Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scam or Not?

• 15-05-2011 1:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭

A few weeks back I was walking along the docklands in Dublin, when a middle-aged guy approached me, stopping me and looking fairly worried about something. He immediately started into this long and dodgy-sounding story about his wife being broken down out on the M50 and her having the keys to his flat, which he was locked out of. He didn't have his wallet on him, and was saying he needed to borrow €50 to get a taxi out to her. I don't remember all the details, but that was the jist of it.

Of course, I felt fairly sketchy about all this, and I decided to apologise and move on. He seemed fairly disappointed and kept going on about how he would pay me back €200 once he got hold of his wallet, but I couldn't afford to take the risk.

Just wondering if anyone's been approached like this before and what you did in the situation. Anyone ever given the benefit of the doubt to a complete stranger and had it pay off? Or have you ever given a stranger the benefit of the doubt and never heard from them again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Not really a scam... daylight robbery yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I would not give him the money, sounds like a bullsh*tter.

I remember before a romanian guy was going around to people with a picture of his supposed sick daughter, asking people for 2 euros. I thought about giving him money but didn't. Saw him years later doing the same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bigjohnny80

The AA would have towed her back for the 200. He could have given them the money once he got his keys. Scam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

He seemed fairly disappointed ..

Damn right I was, had a tip on a horse and it won, you would have got your money back :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Hurricane-Dean

Absolute scam well done for not giving him the money, quickest way to lose €50 imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

A few weeks back I was walking along the docklands in Dublin, when a middle-aged guy approached me, stopping me and looking fairly worried about something. He immediately started into this long and dodgy-sounding story about his wife being broken down out on the M50 and her having the keys to his flat, which he was locked out of. He didn't have his wallet on him, and was saying he needed to borrow €50 to get a taxi out to her. I don't remember all the details, but that was the jist of it.

Of course, I felt fairly sketchy about all this, and I decided to apologise and move on. He seemed fairly disappointed and kept going on about how he would pay me back €200 once he got hold of his wallet, but I couldn't afford to take the risk.

Just wondering if anyone's been approached like this before and what you did in the situation. Anyone ever given the benefit of the doubt to a complete stranger and had it pay off? Or have you ever given a stranger the benefit of the doubt and never heard from them again?

offer to give him a lift out to the M50, see what he says...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Joe Duffy had a full show on this guy I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

Bambi wrote: »
    offer to give him a lift out to the M50, see what he says...

and if he didnt have a wife there he would be staring in a new series bum fights on the M50.

The guy that winds me up is the tall skinny guy with black hair who comes up to you in Dublin and in an fake English accent says: "Excuse me, can I ask you something.." Always outside the Savoy & Gresham.

Wanker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Tell him to take a taxi and pay at the destination like I've done many a time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

OutlawPete wrote: »
    The guy that winds me up is the tall skinny guy with black hair who comes up to you in Dublin and in an fake English accent says: "Excuse me, can I ask you something.." Always outside the Savoy & Gresham.

Wanker!

what did he ask you ? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,872 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's an example of what is known as a "stranger in distress" scam.

http://www.snopes.com/fraud/distress/stranded.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Fair play OP....

i was standing at the bus stop in dublin city and a old cramped down woman junkie stopped asking people for spare change... "Got any spare change there bud?!"
    Me: I do.
    Her: Well can i have it ?
    ME: Nope.... bye now :)

she shouted at me then but i was getting on the bus at that stage :D

or

I remember one i did when i was in dublin city (again) when an woman near enough to 30 had a row of €1 coins in her hand.... must of had at least €15 in her hand and i was watching her come down the street and she was asking people for spare change.... when she got to me on the street.. before she could talk i asked very politely "sorry, any chance i could get a euro of you there please... its just i have no bus fare home :( " .... she gave it to me ! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

hondasam wrote: »

Seen Joe's salary?

Now THAT'S a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭Sofaspud

Wanker!

He used to always be outside fibbers of a thursday night, I've seen him in temple bar and around busaras as well.

There's another guy who's come up to me twice telling me that his pregnant sister was stabbed the night before and lost her baby, he was beaten up and robbed, they were just out of the hospital and he was €10 short for the train to maynooth, despite the ticket costing about €2.50 . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Joe Duffy? Now there's a con-man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

It is really difficult to know what to do. I'm always afraid that once you get your wallet/purse out that they will snatch it and run away...

Many years ago I was stopped by a frail old lady who was standing at the end of her drive way and said that she had opened her purse and €5 had blown out. A young boy picked it up and would not give it back to her and it was all that she had until pension day. I felt really sorry for her and gave her €20. I did not want it back and felt very good about myself and the great karma that I had created blah blah. A week later, I passed by and saw the same frail old lady telling the same story to someone else. I should have said something but I was only about 19 at the time and didn't have the confidence that I have now. I was annoyed about for ages though and it blighted my trust in old people for years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Sofaspud wrote: »
    There's another guy who's come up to me twice telling me that his pregnant sister was stabbed the night before and lost her baby, he was beaten up and robbed, they were just out of the hospital and he was €10 short for the train to maynooth, despite the ticket costing about €2.50 . . .

Funnily enough, one of my housemates heard the exact same story from someone trying to get the train from Maynooth into town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

saying he needed to borrow €50

:eek: Jaysus when I lived in Dublin it was two quid for a sandwich ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Make it a point to not give money to anybody, unless it is something that effects me personally or those I love.

They clearly just see those of upstanding morals as "marks" which they can gain free money from with a sob story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I'm always a bit dogdey about giving stranger anything, and I mean anything. I usually get out of there as soon as they ask. I might seem like a bit of a assh*le, but I think it's for my own safety. Back in my teens a few guys asked me for a smoke. I said "Sorry, lads, I don't smoke", so instead they beat the crap outta me and took my wallet. All I could think was, I should have just gave them a damn smoke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 The Baltimore Sun

I've noticed "Chuggers" all pulling the same stunt on punters recently. They say "Oh you just dropped something" while pointing at the ground....after you look down and up, they say "now do u have a minute to talk"!!
    Really gets on my goat!:mad:
    p.s it wasn't done to me (everytime!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

Yeh sounds like a scam, a lame one at that.

Although I was in San ysdiro in The US and there was this couple with a baby at the train station Who were somwhat upset cause he had been robbed and had no wallet and way to get home. asked for 20 bucks for the train ticket. Was of course dodgy about it but he musta caught me on a good day i wasnt skint,he looked honest. bought him the two train tickets for 15 Dollars and gave him a fiver for a mackers. They were very appreciative, gave my email address he insisted on thanking me. Thought no more if it really, Just put it down to $20 chairty on my part. Got an email from him a week later About how appreciative he was of the help and sent me back $50 via paypal. Wanted to send more but i wouldnt accept.... Happy ending for once.

Bout 3 months after that i lost me wallet on a night out in Dublin. Was Ragin as had everything in it including about €80. Got a call from a guy the next day saying he found it. Was driving through the City and gave it back to me.
    Couldn't believe it

Score 1 for Karma eh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭g_moriarty

€50 for a taxi to the m50 from the docklands is the real scam here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Yeah, I got stopped by a guy in his mid twenties while walking down Pearse Street (Dublin) a few months back, asking was I Irish and then proceeded to tell me he had just done a hairdressing course in some place off Merrion Square and that he locked his keys and wallet in his car and needed money for a bus home? Very weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Defo scam OP
    CorkMan wrote: »
    I remember before a romanian guy was going around to people with a picture of his supposed sick daughter, asking people for 2 euros. I thought about giving him money but didn't. Saw him years later doing the same thing.

Maybe she was still sick.

Best one I seen was the weekend of a U2 concert in Croke Park. Some fella was selling limited edition U2 cds on O'Connell Bridge for about a tenner. Picked up the same CD in the same packaging my self a week earlier in a sunday paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Got stopped by a junkie on Camdem street telling me his girlfriend just had a miscarraige and had lost his wallet and needed 20 euro for a taxi to the hospital - just said no, sorry.

Another time walking by a Luas stop a junkie with 4 cans of Karpachi asked me for a few euro for a hostel, i just told him he shouldnt have spent his money on the can so - luckily i wasnt waiting for a luas or else i wouldnt have be so brave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Anyone see that bloke who was on Grafton Street over Christmas/New Year who was sitting down without any shoes or socks on?

It was absolutely freezing out and he looked like he was going to freeze to death. Apparently he was refusing people giving him shoes rather than money.

Would that be a scam or just stupid?

lastlaugh wrote: »
    Anyone see that bloke who was on Grafton Street over Christmas/New Year who was sitting down without any shoes or socks on?

It was absolutely freezing out and he looked like he was going to freeze to death. Apparently he was refusing people giving him shoes rather than money.

A lot of these beggars put on dirty ripped clothes just to beg and that goes for the Romas too ~ think of it like a work uniform - if you walk around town latish say 8ish on a weekday - a lot of the beggers are walking around in top clobber -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

He's back outside Connolly Stn for the last week or so.

A friend of mine bought him shoes and socks in Penneys back in Jan. She said he didn't look too happy with her while he put them on. Looks like he's lost them since then :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

irish-stew wrote: »
    Best one I seen was the weekend of a U2 concert in Croke Park. Some fella was selling limited edition U2 cds on O'Connell Bridge for about a tenner. Picked up the same CD in the same packaging my self a week earlier in a sunday paper.

On that note (and a bit off topic, but still)- I had a friend who was trading in a bunch of DVDs in a Gamestop a few years back. Some of them were good DVDs too, limited editions, box-sets, director's cuts, and all that. For the hell of it, he threw in a copy of Highlander that he'd gotten free with a newspaper. He ended up scoring more cash for the Highlander than any of the others.

I know, completely off topic, but I always enjoy telling that story :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

There is this guy and he has been doing this for years in dublin city centre. He comes up to you with the same speech every single time!

"i dont mean to be cheeky, but i am homeless, see" - looks a right shady wan*er.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Oranage2 wrote: »
    A lot of these beggars put on dirty ripped clothes just to beg and that goes for the Romas too ~ think of it like a work uniform - if you walk around town latish say 8ish on a weekday - a lot of the beggers are walking around in top clobber -

This dude brought it whole new level though. Remember how cold it was over xmas, you could tell he was suffering pretty badly.

It was kind of offensive looking at him deliberately putting himself though it with the aim of playing off people's sympathy.

I suppose he would treat himself to an extra comfy pair of socks after a long day on the scrounge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

How about that short oul lad with the jam-jar glasses in Dublin who pretends to be deaf and has a handwritten, laminated begging note he waves under your nose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

deathrider wrote: »
    I'm always a bit dogdey about giving stranger anything, and I mean anything. I usually get out of there as soon as they ask. I might seem like a bit of a assh*le, but I think it's for my own safety. Back in my teens a few guys asked me for a smoke. I said "Sorry, lads, I don't smoke", so instead they beat the crap outta me and took my wallet. All I could think was, I should have just gave them a damn smoke!

I love telling annoying teens that I don't smoke. Especially with a smoke in my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

How about that short oul lad with the jam-jar glasses in Dublin who pretends to be deaf and has a handwritten, laminated begging note he waves under your nose?

Yeah, I know were he lives, well he got on the bus in Crumlin one day anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

That guy is actually wearing a pair of these bad boys, sneaky lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Yeah, I know were he lives, well he got on the bus in Crumlin one day anyway.

That doesn't really qualify as knowing where someone lives, in fairness. It's like saying to someone "I know what you had for breakfast: food and/or drink!"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Was working in the States in a restaurant and a lad came in while we were quiet going on about working next door and no money, needed taxi fare, $50 will pay back tomorrow etc.
    I didn't do anything but the girl I worked with gave it to him. Next day we found out he'd done the same to about 8 or 10 places in the same neighbourhood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭AlkalineAcid

Wanker!

What's his story? He's asked me that three times in different places from Henry St to Phibsboro but I've always told him no. I was almost beginning to worry he had something important to tell me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭enfield

This type of thing is common and the best way to handle it is to ask him does he mind if your take his photograph? No scammers would not mind. Then if he does not give you 200 smackers you can pass his pic to the fuzz.
    Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

CorkMan wrote: »
    I would not give him the money, sounds like a bullsh*tter.

They always do that, they sometimes have notes written out which they hand to you to read which has a sob story written on it.

In France they do the same thing except over there they have someone who will try to pickpocket you while you are reading the note!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 F_Fitzy

Similar scams have happened to me twice in Dublin. Once a french man and his girlfriend came up to me near busaras. He explained that they were short a few euro for the bus and asked me quietly, politely and embarrassed for some spare change. I took out my wallet and spilled all the change out (It probably added up for 4 or 5 euro). I gave it to him, saying thats its all i had. He and the girlfriend burst out laughing, to my shock, and wandered away from the bus station with my money. I was 17 or 18 at the time, when 5 euro was a lot more money to me than it is now!

The second time it happened makes my blood boil now. It was a young man in heuston station, probably 18 or 19 at the time, was a couple of years ago. It was a similar situation, he was out the night before, lost his wallet, and just needed a couple of euro for the train. I gave him 3 or 4 euro, and thought nothing else of it. Since then, ive been asked by the same guy twice, as has my sister in heuston, and a friend at the tesco in newbridge. I shudder to think how much this guy has made from tricking dopes like me. Thankfully, my sister went mad at him after the poor bloke approached her for the second time!

Yeah I think he's been given a pair of socks by just about everyone in Dublin.

Thing is, even knowing that the barefoot thing was for show, during the snow around Christmas I figured ah well, even if he is a chancer, he must have been freezing so I asked him if he wanted a cup of tea - He had one hidden behind his back!

The man probably wants for nothing!

enfield wrote: »
    This type of thing is common and the best way to handle it is to ask him does he mind if your take his photograph? No scammers would not mind. Then if he does not give you 200 smackers you can pass his pic to the fuzz.
    Tom

Wrong - the way to deal with it is to just say no!

what did he ask you ? :p

Oh he just prattles on about hostel's if you let him.
    What's his story? He's asked me that three times in different places from Henry St to Phibsboro but I've always told him no. I was almost beginning to worry he had something important to tell me.

Yeah, asked me three times last week could he tell me something in the space of 15 minutes at different points of O'Connell St. I always say either: "I have no money!" bluntly as he's gets to 'Can I ask you'. His expression changes instantly and he turns and looks for more potential targets. He pays no attention to who he asks, hence why he ends up asking the same people a few times in a row. Last week I said: "Mate, you're entitled to the very same money from the state that I'm entitled to, go get it and leave me alone". I used to give people money, but I have changed a lot and now don't give money to anyone, accept Mary in alley off Grafton St the odd time.
    Yeah I think he's been given a pair of socks by just about everyone in Dublin.

Seen the cops telling him to put his shoes on once. He was sitting on them. Used to be a foreign pretending he had no legs on Moore St a few years back. Have a mad story about that guy. Him and his mates use to run the three card trick scam users pieces of foam. Costs €50 to enter and you win €50 if you guess which one has the white mark on the bottom. Now I used to do that trick at school on my mates with two Jacks and an Ace, so I know how's it done.

So walked up one day and a few people were winning the €50. Brazilian guy I knew to see from the Bookies there (a surgeon of all things, but you'd never guess it) was there convinced he was going to win and before I could tell him the scam, he lost €50. He fell for the usual show of loads of people winning (all in on it of course). So, I briefly told him how to tell which one it was and he says he's having €50 on that throw down and so do I. Bet excepted and we both pick the one on the left and the lads faces drop and they pick up their cardboard box and starting walking away. The Surgeon guy is losing his mind and starts saying he'll get them shot and the guy with no legs suddenly sprouts two and says: "We are just poor people trying to make a living, you rich and €50's no problem" :rolleyes:

Another shower of fcukers are the family who case Abbey St all the time. They all look very similar, quite striking looking and most of the sisters have long black hair and brown eyes. They should take up acting as the first time I came across one of them, she told me her father had kicked her out and was abusing her little sister. She asked me for money towards a hostel and I said if she gave me the name of it that I would phone up and pay for one for the night (genuinely, I wasn't trying to call her bluff). Well, she lost the head and stormed off. Have seen that family around now for a few years since. Side of the central bank with a baby is one of the more regular haunts these days.

Anyone see that new free food chuck wagon that is going around now. Mobile cafe for the homeless, seen it last week. There are quite a few groups now that give out free food and blankets etc. Think I'd rather give my money there than directly to anyone that is homeless tbh.

http://www.dubsimon.ie/Services/SoupRun.aspx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 ger-h

I bought that sob a pair of shoes and socks! He took them and legged it up the road.

Two days later, i seen him with no shoes or socks. Felt like steppin on the c*nts toes, didnt coz i was too ashamed that i feel for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

OP's story is very similar to a common scam that scammers have tried to pull on me on two separate occassions. Worried lookin guy tells you he's run out of petrol and had to leave his wife and baby in the car and could you please give him €20 for petrol and he'll send you the money on when he gets home, keeps apologising the whole time.
    Politely refused the first time as the guy put on a good act and a part of me thought it might have been true. No doubts the second time though.

Then about a year ago I knew a guy who had once genuinely run out of petrol and, I think, left his wallet at home, and had to ask people nearby for money or if they'd go buy petrol for him, and of course everyone thought he was scamming!
    Then another time, the poor guy was about to get a train in Barcelona and noticed he'd been pickpocketed! After much begging around he managed to gather enough money for a ticket.
    Couldn't believe he'd genuinely got into both such suspicious situations, but he was an honest guy who wouldn't make it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I've had the same unbelieveably knackery looking bird come up to me a few times around Parnell St asking for a euro for the bus. But the strange thing is she pits on the most over-exaggerated D4 southside accent on, as if thats going to make people more inclined to give her money. Always found it very odd, though it must somehow work for her or why would she keep doing it?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

flahavaj wrote: »
    I've had the same unbelieveably knackery looking bird come up to me a few times around Parnell St asking for a euro for the bus. But the strange thing is she pits on the most over-exaggerated D4 southside accent on, as if thats going to make people more inclined to give her money. Always found it very odd, though it must somehow work for her or why would she keep doing it?:confused:

Probably one of the girls from Fade Street on that Anonymous programme. Jason Byrne is screaming in her ear to lose the accent but she just can't manage it.