Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Orwell/IRC/Lucan/Tiernans/UCD League - Race 7 - Black Bull 19/05/11

• 19-05-2011 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭

Here's the updated league table after the Hill Climb TT last week - fair play, some savage times put in. I crawled over in 17' 59''...

The race this evening looks to be a handicap, suppose we won't know for sure until we get there?

Anyone have a route to look at in advance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

The green sheds is on map my ride. Just search for green sheds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

the sprinters circuit ;)

Sprint starts after that last turn I'm assuming?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Spinning out shortly. Hoping to cross the Liffey at Heuston or Islandbridge. Pray for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,137 ✭✭✭buffalo

Working tonight, so couldn't make it. How'd it go?

Sprint finish, Brendan Whelan got it I think. Brendan from Tiernans ( a relation of a boardies I think) took a nasty crash in the sprint. I was on his wheel but managed to stay upright. Hope he's ok. He was pretty cut up but looked like nothing broken. Get better soon Brendan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

Hope he's back on the bike soon. Looks like it was just the cut over the eye, and some nasty bruises along the side. Hopefully nothing broken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭100Suns

+1 on Brendan. Looked nasty. Hope he's ok.

Well done to the noobies in Scratch. Diarmuid attacked with Alan Cody before we caught the handicap groups. Niceonetom looked comfortable, as did Paddy (despite hitting the deck in the neutralized zone;)). Did Diarmuid place? Well done if you did as the catch was close to the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭tawfeeredux

100Suns wrote: »
    ... as did Paddy (despite hitting the deck in the neutralized zone;))...

Practising for next year's Gorey was he?

100Suns wrote: »
    Diarmuid attacked with Alan Cody before we caught the handicap groups.

it was less of an attack and more of a "follow Alan Cody". I didn't place but I'll settle for not crashing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

I got fourth.

Hope the Tiernans guy is ok, get well soon.

Went off with the Limit group, nothing too hectic for a while, eventually the guy in the Columbia team shorts (still haven't gotten his name!) upped the ante, broke away, I stayed with him. We got clear for a while, were roped back in and the group became 7 (AstraMonti and kenmc in the group). A bit of marshalling and we were doing up 'n' overs for a while, but the pace was fairly hot, think most of us were just trying to cling on to the Columbia guy's wheel a lot of the time. Singled out, a few people taking turns when they could. I did as much as I was able, bits and pieces in between breathers when I could get them! We were still clear with about 6kms to go, so between us we decided to up it as much as we could and try to stay away. Was a little disappointed to see one of the lead cars go past them with about 3-4kms to go, knew it was only a matter of time then.

The group caught us with what - 2kms or so to go? Sat up at that stage, was getting a bit hairy on the last stretch before the turn, a lot of guys on the wrong side of the road.

Bumped up to Semi-Limit next week, was told after the race, so was obviously doing something right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

Just got off the phone to Brens brother there, he's still over in Blanch hospital. he's cut over his eye, chipped tooth and some bad road rash. By the sounds of things the irish health system is as good as ever :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Diarmuid wrote: »
    Sprint finish, Brendan Whelan got it I think. Brendan from Tiernans ( a relation of a boardies I think) took a nasty crash in the sprint. I was on his wheel but managed to stay upright. Hope he's ok. He was pretty cut up but looked like nothing broken. Get better soon Brendan!

a nasty crash indeed!!!

im just back from the hospital now, 11.45pm, and he's still yet to be stitched up!!!

its mainly all superficial stuff, badly grazed knee, swollen lip, busted knuckles, broken tooth and a bad gash over the eye that needs stitches, other than that he's grand :p

i think it looks worse than it is, he's still waiting for an xray to see if he's concussed, but he seems fine, so thanks for all the well wishing

who won the semi scratch then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

joker77 wrote: »
    Hope the Tiernans guy is ok, get well soon.

Went off with the Limit group, nothing too hectic for a while, eventually the guy in the Columbia team shorts (still haven't gotten his name!) upped the ante, broke away, I stayed with him. We got clear for a while, were roped back in and the group became 7 (AstraMonti and kenmc in the group). A bit of marshalling and we were doing up 'n' overs for a while, but the pace was fairly hot, think most of us were just trying to cling on to the Columbia guy's wheel a lot of the time. Singled out, a few people taking turns when they could. I did as much as I was able, bits and pieces in between breathers when I could get them! We were still clear with about 6kms to go, so between us we decided to up it as much as we could and try to stay away. Was a little disappointed to see one of the lead cars go past them with about 3-4kms to go, knew it was only a matter of time then.

The group caught us with what - 2kms or so to go? Sat up at that stage, was getting a bit hairy on the last stretch before the turn, a lot of guys on the wrong side of the road.

Bumped up to Semi-Limit next week, was told after the race, so was obviously doing something right.

yeah there was 2 strong lads in our 6, Mr Columbia and the lad in blue, but to be fair you weren't exactly too far off their pace yourself! I was just hanging on by the skin of my teeth, barely able to contribute much. topped out at 205bpm ffs, a new 'pb'. was cramping in both calves on the back stretch of the second lap. wish we had managed to stay away, we were going hard.

and of course get well soon Brendan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

Started in sl. Finished in bunch. When scratch hit there were a few hairy moments.. Good stuff tom. Who won?
    Hope tiernans guy is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Brendan Whelan won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

T'was great fun again yesterday! We started off and in the first 5kms only few of us were working in the front so we upped the pace a bit and by the 10kms mark we were like 7-8 people left. Two guys decided to break away, but that didn't last too long, I literally buried myself to close the gap and the pace was getting quite hot, my HR was sky high and I had the taste of blood in my mouth. At the 22kms mark we were only 6 of us left, the Columbia guy was motoring like mad, pure horse! Unfortunately, I got dropped as I couldn't hang on it any more, and spend 6-7 miserable kms alone until the semi limit caught me. With only 15kms left at that point I put the head down and stayed on that group, the pace wasn't really fast, but we managed to catch the breakaway. After the scratch caught us people were all over the road and the situation was just an accident waiting to happen, I backed off and rolled easily to the finish. I 've never seen Tom so red before, when he passed me he was red like a tomato but he was motoring too!

It's good to hear that the guy that crashed is fairly ok, looked quite nasty from behind. Congrats to the riders in the breakaway (Joker, kenmc, dunno the rest) for holding on that good in the front!

This thing is pure fun, endorphin rushes rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Looks like a few Limit guys will be upgraded, they were way too strong to be in there, probably 1st timers maybe. The pace was actually way easier in SL, mind you I let go at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

TT'd it out from Sandyford, by the time I hit Chapelizod and the bumper-to-bumper tailback all the way up the hill and out to Castleknock I was convinced I wasn't going to make it, and was re-examining my modern, liberal attitude to the Queen's visit.

Arrived drenched in sweat to see my semi-limit group take off, chucked the rucksack and sank in immediately behind semi-scratch and hoped for the best. Murder all the way up the the first major turn when the pace finally eased and I thought I might actually hang on. Even got up the front a couple of times. Not much to report until the final back stretch when it turned to chaos. Too many riders on a narrow road. I have no idea how anybody managed to move up safely. Fair play to those who did. Get well soon to the Tiernans arm-tat lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭cyco

get well soon Brendan