Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terraria - 2D Minecraft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭VenomIreland

Me and my friend got this on Monday. It's a brilliant game, seems to be more action and adventure oriented than Minecraft so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

It pretty good. Played it for a good bit but I haven't made much progress yet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,396 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Seems like a cross between a rogue like and minecraft but with a more action orientated combat system. It looks like it could be amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Seems like a cross between a rogue like and minecraft but with a more action orientated combat system. It looks like it could be amazing!

It much more forgiving than a rouge-like. When you die you only lose money and not items

Got another friend playing this, with all 3 of us we thought we could take down the Eye of Cthulhu. After several deaths between us and with 100 health left on the Eye, it turned to day and he fled :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭GarethBah

Hey guys i am playing this myself its very enjoyable, i hated minecraft and i really like this, i was speaking to a guy last night and he is setting up a community for players etc id advise you to signup

http://steamcommunity.com/groups/worldofterraria

Keep diggin'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

bit the bullet and bought this. was a bit worried that it might have been released a bit early and therefore a little "rough". However it's actually very polished.

Worth the €10 anyhow.

The advantage it has over Minecraft is that it feels like it actually has a bit of direction. After the initial buzz of finding a few ores in Minecraft and building a crappy house had wore off it was almost TOO sandboxy. Terraria offers a bit more for the creatively stunted players :)

Pick it up guys. Let us know what you server you are on etc and we can meet up!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Can someone please try and connecting to my server so I can test if it's setup properly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Tankran

Connected fine, nobody on tho

Cheers. Just making sure that it was accessible.

We need to get a Boards.ie server once steamworks is integrated.

Definatly would be on for it, dont have the large scale time for big builds in minecraft at the moment, nice timesink for the evenings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Downloading now after seeing a load of vids of it over the past few days. At first glance I thought it was 2d minecraft but theres so much more, you cant really compare. It looks like theres a real rpg aspect to it which I'm looking forward to. Cant wait to play it now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭quarryman

Played a couple more hours of it last night. I think I'm enjoying it a lot more than Minecraft. After the novelty of the Minecraft world wore off there really was nothing holding me to it. With Terraria it always feels like I'm working towards something. Hopefully it'll see a lot more updates than the pathetic update schedule Minecraft gets.

Also for those of you want to re-size the Terraria window to a custom resolution grab this mod.

quarryman wrote: »

Also for those of you want to re-size the Terraria window to a custom resolution grab this mod.

Did they fix the problem with the Mana bar?

EDIT: It seems not yet, will still be using it though :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Any one have a server up?

My one should be running. It's not always up as it can only be run via steam and my server has a problem with steam it seems. Until they release a standalone version I'll run on my PC.

Just killed Skeletron with my friend :D

We got some decent loot in the Dungeon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Ponster wrote: »
    My one should be running. It's not always up as it can only be run via steam and my server has a problem with steam it seems. Until they release a standalone version I'll run on my PC.

im in your house :pac:

Image of the map I'm hosting :

http://www.mediafire.com/i/?f11899t6jweml51

i'm so hooked on this game. It's like everything i hoped minecraft could be but in 2d. Awesome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Using that map, I got up to those floating islands fairly easily. I left a sign on one the islands to the west along with a sword

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

what equipment is everyone using?
    we could do a few boss runs...

Nerin wrote: »

Full Meteor, couple of Mana weapons (aqua scepter, magic missile) Cobalt Shield, Blade of Grass and Thorn Chakrum.

Looking forward to content theyre going to release in the future, they seem very happy with the release as a whole. Cant wait to start building elaborate structures!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Nerin wrote: »

Wooden sword, pair of goggles..............

i haven't even come across gold yet. I've got am iron pick and sword but that's about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

Anyone about? I'm trying to get down the the jungle area if anybody wants to join

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I'm holding out until they release a 1D minecraft-alike

**** you Eye of Cthulu. Bastard caught me on the hop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Ravage1616

Kersmash wrote: »
    **** you Eye of Cthulu. Bastard caught me on the hop.

Yeah same here, just spawned on me while I was in a small tunnel!

I got the message and knew to expect him, so come nightfall i was ready! after a while he didnt seem to come so I went for a wander, the ****er arrives when im in a small tunnel too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Thats where that mirror yoke comes in so handy. Click, bam, back in my gaff. Hope down into the flat zone next to it and let rip with vilethorn.

Skeletron is the real cúnt.

Thats where that mirror yoke comes in so handy. Click, bam, back in my gaff. Hope down into the flat zone next to it and let rip with vilethorn.

Skeletron is the real cúnt.

Skeletron's a pushover once you get the Thorn Chakrum from the underground jungle.

spent ages hunting shadow orbs and battling eater of worlds last night. Got a full set of shadow armour and a load of equipment :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭aN.Droid

fantastic game, stole about 30 hours of my life so far. Multiplayer is a thousand times more fun then the already great single player experience though!

Why must goblin invasions be so rare? I know a way to quickly run through a day/night cycle in about 20 seconds, yet they still take ages to happen. Even then, rocket boots are even more rare.

There is a 1/25 chance of them happening, also someone in your game has to have over 200hp. Also rocket boots aren't all that great. they deplete your mana so fast that I prefer the cloud in a bottle.

I got 400hp and in my many hours of playing (30+) I have only gotten to see 2 invasions and about 5 blood moons.

Ohh also, the east is on the left in this game as the sun rises in the east and sets in the west :)

Limericks wrote: »
    There is a 1/25 chance of them happening, also someone in your game has to have over 200hp. Also rocket boots aren't all that great. they deplete your mana so fast that I prefer the cloud in a bottle.

I got 400hp and in my many hours of playing (30+) I have only gotten to see 2 invasions and about 5 blood moons.

Ohh also, the east is on the left in this game as the sun rises in the east and sets in the west :)

I heard it was a 1/15 chance. I have 180 Mana, Meteor Armour and 2 bands of Starpower, so mana is no problem :)

Only problem I'm having is it's a bitch to get working in wine, I got it almost working, then it says no supported graphics card found :(

No portable Terraria for me :(

I heard it was a 1/15 chance. I have 180 Mana, Meteor Armour and 2 bands of Starpower, so mana is no problem :)

Only problem I'm having is it's a bitch to get working in wine, I got it almost working, then it says no supported graphics card found :(

No portable Terraria for me :(

I might be wrong about the 1/25 chance but i could of swore it was. Even with all that equipment I think you will only get about 8-10 secs on the rocket boots before your drained.

Hehe, i think I read somewhere on there forums they are eventually going to make the game cross platform. Dont hold me to that though!

// just tried em with my cobalt armour and two rings of starpower and i got one second per mana star i had, so ten seconds altogether with 200 mana.

I might be wrong about the 1/25 chance but i could of swore it was. Even with all that equipment I think you will only get about 8-10 secs on the rocket boots before your drained.

Hehe, i think I read somewhere on there forums they are eventually going to make the game cross platform. Dont hold me to that though!

// just tried em with my cobalt armour and two rings of starpower and i got one second per mana star i had, so ten seconds altogether with 200 mana.

Yeah, I hope they do make it cross platform, would require them to remake parts of the game though.

Does Cobalt have the 20% reduced cost set bonus or does it have another one?

Yeah, I hope they do make it cross platform, would require them to remake parts of the game though.

Does Cobalt have the 20% reduced cost set bonus or does it have another one?

they have a 25% reduced cost to mana and also regenerates it. Took me about 4 or 5 hours to find all 3 pieces of it though! Also has a swing speed increase bonus.

Now I just want Cobalt even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Any way of getting a demo?

None, unfortunately.

I suggest you look at some LP's on Youtube, these should help you decide if you want the game.

Now I just want Cobalt even more.

hehe I have spare grieves if you want em. wont be able to get em to you today though. Moving house and very busy!

Nah it's grand, It'll be fun (ish) trying to get them from the UJ :)

Fair enough, probably the right choice too. I started from scratch and am having allot more fun then the guys i helped out with gear!

Same, I've got nearly 40 hours on this so far, friends have around 20, but I helped them with starting gear (mostly copper or iron).

I'm very determined to get these rocket boots still, there's a way to fast forward time in singleplayer, but it still takes hours for an invasion to appear.

Just had another Goblin invasion, 5 harpoon guns, no rocket boots.