Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sun Strips

• 12-05-2011 4:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭

Right im pretty pissed off at this stage. Got pulled by the guards earlier who after a lomof arguing and debating, made me rip my sun strip off. She told me it was not legal and I had to remove itthere and then, making a sh1te of my window... I had been pulled before for a different reason and asked a guard was my sun strip legal and he said YES provided its above a certain height.

What EXACTLY is the law because i can seem to find it online and im pretty pissed off at the state of my window.

If it turns out it is legal, i WILL be sending an Guarda Siochana the invoice for a new strip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dax121

i think at one stage it was if ur wipers dont touch it then its fine. others say put down ur sun visor and if it goes past that its too long. as if u can drive fine with visor down and sun strip is same size u can drive with that aslo. ring the nct and ask them say uv a car going thru soon and whats the legal size for one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Its completely illegal under the Construction, equipment and use of vehicles regulations 1963 Article 34, Subsection 2 part B

They are classed as "inessential objects/stickers"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

cronin_j wrote: »
    Its completely illegal under the Construction, equipment and use of vehicles regulations 1963 Article 34, Subsection 2 part B

They are classed as "inessential objects/stickers"

Bloody hell you're good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

I thought once it was less than 30% of the windscreen? Although, your answer does sound alot more legal then mine so maybe I won't question you!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=54090000 Post #9 here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Signpost wrote: »
    I thought once it was less than 30% of the windscreen? Although, your answer does sound alot more legal then mine so maybe I won't question you!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=54090000 Post #9 here?

I read that and and If its true it doesnt matter. Thats all thats required to pass a test to satisfy that part of the law but they are outrightly illegal on the law i posted above. Incidently, one of the members who thanked the post also happens to be a Traffic Corps Garda, you choose which route you want to go OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭rightyabe

I was told by the gardai it cant be thicker than 4 inches for any motor, not taking into account some windscreens are bigger/higher....

Like my friend had a Combo van which has a high windscreen and he had a 7 or 8 inch sunstrip and never got into trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭diarmo111

this is ridicolus, I have a small one maybe 2.5 - 3 inches and would be annoyed if stopped soley on that. But maybe you were told to take it off there and then op is because you began arguining with them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Most Gardaí don't actually know the laws - This is why some may choose to do something about it while others will not. Cronin has quoted the appropriate law proving that it is in fact, illegal. You can choose to continue with the "X garda told me so and so" approach, but the fact is, the law says it's illegal so if you are stopped over it, you have no defense.

They also are, as the law says, inessential - and they look shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

and they look shíte.

Very much this.

Better off without it OP, get a soft plastic scraper and some tar remover to get rid of the residue :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Without trying to stir things, what sort of car was it and how big was it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭slade_x

Onkle wrote: »
    Very much this.

Better off without it OP, get a soft plastic scraper and some tar remover to get rid of the residue :)

I find it too usefull to get rid of, im not interested in aesthetics. it has a practical purpose for keeping the sun out of my line of vision for most of the day. They dont obscure my vision at all unless of course i was the type to be staring up at the sky while driving, exactly why do we need a clear view of the sky while operating a road vehicle? My last car had a small band at the top tinted from the manufacturer for the same effect and always passed a legitimate nct. The sun is a hazard, and i dont wear sunglasses, i prefer a vivid view while driving

slade_x wrote: »
    I find it too usefull to get rid of, im not interested in aesthetics. it has a practical purpose for keeping the sun out of my line of vision for most of the day. They dont obscure my vision at all unless of course i was the type to be staring up at the sky while driving, exactly why do we need a clear view of the sky while operating a road vehicle? My last car had a small band at the top tinted from the manufacturer for the same effect and always passed a legitimate nct. The sun is a hazard, and i dont wear sunglasses, i prefer a vivid view while driving

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sun_visor

ebay_020_(Small).jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭mick-skyline

Most Gardaí don't actually know the laws
    ya got that right.... im guessing your a garda???

if so i have a heap of questions for ya :D well not really, just a couple, maybe through pm if your comfortable with that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

ya got that right.... im guessing your a garda???

if so i have a heap of questions for ya :D well not really, just a couple, maybe through pm if your comfortable with that???

He's not

Thankfully, no, I'm not :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 hungryhippo89

Just failed the nct in my ford focus ,on the sun strip on the windscreen. I questioned all the queries i have seen on here but no luck.....It is official that you WILL FAIL THE NCT IF THE WIPERS GO INTO THE SUNSTRIP AREA....Bad times, now how do i get the sunstrip off before the retest???/////

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Dubchef

fend wrote: »
    Right im pretty pissed off at this stage. Got pulled by the guards earlier who after a lomof arguing and debating, made me rip my sun strip off. She told me it was not legal and I had to remove itthere and then, making a sh1te of my window... I had been pulled before for a different reason and asked a guard was my sun strip legal and he said YES provided its above a certain height.

What EXACTLY is the law because i can seem to find it online and im pretty pissed off at the state of my window.

If it turns out it is legal, i WILL be sending an Guarda Siochana the invoice for a new strip.
    The sun strips look stupid on cars anyway, why would ye even bother putting one on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Hungryhippo, please don't dig up old threads.