Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trouble/Protests on O'Connell Street

• 17-05-2011 9:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭

Look at that man in the middle, protesting against the Queen visit yet he wears a British football club jersey....absolute idiot!!!!

I am outraged the way some Irish people behave. Can they not see that the only way forward is by peaceful means and that this visit is of such significance that it only serves to strenghten the relationship between Ireland and the United Kingdom going forward.

_52796965_hi012000615.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Poor guy with the packet of Denny's Ham. All he wanted was to get something for a sandwich and was caught up in the mayhem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

jc_eire wrote: »
    Look at that man in the middle, protesting against the Queen visit yet he wears a British football club jersey....absolute idiot!!!!
    The guy to the left of him seems to be getting a nice hug from the garda. softly softly approach? Can't accuse them of being too heavy handed when you see caring moments like that in the middle of a riot. brings a tear to the eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Hardly an idiot for wearing the jersey. Sure there is a Man United pub on the Falls Road in Belfast. Just because they hate the head of the state does not mean they hate everything that is British, be it the ordinary citizens or the sporting institutions. ( btw I agree he is an idiot, but for different reasons than wearing a jersey)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

The man in the grey jacket and sun glasses looks like he dropped a few yoks and ended up in the middle of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The more I look at that pic the funnier it gets
    Ah its bangers! I thought he said bring some ham....wondered why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭Cakes.

The British football jersey complaint only applies if they are protesting against a foreign game.

Anyway, there was no need for the violence today. It is quite obvious that peaceful pretests gain more respect from the media and public than violent ones.

/Groans :p

Spot the deliberate error

article-1387878-0C1D311000000578-842_634x379.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

mike65 wrote: »

Is that bloke in the bottom left of the picture with the white thing on his nose a Zombie or what? Jaysus, it really is a gathering of a rag tag bunch of degenerates.

Here's another one who looks like he's seen better days but likes a bit of a riot

A00EA7C44491422382F13B5A0BE73C00-0000316428-0002323582-00500L-C3163C5B6F7E48BDA6F799C678BD702D.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

should the poster not say get the united kingdom of great Britain and northern Ireland out of Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Here's another one who looks like he's seen better days but likes a bit of a riot

A00EA7C44491422382F13B5A0BE73C00-0000316428-0002323582-00500L-C3163C5B6F7E48BDA6F799C678BD702D.jpg

Low IQ : Check
    Vacant stare : Check
    Criminal Record : Check
    Part of nose bitten off : Check

Another fine representitive of us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

lastlaugh wrote: »
    Low IQ : Check
    Vacant stare : Check
    Criminal Record : Check
    Part of nose bitten off : Check

Another fine representitive of us all.
    Careful now. He posts here.
    Having said that, he's a grand specimen of humankind :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Did you hear about the one where Paddy Irishman, Paddy Englishman and Paddy Scotchman were in a protest....

Well you'd know which one was Paddy Irishman anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

Kilroy was here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

+100, I'm lodging a complaint with the Garda Ombudsman first thing in the morning, the basis of the complaint being that there isn't a single Garda with a batton drawn in any of the images I'm looking at. If ever Gardai should have had battons drawn and be pounding the heads off protestors, this was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

now see when a guy in celtic shirt had of a sign saying no to foreign game's that was ironic, your photo is not particularly idiotic or stupid.

please try harder

you're outraged at a guy holding a banner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

+100, I'm lodging a complaint with the Garda Ombudsman first thing in the morning, the basis of the complaint being that there isn't a single Garda with a batton drawn in any of the images I'm looking at. If ever Gardai should have had battons drawn and be pounding the heads off protestors, this was it.

people standing around with banners vs people advocating violence? hmmm, which is better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

now see when a guy in celtic shirt had of a sign saying no to foreign game's that was ironic, your photo is not particularly idiotic or stupid.

please try harder

you're outraged at a guy holding a banner?

:rolleyes: You ever seen the actual photo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Did a mod not post way back in this thread that anyone advocating physical violence would be banned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Did a mod not post way back in this thread that anyone advocating physical violence would be banned?

Well in fairness, Gardaí do have batons for a reason - they weren't intended to be fancy accessories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

The British football jersey complaint only applies if they are protesting against a foreign game.

Anyway, there was no need for the violence today. It is quite obvious that peaceful pretests gain more respect from the media and public than violent ones.

The queen is iconic and symbolic of the UK as a whole, in the same way the flag is in the US. Just like the "star spangled banner" is a powerful symbol of America and Americanism worldwide, the British monarchy is representitive of the nation's past and present across the globe.

I wouldn't burn an American flag while wearing a Los Angeles Lakers shirt. It does show not only disrespect but I would look and feel complete idiot for insulting a nation and its history while cherrypicking one of the biggest and most defining aspects of their contemporary culture to suddenly get behind and start acting all onside with the American people when it suited me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Look on the upside, this visit is the world cup for these ejits and all they could muster was a fairly small demo and a few scuffles. Shows how weak they are. The Queen pwned them anyway by leaving the wreath in the garden of remembrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭mikep

Does protesting count as "being available for work"???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Danniboo

Mods feel free to move or close.

I seen the troubles yesterday on O' Connell Street and there's already videos on Youtube. It made me feel utterly disgusted and would make you ashamed to be Irish. :(

I'd like to know what the general feeling is especially amongst Non-nationals, do they think we're all a bunch of hooligans over here or do people realise it's a very small minority?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭maxer68

Idea for the judge when the 20 odd scumbags come up against him.

Place them in a classroom, give them 20 primary school questions on Irish History.

If they get just 10 right, they walk away, 9 right and they get 1 weeks detention, 8 right = 2 weeks down to 0 right and 10 weeks detention.

What odds will paddy power give for all of them to receive the max 10 weeks?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I wonder how all these people got time off work :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Danniboo wrote: »

I seen the troubles yesterday on O' Connell Street and there's already videos on Youtube. It made me feel utterly disgusted and would make you ashamed to be Irish. :(

I'd like to know what the general feeling is especially amongst Non-nationals, do they think we're all a bunch of hooligans over here or do people realise it's a very small minority?

The fact that it's almost always smaller groups of hardly a hundred people then yes, it's a very small minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

Ok I'm kinda of sick of that arguement, it's totally ridiculous. Basically if someone is against the queen they are not allowed support an english football team, like an english band, eat english imported foods, speak the english language???? Where do you stop???

He is an idiot though, but not because of his football jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

omen80 wrote: »
    Ok I'm kinda of sick of that arguement, it's totally ridiculous. Basically if someone is against the queen they are not allowed support an english football team, like an english band, eat english imported foods, speak the english language???? Where do you stop???

It'd be nice if he celebrated his Irishness by wearing and Irish jersey from an Irish league in an Irish sport, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Of course he/she is, but it's just ridiculous.

That would be like me burning an Irish flag (I never did that ;) ) while sipping a pint of Guinness.

Those people in general are not just Nationalists, they hate Britain, which makes the hipocrisy all the worse if you're wearing a jersey from a British team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

Jelle1880 wrote: »

That would be like me burning an Irish flag (I never did that ;) ) while sipping a pint of Guinness.

Those people in general are not just Nationalists, they hate Britain, which makes the hipocrisy all the worse if you're wearing a jersey from a British team.

It's a bit of an assumption to say they all hate Britain.......some of them might be against the cost of the monarch coming over here? Or just against monarch's in general, much like a lot of the english people themselves?

It's not hyposcrasy because he is wearing a Man Utd jersey. If he likes U2's music would he also be a hypocrite because Adam Clayton is English?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I think that's quite an exaggeration. I find it hard to sympathise with any sort of Nationalist - be that the Queen or Gerry Adams - but the suggestion that the protesters were protesting because they 'hate Britain' is at best a pretty daft observation to draw.

Personally, I think they're misinformed, but so is your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭PatsytheNazi

He probably wore an English jersey to show he was not anti English but anti Royal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

It's a bit of an assumption to say they all hate Britain.......some of them might be against the cost of the monarch coming over here? Or just against monarch's in general, much like a lot of the english people themselves?

It's not hyposcrasy because he is wearing a Man Utd jersey. If he likes U2's music would he also be a hypocrite because Adam Clayton is English?

The only reason there's a high cost to the monarch coming over is because of these eejits and the organisations they support causing trouble!

The photo in the first post has banners of the 32 County Sovereignty committee which is the political wing of the Continuity IRA. Anyone who allowed themselves be associated with that protest is clearly a terrorist sympathiser and thus contributing to the need for the enormous security operation surrounding the visit.

So this cost argument is baloney. Will the same people be out protesting against Obama's visit? For the most part, no. The people protesting are mostly just clueless bigots.

Oh and P.S. Adam Clayton became an Irish citizen in 1989 so they're only hypocrites if they liked Joshua Tree and and the early albums. Achtung Baby onwards is allowed ;)
    http://buffaloathome.com/dct/62/id/211910/mid/241/Today-In-History.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

all moron's , why didn't all these fechin idiots protest against the Government and its rich circle of friends, who have ruined our modern day Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

If you follow an English football team then there is a time and a place to wear that jersey .......says alot that they couldn't be bother wearing an Irish jersey :rolleyes:

careca11 wrote: »
    all moron's , why didn't all these fechin idiots protest against the Government and its rich circle of friends, who have ruined our modern day Ireland

Beacause they all get free gaff's and other handy payments off the government whilst some of us have to work for what we own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

0004928f-970.jpg

this is why some animals eat their young!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Look at that man on the left wearing Adidas! A German imposter perhaps? Should he be wearing O'Neills instead? ;)

gurramok wrote: »
    Look at that man on the left wearing Adidas! A German imposter perhaps? Should he be wearing O'Neills instead? ;)

"GO-Fast Stripes" are never a good look..........no matter what the brand ;)

Sundew wrote: »
    "GO-Fast Stripes" are never a good look..........no matter what the brand ;)

they work though. they all sound like formula 1 cars. "schweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Yeah because with that post you are nothing like what you are implying they are.:rolleyes:
    Down with the rights of Irish and shut their mouths about their beliefs.Wonder when that happened before :pac:
    Danniboo wrote: »

Ah because British dont have hooligans or Greeks or dutch or French or American's at their protests or shall i go on.

caseyann wrote: »
    Yeah because with that post you nothing like what you are implying they are.:rolleyes:

huh?

huh?

Inciting and condoning violence on people sitting around protesting who are Irish and have every right to protest.

haha. the right to protest does not extend to the right to throw bricks, baracades at gardai, set bins on fire.

Did you see any bricks being thrown in that picture? :confused:

is that the only picture youve seen from the trouble the other day?

No seen the few scum bags usual **** when a crowd are in town for anything and love fighting,happens all over the world.Nothing to do with the protests what so ever.

No seen the few scum bags usual **** when a crowd are in town for anything and love fighting.Nothing to do with the protests what so ever.

you keep telliing yourself that.