Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway girls and high heels

• 19-05-2011 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭

I was in the jacks there in Javas the other evening and saw graffiti on the wall which claimed Galway is the town of women unable to walk in heels.
    Later on in Supermacs I considered this as the young wans came in and truly few of them could walk properly.
    So whats the deal, why wear shoes that you cannot walk properly in. Its only sexy if you walk properly in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I would like to see you walk in heals after 10/15 vodkas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Fuinseog wrote: »
    I was in the jacks there in Javas the other evening and saw graffiti on the wall which claimed Galway is the town of women unable to walk in heels.
    Later on in Supermacs I considered this as the young wans came in and truly few of them could walk properly.
    So whats the deal, why wear shoes that you cannot walk properly in. Its only sexy if you walk properly in them.

they're sexy because they make their arses look more pert. its not about walking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

they're sexy because they make their arses look more pert. its not about walking

Pippas orse was pert without six inch heels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Maybe they have sore fannies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

There is a generally accepted corollary between a girl with a pert arse and six (plus) inches, I find! >_>

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

aujopimur wrote: »
    They all have lovely bottoms sore fannies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds1

Originally invented by a Chinese King whose name escapes me to tighten particular muscles, easily known designed by a man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Doesn't stop ye wearing them, does it? Honestly, they should come with a health warning.. Do Not Mix With ALCOHOL!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Owldshtok

Doesn't stop ye wearing them, does it? Honestly, they should come with a health warning.. Do Not Mix With ALCOHOL!!

Exactly! And if you can't learn how to walk in them sober don't do it.With this I don't think there's an in-between way.It either looks sophisticated and sexy when done right, or like you should also be dragging you knuckles along the ground if done wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I'd never be able to walk in them. They look like the most painful things ever. Factor in a load of downed alcohol and you have yourselves a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Used to always chuckle to myself on a night out as some girl is on her knees trying to dislodge her shoe, the heel of which got wedged between two cobbles on shop street.

Happened quite the regularity

Lu Tze wrote: »
    Used to always chuckle to myself on a night out as some girl is on her knees trying to dislodge her shoe, the heel of which got wedged between two cobbles on shop street.

Happened quite the regularity

tis always a weapon. Its not unknown for two skangers to take a eye out with one when embroiled in a cat fight.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Its the cobblestones. I can walk grand in them but its only on shop street that I end up walking like Gollum. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

I ask my female friends this same question all the time. Personally I find girls who wear flats... scrap that... girls who can walk while drunk and still look reasonably normal, to be much sexier than those who stumble in high heels. It's not just when they're mixed with alcohol either. I don't get the appeal of them. Girls tell me they wear them to look/feel sexy. I don't find them sexy...?

The stairs in Cuba was where many a high-heeled girl met her demise. Those wearing flats tripped often enough such that girls in heels never stood a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Dull and Boring

Neyite wrote: »
    Its the cobblestones. I can walk grand in them but its only on shop street that I end up walking like Gollum. :D

I often trip on the cobbles in flats too:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭DonnieScribbles

People can drunkenly walk in heels if they so wish, as long as they don't tred on my feet as they do so. It's really sore!

Nothing worse than a near foot stabbing to spoil your night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Those girls just need practise:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Save them for the bedroom ladies.:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

aujopimur wrote: »

Id say a lot of the sort that would wear high heels would not only have sore fannies but sore arses as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Id say a lot of the sort that would wear high heels would not only have sore fannies but sore arses as well.
    Must get me one or two of those :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I only wear flats when i head out, me + high heels is a dangerous thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

I think it's possible that Galway city council cobbles stones are in cahoots with the cobblers. Stiletto heels get caught something terrible between them which means regular re-heeling and destruction for narrow heeled shoes .. Grrrrr!

Oh and there is a lot of this going on too...

Cheap shoes worn for the first time on night out
    +
    too much alcohol
    +
    scantily clad attire

It is just not a good look ladies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Chrussell2

pseudonym1 wrote: »

too much alcohol
    +
    scantily clad attire

It is just not a good look ladies!

I beg to differ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭pseudonym1

Chrussell2 wrote: »
    I beg to differ!

Free choice.... It was about the new uncomfortable shoes though,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Chrussell2

pseudonym1 wrote: »
    Free choice.... It was about the new uncomfortable shoes though,

Haha I know, I was trying to be funny and failed miserably!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

Chrussell2 wrote: »
    Haha I know, I was trying to be funny and failed miserably!

If it's any consolation, your post got at least four laughs from the people in this room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Its the cobbles, swear! And all the stairs EVERYWHERE that just do not like heels!

Heels out, flats for afterwards in Supermacs is the way to go ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

Its the cobbles, swear! And all the stairs EVERYWHERE that just do not like heels!

Heels out, flats for afterwards in Supermacs is the way to go ;)

whats left for the bedroom ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

whats left for the bedroom ?

Curry cheese chips, bad drunk sex and a terrible sense of shame...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

tuxy wrote: »
    I would like to see you walk in heals after 10/15 vodkas

Even sexier!

Galway girls seem to think dressing like a hooker is sexy. whats wrong with wearing a pair of jeans?
    if you've got it it will show anyway. this may seem to be fuddy duddy thinking but why is it that the tourists do not dress up in mini skirts going out?
    it can't be practical to hang around outside Supermacs in winter wearing very little, if its zero degrees.

there seems to be a uniform way of dressing when you go out. it not just the girls. Maybe the guys are not admitted into a club unless they are wearing a stripey shirt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Well for nights out I'd want to be more dressed up than my day to day wear, which would usually be jeans or more casual clothes. Wearing a dress does not necessarily equal dressing like a hooker!

I could also pretend that wearing a dress is more practical for a club (I've only worn jeans to a club once and nearly died with the heat, had to leave :P) but dresses just look better (imo) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Fuinseog wrote: »
    Galway girls seem to think dressing like a hooker is sexy. whats wrong with wearing a pair of jeans?

Jumpers and jeans were done in the late eighties/early nineties, there's better access nowadays with stretch and invisible clothing

Well for nights out I'd want to be more dressed up than my day to day wear, which would usually be jeans or more casual clothes. Wearing a dress does not necessarily equal dressing like a hooker!

I could also pretend that wearing a dress is more practical for a club (I've only worn jeans to a club once and nearly died with the heat, had to leave :P) but dresses just look better (imo) :D

wearing a dress is one thing, but when its the width of a belt it stands out, yet some Galway girls do not lie the attention it attracts.

there are summer and winter jeans. If its a heat issue maybe the guys should a kilt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 loveclothes

Not all girls dress like hookers.
    Not all girls can't walk in their heels..............

don't tar everyone with the same brush!:)