Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bread & Crisps

• 17-05-2011 6:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭

Just finished a crisp sandwich and I forgot how nice they are,how can something so simple be so great, all you need it three things,Bread - Tayto Crisps - Butter,and away you go..Anybody else have a craving for this Irish delicacy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭Lillylilly

Just finished a crisp sandwich and I forgot how nice they are,how can something so simple be so great, all you need it three things,Bread - Tayto King Crisps - Butter,and away you go..Anybody else have a craving for this Irish delicacy?

FYP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Ah yeah, but what about a blaa with crisps:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Just finished a crisp sandwich and I forgot how nice they are,how can something so simple be so great, all you need it three things,Bread - hunky dorys Crisps - Butter,and away you go..Anybody else have a craving for this Irish delicacy?

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Lillylilly wrote: »
    FYP :)

I knew someone would mention king,but its all good either is fine by me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Just finished a crisp sandwich and I forgot how nice they are,how can something so simple be so great, all you need it three things,Bread - Tayto Crisps - Butter,and away you go..Anybody else have a craving for this Irish delicacy?

Jonny Onion rings make for the best sandwiches

73Cat wrote: »

Anything with a blaa is good,but yeah a crisp blaa is the job:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Fire a few slices of cheese in there too

orourkeda wrote: »
    Jonny Onion rings make for the best sandwiches

Any of the cheap crisps are great too- Meanies, Banshee Bones, Chickatees etc.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I know a guy that puts a slice of turkey on his crisp roll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

It's a great sammich but it must be soft, fresh, white bread with cheese & oinion or smokey bacon potato crisps, but not hula hoops.

It no longer qualifies as a crisp sammich if cheese and ham are introduced.

Lillylilly wrote: »
    Any of the cheap crisps are great too- Meanies, Banshee Bones, Chickatees etc.!

Jesus i forgot about a meanies sandwich,i grew up on the things :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

73Cat wrote: »

red lead....not crisps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Fire a few slices of cheese in there too

bit of banson pickle on top and its a dinner for students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Batch bread, butter, crisps and a slide of Ham....Washed down with a cold beer.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Culchie cuisine TBH.

It is not! It's the easiest lunch I ever make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Culchie cuisine TBH.

Rubbish.

The English like their crisp sammiches too and Dublin is a light weight compared to places like Manchester, Birmingham, and London.

In fact, I heard that Lizzy the 2nd and Mary McAleese will be sitting down to crisp sammiches tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Freshly Baked roll with butter melting on it and a packet of cheese & onion King

Ploughman's aswell deliciouso

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Cheese instead of butter.
    Bit of red apple thrown in is decent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

dammit I want some King and Brennans Bread :P

Ficheall wrote: »
    Cheese instead of butter.
    Bit of red apple thrown in is decent too.

An apple in a crisp sandwich :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

The food of kings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Beard & Crisps would make a much better title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Has to be real butter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭Rochester

Has to be plastic cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

kfallon wrote: »
    red lead....not crisps!

Red lead AND crisps:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

King crisps on a toasted bread sandwich is even better, the warm bread really brings out the flavor :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Johnnie Onion ring sammich! Nyom nyom nyom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

alexa5x5 wrote: »
    King crisps on a toasted bread sandwich is even better, the warm bread really brings out the flavor :D

With some cheese perhaps??? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

Very fresh white bread, real butter, Cheese and Onion Tayto and a glass of cold milk :D

If I had that right now, my life would be complete! I'm not arsed to go to the shop though... :rolleyes:

Very fresh white bread, real butter, Cheese and Onion Tayto and a glass of cold milk :D

If I had that right now, my life would be complete! I'm not arsed to go to the shop though... :rolleyes:

Exactly,but it has to be ice cold milk :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

kfallon wrote: »
    With some cheese perhaps??? :pac:

Ah you know me so well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Ye havent lived until ye try Batch bread, Tayto Cheese n onion, real butter, but the secret weapon has to be vinegar, good sprinkle of vinegar lashed on the crisps......

Dont knock it until you tried it lads! :P:P:P:P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Wonder would it work with Muffins & McCoys :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Quite possibly the greatest combination known to man!

White bread, plenty of butter, king crisps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Peanuts and Malteesers thrown into a pack of Tayto Crisps...yum

Cicero wrote: »
    Peanuts and Malteesers thrown into a pack of Tayto Crisps...yum

Thats weird............i have seen people mix maltesers and popcorn though. The freaks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Thats weird............i have seen people mix maltesers and popcorn though. The freaks :D

actually peanut m&m's work better with popcorn...:eek::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Tayto or King is an argument for another day.
    What is indisputable is that it has to be fresh white batch.

Then you have the way you eat it. This is where I argue with people.

I like to take one large crisp from the bag and then a bite of the bread. You get the hit from the crisp first, and then the bread and butter. If you actually chew your food (sorry, but my friends tend to eat like Homer), you get all three flavours before they all meld into one.
    Try it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Can't believe no one prefers Salt and Vinegar to Cheese n' Onion.

I like to open the crisps, then crush the bag so the crisps are in tiny pieces and then pour them into a hollowed out buttered roll or blaa. Unreal.

i experimented with Dorito's at lunch today. Too crunchy tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭ttoppcat

Yis are making me hungry!!!

And what the hell's a blaaa:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

ttoppcat wrote: »
    Yis are making me hungry!!!

And what the hell's a blaaa:confused:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Chicken sandwich with coleslaw and two packets of Tayto Smokey Bacon dumped all over them, Dr Pepper to quench the thirst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

The butter sandwich with sugar.
    Its like eating sand.
    Not when you're hungry its not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

Very fresh white bread, real butter, Cheese and Onion Tayto

Perfect, however the crisps should not be crushed or broken in any way. Also, you have to take great care when you are completing the sandwich. No handprint on the bread.

The butter sandwich with sugar.
    Its like eating sand.
    Not when you're hungry its not.

Well that's something i hadn't thought about in years :eek: My granny was mad for feeding them to us.

Makes yer big and strong lad.
    Crunch crunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Haven't had a crisp sandwich in years, used to have King Crisps cheese and onion on white bread, beautiful imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Am I the only one here who thinks that crisp sandwiches are pretty rotten?

I graunch the crisps up a bit before making the sandwich.
    Whole big ones dont seem to work as well.