Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protests directed at wrong event.

• 17-05-2011 11:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭

Why were they no protests on the same scale as today during the announcement of the EU/IMF bailout or bank guarantee or shambolic FF government?

Some people's priorities are misdirected, instead of taking their anger out on the bankers/developers/politicians who caused the economic ruin of the country to rather protest against a head of state for mistakes in the past which she had no input it.

Constant reflection and anger over our history is clouding some people's judgement on what the real problems are.

The only protest against the bailout was a concrete truck being driven in the gates of government buildings versus some tracksuit wearing, unemployed hoodies throwing bricks and barriers at the gardaí over the queen's visit.

Which deserves greater protestations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

All i saw were lots of scumbags out to cause trouble on these so-called "protests"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Today demonstrated once again that the government will do what it wants regardless of the peoples wishes.
    Sky where spouting that 80 something percent of the population where for the visit, where did that figure come from? I think if we had gotten a vote there would have been no visit, for a variety of reasons.

Maybe today demonstrated that the economy isn't everything which I find very refreshing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭hairy sailor

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Today demonstrated once again that the government will do what it wants regardless of the peoples wishes.
    Sky where spouting that 80 something percent of the population where for the visit, where did that figure come from? I think if we had gotten a vote there would have been no visit, for a variety of reasons.

Maybe today demonstrated that the economy isn't everything which I find very refreshing.

that figure came from independent poll's by different newspapers.so if we did get to vote on it roughly 80% of people would have voted for the visit.

Could you show sources for those 'polls' as I can't find even one carried out by an independent company.
    I would be particularly interested in the 81% in favour one Sky where quoting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Never let the will of the people get in the way of thugs wanting to be violent using the phony excuse of republicianism.

The, thankfully minor, violent protests were a disgrace, the idea that you support freedom and republicanism by trying to cause serious injury to members of the Gardai just shows how pathetic these people are and how utterly uninterested the are in any serious notions of liberty or democracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I actually doubt that very much. I think the Irish people would have been happy to vote YES in that vote and in big numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

shayno90 wrote: »
    Why were they no protests on the same scale as today during the announcement of the EU/IMF bailout or bank guarantee or shambolic FF government?

Some people's priorities are misdirected, instead of taking their anger out on the bankers/developers/politicians who caused the economic ruin of the country to rather protest against a head of state for mistakes in the past which she had no input it.

Constant reflection and anger over our history is clouding some people's judgement on what the real problems are.

The only protest against the bailout was a concrete truck being driven in the gates of government buildings versus some tracksuit wearing, unemployed hoodies throwing bricks and barriers at the gardaí over the queen's visit.

This is probably the best point I've read/heard all day.

One thing I'll say though - if we keep talking about the likes of Éirígí, the more we're putting fuel on the fire. All they want is publicity and to gain more membership which in turn will create more trouble in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Cause the people smashing up North Dublin today can't spell IMF, let alone understand the economics of a bailout plan.

Wicknight wrote: »
    Cause the people smashing up North Dublin today can't spell IMF, let alone understand the economics of a bailout plan.

Don't you think it funny though that a lot of the people on Boards.ie who had no problem with violent protest against our elected Dail over the ecnomic situation and who cried foul when the Guards where a tad heavy handed are now the very ones protraying todays protesters against the visit of a non elected monarch as 'scum' and 'an embarrassment'.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I actually doubt that very much. I think the Irish people would have been happy to vote YES in that vote and in big numbers.
    Do you have a source for the 81% poll? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

i'd say there actually have been more ppl protesting the banking situation then the queen's visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

what country are you living in?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Sunday Independent had the approval figure at around 80%, up from 65% a few months ago, but I'm sure somebody's just waiting for someone to say that so they can start calling each other West Brits. In the meantime, I'm told Prime Time cited an MRBI figure of around 75%, Channel 4 had it at 77% - although this figure is unreferenced in the article, Channel 4 are a more than credible source in this regard.

While the exact figure might be disputed, the majority is clear, even anecdotally. I've yet to hear even a taxi driver voice anything stronger than a mild frustration at the inconvenience.

I think we can all say with some relief that a couple of dozen Eirigi halfwits failing to set fire to a Will & Kate flag they got free in The Sun do not speak for a couple of million people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭donaghs

Are you serious?! The bank guarantee, bank bailout, EU-IMF loan are bigger than "the economy". Its has effectively removed our sovereignty. One example of this is Brian Lenihan admitting that the ECB effectively ordered him to take their bailout. Any serious "nationalist"/"patriot" would be far more concerned about this.

The Queen's visit is just a meaningless distraction in comparison. Unfortunately, as soon as many people hear talk about "the economy" they switch off mentally. Too complicated is it?
    Much easier for tracksuited knuckle-heads to protest against a British head of state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Most people in this country are not as narrow minded as you seem to think and would want to welcome the head of state of our nearest neighbour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Don't you think it funny though that a lot of the people on Boards.ie who had no problem with violent protest against our elected Dail over the ecnomic situation and who cried foul when the Guards where a tad heavy handed are now the very ones protraying todays protesters against the visit of a non elected monarch as 'scum' and 'an embarrassment'.

Are they really? No chance of you just finding some posters on one subject saying one thing and others saying something else?
    I love internet generalists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Limerick3

Firefox11 wrote: »
    All i saw were lots of scumbags out to cause trouble on these so-called "protests"

Im sure there were legitimate protests going on but the west brit media just focused on the more active element.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It was shocking at the lack of protests for the EU/IMF bailout, but had they had protested - they would have been called 'crusties'.

As for the protest against this visit - I think many people have legitimate legacy issues with Britain's role in Ireland. Others were just along to 'wreck the shop' and act like trogolodytes.

It's to be noted, that many on these protests are the same people who you'll never see come time for canvassing, or fund raisers or the real hard political work for Republicanism. They are bandwagon jumpers, and won't be seen again for another year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Limerick3 wrote: »
    Im sure there were legitimate protests going on but the west brit media just focused on the more active element.

By active you mean thugish.

The concept of protest is legitimate.
    The reasons for don't have to be so.
    And in the case of yesterday the legitimacy was dubious at best

However you are right.
    There were indeed some gatherings/protests that were peacefull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

There were loads of protests against the IMF/ECB which were bigger than those yesterday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

dlofnep wrote: »
    It's to be noted, that many on these protests are the same people who you'll never see come time for canvassing, or fund raisers or the real hard political work for Republicanism. They are bandwagon jumpers, and won't be seen again for another year.

Lol. Sure. There were two busloads from my hometown (Of local canvassers and Republicans) not sure where they ended up and to be fair they weren't involved with the louts near the garden. And there were also protests locally.

People of course are entitled to do so as long as it is peaceful, but I really must ask why? I still don't understand this mentality. I saw her motorcade come out of TCD yesterday and got the feeling I was watching something historic, a real maturity in the Irish relationship with Great Britain, which for too long was muddled by events in the North and by stone age halfwits in the south.

There were other protests and they were reported. Try to be less selective and prejudiced in your reading or viewing material.

The "west brit" media...indeed
    Lol

It was shocking at the lack of protests for the EU/IMF bailout, but had they had protested - they would have been called 'crusties'.

As for the protest against this visit - I think many people have legitimate legacy issues with Britain's role in Ireland. Others were just along to 'wreck the shop' and act like trogolodytes.

I don't think anyone, not even KeithAFC, would allege that Sinn Fein had any part with the protests yesterday. These were just utter morons without much of a clue except to start a ruck.

And EU/IMF protesters would have been called Commies, not Crusties, get it right for gods sake :D

Was watching some clips on youtube.
    So nice that these upstanding proud Irish folk went to the trouble of getting the day off work (as if) in order to rip it up and shut down a shopping precinct, not to mention damage other people's property.

Nothing peaceful about it. Just tanked-up brainwashed and bored knackers.

Denerick wrote: »
    Lol. Sure. There were two busloads from my hometown (Of local canvassers and Republicans) not sure where they ended up and to be fair they weren't involved with the louts near the garden. And there were also protests locally.

I never said that they didn't protest - I'm highlighting that the people who traditionally kick off trouble at these events are the ones who aren't politically active, because they know if they acted the bollocks, they'd get a stern word from their local politician for it.
    Denerick wrote: »
    People of course are entitled to do so as long as it is peaceful, but I really must ask why? I still don't understand this mentality. I saw her motorcade come out of TCD yesterday and got the feeling I was watching something historic, a real maturity in the Irish relationship with Great Britain, which for too long was muddled by events in the North and by stone age halfwits in the south.

Look, the visit had to happen at some point. We're all in agreement on that. But to expect everyone to set aside their natural emotions, is unrealistic. Many people are not as comfortable as you with Britain's role, both past and present in Ireland. They aren't comfortable with the Monarchy's silence during a number of atrocities committed by HM's armed forces, and they certainly aren't comfortable with the fact that Derek Wilford still to this day holds honours from the Queen for his role in the murder of at least 14 innocent civilians in the north (if not, more).

While nobody is asking you to protest or object to this visit - you are being wilfully ignorant to dismiss the role that the above has on people's feelings on her visit. There is merit in objecting to such a visit, whether you agree with it or not. I certainly feel no obligation to welcome someone who presented honours for the murder of my countrymen and women.

I avoided all protests and went on with my day, but I have no qualms with anyone who objected to the visit. Now that she is here, I sincerely hope she makes the most of it and offers a heartfelt apology for the role of Britain in Ireland. I think as a nation collectively, the least we can do about it is to protest in a mature manner, and not use it as an excuse to incite violence. That I do object to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I'd say 80% of people couldnt give a fiddling fcuk either way - I couldn't care less, I am well over the Irish thing as are most of the nation I think. The only thing I was concerned about was the cost/disruption to the city center.

While the OP has a point - I think it is very easy to protest at an event such as this. Protesting against a bailout which was absolutely necessary because of the decisions taken by FF since (and before) 2008, would have proved potentially fruitless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

But they are. They are the same retards who held up placards condemning 'foreign games' while wearing Celtic tracksuits at the time of the Ireland-England game a few years back.

Total chimps. It makes a change from them scabbing dole money, taking drugs, getting pissed and committing crimes against taxpayers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

I never said that they didn't protest - I'm highlighting that the people who traditionally kick off trouble at these events are the ones who aren't politically active, because they know if they acted the bollocks, they'd get a stern word from their local politician for it.

But if SF members were there and if they are as compliant with the party as you suggest, then would you pull whatever strings you have with the party to tell members to hand over all video and photographic footage to the gardai so they can identify the trouble makers.

That's a job for the Gardaí, not for Sinn Féin activists. None of our concern. I think there was enough Garda presence on the streets of Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

That'd could well be put down to numbers and the reason behind the protest.

Having FF cripple the country affects everyone, ruining almost everyone's lives, and only the minority of cronies would want it.

The complete reverse, however, is true of the Queen of England's visit, with most people realising that it has little or no effect on them, and a lot more realising that it's positive.

They will be the same guys who make eloquent protests at other times of the year - Paddy's day, and around Halloween for example. The protests take the usual form of getting pissed, smashing stuff and committing crimes against other citizens.

That's a job for the Gardaí, not for Sinn Féin activists. None of our concern. I think there was enough Garda presence on the streets of Dublin.

Sorry, but that's a cop-out.

If anyone has evidence of crimes they should report them to the Gardai in order to get rid of thugs.

Of course that's not the first time we've had to point that out to SF.

Law and order is of no concern to Sinn Fein? Catching criminals is of no concern to Sinn Fein?

Well knock me down with a feather.

Can I ask if you've posted any single post that doesn't include the ridiculous phrase "west Brit" ?

Fiddlesticks. If you wanted to distance yourselves from the thuggery and actually have a go at praticing good citizenry then you'd help the Gardai weed out the people who rained on your parade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

I think what the "protesters" were most pissed off about was that they were herded into Parnell St. and Dorset St. No upmarket shops to loot.

Fiddlesticks. If you wanted to distance yourselves from the thuggery and actually have a go at praticing good citizenry then you'd help the Gardai weed out the people who rained on your parade.

They didn't rain on our parade. They organised their own protest. It is none of our concern. The Gardaí were there in strong presence, and have more than adequate evidence to convict those involved.

Disregarding the fact that no-one in this thread has actually provided proof that Sinn Féin has evidence of people directly involved in violence. Don't let that get in the way of a traditional SF witch-hunt. :)

They didn't rain on our parade. They organised their own protest. It is none of our concern. The Gardaí were there is strong presence, and have more than adequate evidence to convict those involved.

Disregarding the fact that no-one in this thread has actually provided proof that Sinn Féin has evidence of people directly involved in violence. Don't let that get in the way of a traditional SF witch-hunt. :)

Well ya see as a law abiding citizen who likes to see thuggery punished I'd encourage anyone at the 'protest' who has footage to hand it into Gardai. However ive no political platform and no sway over individuals. You've already told us that SF has control of it's members 'no one would misbehave as they'd be told off' so could you not call (or your SF superiors) for assisting the Gardai in any manner possible?

I mean I'd imagine more SF supporters were present than say FG supporters?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

I wouldn't pay any heed to the great unwashed who turned up in their British soccer jerseys yesterday. There was a handful of them at best, and they did nothing other than embarrass themselves. It was no more a protest than it was a bunch of thugs looking for an excuse to cause a ruckus. This video, which was doing the rounds on Twitter yesterday, shows them trying to set a Union Jack alight - a flag which they got free with a British newspaper (The Sun) by the looks of things :rolleyes:. I think you're greatly overstating yesterday's "protests", OP.

Well ya see as a law abiding citizen who likes to see thuggery punished I'd encourage anyone at the 'protest' who has footage to hand it into Gardai.

Well, aren't you marvellous?
    However ive no political platform and no sway over individuals.

Sinn Féin has no political platform or sway over members of Éirígí.
    You've already told us that SF has control of it's members 'no one would misbehave as they'd be told off' so could you not call (or your SF superiors) for assisting the Gardai in any manner possible?

Assist them with what? Sinn Féin was involved in it's own peaceful protest, setting off some balloons in memory of the Dublin & Monaghan bombings. Are you suggesting that Sinn Féin should hand over the perpetrators of this dastardly deed of setting off some balloons?
    I mean I'd imagine more SF supporters were present than say FG supporters?

You'd imagine wrongly. The protest in question was organised by Éirígí, not Sinn Féin. I pointed this critically important fact out earlier, but it seems to have evaded you. :pac:

Soldie wrote: »
    I wouldn't pay any heed to the great unwashed who turned up in their British soccer jerseys yesterday. There was a handful of them at best, and they did nothing other than embarrass themselves. It was no more a protest than it was a bunch of thugs looking for an excuse to cause a ruckus. This video, which was doing the rounds on Twitter yesterday, shows them trying to set a Union Jack alight - a flag which they got free with a British newspaper, The Sun, by the looks of things :rolleyes:. I think you're greatly overstating yesterday's "protests", OP.

I saw them myself. Enough to cause havoc. At least 150 people on the rampage. Not understated at all.
    Judging by that video, the 'braincell:person' ratio is not in any danger of being tilted out of kilter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

In my opinion the indifference/acceptance shown by the thousands who live and work in Dublin vastly outweighed the actions of a couple of hundred protesters.

Foreign heads of State are welcome in our country. It is part of our sovereign right to invite and welcome foreign dignitaries, and I believe that the majority of Irish people believe it was about time we came of age as a nation and showed we can get along with our nearest neighbours.

To get back to the OP- I think there was a sense of deflation weighing down the country around the time of the IMF bailout. People had a feeling that what was done was done, and that we just had to take our medicine, regardless of who led us down whatever path.

In the end the majority of the people chose not to display their anger on the street, but at the ballot box.

Assist them with what? Sinn Féin was involved in it's own peaceful protest, setting off some balloons in memory of the Dublin & Monaghan bombings. Are you suggesting that Sinn Féin should hand over the perpetrators of this dastardly deed of setting off some balloons?

It'd be nice if Sinn Fein left off some balloons in memory of Enniskillen, Manchester, Canary Wharf, Belfast, Warrington et al

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

It is a bit ridiculous when you think about it.

On one hand you have an elderly monarch who is essentially nothing but an over-paid figure head with absolutely no power or ability to make policy whatsoever. She is purely a ceremonial leader. She has come over to visit, and is basically doing absolutely everything in her very constitutionally limited power, to try and patch things up and move Irish-British relations forward and people are going mental and ranting and raving and throwing things.

She has broken with all sorts of assumed British positions on Ireland. Laying a wreath at the Garden of Remembrance was a massive gesture as she is basically acknowledging the entire Irish independence struggle and accepting it at face value and basically saluting it.

She is trying to drag a very old and very conservative establishment into the 21st century and she is having considerable success.

On the other hand you have some of the most inept, corrupt and deeply damaging decisions ever made in the history of this state which have basically ruined the economy, bankrupted us, destroyed social services, destroyed our quality of life and possibly undermined our sovereignty and freedom to make our own decisions for decades and the same people don't seem to even see or care that this is the big issue that is going to destroy their lives and livelihoods. Yet they didn't draw anything like the kind of protest we saw against the Queen.

A sense of perspective would be nice sometimes in Irish politics.

Queen = Harmless ceremonial Monarch - Not a threat.
    FF+Cronies+Banks+IMF+ECB+various vested interests = VERY BIG THREAT.

Even if you do have an issue with British policy e.g. on wars in Iraq, Afghanistan etc etc the Queen didn't start them. You'll find the PM + Defense secretary did and the Queen had no control over those policies whatsoever anymore than an aircraft carrier can decide where to place itself. She's just a figure head / brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭pog it

kippy wrote: »

While the OP has a point - I think it is very easy to protest at an event such as this. Protesting against a bailout which was absolutely necessary because of the decisions taken by FF since (and before) 2008, would have proved potentially fruitless.

Not true. We could and can still walk from the bailout according to Morgan Kelly.

Irish people are well capable of multi tasking, it's not an either or situation. The economy is important of course, but so is our heritage and so are the fundamentals of Republicanism. We don't have a monarchy, we don't have to tug the forelock and bow and scrape and a true republican wouldn't expect anybody else do it either.
    If you want to see how wrong headed the way some people direct their protests is, then take a look at the threads about the Bailout Protests and the truck crashing into Leinister House gates and see how some people (now involved in this thread) where all for protest ....and violent protest at that!. :D Spend 30-40 million protecting a monarch but cheer when somebody violently attacks our democratically elected Dail???? I think what the OP says is close to the mark but the reason is because most Irish people (and a few on here) are just reactionaries, they have no joined up political creed to believe in. Which is sad, might be worth a thread to investigate why that happened.
    It's very revealing that Lamintations says that 'I'm a law abiding citizen' in relation to yesterdays protesters but he can't see how 'against the law' it is to withhold information about an event that claimed over 30 lives.
    It's also amazing and revealing that people who call others 'knuckle dragging Neanderthals' are the first on thread 'thanking' somebody who uses the catch all phrase Scum and very little else in their post.:D

So, after all that, does anyone know of this 81% in favour poll.

And sorry, not one carried out by a newspaper with an agenda please...one carried out by RED C, Millward Brown or another agency without vested interests etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭InigoMontoya

Solair wrote: »
    On the other hand you have some of the most inept, corrupt and deeply damaging decisions ever made in the history of this state which have basically ruined the economy, bankrupted us, destroyed social services, destroyed our quality of life and possibly undermined our sovereignty and freedom to make our own decisions for decades and the same people don't seem to even see or care that this is the big issue that is going to destroy their lives and livelihoods. Yet they didn't draw anything like the kind of protest we saw against the Queen.

A sense of perspective would be nice sometimes in Irish politics.

Queen = Harmless ceremonial Monarch - Not a threat.
    FF+Cronies+Banks+IMF+ECB+various vested interests = VERY BIG THREAT.

Yeah they did.

Well, aren't you marvellous?

Yes I am. But cooperation with the gardai / helping the gardai doesn't make me so, that just makes me decent. Your word for it may be 'rat'?
    Sinn Féin has no political platform or sway over members of Éirígí.

I'm not asking you to tell Eirigi to do anything. I'm asking for you to exercise your sway over SF members to 'shop' troublemakers who may be Eirigi or otherwise via the handing over of video footage.

I'm saying SF members may have witnessed perpetrators of criminal acts and thuggery and may have video evidence. I'm asking you to call for members who may have evidence to come forward. You can't be confused by this, similar requests have been made of SF before.
    You'd imagine wrongly. The protest in question was organised by Éirígí, not Sinn Féin. I pointed this critically important fact out earlier, but it seems to have evaded you. :pac:

No. The critically important part is that SF members may have helpful footage. I don't care who 'organised' the 'protest'. I care that the troublemakers are caught, im not accusing SFers of being troublemakers. I'm asking the organisation to tell it's members to hand any info to gardai.

Yes I am. But cooperation with the gardai / helping the gardai doesn't make me so, that just makes me decent. Your word for it may be 'rat'?

You might want to see a chiropractor about that.. With all that self back-patting and all. And no, that would not be my word for it.
    I'm not asking you to tell Eirigi to do anything. I'm asking for you to exercise your sway over SF members to 'shop' troublemakers who may be Eirigi or otherwise via the handing over of video footage.

What video footage? If you believe that someone is withholding video footage of criminal acts, then you should surely contact the Gardaí and inform them of this, right? Let me know how that goes for you.
    I'm saying SF members may have witnessed perpetrators of criminal acts and thuggery and may have video evidence. I'm asking you to call for members who may have evidence to come forward. You can't be confused by this, similar requests have been made of SF before.

A million people in Dublin may have witnessed perpetrators of criminal acts. So what evidence exactly are you referring to, or is it just hypothetical evidence? Because I'm unsure if hypothetical evidence will stand in a court of law.
    No. The critically important part is that SF members may have helpful footage. I don't care who 'organised' the 'protest'. I care that the troublemakers are caught, im not accusing SFers of being troublemakers. I'm asking the organisation to tell it's members to hand any info to gardai.

What info, and why does Sinn Féin get such special treatment, considering there were a million people who could have hypothetically seen something? The reality is, you're engaging in a predictable, paint-worn Sinn Féin witch-hunt. Let me know how that goes for you. ;)

Yes I am. But cooperation with the gardai / helping the gardai doesn't make me so, that just makes me decent.

So ironic :D Don't you think that should be addressed to a certain visitor?