Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxback.com Kilkenny 10K 09/07/2011

• 17-05-2011 4:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

Race Website
    Route (not GPS)

Charity: ISPCC (All proceeds)

Hi folks,

A new event for you to consider in July, don't think I could add this to the event list without messing it up, so if anyone is able to do this for me, that would be great.

Any questions, let me know.

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 1 vote

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    0%
    3 stars (average)
    100%
    sharky86 1 vote
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭funrunner95

Is there a bag drop at this? Also when is the deadline for online entries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 10 Toe Runner

Hey funrunner95,

Yes there will be a bag drop area and changing facilities in James Stevens GAA club grounds. There will also be parking and this is where the race will finish, with some refreshments there afterwards.

We will close online entries the Friday before the race at 5 (Friday week). But we will take cash registrations in our office until 7:30 pm the evening before and from 8-10am on the morning of the race.

Feel free to ask any other questions, hope to see you there.

Cheers, I take it ya can grab a shower there then aswell? Just registered there myself, best of luck with the race. There always seems to be a lack of races in Kilkenny, everyone seems to have gone running nuts nearby in Waterford!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Cheers, I take it ya can grab a shower there then aswell? Just registered there myself, best of luck with the race. There always seems to be a lack of races in Kilkenny, everyone seems to have gone running nuts nearby in Waterford!

Seems to be a change of route.......
    They made up the course got it AAI approval(accurae 10k) and then decided to get garda approval........Seems it got turned down.........When people with no knowledge of running organise races even for charities they should go to experince runners for knowledge.

Seems its now starting around woodies diy which is prob 1k from JSHC.....For anyone doing it the 2nd mile is a long drag(costing 20 seconds). You will make this back later on in the race.

Apart from this I know nothing more. PB potential is decent if you dont hit the 2nd mile at proposed pace.

Plenty of parking at woodies area. Also 2 hotels within 300m of it.........There was a 10k in may when they did a lap of the carpark to make up the distance.
    Its the 3rd left out the waterford road taking hte nxt left and you come back out the main road. Last mile is quick but be careful you dont have nothing left by the time you hit the roundabout. You still have .5 mile to go. Pathway on last half mile that i would stay away from. Road makes it easier. I have ran the course 100s of times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

Course was short, 5.97miles by my watch. Nothing great about starting and finishing a race in a commercial car park and running back over ground you have already covered at the beginning (fine for training but not really for an event). I signed up initially because of the attraction of the castle grounds, I know it changed but the alternative was fairly poor....BUT on the plus side, buses to and from GAA club well organised, decent goodie bags provided, great weather...and it was for charity so no point in moaning too much...won't be back though :) hope you all had a good run.

Was just about to reply there before Muff got ahead of me. Id share the same sentiments. I knew straight away the course was going to be short when I passed the first k in what I knew was simply too fast a split for me. Every person I spoke to had measured it at about 6 miles or less on their garmins. It was shame because every other aspect of the race was bang on apart maybe from the freezing cold showers in the James Stephens clubhouse! It was still decent craic and there was a good atmosphere all the same, and it was in aid of charity.

Had mentioned that to someone who was helping(number 1 is get it accurate). Clowns seemed to have feiced up. Even if its for a charity they wont get the numbers nxt year. Clowns(in a frustrated way)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭essdee

Does anyone have a link to results for this race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭sharky86

3 stars (average)
    essdee wrote: »
    Does anyone have a link to results for this race?

http://www.taxback.com/10krace.asp?sh=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

sharky86 wrote: »
    Is that Asimonov (name incorrectly spelled) who came 4th (3rd male)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 10 Toe Runner

Just a quick note to say sorry about the distance guys. I know this should be the main thing to get right so I appreciate the frustration. There was a last minute change that was beyond our control, we had gone through all the required steps months ago. But there's no point in making excuses, I hope you enjoyed your race all the same.

Is that Asimonov (name incorrectly spelled) who came 4th (3rd male)?

correct

Just a quick note to say sorry about the distance guys. I know this should be the main thing to get right so I appreciate the frustration. There was a last minute change that was beyond our control, we had gone through all the required steps months ago. But there's no point in making excuses, I hope you enjoyed your race all the same.

Beyond your control ???
    Shouldnt ye have course approved before advertising it ??
    The course taken is the 6 miler in the kk race series so anyone doing it would have known it wasnt 10k........Kilkenny needs races.......
    did anyone go and measure the course ??