Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will dissident republicans make an attempt on the Queen?

• 16-05-2011 9:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

I was talking with an army friend of mine last Friday. He was saying that there is a very strong possibility of dissident factions "having a go" so to speak.

How real do you think this is? And, what would be the impact to Ireland of a fatal attack on the Queen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Sniper rifle form 2 miles.....

Backlash would be terrible for Irish living in England.

Let her do her thing and **** off home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

More importantly, will we have 10 more of these same threads before she comes. my guess is yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I hope she arrives here safe and I hope she leaves the same way. I would imagine there will be some disturbance from some groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Make an attempt on what, her life, making her tea, attempt to get an autograph and a picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

I heard she's going to be wearing a coat made of innocent babies so no threat on her life could take place. The babies are still alive for this to have any semblance of comedy..............ish........maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

Nothing will happen to her, hypothetically speaking if something did happen we would be well and truly ****ed and look far worse than we do at the moment.

I would be pretty pissed off if something happened, not because i give a toss about the queen but because of all that money we will be spending would be for nothing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

chin_grin wrote: »
    I heard she's going to be wearing a coat made of innocent babies so no threat on her life could take place. The babies are still alive for this to have any semblance of comedy..............ish........maybe.

You are mixing up the Queen with Lady Ga Ga.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,366 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I am Irish and would also be a nationalist, but I hope this visit goes off without trouble. We are in the 21st century now, we need to move on and we need to communicate and we need to be tolerant. The Irish and English have so much history and so much connection that it is only through peace and cooperation and dialogue that we can keep getting better and stronger.The visist should be welcomed. We cannot keep being hostile and unwilling. The visit can only strengthen the two countries.

If this vist was pre Good Friday, or in the 80s I would say it was premature. Now I feel the time
    is right for both to come together and be complete friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Nothing will happen to the queen of britain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

They must be dying to get a pop at her for decades. Does anyone really see them not at least trying?

Think of the glory (in their heads) for taking out the Queen?

Really doesnt help thinking about. I hope the army, guards, security is as tight as fook, i dont want to see anyone getting killed. The past should be the past, people need to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭davocesque

people keep saying were f***ed if she comes to Ireland, but why?

Surely she's asking for trouble, she has no need to come, and i think its a poor show from our government to pay for this as well as put Irish lives at risk, even if that risk is only very small.

The vast majority of people with half a brain couldnt care less she is coming, and i dont think anything will happen. But i do think there are people who would have serious attempts, but they'd be so few and thick that theyd be caught hours before they even started to carry out their plan!

Do think their would be trouble for Irish in the UK though, like me :(

You are mixing up the Queen with Lady Ga Ga.

Funny that you never see both at the same time isn't it? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Not a hope, loyalist reaction would be worse than any of their attacks during the troubles.

Would expect a bomb or shooting in NI or Britain though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

i thinnk the british army who are accompanying her should be the ones who should be worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

If they did have a go, it would re-ignite the war in the north, the UDA, UVF etc....would take up arms and then we'd be back to the 80's and 90's.This is a tricky situation, I hope MI5 and the Gardaí are on top of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Our security forces think we're all potential assassins and terrorists as they have sealed off all the streets and all her engagements are out of bounds to the general public.

So if you really want to take a pop at her, your best bet will be a trip to Ascot in June for the races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

neil_hosey wrote: »
    i thinnk the british army who are accompanying her should be the ones who should be worried.

They'll be disguised as nuns and Eirigi supporters to confuse everyone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

ejmaztec wrote: »
    They'll be disguised as nuns and Eirigi supporters to confuse everyone.

That wouldn't surprise me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Absolutely no chance of any harm being done to Mrs Windsor by any dissident Republican group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Absolutely no chance of any harm being done to Mrs Windsor by any dissident Republican group.

Good!;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Have a go, nah. They'll probably be just head off down the Garda-less country on a crime spree for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Gerry Adams might drop the hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

orourkeda wrote: »

I think I would prefer the bullet !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

why are we inviting the old bag and asking for trouble ??
    It was that moron mcalees's idea to make up for her "protestants are like nazi's" remark. Making a legacy for her that's all it's about.
    I hope the Queen get's the same reception as Lord Mountbatten.
    All this Pc crap of move on ect, it's a joke,
    i haven't got a problem with english people coming over but not a royal visit it's too soon,
    maybe when she's brown bread a visit from william or harry would have been better as they weren't around for the troubles ect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

chin_grin wrote: »
    Funny that you never see both at the same time isn't it? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm?

Hope this helps ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is that offical?.......are you speaking on they're behalf?

brimal wrote: »

Nah, you can obviously make out that the person on the right is a man. The plot thickens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

orourkeda wrote: »

have a ****:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

AnneFrank wrote: »
    why are we inviting the old bag and asking for trouble ??
    It was that moron mcalees's idea to make up for her "protestants are like nazi's" remark. Making a legacy for her that's all it's about.
    I hope the Queen get's the same reception as Lord Mountbatten.
    All this Pc crap of move on ect, it's a joke,
    i haven't got a problem with english people coming over but not a royal visit it's too soon,
    maybe when she's brown bread a visit from william or harry would have been better as they weren't around for the troubles ect

You hope she is murdered along with two innocent people?

Wow, that's really nice of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

If they wanted to get the Queen they'd have done it already. London = not that far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

If any group wanted her deed shed be deed already :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What we might get is some false bomb threats and such like in order to try create disruption.
    In reality, even if that happens there will be a lot of pissed off Irish people who already have made re-arranged travel arrangements, will be disarticulated into further disruption and delay.
    The loons that try such stunts will even gain lesser liking - if that was possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

fryup wrote: »
    is that offical?.......are you speaking on they're behalf?

Not speaking on their behalf, no. Though nothing would suggest that any dissident group has the expertise or capability to bypass the extensive security detail that will be covering Mrs Windsor and the areas she will visit.

You hope she is murdered along with two innocent people?

Wow, that's really nice of you.

i'm a nice person

If any group wanted her deed shed be deed already :D

they'd have shot her in the heed !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Hopefully nothing happens to her, but I fear of a different outcome.
    What if some gob****e makes an attempt to disrupt things, and may be seen as a viable threat and is shot and killed by one of the armed British police force over here?
    Another scenario I'm sure the security forces would dread.
    Hopefully nothing of the sort happens !

AnneFrank wrote: »
    they'd have shot her in the heed !!!

Lying in her beed

whiskeyman wrote: »
    What if some gob****e makes an attempt to disrupt things, and may be seen as a viable threat and is shot and killed by one of the armed British police force over here?
    !

Could be seen as another Bloody Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Lying in her beed

FAIL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

Hopefully nothing will happen.The country has enough problems without adding to them.Besides,i honestly dont think anyone would have the balls to even try it to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Could be seen as another Bloody Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday.
    Corrected!

Guill wrote: »
    FAIL

Depends on what part of the country your in!

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    i honestly dont think anyone would have the balls to even try it to be honest.

Dont be so sure about that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Windedprism

Be damn stupid if they did, no one gives a monkeys about them.They don't and never have represented us.To bomb your capital is to sign your own death warrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Ah leave the IRA alone, they're just a niche market gentlemens club. Sure look at the woolen gimp masks they wear. We have nothing to fear from (I)llicit (R)imming (A)ssociation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Closed.