Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volvo World Matchplay at Finca Cortesín

• 18-05-2011 11:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭

Small Field but has 1,2,3 in the world in it , here's the draw http://www.europeantour.com/mm/document/tournament/tournaments/13/67/47/136747_pdf.pdf

who's your picks,

I'm going to do Poults at 14/1 not in great form but has a good match play record,

Miguel Angel Jimenez, at 28/1 looks decent

and maybe one of the Mac's Rory is 8/1 and Gmac 14/1 (thats my heart and not my head)

as its hard to see past the big 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

So McIlroy and McDowell both win their opening matches.
    Rory had 7 birdies and still only won 1up. Was a great match.
    Pretty disappointing crowds out there today for the field thats in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭zztop

Does it really deserve to be called the Worlds??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

Good start for the Irish lads. I could see Vegas causing a few problems for McDowell later today

McDowell and McIlroy are already through to Saturday even if they loose today.
    If one of them finishes 2nd and the other one wins their group they will meet on Saturday i think.
    Would be a great match to watch but hopefully they can delay their meeting another couple of rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

its looking like Gmac v McIlroy in next round :) that should be interesting

Westwood v Poulter
    Molinari v Baddeley

Gmac v Rory
    J Vegas v N Colstarts

Donald v Edfors
    Schwartzel v Fisher

Kaymer v Kjeldsen
    Quiros v Noh

i think anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

What does everyone think of the new format? I'm not sure about it, there was quite a few 'dead-rubbers' this afternoon with both players knowing they're through. At this level, winning the group and getting the theoretically "easier" draw in the next round doesn't really come into it because they're all so damn good.

Kaymer must be listening to me, he's just said this exact thing as I'm typing!

I think it would be better to just have 32 players starting on Thursday and straight knockout from the off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Must want to try and make it different from the wgc

Nice prize money

1 €800,000
    2 €420,000
    3 €220,000
    4 €220,000
    5 €115,000
    6 €115,000
    7 €115,000
    8 €115,000
    9 €90,000
    10 €90,000
    11 €90,000
    12 €90,000
    13 €90,000
    14 €90,000
    15 €90,000
    16 €90,000
    17 €70,000
    18 €70,000
    19 €70,000
    20 €70,000
    21 €70,000
    22 €70,000
    23 €70,000
    24 €70,000

Rory really fighting back against Gmac now after being 4 down with his putter causing him problems once again.

also, that was some finish in the Schwartzel v Fisher match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

It was an unbelievable finish. Hole halved with eagles! Rory's putting really inconsistent but improving now when it matters. It'll be a close finish.

Gmac beats Rory 3& 2 by holing a raker on 16.

great come-back win from Donald there, 2 down with 3 to play and wins on 19th. He really is some match-player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

my Poulter bet looks like it could pay off he is playing steady,

draw

Quiros v Kaymer

Schwartzel v Donald

Colsaerts v McDowell

Molinari v Poulter

cant believe Gmac lost to Colsaerts but he looked very tired and drained. Maybe a few weeks of fitness training is needed.

Serious semi between Donald & Kaymer tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

cant believe Gmac lost to Colsaerts but he looked very tired and drained. Maybe a few weeks of fitness training is needed.

Serious semi between Donald & Kaymer tomorrow.

To be fair, Colsaerts is playing out of his skin.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Donald v Poulter in the final.

Poulter really likes his matchplay!

Donald v Poulter in the final.

Poulter really likes his matchplay!

in fairness, Donald doesnt seem to mind it either :p unbeaten this year

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

in fairness, Donald doesnt seem to mind it either :p unbeaten this year
    That's for sure. I was just referring to the fact that Poulter misses so many cuts but when it comes to matchplay he is very good

his game can be very erratic. he is such an aggresive player which can be more suited to matchplay where one bad score at a hole is only 1 loss and doesnt drop you down 20/30 places in a tournament

That was some fall from Poulter there. He could've hurt himself trying to get that ball out.

SuprSi wrote: »
    That was some fall from Poulter there. He could've hurt himself trying to get that ball out.
    It was and he lost a very valuable coin! Fortunately, it was found! Still anyone's game

Anyone got a working stream. One I had has gone very jumpy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Anyone got a working stream. One I had has gone very jumpy

http://www.firstrowsports.eu/watch/65867/3/watch-volvo-world-match-play-championship-[european-tour].html

And Poulter wins. Donald looked really jaded towards the end.

Poulter really is a master of matchplay. He just keeps going and going. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

that will do nicely,

had 25 on him at 14s

Poulter really is a different animal in match play mode, if he could play like that
    in stroke play tournaments more often he would be a top 5 player, and pick up 4plus wins a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

Probably doesn't mean a whole lot in today's professional game but Poulter must be the best match-player out there without doubt given his performances in the last 2 RCs and winning 2 world matchplays in 2 years. Ogilvy might run him close - both streaky players too. Anyway well done IP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

that will do nicely,

had 25 on him at 14s

Poulter really is a different animal in match play mode, if he could play like that
    in stroke play tournaments more often he would be a top 5 player, and pick up 4plus wins a year.

yeah i was on him also(posted in gambling forum for after timing haters)at 14/1,nice win