Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed Gun Catching Cars in a Row

• 13-05-2011 2:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭

Question

I was driving a tad over the speed limit ( i know notty me)
    The car in front was going much the same speed neither of us spotted 2 guards with a speed gun behind a hedge.
    In any event Car in front was pulled in, i start tipping the brakes slowing down gradually as he beckoned the leading car in. As i approached he looked up and saw me and then asked me to pull in.

If he is using a gun on a mount can these actually nail 2 cars at once. He said " When I caught you you were going 75 but i think you were going faster then you saw me and you braked"

To me it looked like he was using the speed of the car in front as a bench mark for my speed. He was only looking at the other guy but then saw me and called me in. Can these tripods catch cars in convoy IE: 2 or 3 cars at a time?
    Should one ask for a print out of proof in this sort of scenario? Can he really convict the car behind on his visual judgement of speed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Laser guns can read speed from a long way off, so yes, he could read a few cars and then pull them in. I'm afraid you're dreaming if you think he never saw you until you were on top of him.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

laser guns iirc can get speeds up too a mile away...

if there where two gardas all he has to do is take first car speed, other garda looks at camera and verifies it as a witness, then takes second car second gard verifies it and so forth....

while they wont be able to show u the camera with your car on it when it goes to court the garda who was using the gun can call the second garda to testify that he can verify the speed the gun caught your car at...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

If he has a regular speed gun he shows the speed to the first driver and what does he have to show you.

He cannot show you the first guys speed because its his.

Bollocks to that I'd say!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Berty wrote: »
    If he has a regular speed gun he shows the speed to the first driver and what does he have to show you.

Tripods are different though, they actually capture images as far as I know and so can catch a few cars in a row easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Berty wrote: »

IIRC, A garda just has to form the opinion that you were speeding to prosecute, they don't have to provide evidence....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭ronan45

It was on a tripod and he appeared to be hazarding a guess as to my speed. If we are in line i just cant see how his radar can measure my cars speed what is he bouncing the signal off? It cant go through the other car. Straight road, cars not far from one another. He is along tree line he can see the side of my car at best.. signal hits car side and reflected away i would have thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

ronan45 wrote: »
    It was on a tripod and he appeared to be hazarding a guess as to my speed. If we are in line i just cant see how his radar can measure my cars speed what is he bouncing the signal off? It cant go through the other car.
    I'm going to hazard a guess that you weren't all coming straight towards the gun. Laser has a very small beam, so checking a row of cars is quite easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

" When I caught you you were going 75 but i think you were going faster then you saw me and you braked"

Can he really convict the car behind on his visual judgement of speed?

From what you have said, the Garda clocked you doing 75 but was of the opinion you were going faster prior to being clocked at 75 - which from your post seems to be a reasonable assumption.

Nevertheless, he clocked you at 75. The Garda does not have to show you the speed you were doing on the gun, most do show it to the driver but it is not a legal requirement.

Unless you were travelling right on the back bumper of the car in front (in which case speeding would be the least of your worries) then I see no reason why the gun could not clock your speed. Sounds unlucky but these things happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Without starting an argument, but why do they not have to show you the speed? Does this not mean that a guard holding the gun could say you were doing 20km over the limit without ever clocking you to fill their monthly tally make the roads safer? I know all cops are above board etc but imagine if there was a dodgy one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭shaunandelly

Vikings wrote: »
    From what you have said, the Garda clocked you doing 75 but was of the opinion you were going faster prior to being clocked at 75 - which from your post seems to be a reasonable assumption.

Nevertheless, he clocked you at 75. The Garda does not have to show you the speed you were doing on the gun, most do show it to the driver but it is not a legal requirement.

Unless you were travelling right on the back bumper of the car in front (in which case speeding would be the least of your worries) then I see no reason why the gun could not clock your speed. Sounds unlucky but these things happen!

Nice to know that the legal process is open and transparent. Does skippy preside at this roadside court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,350 ✭✭✭alias no.9

To me it looked like he was using the speed of the car in front as a bench mark for my speed. He was only looking at the other guy but then saw me and called me in. Can these tripods catch cars in convoy IE: 2 or 3 cars at a time?
    Should one ask for a print out of proof in this sort of scenario? Can he really convict the car behind on his visual judgement of speed?

If you challenge the summons in court, you could chose to represent yourself and get the Garda onto the witness box and challenge him under oath. Do you think he'd **** himself at the thought of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Was at a car show recently and gardai let me use the laser gun speed detector, it would be possible to catch the speed on two cars if the gun was focussed on any spot on either car at two different intervals ! the gun puts a tiny dot on the car similar to a laser used in a power point presentation :)