Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Exam Cheats

• 14-05-2011 10:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭dienbienphu

I just got out of an exam there now and didnt do too well. Could of done a bit more study but what the hell. Anyway, there is this guy in my class who I think is in the students union or something and never goes to class. I know he does law from last semester. Anyway halfway through the exam the guy gets up and goes to the toilet, I know this cause I am looking around thinking of what to right, which is nothing. Anyway, it came to me that going to the toilet and taking a glance at some notes now would help jog my memory. And then I thought, hey thats probably wht that guy is doing. I mean, who really has time to leave an exam to go to the toilet when the exam is only an hour and half long? Well would it be safe to assume that people who go to the toilet during exams are likely cheating or is it just this guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

you should worry about yourself and f*ck anyone else - dont be a bitter man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

If you're not cheating,You're not trying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I just got out of an exam there now and didnt do too well. Could of done a bit more study but what the hell. Anyway, there is this guy in my class who I think is in the students union or something and never goes to class. I know he does law from last semester. Anyway halfway through the exam the guy gets up and goes to the toilet, I know this cause I am looking around thinking of what to right, which is nothing. Anyway, it came to me that going to the toilet and taking a glance at some notes now would help jog my memory. And then I thought, hey thats probably wht that guy is doing. I mean, who really has time to leave an exam to go to the toilet when the exam is only an hour and half long? Well would it be safe to assume that people who go to the toilet during exams are likely cheating or is it just this guy?

I would question how effective glancing at notes in the john would be following months of possible learning. Chances are if he does not know his **** by now, he won't get a good score. More importantly, did you drink a coffee before the exam OP? If so, you are a cheating man because some people didn't drink coffee today. Mind yourself. Forget what other people are doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

He was just rubbing one out to relieve the stress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

When doing the Junior Cert a classmate of mine had cheat notes written on his palms. Everything was going grand til he put up his hand for another answerbook!

They let him continue anyway, maybe because we were only after starting the exam or maybe because they came to the conclusion that the Junior Cert doesn't matter a **** anyway.

dave1982 wrote: »
    If you're not cheating,You're not trying

Someone is going to become a CEO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭dienbienphu

well if i dont see him at the repeats im going to assume he cheated and therefore justify my cheating even though i regard myself an honest man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

I used to have a metal ruler and write down notes in pencil so you gotta look close to see them, saved me the bother of going out to the jacks.

well if i dont see him at the repeats im going to assume he cheated and therefore justify my cheating even though i regard myself an honest man

In the words of Al Bundy: “It’s only cheating if you get caught”.

Worked for Fianna Fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

When I supervised the Junior Cert a couple of years ago, I had to go to the toilets nearest the exam hall and search them for notes at the start of every exam. The amount of feckin books I found was unreal! I just left them there, who gives a toss about the Junior Cert like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,929 ✭✭✭dubmick

I know this cause I am looking around thinking of what to right

I hope it wasn't an English exam :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

The guy is doing law and they dont escort you to and from the bathrooms/check the toilets for notes?? I wish I went to your college!!!

phasers wrote: »
    When I supervised the Junior Cert a couple of years ago, I had to go to the toilets nearest the exam hall and search them for notes at the start of every exam. The amount of feckin books I found was unreal! I just left them there, who gives a toss about the Junior Cert like.

do u get searched before u go to the toilet?

i guy told me he used an elastic band during his leaving cert to wright notes on. he stretched the band first and wrote notes on it, and when the band shrunk, the notes disappeared :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭cullen5998

Girl in my class was cheating in one of our exams friday in LIT.
    Final 4th year exams, she had a piece of paper up her sleve which she looked at and then put in her sock when she was done.
    I dont really care but it kind of sickens me that she could do as well as I could by cheating and then could get a job over me.
    I didnt see it because she was sitting behind me but one of my friends did.

I know this cause I am looking around thinking of what to right
    dubmick wrote: »

Maybe it was a superhero exam

dubmick wrote: »

ive just realised of been spelling that word wrong my entire life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Perhaps the guy in question doesn't need to attand classes to learn something ,and just needed a pee.

ps. the ruler trick is an oldie but a goldie.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Well would it be safe to assume that people who go to the toilet during exams are likely cheating or is it just this guy?

I've gone to the toilet during exams which I think is due to nerves/stress. I did think though that you could write loads of notes on your legs and no-one would know! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Don't cheat YOU FOOLS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Great Stuff. Yet another person in the emplyment of the state who cant be bothered to do their job properly. No wonder the country is so fucked. :mad::mad:

bijapos wrote: »
    Great Stuff. Yet another person in the emplyment of the state who cant be bothered to do their job properly. No wonder the country is so fucked. :mad::mad:

There's a direct correlation between the Junior Cert and the economic crisis alright, possibly 9/11 as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 410 ✭✭JohnathanM

I wouldn't worry about it, OP. A quick glance at a few notes might help put you over the top but is hardly likely to make a difference of more than a few percent. You either know your stuff, or you don't. Better to be one of the people who really knows it, as whilst those other kinds of people don't magically vanish when you start your career they do become obvious. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

There's a direct correlation between the Junior Cert and the economic crisis alright, possibly 9/11 as well

Don't try to twist what I wrote. Theres an even directer correlation between the economic crisis and people in the employment of the state who didn't do their job because they thought "Yeah fuck it, it doesn't matter".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

bijapos wrote: »
    Don't try to twist what I wrote. Theres an even directer correlation between the economic crisis and people in the employment of the state who didn't do their job because they thought "Yeah fuck it, it doesn't matter".
    .....He left BOOKS in a jacks!

I'll say that again, he left books in a jacks!!!!

That's hardly even close to someone not doing their job in higher management in the civil/public service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I pioneered modern cheating in 1996, printing out cheat notes in font size 3 and sticking them to the back of Tip-Ex bottles. Genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Rocksteadykk

And you're still spelling it wrong. Its write! :D I remember in the leaving cert maths exam laminating all of the proofs/formulas and sticking them under the cistern!

In college I used to write out some of the case names on notes and stick them in my shoe. It's amazing how hard it is to remember legal cases when it's R v M etc. 5 mins in the toilet and it all comes back!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

In UCC the rules are toilets in exam centres are searched by invigilators during Reading Time. If someone goes to the loo, invigilator waits outside the cubicle (for women/ men who want a crap)-if they take too long,questions will be asked. If a guy is just going for a wizz he'll use a urinal - with an invigilator standing a few feet behind. The time the student left/returned is noted on the script - the lecturer correcting the script will pay particular attention to see if there is an obvious improvement after a student has been to the loo.
    Short of strip searching students and squeezing into cubicle with them there is not much more that can be done.
    There are always a few who try and cheat - vast majority of them are caught. Most invigilators are post-grads who were recently students themselves so have heard all the tricks.
    Law students are particularly watched - its the whole R vs M thing....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Rocksteadykk

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    In UCC the rules are toilets in exam centres are searched by invigilators during Reading Time. If someone goes to the loo, invigilator waits outside the cubicle (for women/ men who want a crap)-if they take too long,questions will be asked. If a guy is just going for a wizz he'll use a urinal - with an invigilator standing a few feet behind. The time the student left/returned is noted on the script - the lecturer correcting the script will pay particular attention to see if there is an obvious improvement after a student has been to the loo.
    Short of strip searching students and squeezing into cubicle with them there is not much more that can be done.
    There are always a few who try and cheat - vast majority of them are caught. Most invigilators are post-grads who were recently students themselves so have heard all the tricks.

What??? I've finished college two years and they've started doing this? That is ridiculous!! But where there's a will there's a way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

My Chinese friend literally pulled a piece of paper out in front of him and started copying hoping he wouldn't get caught. (what?? :confused:)

I wasn't there in the exam but he then he rang me that he had been caught and the piece of paper was pulled from him from an angry old lady. He was allowed to finish his exam but then told to see the head of department.

He doesn't know whether or not he will kicked out or not and has to see a panel of people on monday, and the thing is he wants me to come with him incase he can't understand what they're saying to him.

He told me though though that if he does get kicked out that he will just happily do another Msc (this one's in Queens Belfast) at Loughborough and pay another £10,000, seems ok with that like yeah whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Maybe the lad has only one kidney and needs to use the bathroom more then most?
    As for you it seems you wastesd a place on a college course that a real hard working student could have put to much better use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

The two biggest dossers in my class had bladders the size of peanuts during finals.

pow wow wrote: »
    The two biggest dossers in my class had bladders the size of peanuts during finals.

Thats cheateritus, its a serious medical condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

What UCC you going to? Cause I know its not the Cork one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

maglite wrote: »
    What UCC you going to? Cause I know its not the Cork one

I believe they're quoting from the written rules, as opposed to what actually happens :D. We had the same in Queen's but in reality they left the exam room with you and stood in the hall while you did whatever you did, with about 3 sets of doors/corridors separating you. So yeah, they were reallllly strict :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Gnobe wrote: »
    My Chinese friend literally pulled a piece of paper out in front of him and started copying hoping he wouldn't get caught. (what?? :confused:)

I wasn't there in the exam but he then he rang me that he had been caught and the piece of paper was pulled from him from an angry old lady. He was allowed to finish his exam but then told to see the head of department.

He doesn't know whether or not he will kicked out or not and has to see a panel of people on monday, and the thing is he wants me to come with him incase he can't understand what they're saying to him.

He told me though though that if he does get kicked out that he will just happily do another Msc (this one's in Queens Belfast) at Loughborough and pay another £10,000, seems ok with that like yeah whatever.

He or she's an idiot... should have got whoever was sitting in front of them to wear a tee shirt that had all the cheat notes written in Chinese on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Rimjobbers versus Markers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

I blame the people on the dole.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

i dunno, theres something about cheating i just dont like. its easy to do but theres no satisfaction in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Have gone to the toilet during the exam a just had to pee - then i realized i could bring notes without getting caught so i brought notes in the next day

so to answer your question

some people go to pee and others go to cheat -

You need balls to get ahead in life - You shouldnt be bitter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

Larianne wrote: »
    I've gone to the toilet during exams which I think is due to nerves/stress. I did think though that you could write loads of notes on your legs and no-one would know! :pac:

Wrote every equation for physics on my legs for the leaving cert. Worked a charm. Only save for the fact your trousers fall down in the middle of the exam you are not going to get caught. Say i got about 10% extra out of that.

So people do do it! ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

HOW COME NO ONE POSTED THIS ALREADY?! :pac:

The best cheating scene ever. Good ol' Chevy Chase & Dan Aykroyd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭Rothmans

In ucd you have to turn out your pockets before using the toilet, sign in and sign out. There's a new rule this year that if you are more than 3 minutes on the shiter, you must go see the nurse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

When I was doing my junior cert we where sitting in the same hall as the leaving cert fellas, there was one 6th year I was sitting near who had problems with writing so he got to do his exams on his laptop, I could see him playing solitare and opening and closing loads of different documents, and not a word said to him.

Another guy in my own year had problems with reading so he did his in a seperate room with an examiner/reader, the bloke gave him half the answers and went for a coffee for 45mins of the exam

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

is it true that if you cheat in a state exam you can't get a job in the civil service ?
    that means examiners must be capable of enforcing life changing decisions

The reason this country owes billions is that a few people cheated, because they thought they could get away with it

cheating is a zero sum game at best, you can only win at the expense of others

simple bring CCTV into state exams

Why would Chinese people want to watch us doing exams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

....cheating is a zero sum game at best, you can only win at the expense of others.....

So :pac: ?
    lol. But to be serious theres nothing wrong with cheating.
    You should always study for something of course and to not rely on cheating ... but hey, if you can cheat and get away with it. Do it.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    So :pac: ?
    lol. But to be serious theres nothing wrong with cheating.
    You should always study for something of course and to not rely on cheating ... but hey, if you can cheat and get away with it. Do it.

There's everything wrong with cheating.

It's pretty sh*t that there's doctors who cheated on their exams out there treating people. To be honest, I think people shouldn't be allowed to go to the bathroom in exams at all. If you're a healthy 20-30 something and can't hold it for 3 hours, you don't deserve a degree. You should be in nappies.

There's everything wrong with cheating.

It's pretty sh*t that there's doctors who cheated on their exams out there treating people. To be honest, I think people shouldn't be allowed to go to the bathroom in exams at all. If you're a healthy 20-30 something and can't hold it for 3 hours, you don't deserve a degree. You should be in nappies.

Hey!!!!!!!!! I went for a toilet break in one of my exams last week. Doesn't mean I don't deserve a degree. :cool: Stress/nerves can play havoc with your nervous system. Also, its a nice break from writing/getting some fresher air..