Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rory McIlroy

• 21-05-2011 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭

What is wrong with Rory and his attitude to criticism?

Last few weeks he has gone on the attack to Butch and Roe over comments they may.

Most know Rory's long game is top notch but the flat stick isn't great and Roe only suggested he should change his putting and rory uses a followers tweet literally to tell roe where to go.

I think he is still a bit immature at times especially with his shot selection. Instead of playing the percentage shot he goes for glory. Last example was against the goose in m/play 1 up playing last and rory goes for the hero shot after the goose lays up. not require to do as only can cause trouble. Lucky for rory he chips in for birdie. He should have never gone for the green in two.

I think over the next few years he will improve. Been in the company of Westwood should help but who knows.

He has the long game and if the short game and head can improve a bit he can be world no 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Totally agree. Not normally one for browsing twitter but had a look at his page today. Saw one snide comment about Roe but didn't know the background. Childish. As for the rest of his comments - just cringeworthy rubbish for the most part. Someone needs to take away his laptop and give him a gameboy or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

This is the new world folks. If you don't like it, I'm afraid you'll only be lumping more and more of it as time moves on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    Totally agree. Not normally one for browsing twitter but had a look at his page today. Saw one snide comment about Roe but didn't know the background. Childish. As for the rest of his comments - just cringeworthy rubbish for the most part. Someone needs to take away his laptop and give him a gameboy or something.

In response to the first two posts.
    He is 22.
    A time when 90% of that age group may just be finishing up college and dare I say it, may still display a lot of immaturity and perhaps even a few more cocky sides to their bow.

He is very accessible via twitter and to be fair to the guy he may need to have a bit of cop on when using it, the same as a lot of that age group (and indeed more) when using twitter and facebook.

No one likes criticism - or even to be told what to do, no more so than the younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Trampas wrote: »

Last few weeks he has gone on the attack to Butch and Roe over comments they may.

Hes full of shtt.Thats his problem. Hes got to the stage where he refuses to sign autographs for younglads. Im finding it increasingly hard to like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Unfortunate part about that is, if he switched on his Sky Sports highlights he'd realise that Roe praises his game & his golf swing more than any other player's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭fionnsda

rory should not have said, what he said on twitter, as roe is only doing what he is paid to do .......talk ****e on sky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

just goes to show anyone who uses twitter is a tw*t.no exceptions.

ps if rory is so sensitive to criticism maybe he should extend the same courtesy to his fellow pros and countrymen-ie tiger and darren dibson

pps met him once-seemed like a really nice guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

there's nothing quite like a subjective sweeping statement.

Given that you participate in the medium, I presume your rule doesn't apply to anonymous forum users?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

thewobbler wrote: »

there's nothing quite like a subjective sweeping statement.

Given that you participate in the medium, I presume your rule doesn't apply to anonymous forum users?

Haha Thats funny :D I agree with him :rolleyes: Touche

Rory should stay away from the twitter because it's a medium that general banter gets picked up and manipulated since the post can'y be put into context.

A joke or a giddy mood or even just something said off the cuff with very little thought can get turned into something a lot more serious quite easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

Whatever he may say on twitter or anywhere else he better get his head down and win a major soon or he'll end up a bitter little sod like Gracia.
    And in any case Roe is right, Rorys putting sucks. He may be a great ball striker and have a glorious long game but I'd take Donald or Poulter over him anyday on the greens. If he putted half as good as either of these guys he'd have won the Masters by half a dozen shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »

Hes full of shtt.Thats his problem. Hes got to the stage where he refuses to sign autographs for younglads. Im finding it increasingly hard to like him.

have any evidence for this because i find it hard to believe. met him at the jp mcmanus pro-am and found him to be very friendly.

Clearly he should not be reacting to the comments by Roe or Butch. They are always complemetary of his game tee to green. Roe said this week that his coach shouldnt change one thing about his swing but said he needed to "tweak" his putting. all of which is correct.
    He needs to take this small bit of criticism, sort out his putting and go prove these lads wrong on the course only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭bigeasy

Most know Rory's long game is top notch but the flat stick isn't great and Roe only suggested he should change his putting and rory uses a followers tweet literally to tell roe where to go.

I think he is still a bit immature at times especially with his shot selection. Instead of playing the percentage shot he goes for glory. Last example was against the goose in m/play 1 up playing last and rory goes for the hero shot after the goose lays up. not require to do as only can cause trouble. Lucky for rory he chips in for birdie. He should have never gone for the green in two.

I think over the next few years he will improve. Been in the company of Westwood should help but who knows.

He has the long game and if the short game and head can improve a bit he can be world no 1

Don't think Rory was angry about being criticised about his game, it was about his schedule and not playing at sawgrass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

I think that the sooner that Rory adopts the customs, habits and norms of a conservative old fogey, the better. I would suggest that gardening would be a much more wholesome way of passing time than engaging with new-fangled online social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭5989

I'd be inclined to agree that twitter is a neddless distraction to his game, but then again it hasn't exactly affected Westwood, Poulter or McDowells games has it? Maybe not as prolific as Rory on it but still all of that crew are regularly in touch with each other on it. I'd say its more of a case of McIlroy viewing everything with an eye to a twitter pic or comment whereas the rest will just post comments and put the phone down.

It really boils done to his putting, its the be all and end all of his game as he'll always hit greens. Guys like that will always miss more 15 footers than the guys who dont hit greens but you cant let it affect you. Any thoughts on the best path for him to follow? Go natural and lose the fear he seems to have over putts? Go technical? Seems a very natural golfer so maybe thats the way to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭AldilaMan

Getting coached by Dave Stockton on putting now so the penny seems to have dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Ouch !! Revenge is her chosen dish ...;-)

It's hard to control your image when your ex plans a "golf pros, tennis hoes" dinner. tinyurl.com/d3lygoz

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

soundsham wrote: »

It's hard to control your image when your ex plans a "golf pros, tennis hoes" dinner. tinyurl.com/d3lygoz
    Bitter and twisted b#tch, easy to see now why he gave her the flick!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

I'd imagine being a 22 year old major champion and current world number 2 it must be hard to take criticism from has beens and nobodys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

soundsham wrote: »

Should make for interesting viewing... Probably be my first time watching TV3 this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Wearing a tight top ... When is it on ..?:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Celebrity Come Dine With Me??

Newsflash. Holly Sweeney is not a celebrity. :rolleyes:

She's hardly portraying herself in the best light for any potential suitors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

foxyboxer wrote: »

Yeah, she's gona feel a right tit alongside such megastars as Pippa O’Connor, Michael O’Doherty, Shane Byrne and Madeline Mulqueen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Libra1

CageWager wrote: »
    foxyboxer wrote: »

Yeah, she's gona feel a right tit alongside such megastars as Pippa O’Connor, Michael O’Doherty, Shane Byrne and Madeline Mulqueen.

Who are the last 2 ?

Young and fiery, poor girls parents should have best advised her... She will just appear sad. Rory should not even contact her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Libra1 wrote: »
    Who are the last 2 ?

Presume Shane Byrne is former Leinster and Ireland hooker, Madeline Mulqueen was in the Rubber Bandits' video for Horse Outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Winner today unless Hanson finishes -3 for last 2 holes
    Savage bunker shot on 18, to cap a great round
    Makes next week a bit more interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

Great win for him today, he played some serious golf. Could have been an even lower round, great way to finish though by holing out on the last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Super stuff, great win

Fair play to him, next week in Dubai should be very interesting! Is this repeated on Sky today? Cant see it on the listings?

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Fair play to him, next week in Dubai should be very interesting! Is this repeated on Sky today? Cant see it on the listings?

More than likely it will be on the red button during the Chevron Golf Challenge tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

I think now there's a good chance he'll become world no 1 at some stage in 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

Really???
    Of course he'll be no 1 early next year
    Tigers rehab won't be complete til the masters

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

dvemail wrote: »
    Great win for him today, he played some serious golf. Could have been an even lower round, great way to finish though by holing out on the last.

For anyone who missed that shot

Skip onto about 6.45 to see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭charlieharper

My good friend in college was a top golfer in his school days & played and beat McIlroy in a South Of Ireland event. He said he's the biggest pr*ck he ever played against, arrogant as hell & hardly talks to his partners & I'd believe it.

He'll never be a "crowd favourite" & until he starts listening to others around him & taking the odd bit of advice he'll never be a top top player.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

My good friend in college was a top golfer in his school days & played and beat McIlroy in a South Of Ireland event. He said he's the biggest pr*ck he ever played against, arrogant as hell & hardly talks to his partners & I'd believe it.

He'll never be a "crowd favourite" & until he starts listening to others around him & taking the odd bit of advice he'll never be a top top player.
    Come off it. Tiger Woods isn't mister friendly and is one of the best player's of all time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Oscars Well.

Looks like the Americans love him already to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

I think he already is a top player to be fair...

He's one of the most popular players in the world at the moment so he is obviously doing something right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

He is number two in the world, He is a top top player i will go as far and say he is a top,top,top player.

DULLAHAN2 wrote: »
    He is number two in the world, He is a top top player i will go as far and say he is a top,top,top player.

You might even say he's the second best player in the world...;)

McIlroy struggling ahead of Dubai event
    Tuesday, December 06, 2011 - 07:53 AM

Rory McIlroy goes into his European Tour showdown with Luke Donald this week waiting for the results of blood tests.

The 22-year-old US Open champion kept the Race to Dubai money list battle alive by winning the Hong Kong Open on Sunday, but has been struggling with his health for some time.

The Irish golfer went to see a doctor on arrival in the United Arab Emirates for the Dubai World Championship. It starts on Thursday and he needs to win, and for Donald to finish outside the top nine, to be crowned number one for the season.

"I won't get the results back until later on this week," said the Northern Irishman. "I picked up a virus and my white blood cell count was very low, so the tests were to see if it's back up again."

It is hardly surprising. McIlroy has been virtually non-stop since late September and that has included three trips to the Far East and one to Bermuda.

"I'm not energy-wise where I want to be, but I took a day off yesterday and took it easy," he added.

"I'm going to play the pro-am today and practise and I'll probably take another day off tomorrow - maybe hit a few balls.

"I'll really try and conserve my energy and focus it all into the four tournament days.

"I'm not 100%, but I'm still able to go out and play 18 holes and try and give it my all.

"I've still got a slim chance of trying to win the 'Race to Dubai'. It's going to be a tough ask, but I'll give my best and it would be great to finish the year on a high."

Not that he is quite finished yet. McIlroy is also entered for next week's Thailand Championship, although his manager Conor Ridge says his participation there depends on his health.

Asked if he might have pulled out this week if it had not been such a big event - not just for the money list, but also the world rankings and Ryder Cup qualifying points - he said: "I'm not sure.

"I don't like pulling out of tournaments. I think you saw that at the PGA this year." That was where he damaged his arm hitting against a tree root on the third hole, yet he managed all four rounds.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/mcilroy-struggling-ahead-of-dubai-event-531120.html#ixzz1fl7nWOYY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭sweetswing

Jesus Christ :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Benny Cake wrote: »
    McIlroy struggling ahead of Dubai event
    Tuesday, December 06, 2011 - 07:53 AM

Rory McIlroy goes into his European Tour showdown with Luke Donald this week waiting for the results of blood tests.

The 22-year-old US Open champion kept the Race to Dubai money list battle alive by winning the Hong Kong Open on Sunday, but has been struggling with his health for some time.

The Irish golfer went to see a doctor on arrival in the United Arab Emirates for the Dubai World Championship. It starts on Thursday and he needs to win, and for Donald to finish outside the top nine, to be crowned number one for the season.

"I won't get the results back until later on this week," said the Northern Irishman. "I picked up a virus and my white blood cell count was very low, so the tests were to see if it's back up again."

It is hardly surprising. McIlroy has been virtually non-stop since late September and that has included three trips to the Far East and one to Bermuda.

"I'm not energy-wise where I want to be, but I took a day off yesterday and took it easy," he added.

"I'm going to play the pro-am today and practise and I'll probably take another day off tomorrow - maybe hit a few balls.

"I'll really try and conserve my energy and focus it all into the four tournament days.

"I'm not 100%, but I'm still able to go out and play 18 holes and try and give it my all.

"I've still got a slim chance of trying to win the 'Race to Dubai'. It's going to be a tough ask, but I'll give my best and it would be great to finish the year on a high."

Not that he is quite finished yet. McIlroy is also entered for next week's Thailand Championship, although his manager Conor Ridge says his participation there depends on his health.

Asked if he might have pulled out this week if it had not been such a big event - not just for the money list, but also the world rankings and Ryder Cup qualifying points - he said: "I'm not sure.

"I don't like pulling out of tournaments. I think you saw that at the PGA this year." That was where he damaged his arm hitting against a tree root on the third hole, yet he managed all four rounds.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/mcilroy-struggling-ahead-of-dubai-event-531120.html#ixzz1fl7nWOYY

Jesus,

A 22 year old suffering from exhaustion is crazy. I cant remember ever being tired at 22.

I hope to hope, he has being taking all the necessary precautions traveling to the far east.

Less golf and travelling next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭scubapro

Jesus,

A 22 year old suffering from exhaustion is crazy. I cant remember ever being tired at 22.

I hope to hope, he has being taking all the necessary precautions traveling to the far east.

Less golf and travelling next year.

Not to take it down to much of a level but with a girlfriend
    Like Caroline Wozniacki.........