Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phoenix park - is it open for running?

• 18-05-2011 4:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭

Just wondering, I know Parkgate st and roads around there are being opened and closed as the queen comes and goes, and you cant park a car in the park full stop but can runners access the park?

I feel like blowing off my appointment tonight, as Im just not in the mood for what I had planned at all, and if I do that a jaunt in the park could be an option? [But dont want to run up there, only to be told to feck off at the parkgate st gate :))

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

You can get in and out yeah, theres some parts of the park they won't let you run in though, they'll make you turn back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭heffsarmy

The park is grand for running, a few restrictions around Farmleigh. A bit of a bonus tonight saw the Queen and entourage,gave her a wave. It would be great if the park stayed like that, no scumbags with horses or dickheads parking all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭JosDel

The Parkgate st entrance was closed at luchtime today, I was told you turn back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Its a bit hit and miss really at the minute, sometimes you can get in then other times you can't. My 6 mile run last night turned into a half marathon just to get home :o

When I went in there was no restrictions, ran right by the entrance to farmleigh, but when they "lock-down" I was re-routed quite a few times, the terrible bit is i didn't really mind very much as it was a fab evening and i had plenty of water with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

According to news talk the park is meat to be closed to motorists/cyclist/pedestrians apart from access to the zoo. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Heard that myself this morning, it's a pain as I hoped to do a couple of handy laps in the morning on the bike, may have to hit the hills instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

confirmed - totally closed all weekend, bar people visiting zoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 PARKCRESCENT

The Phoenix Park is completely closed to the public today

[QUOTE=tHE vAGGABOND;72292569]Just wondering, I know Parkgate st and roads around there are being opened and closed as the queen comes and goes, and you cant park a car in the park full stop but can runners access the park?

I feel like blowing off my appointment tonight, as Im just not in the mood for what I had planned at all, and if I do that a jaunt in the park could be an option? [But dont want to run up there, only to be told to feck off at the parkgate st gate :))[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

Ran to the Park this morning for my usual Sat morning run, had a brief chat with the guard on the gate - Park is closed til Tuesday!

Instead ran alongside the Park, down through the War Memorial gardens, out to Chapelizod and through Ballyfermot. Internal compass wasn't working and ended up on the Naas Rd about 2 miles from where I thought I was:o An interesting run, but makes you realise how lucky we are to have the Park for running in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭onimpulse

Really annoyed this morning to find that I couldn't get into the park for my normal Saturday morning run!:mad:

I live literally at one of the gate & there was no notice whatsoever for local residents.

Even with the Queen only parts of it were closed and it really wasn't problem for running or cycling - decision was obviously made by some fat lazy idiot who never uses the park & doesn't really care about the thousands that do on a average weekend!

I think this is totally unacceptable - Obama is only a man at the end of the day!

Ended up driving the the war memorial gardens and running laps of that instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Happened me this evening also.What was really silly is no signs up for cars turning in.Instead they wait till they turn in and then tell them they can't access the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

Tried to do my long run there this morning and got turned back by the Garda at the gate. No signs nothing. Back to normal soon.