Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh dear, Mr Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

Be careful... he might hear you!

It looks like a Lada.

Dirt simple and cheap motoring. Probably run forever. Provided you get it to start in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Dartz wrote: »
    It looks like a Lada.

The GIANT Lada sign & flags behind the car give it away?!!!:D

What a terrible looking car.. would it have been that much extra to paint the bumpers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

10 seconds in

Mr Putin: We've really put effort into the bootsize in this model.

*opens boot*

Putin: *shrugs shoulders* I could not fit any bodies in diz .. diz is not an Octavia *closes boot*.

Four hours later, 10 Lada engineers went missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Derfil

Remember back in the '80's and my mate telling me his was was buying this really cool car from Russia. Starts at -25 C and runs on gas and petrol. Back then the only thing I knew about Russia was ballistic missiles, Mig jets and the space race with the States.

Thought this thing was going to be the bees knees. Couldn't imagine what it was going to look like but I was sure it was going to be cool.

Never forget the hilarity of my first viewing of it. Nearly had to run home with p*ss streaming down my leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

Doesn't that look like a revamped Fiat Tipo saloon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

That guy gives me the cold shivers.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Anan1 wrote: »
    That guy gives me the cold shivers.

It's just a culture clash thing, I'm sure Enda Kenny does the same to them.

Wait, Enda Kenny gives me the shivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

He would have been more chuffed with a Volga V12(BMW 850 engine)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Well I am not Russian but I can speak Russian very well. I watch Russian news all the time too.

This is not suppose to be a ground breaking car, it's cheap motoring for average Joe. By making this car he gets people in country working and affordable motoring.

It's really amazing how western Europe is afraid of Russia... Mind my words, you better be friends with Russia then Americans. It's a shame cold war fear and propoganda made it so hard for countries to understand each ather. Trust me, you in here were Fedd not less bull**** about cccp,then cccp was Fedd bull**** about western world.

It's a new government and a new country. Atleast if there would be someone like Putin in this country, maybe we wouldn't be in such ****...

Now I better put flame prove shield on I guess. As I will be destroyed as communist pig...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

In soviet Russia, toilet pee on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Not once did he look at the engine.........but he sure looked at the boot :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

It's really amazing how western Europe is afraid of Russia... Mind my words, you better be friends with Russia then Americans. It's a shame cold war fear and propoganda made it so hard for countries to understand each ather. Trust me, you in here were Fedd not less bull**** about cccp,then cccp was Fedd bull**** about western world.

It's a new government and a new country. Atleast if there would be someone like Putin in this country, maybe we wouldn't be in such ****...

Now I better put flame prove shield on I guess. As I will be destroyed as communist pig...
    I have no problem whatsoever with Russia or the Russians, it's Putin I have a problem with. Anyway, we'd better drop it as it's well OT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Desperate looking car. It sounds like my old Alfa 156 trying to start on a cold morning :p

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Putin is a bit of legend in my opinion, nothing like having your president flying combat missions over hostile airspace. Slightly off topic but we have to thank the Russians for getting Europe out a big of a tight spot in the 40`s

idd. i have big respect to that man, but we better dont go offtopic.

its funny how people look at it and judge it. no point comparing that car to anything modern car from europe or jap. Its a budget cheap car. Even russians have a lought from theyr cars.

at one time one fella said: you go and buy brand new LADA, then your next step is to go to mechanic and fix itso it would be road useable.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Well I am not Russian but I can speak Russian very well. I watch Russian news all the time too.

This is not suppose to be a ground breaking car, it's cheap motoring for average Joe. By making this car he gets people in country working and affordable motoring.

It may not be aspiring to be ground breaking but at any launch where a state leader would be present, you get the best available and specced model out. What was on display here was an absolutely minimal spec model. Whether this will be the final version being sold is irrelevant. This was a PR stunt and they used a piece of crap (which initially refused to work).

The thing has steel rims FFS. There obviously must be no central locking on it. The fact that he couldn't get it going for a while just reinforces my impression of it.

Funny I'm reminded of this...

pajo1981 wrote: »
    Putin is a murdering gangster and his car sucks.
    Whatever about his past, I'd put money on it that that man will never own one of these!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

Fair play to Putin, he's pretty much flown or driven everything else in Russia, so why not the Lada.:D Must be great to be the boss!

160147013.jpg
    160147192.jpg
    160147220.jpg
    160147287.jpg

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,756 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Terrible looking car, it's like a car designed in 1985. I'd love to see the NCAP rating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Terrible looking car, it's like a car designed in 1985. I'd love to see the NCAP rating.
    One GOLD star

bookpic-socialism-cccp-ussr.gif

Chinese cars are far safer

China-flag.JPG

Mully_2011 wrote: »
    Anyways cant see anything wrong with that Lada its no better or no worse then the Korean yokes
    TBH it reminds me of this:

argclio3.jpg

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Chinese cars are far safer
    That's because they steal copy the designs of European cars!

kbannon wrote: »
    That's because they steal copy the designs of European cars!

COPY? Are you mad. They have a wealth of design and know how to draw on. Just look at this GEELY. Nothing else like it on the road :D:D

rolls-royce-copy_1390322i.jpg

It may not be aspiring to be ground breaking but at any launch where a state leader would be present, you get the best available and specced model out. What was on display here was an absolutely minimal spec model. Whether this will be the final version being sold is irrelevant. This was a PR stunt and they used a piece of crap (which initially refused to work).

The thing has steel rims FFS. There obviously must be no central locking on it. The fact that he couldn't get it going for a while just reinforces my impression of it.

Funny I'm reminded of this...

Whatever about his past, I'd put money on it that that man will never own one of these!

Well, I said it again. It is just cheap cheap cheap motoring. Have you lived in Russia or eastern Europe? They were not aiming for decking merc quality...you forgetting: he is not trying to sale this car to you, it's for it's own Market.

He admitted himself In interview that car did not started, because his own fault. It was said on the news, not sensored or whatever ****. No one got murdered for that.

As for putin haters... Look at your own govermemt. I better see Putin here and kick everyone asses and do theyr jobs, then bunch of clowns, green Colored or not anymore. Russia is growing fast, the changes in country are unbelievable, but will BBC or sky tell you about this? I don't think so. Will you hear some bull**** how Putin kills babies during the night? Yup ofc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

johnos1984 wrote: »
    COPY? Are you mad. They have a wealth of design and know how to draw on. Just look at this GEELY. Nothing else like it on the road :D:D

rolls-royce-copy_1390322i.jpg

That Reminded me of

01w.jpg

The Rolls Royce S13 Silvia

and

4876966683_5a1018cf7b.jpg

And the Jaguar March 2

Well, I said it again. It is just cheap cheap cheap motoring. Have you lived in Russia or eastern Europe? They were not aiming for decking merc quality...

He admitted himself In interview that car did not started, because his own fault. It was said on the news, not sensored or whatever ****. No one got murdered for that.
    Firstly, I never expected it to be a good or expensive car. I simply made the point that at any PR event you go the whole hog and get the best model that you can. What we had on show here was a piece of crap. As a business owner, would you take out a standard model at a PR gig that was to be hosted by someone as important as Putin?
    If you think that car was standard then look at the following for other versions of this puke...
    http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=ru&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lada-granta-club.ru%2F

Even this version looks better (but not much)
    lada_granta_f34_ns_90210_717.jpg

I also thought it a bit strange that his advisors didn't tell him (or anyone else in the car) to stick on their seat belts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

I knew it looked familiar!!

1993_fiat_tempra-pic-3490590477015456606.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Never mind driving didn't he wrestle a bear or a tiger or something a while ago ?

Firstly, I never expected it to be a good or expensive car. I simply made the point that at any PR event you go the whole hog and get the best model that you can. What we had on show here was a piece of crap. As a business owner, would you take out a standard model at a PR gig that was to be hosted by someone as important as Putin?
    If you think that car was standard then look at the following for other versions of this puke...
    http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=ru&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lada-granta-club.ru%2F

Even this version looks better (but not much)

I also thought it a bit strange that his advisors didn't tell him (or anyone else in the car) to stick on their seat belts.

What's wrong with him trying out the normal model? so he gets experience that normal Joe gets? Sorry Ivan :). Fair play for trying out **** model.

If that would be Germany then president would get the most loaded one and say: wow cool, I love what people drive. Where in reality only 1% will ever buy, as extras cost more then car itself.

I don't argue, car is ****, I have seen and drove in more ladas then you ever dreamed off. :) where I came from my first car was 89 Mazda 626. That was in 2005. It was spotless, like any ather old car. People could not afford change cars as often as gloves. In 2005 there were spotless mk2 golfs 86'. Audi 100 85'. So as you see car are very very old and still on the road. So giving cheap newer affordable car is a good idea. Work places created, people cam renew they old ladas which are just scrap.

For western europeons it's very hard to understand the way of life I'm there.

What's wrong with him trying out the normal model? so he gets experience that normal Joe gets? Sorry Ivan :). Fair play for trying out **** model.

If that would be Germany then president would get the most loaded one and say: wow cool, I love what people drive. Where in reality only 1% will ever buy, as extras cost more then car itself.
    I'm not saying it was his fault. I never blamed him for anything apart from not wearing his seatbelt.
    I made the point that the car is a piece of crap. The PR team in lada don't know their arse from their elbow. They had a chance to put out the best version of the cheapest car in Europe but instead put out the cheapest version of the cheapest car in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Testament1

I dont know about you but I wouldnt be telling him what to do :D

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRkVcFGVgcQMt--W0IewNkv-Dxpp6rZ5pvhlfJoKd7tXA3emyQJ

Anyway the design of the car doesnt really look much different than something like a Kia, from the front anyway. Its meant too be cheap motoring and it certainly looks like it accomplished that. In fairness its probably in the same league as a lot of the bottom spec stuff that you'd see on the roads here.
    Bit embarassing for Lada though seeing the car struggle to start!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

I'm not saying it was his fault. I never blamed him for anything apart from not wearing his seatbelt.
    I made the point that the car is a piece of crap. The PR team in lada don't know their arse from their elbow. They had a chance to put out the best version of the cheapest car in Europe but instead put out the cheapest version of the cheapest car in Europe.

I think you're missing the point, which is PR in Europe ≠ PR in Russia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

where I came from my first car was 89 Mazda 626. That was in 2005...For western europeons it's very hard to understand the way of life I'm there.

Relax man :)

I hope you realise how lucky you are. Being able to buy a reliable second hand car from Japan and pay cheap market value for it. I bet your parents weren't so lucky. There was no market and you couldn't just buy a car over there as you always could over here. Unless they brown nosed someone in the party, they would have had to be on a waiting list for a new car for 10+ years, just to be able to buy one at full list price. A sh1t car at that :)

unkel wrote: »
    Relax man :)

I hope you realise how lucky you are. Being able to buy a reliable second hand car from Japan and pay cheap market value for it. I bet your parents weren't so lucky. There was no market and you couldn't just buy a car over there as you always could over here. Unless they brown nosed someone in the party, they would have had to be on a waiting list for a new car for 10+ years, just to be able to buy one at full list price. A sh1t car at that :)

Ah no man, sorry, I might looked a bit aggressive, but I really don't like all this bashing or wishing of death to someone who they don't know anything at all. Judging eyes on something people don't have a clue.

Trust me, I am very happy in Ireland. I have huge respect to this country. It gave me a chance to survive, work for my own shelter and food.ireland did more then my country did in 19 years for me. No matter how bad it will be in Ireland I will stay here, Ireland was there for me when I came with 100eu I'm my pocket and nowhere to go or live. I will be here and work and spend money in Ireland when it's bad times. God, if there will be war, I will go fight for Ireland, not the country I came from!

I sow bouth sides of the Europe, from both prospectives. So I know what Putin is doing with that lada. And I know it's Crapy cheap ****, he knows that too. I just find it silly when people judge it like this, witouth knowing situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Buffman

A few more pics. Begs the question, why can't our lot drive themselves around?:D

[Embedded Image Removed]

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSe3RYlODSkk6uC0R7Gt0-QhZDtCdcrXHjtCRxQHDAUaeEULXP-

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRsUkypq4PZnyx-krukX2u9yFPiz1EXM1YKYUGhG6oBRu_kQaoKDw

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRfmqjEfUu4n_xgy6l75hsM6R8IouTwoZcGjcZih4p1H5QwAHjkRg

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRa67dCp_hFzPZjTRf4gDawpDLzf2QRM4AEae8CvMMAwDMqNijh

And he went on a road trip across Siberia last year in his yellow Lada.

188028013.jpg

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭the bolt

He would have been more chuffed with a Volga V12(BMW 850 engine)

****e music,but i could live with the car.