Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

La Liga - Week 37

• 14-05-2011 11:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭

unled16.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Ronaldo to make history this week or next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

tolosenc wrote: »
    Ronaldo to make history this week or next week?

I hope this week man. COME ON RONALDO!!! A brace against Villarreal and a hat-trick next week against relegated Almeria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Are ye official campiones Redout?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Come on Depor:cool:

Sky showing Barca-Depor ahead of Real-Villarreal.

Stupid eejits they are, the league is all over and I think people would want to see if C.Ronaldo can equal/beat Zarra and Sanchez's 38 league goal record. Also Villarreal could still lose out on 4th place AFAIK, Depor have no chance of getting into Europe. Depor are a shade of their former self, Villarreal are much more entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Meh, showing the people what they want to see. Not sure most of Europe really cares about the one man show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

CorkMan wrote: »

Stupid eejits they are, the league is all over and I think people would want to see if C.Ronaldo can equal/beat Zarra and Sanchez's 38 league goal record. Also Villarreal could still lose out on 4th place AFAIK, Depor have no chance of getting into Europe. Depor are a shade of their former self, Villarreal are much more entertaining.

How many goals needed to equal it CM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

gimmick wrote: »
    Meh, showing the people what they want to see. Not sure most of Europe really cares about the one man show.

Its about the only thing thats still up for grabs at the top of La Liga tbf.

C.Ronaldo has 36 goals ATM, he needs 2 to equal the record.

According to Marca, he has 37, and they give out the reward for top scorer so it is a bit sketchy. IMO it should be awarded to C.Ronaldo, his free kick hit Pepe and then went in, but it was very much on target before it happened. I have seen goals given before which were less credible to the goalscorer.

C.Ronaldo has 36 goals ATM, he needs 2 to equal the record.

According to Marca, he has 37, and they give out the reward for top scorer so it is a bit sketchy. IMO it should be awarded to C.Ronaldo, his free kick hit Pepe and then went in, but it was very much on target before it happened. I have seen goals given before which were less credible to the goalscorer.

If he misses out by one we riot Corkman.

flahavaj wrote: »
    If he misses out by one we riot Corkman.

We steal the league trophy from Camp Nou and run over it in the Real Madrid team bus.

Chances are its still parked in front of the goal at Camp Nou anyway.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭5T3PH3N

We steal the league trophy from Camp Nou

That's the only way you lot will be able to get your hands on it for the next few years;)

5T3PH3N wrote: »
    That's the only way you lot will be able to get your hands on it for the next few years;)

I don't know about that but Messi will have to steal the Pichichi from C.Ronaldo this season. I'll advise him to not waste too much energy tryna catch up with C.Ronaldo or else he might be burnt out for the CL Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

Depor are in real danger of being relegated. One of the bigger names in Spanish football away to the recently crowned champions fighting for their lives.

or

A match between two sides who have literally nothing to play for, with the exception of the slim chance Villarreal have of beating Valencia to third place (5pts back with two to play).

Fair play to Sky on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I don't know about that but Messi will have to steal the Pichichi from C.Ronaldo this season. I'll advise him to not waste too much energy tryna catch up with C.Ronaldo or else he might be burnt out for the CL Final.

I'm sure he won't mind that much, his league winners medal and possible champions league medal will be enough to console him, it is a team game after all.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Its about the only thing thats still up for grabs at the top of La Liga tbf.

The fact that the trophy is being handed to Barca tonight probably swung it tbh.

Ya, I would say that is Messis top priority alright.

I heard from a Barca poster on here Messi "looked disappointed" after not scoring 2 weeks ago. I say it is gnawing away at him, who knows, it might even affect his game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

I heard from a Barca poster on here Messi "looked disappointed" after not scoring 2 weeks ago. I say it is gnawing away at him, who knows, it might even affect his game.

I'm sure his 2 Ballon Dors will cheer him up.

C.Ronaldo has already score a hat-trick against Villarreal this season.

Poor lad. Second best no matter how hard he tries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Barça lineup:
    Valdés; Bartra, Mascherano, Fontás, Abidal; Keita, Thiago, Jonathan; Afellay, Jeffren, Bojan

C.Ronaldo with the Pichichi so. (or is that a pink unicorn flying past my window?)

Starting XI:

Casillas, Ramos, Carvalho, Pepe, Arbeloa, Marcelo, Xabi, Granero, Kaká, C.Ronaldo, Benzema.

VILLARREAL REAL MADRID
    13 Diego López 1 Casillas
    27 Mario 4 Sergio Ramos
    4 Musacchio 3 Pepe
    5 Marchena 2 Carvalho
    11 Capdevila 17 Arbeloa
    19 Senna 11 Granero
    21 Bruno 22 Xabi Alonso
    10 Cani 12 Marcelo
    20 Borja Valero 8 Kaká
    9 Marco Ruben 7 C. Ronaldo
    22 Rossi 9 Benzema
    Suplentes Suplentes
    25 Juan Carlos 25 Dudek
    3 Oriol 18 Albiol
    15 Catalá 19 Garay
    24 Cicinho 22 Di María
    17 Matilla 23 Özil
    8 Cazorla 6 Adebayor
    7 Nilmar 20 Higuaín

C.Ronaldo with the Pichichi so. (or is that a pink unicorn flying past my window?)

Starting XI:
    Casillas, Ramos, Carvalho, Pepe, Arbeloa, Marcelo, Xabi, Granero, Kaká, C.Ronaldo, Benzema.

I think the fact Messi has scored more, assisted more, broken the all-time Spanish goal scoring record for a season, picked up his 3rd consecutive la Liga winners medal and is playing a Champions league final in 2 weeks time could soften the blow somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,602 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

That Barca lineup is the last thing I wanted to see. Need them, Madrid and Valencia to win for my accumulator, I suppose it'd give me even more reason to hate them if they mess it up :D

redout wrote: »
    I think the fact Messi has scored more, assisted more, broken the all-time Spanish goal scoring record for a season, picked up his 3rd consecutive la Liga winners medal and is playing a Champions league final in 2 weeks time could soften the blow somewhat.

I think the fact that every match he sees the engine that won Spain their first ever Euro Championship and World Cup championships playing him in will soften the blow somewhat.

Lets see how he does in 2014, will he score?

I think the fact that every match he sees the engine that won Spain their first ever Euro Championship and World Cup championships playing him in will soften the blow somewhat.

Lets see how he does in 2014, will he score?

You mean Xavi, right :pac:

The camera honed in on Messi just a few seconds ago, and you could tell that he is about to hand in a transfer request for being DUMPED out of the side. It is obvious that Pep wants to undermine Messis attempts for another Pichici so the attention is not moved away from his management of the side.

Messi hates Pep. You read it here first.

Puyol, Piqué, Villa, Iniesta and Busquets are all in the stands.

I suppose it makes sense with the Champions league final on the horizon.

I would have preferred to see Xavi join them in the stands rather than sit on the bench.

gimmick wrote: »
    The camera honed in on Messi just a few seconds ago, and you could tell that he is about to hand in a transfer request for being DUMPED out of the side. It is obvious that Pep wants to undermine Messis attempts for another Pichici so the attention is not moved away from his management of the side.

Messi hates Pep. You read it here first.

I think Pep must hate Messi to be depriving him of glory.

I fully expect to see Messi in the baby blue of man City next season, this relationship is untenable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

ronaldo-boot_1124784c.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Cant stop wont stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Lovely free kick, great goal

I think something happened, somebody wanted to distort C.Ronaldo breaking the league goal-scoring record.

Seriously, take a look at Thiago - he really could give Pep second thoughts about signing Cesc. I would stake the gaf on Thiago being in that midfield fulltime within 1/2 seasons. The passes he can pick out are what you usually tend to see from Xavi.

I wonder will C.Ronaldo get a hat-trick?

@redout: BTW, since when did Messi get top-scorer in all competitions this season yet ;)

Killme00 wrote: »
    Lovely free kick, great goal

I wonder if the free-kick was on OG from the goalie :rolleyes:

@redout: BTW, since when did Messi get top-scorer in all competitions this season yet ;)

I stated that he broke the all-time Spanish goal scoring record for a season held by Puskas for the past 51 years - that is correct is it not ?

Oh yes, he broke that record. It was broken in the same season though :D

Was it not 47 years? '62 - '09

Anyway, the record is Ronaldo's for the taking. Another one tonight and 3+ against Almería, I reckon. The greatest attacking player ever to play in Spain.

C'mon C.Ronaldo, get another one!

Bring on Ozil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

I think Barca are taking a very risky gamble playing Valdes. He's one player they can't afford to lose for the CL final.

(Also this "reserve" side are very nice to watch.)

Oh yes, he broke that record. It was broken in the same season though :D
    tolosenc wrote: »
    Was it not 47 years? '62 - '09

Anyway, the record is Ronaldo's for the taking. Another one tonight and 3+ against Almería, I reckon. The greatest attacking player ever to play in Spain.

What do you mean ? Once a record is broken it no longer exists in its previous form thus Messi holds the only record which is currently 52. Messi equalled the record when he scored agasinst Real Madrid on 16th April and then broke it on 23rd April when he scored agasinst Osasuna. Ronaldo can still break the record but it will be Messi's record he breaks.

No it was held by Puskas for 51 yrs and lolz at the greatest attacker ever in Spain - He is a long way off Puskas.

G'wan the bottle chucker :pac:

Here comes Ozil:

151 chances created this season: 24 assists in total, the most of all Spanish teams.

No it was held by Puskas for 51 yrs

Sorry, yeah, you're right. I was looking at the wrong stats.

Puskas scored 49 in 1960, Messi is on 52 this year with Ronaldo on 51.

Enough with the subs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Cannot wait to see Messi lifting La Liga in a few minutes, nailed on for a 3rd Balon D'or too.

Greatest player of all time....