Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Regional Slang

• 20-05-2011 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭

In another thread, I wrote, "Gee, I'm tired of my penis" or something along those lines and I saw a few comments about the term "gee". I had no idea that it has a different connotation in Ireland than in the US. In the US, it generally equates to someone who's pondering something as in "gee, I don't know."

I guess that's why I got a few funny looks from my co-workers a few days back. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

Yippppeee............. this is gonna be fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

In another thread, I wrote, "Gee, I'm tired of my penis" or something along those lines and I saw a few comments about the term "gee". I had no idea that it has a different connotation in Ireland than in the US. In the US, it generally equates to someone who's pondering something as in "gee, I don't know."

I guess that's why I got a few funny looks from my co-workers a few days back. :pac:
    Pronounced differently. One is a hard "g" the other soft.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Just like fanny in USA has different meaning in Ireland / UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

Gee with a hard G (lol) is slang for the lady parts. I saw that post and had a giggle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Just wait until you say "yeah I rode yer ma up the gicker"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

benwavner wrote: »
    Just wait until you say "yeah I rode yer ma up the gicker"
    or "gowl"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Why are you tired of your Mickey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

In Castlebar people tend to say "That's bertie!" if something is a bit "mad"
    No one else get's it, they look around for the weasel ahern

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There's a famous 60's band called Hermans Hermits but in some parts of north west/north east England they are refered to as '' Ermins Ermits '' ...

cracks me up whenever I hear it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

themadchef wrote: »
    Why are you tired of your Mickey?

She has "issues".It's best not to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

in donegal a nice car is called a quare yock, your mother is your oul doll and theres a load more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

Rds1989 wrote: »
    in donegal a nice car is called a quare yock, your mother is your oul doll and theres a load more

Wain = child

Wile = very ie ITs wile cold hi

Brae = hill

Hill = Bog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

"Ya geebag"

Best. Phrase. Ever. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

theboss80 wrote: »
    Wain = child

Brae = hill

Hill = Bog

This.

Jaysus I love Donegal slang like a completely different language up here.

To an American "Aye sure wasn't it a wile hanlin"

Cue absolute bemusement :P

And another one this is used up here in inishowen and in the north too i think; One word: Arn'tenya? = Are you not?

Arn'tenya going the pub th'mara? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

A few words in dublin we say that the coumtry folk dont under stand

Dub - Country folk

car = Horse and cart
    Education/reading/writing = Learning to herd livestock
    Foreign holiday = Achill island

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Oranage2 wrote: »

Dub - Country folk

car = Horse and cart

I'd expect nothing less from an Orange Man. Someone beat you to the number one spot eh?

No wonder when you come out with crap like that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

Dub - Country folk

car = Horse and cart

Your spelling of country is wrong, might want to cross education/reading/writing of the list there :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭catweasel10

In Belfast a poke = ice-cream with a flake in it. It means something entirely different where I'm from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

theboss80 wrote: »
    Wain = child

Brae = hill

Hill = Bog

In order of size
    fair bit
    good bit
    brave bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Dub - Country folk

car = Horse and cart
    As a person from Achill, here's how I understand those words:

Dub - Person from Dublin. Usually of sound disposition but the odd one in an attempt to be clever and funny will show themselves up as semi-literate and inarticulate
    Car - Mechanical vehicle to travel from place to place
    Education/reading/writing - Learning the skills to comminicate your thoughts to other people in a clear and concise manner
    Foreign holiday - Holiday outside of Ireland and the UK

Your post had potential to be funny but the execution was poor :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭mr biazzi

Has Tuam Been mentioned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭jclally

Growing up in clare, everyone called runners "tackies". Never heard it anywhere else.

I met a friend of my dads from mayo on all ireland day a few years back, and ur told me him and my dad "were like ****e on a blanket".... I was worried til someone told me it meant inseperable.

Bring your own blankets if youre ever in belmullet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

To an American "Aye sure wasn't it a wile hanlin"

Wile is a word that seems to have many meanings.

If someone says - wasn't it terrible about what happened to aul francie

The response in donegal could be.... aye wile sir! meaning yeah it was terrible.

or

I heard francie hit paddy last night - Aye, he hit him a wile slap.

or

wile cold, wile far, its a wile distance, wile carry on last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

What happened that rapper named gee bag? Seems to have gone from the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

A meat tea is some sort of meal boggers apparently feast on during days out up to the big Shmoke for whatever happens in Croker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

In Waterford the use of the word wicked.

It's wicked bad. It's wicked good. It's a wicked shame. Your wicked thick.

I think a lot of counties do something similar. Like in Wexford and some other counties they use Quer instead of wicked and in Donegal as said above they use Wile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Is 'scan' a nationwide thing? Pronounced sshkan.

Is used in Connaught a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

It's just a West of Ireland thing.

As is "Howya now sskkan"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

Down here I call homosexuals 'crafty butchers'.
    They like to take their meat in around the back...

(not homophobic btw)

I've plenty more too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

'So you found us then?' 'Eventually, I've been all round the Rekin!'

Gambole = a forward roll
    Outdoor = Off-licence
    Island = Roundabout

Apparently 'Mardy's a Brum word too, but that seems quite a well-known word now.
    And apparently 'cob' is unique to Birmingham (as in a bread roll).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

In Belfast a poke = ice-cream with a flake in it.

I know a guy who got flame grilled for disparaging comments posted on the interweb about "Black taxi drivers" by posters who didnt realise that in Belfast the term refers to the colour of the Vehicle rather than the driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

In Dundalk; saying 'Our', as in 'Our fella', generally a brother, but extended to encompass any male acquaintance.

Thus, 'How's things, our?', or 'Alright, our.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭pakb1ue

Wetzer = Hot girl

Me and my mates heard Dublin scumbags using this and we thought it was hilarious. So we start saying it taking piss only to find that we ended up using for when we weren't taking the piss. Such a horrible word, but none of my friends from my home town or Belfast know what it means.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Dub - Country folk

car = Horse and cart

How witty and original.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

deisedevil wrote: »
    In Waterford the use of the word wicked.

It's wicked bad. It's wicked good. It's a wicked shame. Your wicked thick.

I think a lot of counties do something similar. Like in Wexford and some other counties they use Quer instead of wicked and in Donegal as said above they use Wile.

Well boy, how's the lack? Are you going into town at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

Limerick slang,

"A by de kid!" - informal hello
    "tackies" - runners/trainers
    "daysent" - decent. just the flat accent causes this
    any phrase with the word "steam" in it means gay.
    "gowlbag" - just a generic insult
    "spacer" - someone who is away with the fairies...

Nope, never heard it used up here. Meaning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

We have some quare weird words in Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

I noticed in Donegal and Castlebar, they say 'feek' instead of 'shift'... I honestly don't know how it never reached Sligo on its way down to Castlebar!
    I don't know about other places, but Sligo use the word 'fierce' in the same way as 'very'.
    "Jaysus, He's fierce ghey!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Regional Slang
    In another thread, I wrote, "Gee, I'm tired of my penis" or something along those lines and I saw a few comments about the term "gee". I had no idea that it has a different connotation in Ireland than in the US.
    This might come as a shock but Ireland isn't a region of the US...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

biko wrote: »
    OMG! Like for real? I totally did miss that. I like for sure thought this was a new state that I had to fly 8 hours to and provide my passport and answer questions at the immigration bureau.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

FinnLizzy wrote: »
    I noticed in Donegal and Castlebar, they say 'feek' instead of 'shift'... I honestly don't know how it never reached Sligo on its way down to Castlebar!
    I don't know about other places, but Sligo use the word 'fierce' in the same way as 'very'.
    "Jaysus, He's fierce ghey!"
    I'm from Donegal and I've never heard feek used instead of shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I've heard it used in Wexford, but not much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

FinnLizzy wrote: »

I'm from Castlebar and everybody uses the word feek although shift is being used more and more as time goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Few mates of mine from Tip use ''feek'' as in the ride.

Same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

Duff wrote: »
    Few mates of mine from Tip use ''feek'' as in the ride.

I heard it from a fella in Tallaght, pre-Feeky McGee of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

Same.

Same as that, maybe yer man heard it from somebody near the sligo border, im from the laggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

biko wrote: »

Yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

It's just a West of Ireland thing.

As is "Howya now sskkan"

Never heard it when I was growing up in Galway/Mayo, but I think its very popular around sligo area.