Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you talk to yourself?

• 13-05-2011 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭

I do. I also talk to my dog and my watch for some reason. My dog is actually an excellent and witty raconteur...as is my fern.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

What do you say to your watch?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

no i dont

yes you do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Larianne wrote: »

what time is it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Never.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

stevejr wrote: »
    I do. I also talk to my dog and my watch for some reason. My dog is actually an excellent and witty raconteur...as is my fern.

Do you answer yourself back ? If you do you are in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

zuroph wrote: »
    Never.

Nonsense! GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Always, tell myself little jokes too. I crack myself up. :D

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Fart Sandwich

One time i was walking past a block of flats and some girl on the balcony said to another, "Oh, look. There's that weirdo who talks to himself."

So, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't talk out loud to myself but I do inside my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

One time i was walking past a block of flats and some girl on the balcony said to another, "Oh, look. There's that weirdo who talks to himself."

So, yes.

the award for funniest username goes to you Sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Larianne wrote: »

Watch this....

Quite a pun! I then do something spectacular.....like an 80's action hero.

My watch, however remains impassive...in fact I hate my watch.

Not out loud... Would this be talking to myself if i say it in my head?
    "what the fuk am i doing?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

Do you mean out loud or in your head?
    out loud - hardly ever
    in my head - i never shut the fvck up (always going on about how wounderful I am)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

I talk to myself in my head as I walk along.
    Then I tell myself to shut up because I'm talking to myself.
    Then I don't listen to myself.

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

I do talk to myself a little, however, in my head I talk to myself a lot. I also have full conversations with other people in my head. Probably not entirely normal, but there you go:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Have a chat with the dog and translate what he is saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

In my head, constantly. I'd avoid talking to myself aloud because what if someone hears me? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Only when anxious and only then when attired in my late mothers frock and girdle.

I make sure all B&B guests are well tucked up in bed though, I'm a professional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 k.stewart

"I talk to myself in my head."
    baahaa :P

I think that's just called.. "thinking." :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,266 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

If my phone/wallet is misplaced, I might say: "Where the fùck is my pho...ah, there it is!"

That's normal, yeah?

Only when anxious and only then when attired in my late mothers frock and girdle.

I make sure all B&B guests are well tucked up in bed though, I'm a professional.

Yeah I remember you,...tall skinny guy....kept mumbling about howmuch you hated your cock or hitchcock or something...

thought you were gay and your B&B smelled funny and i left without my girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Yes I do usually the scenario entails mise having a pow wow with an enemy.

Of course the question should be, do you write posts in your head? now that would mean you're a complete wierdo and should go to a shrienk immediately.:P

.same. wrote: »
    Of course the question should be, do you write posts in your head? now that would mean you're a complete wierdo and should go to a shrienk immediately.:P

What if you wrote them on your head....shudder..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Yes i talk to myself the whole time. Its a nice change not be interrupted

What if you wrote them on your head....shudder..
    I wouldn't worry about that, its a sign all is well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Constantly. I chat away to myself all the time and sometimes have to watch myself that I'm not doing it in public and I worry sometimes that I don't even notice myself doing it. It usually involves me giving out to myself or making myself laugh with old stories of things that happened or replaying arguements with exes out loud or confronting people who've peed me off.

I reckon it could be genetic....my dad chats away to himself sometimes and I remember after he'd have a conversation with someone, he'd come back repeating parts of it out loud to himself laughing. I suppose I grew up thinking it was normal?

Everyone agree it's the first sign of madness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I find myself saying: 'Ah ya fuckin eejit...' a lot.

Johro wrote: »
    I find myself saying: 'Ah ya fuckin eejit...' a lot.

me too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

whats occuring

Talking outside the box I see:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I often have full blown conversations with myself... And then tell myself to stop talking to myself.

deathrider wrote: »
    I often have full blown conversations with myself... And then tell myself to stop talking to myself.

Shuddup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Shuddup!

Yes, me. Sorry, me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 metalmessiah88

now that i think of it , i talk to mself way to much haha :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Routinely. I find it keeps me sane.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

I talk to myself a lot, i'm the soundest skin i've ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i talk to my dog he's more attentive the most humans i know

When there's no one else around we all talk to our selves. I do it a lot but then again I do spend a lot of my time writing and as such any dialogue I write I'll speak out loud to see how it sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Yes, of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Trepzi

In my head? All the time

Out loud? Too much - I tell myself to stop and then argue with myself for telling myself to stop. I talk to myself when I'm on the phone to other people. I'm surprised that I haven't been committed :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

I talk to our goldfish,to the birds on the bird feeder in the garden,to the radio and to the tv when I'm in the house by myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

I have some of the best conversations with my dog, i like the fact he doesnt interrupt me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭oompaloompa

I have conversations with myself all the time... sometimes in my head, sometimes out loud :o

I regularly remember that I've forgotten to do something while out and about, and mutter under my breath about it :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭skylight1987

when walking to work i compose an e mail to ray darcy in my head discussing whatever is on my mind and i imagine its been read out on air. its great for passing the time and i feel i am getting it all out in the open even though i'm not.i always talk to the dog when i am at home and talk to the car if she is low on petrol i will say "com'on girl you can get me home "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,045 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I talk to the t.v. and shout abuse at politicians on it. I'm a bit like Victor Meldrew i suppose. I also talk to the radio and the toaster sometimes telling it to hurry up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Not deliberately, but I have found myself going over scenarios in my head (usually if I feel that a meeting went badly or I said the wrong thing) and muttering out loud in Tesco. Quite scary really. I know if I had heard someone doing this when I was a child, my friends and I would have followed them around the shop laughing. I'm not even old yet. Oh dear, what will I be like when I am old? There is no hope, I will be a mutterer...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

all the time im quite the weird person :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Yeah especially when I'm mad at someone and I have to confront them. I tend to talk it out in the mirror without realizing :D:o