Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Rebel County" me ar*e

• 20-05-2011 8:22pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭

Just watching the welcome the Queen got in Cork today, I'd be surprised if she was as warmly received in Surrey.
    So much for the "up the rebels" chant this year during the championship.

Although Cork people and Royalty are quiet similar,

they both think they are the same as everyone else when suffering from a inferiority complex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Rawhead wrote: »

Hardly.....I heard them cheering!
    they both think they are the same as everyone else when suffering from a inferiority complex.

WTF is this "inferiority complex" bull that's doing the rounds on boards lately ? Did it come from the "Kill off all possible disagreements" handbook ?

Fair f**ks to Cork for showing Dublin how to behave.......and if anyone reckons that's "begrudging" or "inferiority", then remember that Dublin had its chance the other day and the thugs there won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Worra load of cock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

*yawn*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Seeing as a rebel is someone who resists the ruling party or Govt of where they live then why should they not welcome the head of state of another country?
    By your argument Cork should be popping caps in Endas ass.
    Try again.....

Come to think of it if Sin Fein had come to power in the last election you should expect Cork folk to be against that......
    Really.....try again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭CongoPowers

He's right about the inferiority complex, to be honest. It's funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

I reckon Cork people did well today. Fair play to them indeed.
    Those thugs are just that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

ShadowGal wrote: »
    *yawn*

I see you got those braces you were always after! CONGRATULATIONS! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Just watching the welcome the Queen got in Cork today, I'd be surprised if she was as warmly received in Surrey.
    So much for the "up the rebels" chant this year during the championship.

We have enough problems in this country without making another international embarrassment of ourselves by resorting to petty bullshít like mass demonstrations against a royal visit, or more of the thuggery that was seen in Dublin. Alot of growing up has to be done in Ireland, might as well start now.

He's right about the inferiority complex, to be honest. It's funny.

People's opinions differ, I guess. I see nothing right about it whatsoever - it's just a sad method of shouting down any argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

well well well

never again can a cork man ( or tipp or kildare ) ever utter the words " jackeen " about a dub

because of the fawning over the royals they put 1911 dublin to shame , and in fairness it was always a bit stupid calling me a jackeen - im not 100 years old , i could not have been waving the union flag

so my cork brothers , the giants of men from the rebel county

your new royal title is " jakeen langers " ENJOY :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00yvscy/Story_of_Ireland_Age_of_Invasions/

Presented by a Corkonian who refers to Dublin as Ireland's greatest city.
    I actually took note of the time in the show when this happens because there's always a Dublin vs Cork thread on the go (sad bastards). It's at about 45 minutes in.

Check the tv guide or use a proxy if you know how to.

Just for the record, I'm from Kildare and find this whole Cork vs Dublin think idiotic at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

I see you got those braces you were always after! CONGRATULATIONS! :)

I had braces before now that you mention it *yawn* *ouch* *yawn* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

J. Marston wrote: »
    Piss off.
    Why can't we all be friends? Come here and give us a big hug....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

i pissed in her tea:D

Agricola wrote: »
    We have enough problems in this country without making another international embarrassment of ourselves by resorting to petty bullshít like mass demonstrations against a royal visit, or more of the thuggery that was seen in Dublin. Alot of growing up has to be done in Ireland, might as well start now.

ah make yer minds up will ya FFS

if the dubs had come flags waving we were arse licking jackeens

if they came out fighting we are scum

make your ****ing minds up - but ya wont because no matter what the dubs do they will be hammered by the cousin ****ers

never can we win ( enter all ireland jokes here :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Why can't we all be friends? Come here and give us a big hug....

For reals? No foolin'?

dj jarvis wrote: »
    well well well

never again can a cork man ( or tipp or kildare ) ever utter the words " jackeen " about a dub

because of the fawning over the royals they put 1911 dublin to shame , and in fairness it was always a bit stupid calling me a jackeen - im not 100 years old , i could not have been waving the union flag

so my cork brothers , the giants of men from the rebel county

your new royal title is " jakeen langers " ENJOY :D

Was that an accidental truth ? Or did you drop it in as a fact hoping no-one would see ?

They also put 2011 Dublin to shame.

Cork has it's share of thugs, just like any city, but they were thankfully kept away from embarrassing the country.

dj jarvis wrote: »
    if the dubs had come flags waving we were arse licking jackeens

if they came out fighting we are scum

There is a reasonable behaviour in between those two extremes, y'know.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,692 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Heard a guy on The Last Word today explain why Cork is called the Rebel County, and its nothing to do with Irish Independence.

Heard a great quote today too. That Britain should try to remember a bit more about their history, and Ireland should try to forget a bit more about theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Liam Byrne wrote: »

Fair f**ks to Cork for showing Dublin how to behave.......and if anyone reckons that's "begrudging" or "inferiority", then remember that Dublin had its chance the other day and the thugs there won.

Get lost. Dublin was cordened off in such a way it would be impossible to show affection for the visit. I read an article that many were looking forward to the visit and were very upset that they didn't have a chance to see her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

bollox.

Id rather a thread on you talking about your latest smegma harvest tbh

Was that an accidental truth ? Or did you drop it in as a fact hoping no-one would see ?

Cork has it's share of thugs, just like any city, but they were thankfully kept away from embarrassing the country.

yea in the royal arse licking stakes ya won hands down ...well done lads

i refer to my post about the dubs never gonna win this one
    flag wave we are lick arses - start a riot scum

( and yes i think cork looked well and done great today , i was poking fun at the jackeen status but once again cork just proves what a ****ing chip it has on it shoulder )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Technoprisoner

Get lost. Dublin was cordened off in such a way it would be impossible to show affection for the visit. I read an article that many were looking forward to the visit and were very upset that they didn't have a chance to see her.

lol did you not see the thousands that turned out to see her? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

J. Marston wrote: »
    For reals? No foolin'?
    Yeah.. big squezzy one....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Typical, you love giving it but cannot take it.

I believe there is even a campaign to get Ballydesmond changed back to Kingwilliamstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Cork is called the rebel county because of some guy in the 15th century pretending to be the heir to the throne in England, it has nothing to do with the war of independence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Dublin had to be cordoned off as it was a certainty that the usual rent-a-mob gang of scrotes wouldn't be able to behave themselves.

And lo, it did come to pass........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Joe10000

Cork is called the rebel county because of some guy in the 15th century pretended to be the heir to the throne in England, it has nothing to do with the war of independence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Dublin had to be cordoned off as it was a certainty that the usual rent-a-mob gang of scrotes wouldn't be able to behave themselves.

Exactly. So the anti-Dublin crap from Liam was disingenuous tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭CongoPowers

Whatever. "Rebel" nonsense is put to bed now. Lovely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Joe10000 wrote: »
    Cork is called the rebel county because of some guy in the 15th century pretended to be the heir to the throne in England, it has nothing to do with the war of independence.
    So are you suggesting that that wasnt the Queen but was actually Bridie O'Connor from Ballydehob dressed as Liz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Wiki -

"In 1491 Cork played a part in the English Wars of the Roses when Perkin Warbeck a pretender to the English throne, landed in the city and tried to recruit support for a plot to overthrow Henry VII of England. The mayor of Cork and several important citizens went with Warbeck to England but when the rebellion collapsed they were all captured and executed. Cork's nickname of the 'rebel city' originates in these events"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Joe10000 wrote: »

yes, we heard you the first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Hardly.....I heard them cheering!

WTF is this "inferiority complex" bull that's doing the rounds on boards lately ? Did it come from the "Kill off all possible disagreements" handbook ?

I think you'll find they didn't. A small turnout (pathetic even) was easily suppressed and handled by the Gardaí.

But don't let facts stop from hating... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

WTF did she go down there for?....to compare the smell of the Lee to the Liffey? ... Scare her out of ever coming back?

you are taking the piss are you not ??

so the 8000 garda 2000 troops , ground to air missiles - helo's and fixed wing ,
    the ranger wing and about 150 of the mets finest were to contain apx 100 gob****es ???
    nothing to do with the terrorists called the real ira ? the muslin nuts jobs that also want her dead ??

yea it was for 100 north dublin junkies !!! grown up FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Thread closed.

Bannings and infractions to follow.