Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longest hour of my life...

• 16-05-2011 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

Ahhh! I'm going insane here.

Rang my old job to try and get my old job back... I need money and I miss working there ;(

Manager is in meeting. Told to ring back in an hour. :(

I'm bricking it here! Minutes are going by like hours! :(

Anyone have a time machine and/or a sleeping pill? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Have a ****! People always ring or call during one just to ruin it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Did you leave your job or were you fired?

I recommend you go over there, kick down the door where he's having his meeting, grab him by the collar and demand your job back.

Bosses love the cut of that jib.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Ah whats the worst that could happen?

... apart from ending up jobless, with no money and facing homelessness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

I hope you didn't tell him to stick his job when you left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Ah whats the worst that could happen?

... apart from ending up jobless, with no money and facing homelessness

....having to sell your body to an old man's lust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

This has got 'disgruntled former employee goes on rampage' written all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Dont worry about it. A vote for Lisbon is a vote for jobs after all

Ha ha ha tee he he

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I'll surf extra hard so that it feels like the time goes by quicker for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

she's pulling your leg.... in an hours time she'll be gone, evil revenge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

kfallon wrote: »
    Have a ****! People always ring or call during one just to ruin it!

I wholeheartedly endorse these sentiments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

'in a meeting' is a polite PFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

just dont go beheading anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Mary Jane will help you out;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Rang my old job to try and get my old job back... I need money and I miss working there ;(

Brian Cowen, ya fecking chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

Manager doesn't remember you at all, and is using the time to look at your file, the cctc, then your facebook, and now your boards account.

This wont end well...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Ahhh! I'm going insane here.

Manager is in meeting. Told to ring back in an hour. :(

I'm bricking it here! Minutes are going by like hours! :(

Anyone have a time machine and/or a sleeping pill? :pac:

why did you leave ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

mate, you gotta put on your suit, and call in, and tell them you'll wait for the meeting to be over. The boss will have a lot more respect for you for doing that. Ya may not get a job, but i'm sure he'll appreciate it, unless ya told him to shove it up his @rse. In that case save your suit for another day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Marsden wrote: »
    I hope you didn't tell him to stick his job when you left.

Nope I didnt thank god! Ended on good note for personal circumstances.

Badly need a job now!

Time to ring back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Oh let us know how ya get on!

hondasam wrote: »
    why did you leave ?

College pressure and I thought I had a better gig elsewhere.

regret leaving to no end!!

Right its been an hour whats the story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

What's the craic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

can anyone hear gunshots? did you win the job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

OP is now to busy looking at job sites to worry about updating us here :pac:

Don't worry, don't worry! I'll update ye all!

I rang a while ago and she was on her break. Gonna ring back in maybe ten minutes and get by begging on! B)

I can see it being a 'no' though. I'm calling out of the blue and I have a gut feeling :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭Scarydoll

Fingers crossed for you! Hope you get the job.

First at a "meeting" now on her break.....Me thinks she wants you to fook off, but is to polite to tell you. Ever the optimist me :P

If you ring again and shes in the crapper its probably a no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

If you ring again and shes in the crapper its probably a no.
    First at a "meeting" now on her break.....Me thinks she wants you to fook off, but is to polite to tell you. Ever the optimist me :P

What make ye think that, i mean if i were a manager of a business and a former employer rang looking for me i'd assume they are looking for a reference or their P45/60...not that they were looking for their old job back

FFS! Still on break!

Told to call back in fifteen minutes again :( The suspense is killing! I just want to know either way...
    :(

I have a gut feeling she'll just say outright 'sorry, not taking on' :(

busyliving wrote: »
    What make ye think that, i mean if i were a manager of a business and a former employer rang looking for me i'd assume they are looking for a reference or their P45/60...not that they were looking for their old job back

Because I am a manager and I know others that use that wuss tactic of avoiding someone till they stop bothering you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

FFS! Still on break!

Told to call back in fifteen minutes again :( The suspense is killing! I just want to know either way...

so.......................................................................?

FFS! Still on break!

Well mate if she says no, just let her know if any vacancies come up your available...with you having worked there before it means they don't have to train you so it works out better for them.

Also if you don't mind me asking...Are you still in college? And where(city) are you currently living?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

this time last year, ish... I woke up at 8:45 jumped online checkjed cao nothing happening waited and waited for an hour 9:00 for the post man around 10 o clock
    to find out weather I got into college or not letter calm opened it :D

I got inn i screamed out for joy and then cryed :pac:

best day ever

this time last year, ish... I woke up at 8:45 jumped online checkjed cao nothing happening waited and waited for an hour 9:00 for the post man around 10 o clock
    to find out weather I got into college or not letter calm opened it :D

I got inn i screamed out for joy and then cryed :pac:

best day ever

How is this relevant?

Because I am a manager and I know others that use that wuss tactic of avoiding someone till they stop bothering you.

Wow no wonder the country is in a state...i must say all my previous bosses were always willing to take a call from former employees even when he know they were looking for a job and there weren't any vacancies...also my last two bosses where tools, but would still take the call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

How is this relevant?

Its not but its a nice little story. :)

Or it could be seen as good things come to those who wait??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭thehairyelbow

Larianne wrote: »
    Its not but its a nice little story. :)

Or it could be seen as good things come to those who wait??
    Awwwwwwwwwwww...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Mary Jane will help you out;)

Probably why the guy was sacked in the first place Edward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

That's exactly what I would think.

Though I don't know why you didn't just leave your number after the third time you called OP, instead of having to ring back yourself at fifteen minute intervals.

In my previous posts I was half joking, but i seriously think she is now avoiding you. Maybe next time you call and she aint available leave your number and ask her to call you when she gets a chance, at least that way if you hear nothing you know you wont be getting the job back :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

How is this relevant?

how this relevent the future of my life i was either booking a ticket to nz or going back to college its was the longest hour ive ever had to put up with... :rolleyes:

or are you just clucking dumb ?

Well mate if she says no, just let her know if any vacancies come up your available...with you having worked there before it means they don't have to train you so it works out better for them.

Also if you don't mind me asking...Are you still in college? And where(city) are you currently living?

Yeah that's what I'm gonna do. Just say if anything comes up I'm available!

Still in college, yup and I'm living in Dublin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

"I'm sorry,Mr Gates has left for the day.But I'll leave a message for him to call you back"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

College pressure and I thought I had a better gig elsewhere.

regret leaving to no end!!

It's not always a good idea to go back. Don't be to disappointed if she says no.

Probably why the guy was sacked in the first place Edward.

I wasn't sacked. I left on my own accord on a good note with a clean record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Junior Cert lad are we?

It shows son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Junior Cert lad are we?

It shows son.

Why so mean? At least OP is being proactive about getting himself a job, that shows a bit of maturity IMO.

how this relevent the future of my life i was either booking a ticket to nz or going back to college its was the longest hour ive ever had to put up with... :rolleyes:

or are you just clucking dumb ?

No one asked about the longest hour of your life.

The thread is about Dean waiting to hear from his old job not for you to post your misspelled tripe.

So you can't get the dole, but you living in a big city surely you'd be able to find some kind of job even 10 hours a week working in Dunnes or Tesco if you get really stuck(if you've already applied for work in these places, then I apologize)

Have you tried for any grand since your in college?