnt see the game today so I wanted to see what he did that merited his sending off. What im saying is that the Panelists didnt even refer to it, and I wonder why? They probably got threatened by the County Board not to mention it on the Programme. Hopefully O Se gets what he deserves anyway, hes a great player but like Galvin he is a thug full stop.

I think he is a great player, he will I hope get what he deserves but I don't see him as quite in the same light as Galvin. I wouldn't call Galvin a Thug though - although I have called him quite a few choice names in the past. He is simply misunderstood.... or something like that.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

Bit like theses tugs?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0oo4P1iCOM&playnext=1&list=PLF212ACCD40F08C7A

What is a thug in your opinion?

Is Pearse O'Neill a thug for kneeing Eoghan O'Gara in the head? And were you as disappointed TSG didnt bring that incident up?

Is Michael Sheilds a Thug for punching Philly McMahon down the Tunnell in the League Final?

Is Noel O'Leary a thug for punching Barry John Keane in the League this year?

Or are they all grand, because they wear the "blood and bandage". I'd be interested to know?

Or are you just a WUM looking for a rise out of Kerry people by abusing players?

?

Barry John Keane is such an Angel isnt he?

The fact is that Noel O Leary is not a thug, he is a hard working player that gives 100% on the field of play. The general view in Kerry is that he is a thug but thats because he and Galvin have been involved in incidents in the past.

Thanks for that.

That was all I needed to know. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

The panel on TSG tonight didn't discuss the Austin O'Malley red either. Ó'Sé deserves his suspension if he punched a guy in the stomach who didn't even have the ball. Although suspending him apparently didn't teach him anything the last time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭sendit

What fact is that? That he's sent out any time Kerry play Cork to try and get Galvin sent off?

sendit wrote: »
    What fact is that? That he's sent out any time Kerry play Cork to try and get Galvin sent off?

Galvin gets himself sent off. He cant control himself.

Thanks for that.

That was all I needed to know. :)

I was being sarcastic, did you catch it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭torturedsoul

Is Pearse O'Neill a thug for kneeing Eoghan O'Gara in the head? And were you as disappointed TSG didnt bring that incident up?

Is Michael Sheilds a Thug for punching Philly McMahon down the Tunnell in the League Final?

Or are they all grand, because they wear the "blood and bandage". I'd be interested to know?

Or are you just a WUM looking for a rise out of Kerry people by abusing players?

WOW, only cork incidents then! Speaks volumes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

*sigh* I was hoping it would be at least another few weeks before all this started up again.

teednab-el and sendit have both been banned for 7 days for their 'thug' comments above. It's as simple as this - do NOT personally abuse players, teams, referees or officials. That's stated in our forum charter which everyone should have read before posting here.

Me and my fellow mods are taking a zero tolerance policy on this for the summer, so much so that our charter will be getting a makeover in the coming days to highlight this.

Regards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Kerry players are getting cranky in their old age, probably the last year for a lot of them.

WOW, only cork incidents then! Speaks volumes
    You seem to have missed the point, I was wondering if he thought Tomás and Paul were thugs because of their foul play, or the fact that they were from Kerry. I listed a number of incidents involving Cork players, as that is HIS OWN county, to see would they in his opinion be classed as "thugs". He replied in the negetive. Therefor it is clear he was only calling the lads thugs as they are from Kerry, not because of their prior behaviour.

I don't like seeing any player classed as a thug. Sometimes they participate in dirty play, sometimes goaded into it sometimes not. At the end of the day, a lot of intercounty players have been sent off before. It doesn't instantly make them a thug.

Tomás did wrong. He'll serve his time. I feel sorry for him, as he had to endure an awful first half, both performance wise and through the niggly element of the game. He lost his cool, which he shouldn't do at this stage of his career. To be honest it should be case closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

Hopefully O Se gets what he deserves anyway, hes a great player but like Galvin he is a thug full stop.

I'm afraid that doesn't make sense to me - if you're saying 'he is a thug full stop', then surely that means that is all he is. Yet you also say 'hes a great player'!! :confused:

Anyway, I didn't see the incident myself, and while I know they're no angels, I've seen enough of both Tomás and Paul Galvin over the years to recognise their greatness. I can pay them no bigger compliment than to say I wish they were Armagh men!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

Was it Noel O'Leary a few years back who caught Graham Geraghty with a lovely terrible punch off the ball in Croke park and it wasn't picked up by the ref or umpires? I'm fairly sure it was him, does anyone else remember this?

All this talk of "thugs" is silly by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Was it Noel O'Leary a few years back who caught Graham Geraghty with a lovely terrible punch off the ball in Croke park and it wasn't picked up by the ref or umpires? I'm fairly sure it was him, does anyone else remember this?

All this talk of "thugs" is silly by the way.

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

I'll take that as a yes! ;)

Given his 'alleged' comments to o'leary that day.... it would be a Yes... all day long in fact !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

slingerz wrote: »
    <snip>

Is that true??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭moomoocow

<snip>

Dont even start with this bulls%$£ about Galvin bring it on himself its clear as day he's singled out by other teams and Noel O Leary and Cadogan are the main two

moomoocow wrote: »
    Dont even start with this bulls%$£ about Galvin bring it on himself its clear as day he's singled out by other teams and Noel O Leary and Cadogan are the main two

They are teams are they:confused:

I agree that Cadogan and O'Leary were singled out by Galvin though;)

Do people just come in here making up stories or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Cork and Kerry folk in a mickey waving contest, oh yes championship has arrived :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

slingerz wrote: »
    I'd be pretty confident that Fionnan Murray wasnt playing for cork at that time.

Fionnan Murray was indeed playing and it was the 2002 All-Ireland Semi-Final between Cork and Kerry. Marc O'Se told Paudi what happened, Paudi then brought on Tom O'Sullivan as a substitute and put him on Murray, the first ball that came came Tom O'Sullivan floored Murray with a belt of a fist straight in to the neck into the wind-pipe and then literally pounded breadcrums out of him down the floor.

Murray made a meek attempt at a fight back but it was a case of job done by Tom Sullivan and Paudi, both players got red cards and it revved up Kerry to the last who went on to give Cork the mother of all hammerings by 3-19 to 2-07 in their first ever Championship meeting in Croke Park, this was 9 years ago but I can vividly remember it as I was sitting straight in front of it in the lower Hogan stand. Colin Corkery was also sent off in disgrace that day in what was his final Championship match for the Rebels, it was a great day and to this day Cork have never ever beaten Kerry inside in Croke Park.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2002/0825/football.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Jack O'Connor was on Kerry radio there a while ago and he has said that they have to accept that Tomas O'Se will be out for the next 2 months so the incident not been shown on the Sunday Game has made no difference.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Fionnan Murray was indeed playing and it was the 2002 All-Ireland Semi-Final between Cork and Kerry. Marc O'Se told Paudi what happened, Paudi then brought on Tom O'Sullivan as a substitute and put him on Murray, the first ball that came came Tom O'Sullivan floored Murray with a belt of a fist straight in to the neck into the wind-pipe and then literally pounded breadcrums out of him down the floor.

Murray made a meek attempt at a fight back but it was a case of job done by Tom Sullivan and Paudi, both players got red cards and it revved up Kerry to the last who went on to give Cork the mother of all hammerings by 3-19 to 2-07 in their first ever Championship meeting in Croke Park, this was 9 years ago but I can vividly remember it as I was sitting straight in front of it in the lower Hogan stand. Colin Corkery was also sent off in disgrace that day in what was his final Championship match for the Rebels, it was a great day and to this day Cork have never ever beaten Kerry inside in Croke Park.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2002/0825/football.html

I've a feeling the next time the two counties meet in Croke Park it could be another great day in Croke Park - not for the likes of you though;)

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I've had to edit a number of posts which contained some pretty wild accusations regarding a number of players, something of which is against the rules of the forum.

I know many people like to think that they're 'in the know' around here, but posting false and possibly defamatory accusations of players can get us in very serious trouble. With that, we can't take any risks. When speculating on events only do so by posting a source or link alongside it.

Thanks.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I've a feeling the next time the two counties meet in Croke Park it could be another great day in Croke Park - not for the likes of you though;)

Just like every other time they've met there?

What ever happened to freedom of speach?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

What ever happened to freedom of speach?

No such thing here, you agreed to that when you signed up to boards :D

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/faq.php?faq=bie_faq#faq_bie_faq_guidelines
    No freedom of speech.

This is a private website. There is no "right" to freedom of speech here. We, the Admins and moderators DO want to promote discussion but FREE un-moderated discussion online turns into a screaming match between children. We believe that rules of etiquette should be applied (see below). Shouting about how we have infringed your "freedom of speech" on a privately owned website is silly. You can use blogger.com to say what YOU like, what you aren’t entitled to is access to the community we have built here without abiding by the community's rules, as decided and enforced by us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Gryire

I was amazed to see that their was no mention of Tomas O Se's sending off in the Sunday Game highlights. I suppose the Sunday Game panelists must have got threatened by the Kerry County Board after what happened to Galvin and Tomas O Se last year. It should have been mentioned, it was a straight red card and all.

Noticed that as well. Thought Brolly's destruction of Davis was great. What tosser this guy is.

If Tomas does get 8 weeks, Kerry could put in a challenge to it on the technicality that he wasn't actually sent off in the game against Limerick last year? Cork always do this so i dont see any difference. More then likely wont happen but it could be done

Do they?

I think they will take the 8 week ban on it's merit and leave it at that. Challenging it could possibly increase the ban couldn't it? Serioulsy doubt if they would chance it.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Do they?

I think they will take the 8 week ban on it's merit and leave it at that. Challenging it could possibly increase the ban couldn't it? Serioulsy doubt if they would chance it.

Yes they do any time a Cork player is sent off Mr Murphy challenges it

Link?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

Really? That is news to me.

I could have sworn Noel O'Leary, Eoin Cadogan and Michael Shields all served their one-month suspensions in the League this year without any appeal.

Perhaps you have evidence to the contrary?

shezmagic wrote: »
    Really? That is news to me.

I could have sworn Noel O'Leary, Eoin Cadogan and Michael Shields all served their one-month suspensions in the League this year without any appeal.

Perhaps you have evidence to the contrary?

In the last few years Donncha O'Connor and Anthony Lynch are just two off the top of my head

Graham Canty against Kerry last year also for 2 Yellows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

Is that it? When you said "any time a Cork player is sent off Mr Murphy challenges it" I was expecting a little more than one incident six years and another three years ago. And no acknowledgment of the non-appeals for the three latest examples I cited.

Sure Kerry have launched plenty of (failed) appeals in the interim, the latest Marc O'Se's in February this year. Maybe we can lend ye the aforementioned Mr Murphy to fine-tune your appeals process, although God knows even Frank would have his hands full trying to save Galvin after all his various misdemeanors through the years :D

Anyway moving on, I really don't mind whether Kerry go down the route of launching appeals again mid-Championship. That is your own business but from an outside perspective it would seem that a lack of focus and indiscipline cost Kerry in 2010. A year on and already one of Kerry's best players is now facing another lengthy spell on the sidelines. That has to be a worry for Jack O'Connor and for Kerry supporters in general, would you say?

shezmagic wrote: »
    Is that it? When you said "any time a Cork player is sent off Mr Murphy challenges it" I was expecting a little more than one incident six years and another three years ago. And no acknowledgment of the non-appeals for the three latest examples I cited.

Sure Kerry have launched plenty of (failed) appeals in the interim, the latest Marc O'Se's in February this year. Maybe we can lend ye the aforementioned Mr Murphy to fine-tune your appeals process, although God knows even Frank would have his hands full trying to save Galvin after all his various misdemeanors through the years :D

Anyway moving on, I really don't mind whether Kerry go down the route of launching appeals again mid-Championship. That is your own business but from an outside perspective it would seem that a lack of focus and indiscipline cost Kerry in 2010. A year on and already one of Kerry's best players is now facing another lengthy spell on the sidelines. That has to be a worry for Jack O'Connor and for Kerry supporters in general, would you say?

You seem to have missed out the comment above there.

Frank does a good job covering up Noel O'Leary and Eoin Cadogan dont you think? Oh wait i for got they never do anything wrong now do they?

Jesus you would not see 8 year olds make such pettish comments as the ones in here and other threads.

The GAA forum in here is going downhill big style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

The whole Tomas O Se incident has been accepted by the majority in Kerry. He got a red. He's more than likely gone for two months. Only the very blinkered people will say he was wronged. We're all sick of the same carry on year in year out.

The reason The Sunday Game didn't talk about it is that they had no footage to back it up. I can assure you that Jerome Conway of the Kerry County Board didn't intimidate TSG. Thats just a ridicolous thing to suggest.

The county board squandered an awful lot of money on legal fees trying to get Galvin off a few years back. I'm fairly sure they won't go through that process again.

The hatred for Galvin and Tomas is just sad. Let it go people. Focus on your own teams aspirations for the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

it was, they even reshowed the incident or lack of as the camera did not catch it really, they caught the aftermath where there was a bit of shoving going on...... you should really watch the programme again lol

anyway us Kerry people have taken the decision T O' Shea has....
    we are getting on with it.
    Not sure why the rest of the prople in here are complaining about it....