Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

11,000 farmers on social welfare

• 19-05-2011 8:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭

heard this on the radio.... i am wondering is most of it farm assist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

whelan1 wrote: »
    heard this on the radio.... i am wondering is most of it farm assist?

Not all of it is farm assist. Some farmers are getting disability payments at a reduced rate (means tested) and are allowed to farm at the same time. Others may have had off farm jobs and are now redundant and they can claim until their stamp runs out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

This is something I was wondering recently,my Dad is a full time farmer and doesnt claim social welfare and nver has.I heard recently about Farmers Dole?Anyone know how you qualify for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Dazzler88 wrote: »
    This is something I was wondering recently,my Dad is a full time farmer and doesnt claim social welfare and nver has.I heard recently about Farmers Dole?Anyone know how you qualify for this?

Its called Farm Assist.

Your household income levels have to be below a certain amount to qualify for it. You also have to have an active herd number

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

As said, until recently a lot of farmers worked part time elsewhere, maybe for a builder.

Just claiming what they are entitled to, the stamps will run out eventually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Dazzler88

I wonder would be Dad qualify.He hasnt worked in Full time employment in about 20 years.Also Mum doesnt work.They always lived off the land but with the REPS gone,they are finding it tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I wonder would be Dad qualify.He hasnt worked in Full time employment in about 20 years.Also Mum doesnt work.They always lived off the land but with the REPS gone,they are finding it tough.

http://www.welfare.ie/EN/Publications/SW27/Pages/1WhatisFarmAssist.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭trg

Just have one query on this - in past 2 days i have seen info as follows

a - if you lease ANY of your land to someone then you will not qualify (source = Irish Farmers Handbook 2011). To be honest it doesnt say any but it doesnt distinguish between any or all.

b - if you lease ALL of your land to someone then you will not qualify (source = http://www.welfare.ie/en/publications/sw27/Pages/1WhatisFarmAssist.aspx)

i'd be inclined to believe the welfare website but was wondering if anyone here had any experience of above?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

fill out the online calculator and it will give you a rough idea

http://www.ifarm.ie/Services/CalculatorsConverters/FarmAssistCalculator/tabid/764/Default.aspx

just click "Guideline Means Test" on the bottom of the page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

i know its an old thread, just wondering, herself is expecting in 8 weeks , she will not get paid by her employer , so will prob get 250 state maternity leave[well paid for] , iv no out of farm income, iv filled out the farm assist online form, the thing im wondering is will my wifes maternity count as a means, does anybody know, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

i know its an old thread, just wondering, herself is expecting in 8 weeks , she will not get paid by her employer , so will prob get 250 state maternity leave[well paid for] , iv no out of farm income, iv filled out the farm assist online form, the thing im wondering is will my wifes maternity count as a means, does anybody know, thanks

When my wife was getting mat benefit when our son was born the total mat benefit she got was not included as income for our tax return for the year. On that basis i'd say probably not count as means? Mite be something helpful here http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/irish_social_welfare_system/means_test_for_social_welfare_payments/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

jimmy G M wrote: »
    When my wife was getting mat benefit when our son was born the total mat benefit she got was not included as income for our tax return for the year. On that basis i'd say probably not count as means? Mite be something helpful here http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/irish_social_welfare_system/means_test_for_social_welfare_payments/

thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Is the farm assist taxable??

Say if you earn 13 or 14000 a year from farming and by getting the farm assist you are driven up to earning 19 or 20 grand are you then in a tax paying situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

20silkcut wrote: »

Say if you earn 13 or 14000 a year from farming and by getting the farm assist you are driven up to earning 19 or 20 grand are you then in a tax paying situation.
    Probably, so they give it with one hand and take it back with the other :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

It's means tested. so you either wouldn't get it, or you'd get so little it wouldn't matter..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 698 ✭✭✭belcampprisoner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

trg wrote: »

I thought it was declared on your tax return, for example
    If your farm made €10k profit
    you received €15k farm assist then you have €25k taxable income (Excluding your tax free allowance)

Can anyone confirm this to be the case??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Grecco wrote: »
    I thought it was declared on your tax return, for example
    If your farm made €10k profit
    you received €15k farm assist then you have €25k taxable income (Excluding your tax free allowance)

Can anyone confirm this to be the case??
    First off if your farm made €10k profit you would be only getting €5-6k farm assist so even if it were taxed it would be a fairly low sum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

My Dad has 27 Fresians on his herd No. from last Herd test. i own 3 of them but i dont have my own Herd No & im on Social welfare. Now Farm assist Officer wants proof of how many livestock he owns & my dad wants me to tell them that I (his son) owns 3 of them
    So just wondering will this effect my dole payment of 188 ? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

SIX PACK wrote: »
    My Dad has 27 Fresians on his herd No. from last Herd test. i own 3 of them but i dont have my own Herd No & im on Social welfare. Now Farm assist Officer wants proof of how many livestock he owns & my dad wants me to tell them that I (his son) owns 3 of them

I'm not sure it will matter what ye tell them... the "proof" of ownership will be the herd register or a letter from the department stating about x number of stock in the herd..
    No matter what you tell him they are looking for proof, what do you have to back it up..

Also when you signed on did you mention you had an income from these 3 cattle? You could well have your own claim investigated and may be liable for a backpayment..

can-of-worms.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

If they are in his herd number he owns them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

to be fair your not going to turn a profit Mickeymouse farming :P. If you add up the price for fodder - Silage, Nuts, rent, Vet fees, etc etc etc, your going into Minus. Its just a Hobby for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

to be fair your not going to turn a profit Mickeymouse farming :P. If you add up the price for fodder - Silage, Nuts, rent, Vet fees, etc etc etc, your going into Minus. Its just a Hobby for me
    I know that... but they'll have expected a full declaration when you signed on and if you start changing your details now it won't go well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

Me also thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Discussed this with my accountant recently he said any income over 9000 a year is taxable for a single person.
    If the farm assist puts you over 9000 then you are liable to pay it back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

So if you earn under 9000 you are not taxable