Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Micheal Moore, fat clown or champion of truth?

• 13-05-2011 1:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭

I noticed somebody posted a link to a Micheal Moore video recently.

Personnally, I can't stand him. I watched Bowling for Columbine when it was out and found him most annoying.

I think he a big fat mess who needs to shave and get some exercise.

Charlton Heston would have been well within his rights to kick his fat ass out the door for setting him up like he did.

Also that free gun when you open a bank account thing was staged.

Anyway, what do you think of him and his documentories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

I would say he is one smelly fecker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

He is a left wing loon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

Yup, America is a capitalist paradise. Forget everything that Michael Moore says. Nothing to see move along. Forget that many parts of America look like a third world country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Greatest American alive today.

I have him on twitter, love hearing from.

He may come across as hypocrite and an anti-american to some but asks some very important questions many americans refuse to ask. He highlights it brilliantly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I'd trust the man far more than any of the most moderate right wingers to come out of that country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

I like him, dumbs down a lot of his arguements but makes some valid points. His healthcare one is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Dogdaysareover

I like him! I'm not naive enough to believe everything he writes or says, but he's good entertainment....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

lastlaugh wrote: »
    Charlton Heston would have been well within his rights to kick his fat ass out the door for setting him up like he did.

Also that free gun when you open a bank account thing was staged.

Charlton Heston was the head of the NRA, the association that was promoting gun culture at rallys nearby right after columbine, and many other shootings across the country. Can't he answer tough questions? Moore was well in his rights to ask him, since nobody else does probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Craebear

Fox news told me not to trust him, so feck him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

You sound like you're more annoyed at the way he looks, than anything he has to say, tbh.

Anyway, I've always found his stuff very interesting. He's certainly passionate about what he believes in.

Didn't he manage to get Wal-Mart to stop selling guns? Great result, if true.

Personally, I'd rather watch a thousand Moore documentaries than a single Morgan Spurlock one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

I'd go with fat clown. Him and Al Gore are both morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I noticed somebody posted a link to a Micheal Moore video recently.

That would be me (:)) but just to show that a bank was giving away free guns with accounts. Actually, they were giving them away by post and he duped them into make it look like they were given them away within the bank. I have no time for him, he's a far left, feminist sympathizing, own sex disparaging clown as far as I'm concerned. His CNN interview regarding Bin Laden was a disgrace, he should be ashamed of himself.

Here's a decent docu on the guy also:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,690 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I like him, dumbs down a lot of his arguements but makes some valid points. His healthcare one is good.

He's a bit of both. Simplifies stuff too much for me, and like most doc makers, selectibely use clips to suit their argument.

As for the one about the medicine, I found myself shouting at him when he kept saying that the UK had a 'totally free health system in the NHS'. As a tax-payer in NI, I can tell you its far from free. I pay hefty National Insurance contributions to fund it. And it is also a crumbling system that is not fit for purpose.

But why let the truth get in the way of a good story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I've never liked the fact how he exaggarates to get some of his points across, especially with some clever editing. Stretch the truth to the tell the truth? No different from what a lot of documentary makers do but it's something I've never liked from anyone, practically voids a point to me.

I enjoyed alot of his early documentaries though, especially Roger & Me.

Clint Eastwood wanted to punch him after what he did to his friend, Charlton Heston. :pac:

mgmt wrote: »
    I'd go with fat clown. Him and Al Gore are both morons.

Can you expand on that less than convincing argument, please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Oh my, the George Galloway of America.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

NIMAN wrote: »
    He's a bit of both. Simplifies stuff too much for me, and like most doc makers, selectibely use clips to suit their argument.

As for the one about the medicine, I found myself shouting at him when he kept saying that the UK had a 'totally free health system in the NHS'. As a tax-payer in NI, I can tell you its far from free. I pay hefty National Insurance contributions to fund it. And it is also a crumbling system that is not fit for purpose.

But why let the truth get in the way of a good story?

I know, he does simplify too much. In the case of the NHS I was having the same thoughts, its not all perfect, I am sure Canada isnt either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Oh my, the George Galloway of America.

Says the Ian Paisely of boards.ie?

old hippy wrote: »
    Says the Ian Paisely of boards.ie?
    Nope. Don't believe in god.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

very interesting dude

Can you expand on that less than convincing argument, please?

Well he is grossly overweight. And both Moore and Gore argue their points through lies and propaganda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

He's not perfect but at least he is a voice that is still opposing spun versions of events by state heads and bodies.
    As long as there is someone like him to question and someone to stand up for those that need help, who am I to say the man is totally wrong and say he should stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Personnally, I can't stand him. I watched Bowling for Columbine when it was out and found him most annoying.

I think he a big fat mess who needs to shave and get some exercise.

Interesting, you ask what do we think about his documentaries and you just go on about his appearance and speaking manner. What did you think of the content of his documentaries or was he too annoying and fat to understand?

As annoying or overweight as you think he may be, have a look at this speech he gave in Wisconsin, amazing speaker!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgNuSEZ8CDw

Well he is grossly overweight. And both Moore and Gore argue their points through lies and propaganda.

What has a person's weight got to do with anything?

These lies and propaganda; would that be according to Republicans, Tea Party types and PNAC folk?

Of course Michael Moore simplifies things, most Americans lack the proper education to understand information unless you dumb it down to the lowest common denomitator.

What on earth has his weight got to do with his abilities as a film-maker?

What lies have he and Gore told exactly?

These lies and propaganda; would that be according to Republicans, Tea Party types and PNAC folk?
    ...And Fox news to boot!
    If someone like Moore is willing to at least question their schite, I say fair play.
    ...At least one more is doing it.

Stop playing political football. I said something about your star striker, now I must be a republican/tea party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Gnobe wrote: »
    Greatest American alive today.

I have him on twitter, love hearing from.

He may come across as hypocrite and an anti-american to some but asks some very important questions many americans refuse to ask. He highlights it brilliantly.

Well I suppose American leaders lie enough so what's the harm if a filmaker does it so he can make more money?
    Charlton Heston was the head of the NRA, the association that was promoting gun culture at rallys nearby right after columbine, and many other shootings across the country. Can't he answer tough questions? Moore was well in his rights to ask him, since nobody else does probably.

Damn right. It's time we started getting tough on the sick and infirm.

whiteonion wrote: »
    Of course Michael Moore simplifies things, most Americans lack the proper education to understand information unless you dumb it down to the lowest common denomitator.

Sweeping generalisations are a product of dumbing down, in my book.

Biggins wrote: »
    He's not perfect but at least he is a voice that is still opposing spun versions of events by state heads and bodies.
    As long as there is someone like him to question and someone to stand up for those that need help, who am I to say the man is totally wrong and say he should stop?
    Just because he might ask questions, doesn't mean much or that he knows much.

Well I suppose American leaders lie enough so what's the harm if a filmaker does it so he can make more money?

Heston didn't seem so sick and infirm during those gun rallies.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

He is prone to hyperbole and a bit of exaggeration, but it's for a good cause, so he get's my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

Hestons alzheimers was becoming noticable around the time. I agree with alot of what MM has to say, but that interview was low. Do I agree with the NRA coming in after Columbine and other gun related tragedies and doing pro-gun rallies? No, but two wrongs do not make a right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

No these would be the lies in his documentaries. Juts because you're blinded by politics doesn't mean everyone else is. You shouldn't project your own flaws onto others.

True - however in some subjects he, himself is very well versed in topics - as we all are in our own areas.
    ...And at least he and similar are willing to prise under covers and get alternative answers too.

Its that or be left in the darkness of a one-side spin.
    At least with another view - regardless of who throws it out there - allows the ability of further independent assessment and thought.
    Not just be treated as a mindless drone and made swallow just one version/spin of events.

http://www.livescience.com/3211-14-percent-adults-read.html

"Statistics released by the U.S. Education Department this week show that some 32 million U.S. adults lack basic prose literacy skill. That means they can't read a newspaper or the instruction on a bottle of pills. "
    What I say holds true.

Does this sound like a population who are educated and clued up about things in general?

No these would be the lies in his documentaries. Juts because you're blinded by politics doesn't mean everyone else is. You shouldn't project your own flaws onto others.

What lies did he tell exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

...And Fox news to boot!

Just as much truth on Fox, as there is on Sky, NBC and the rest of the liberal left leaning media moguls.
    If someone like Moore is willing to at least question their schite, I say fair play.
    ...At least one more is doing it.

He isn't just 'questioning' it though, if that was all, I would agree with you, but he puts massive spin on almost everything he presents to the public.

That's exactly what I said to that Simon Wiesenthal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Interesting, you ask what do we think about his documentaries and you just go on about his appearance and speaking manner. What did you think of the content of his documentaries or was he too annoying and fat to understand?

As annoying or overweight as you think he may be, have a look at this speech he gave in Wisconsin, amazing speaker!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgNuSEZ8CDw

My personal insults towards him are a result of my revulsion at his sickening methods, I mean look at him shuffling around the place waving the picture of the little girl after ambushing Heston http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1iuEcu7O50

He might have some valid points somewhere but the good is taken out of it by his 'editing'.

"Statistics released by the U.S. Education Department this week show that some 32 million U.S. adults lack basic prose literacy skill. That means they can't read a newspaper or the instruction on a bottle of pills. "
    What I say holds true.

Does this sound like a population who are educated and clued up about things in general?
    I find that hard to believe to be honest. People see "science" and think of "fact".

It was released by their own department for education. Why would they want to exaggerate this figures? Anyways back to the main topic. Michael Moore says that right wingers don't want to hear so instead they stoop to character assasination and calls him a fat pig. Shooting the messenger is very popular activity amongst these "people".

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Just as much truth on Fox, as there is on Sky, NBC and the rest of the liberal left leaning media moguls.

No - totally wrong.
    Fox news is so bad, for example: its banned from televising in Canada as its news actually breaks the laws there.
    See:
    * http://readersupportednews.org/opinion2/276-74/5123-fox-news-lies-keep-them-out-of-canada
    * http://www.huffingtonpost.com/robert-f-kennedy-jr/fox-news-will-not-be-moving-into-canada-after-all_b_829473.html
    * http://www.politicalforum.com/current-events/174824-fox-news-banned-canada.html
    * http://www.politicsplus.org/blog/?p=4240

Other news networks do put their own spin on things but Fox news has been recognised as producing MANY outright blatant complete lies.

He isn't just 'questioning' it though, if that was all, I would agree with you, but he puts massive spin on almost everything he presents to the public.
    He does put his own spin on some items but while he does so, he ALSO produces independent evidence and allows the viewer/listener to decide with an alternative choice or come to a conclusion that the truth might lie somewhere in between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

He uses all the dark sides of journalism to get his point across, I wouldn't agree with his methods but they are the American way he's pulling on the heart strings just like all journalists in America do, I guess it's what works in the US.

I don't see what he looks like has anything to do with it.

You assume a lot, don't you? Please stop spreading your insidious lies and propaganda about me.

What documentary lies would these be, exactly?

I find Moore irritating to say the least at times but at least he willing to uncover lies which some would rather stay hidden and allow the masses to be abused otherwise.
    As the saying goes, sometimes 'a necessary evil!'

What I say holds true.

There's over 200 million in the States. 32 million people isn't most Americans.

Do the math, O educated one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭thebostoncrab

You assume a lot, don't you? Please stop spreading your insidious lies and propaganda about me.

What lies would these be, exactly?
    Name a film, he has plenty of examples of spinning in most of them (Columbine being the worst).

And I'll again say this, I agree with alt of what Moore says, however I hate how he goes about it and how he spins alot of ****.