Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance cost for a 2L car?

• 12-05-2011 7:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭

I currently have a 1.3L car any my premium is e450 (41 years old, full license, full NCB).

If I were to get a 2L car do you think there'd be much of an increase in the premium? (As I understand it, engine size would be a lot less of a factor for someone like me compared to, say, an under 25 on a provisional.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭itarumaa

From 0.8l > 2.0l > 4.0l did not change my insurance too much. Of course you have to notice that there are specific cars that have much higher insurance because the risks involved, like Skyline for instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

mickrock wrote: »
    I currently have a 1.3L car any my premium is e450 (41 years old, full license, full NCB).

If I were to get a 2L car do you think there'd be much of an increase in the premium? (As I understand it, engine size would be a lot less of a factor for someone like me compared to, say, an under 25 on a provisional.)

Totally depends on the car,only one way to find out and thats to start calling places and getting quotes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Impossible to answer, OP. You might be looking for an Evo VII or a Mondeo. Both 2L but utterly different risk profiles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 hartnett_mark

Some of insurance companies have calculators on theirs sites and you can find out how much you will pay for insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Confab wrote: »
    Impossible to answer, OP. You might be looking for an Evo VII or a Mondeo. Both 2L but utterly different risk profiles.

I wouldn't go for anything flash or sporty so it would be at the lower risk end of the scale.

I won't be changing car for a while yet so just wanted a general idea. When the time comes, I'll ring around and get some quotes.

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I wouldn't go for anything flash or sporty so it would be at the lower risk end of the scale.

I won't be changing car for a while yet so just wanted a general idea. When the time comes, I'll ring around and get some quotes.

Cheers!
    As the lads have explained, nobody here can answer this - there are just too many variables.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I would have said that your current insurance was overpriced by about 150 euro's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I would have said that your current insurance was overpriced by about 150 euro's.
    I was thinking the same myself, but I figured pointing it out would undermine our reluctance to guess at his new premium.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Maybe it's a Galanza he's driving now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Feardorca

Call a broker get a figure and negotiate, works for me, got my 3 series down from600 to 515 purely by asking for a better price, ie told them I wanted to pay 500 fully comp and got it with a bit of haggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

As stated, too many variables.

My 2L Almera was €600 less than a 1L Seicento when I started driving.

At your age and driving history you should have no bother getting insured on a 2.0 for €450, over the last 3 to 4 years the most I've paid is €600 odd on normal stuff ranging from 1.6 to 2.5, including a Prelude and a Celica. I'm 30 now but had full NCB from when I was 23/24.

As others have said shop around, your current premium seems very high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I'm driving a 2L Accord. 34 with full licence for 17 years and full no claims. Costing me €450, living in Louth.

I wouldn't expect a big increase over current payments, as long as it's not a high performance 2.0.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,357 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

as already explained OP, too many variables, you have to ring the companies yourself.

i went from paying €685 on 1.8 car to paying €449 on a 2.0 car*.

*1.8 was an S3 and the 2.0 is a 320d :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭slinky2000

Depends on the car really. It probably will go up but probably not by much if you have a few years NCB.

get a few quotes online and see for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

As has been said loads of times now, there's no possible way to give a definite answer without getting a quote but you may find that some are actually less expensive dependign on various factors. Your ages, car's gae, location, use , power diesel or petrol etc etc.

So many variables.

But your 41 so age doesnt really matter compared to if you were in your 20s where it can hugely affect insurance. It sounds too expensive though what you're paying now.

My mother's insurance is 300-ish fuly comp on a 3litre landcruiser 7 seater, but then again she's a woman and over 50 and never had a single accident or incident of any kind on the road. Quote for me on that yoke is a little over 2 grand.

But a positive example in my case is that i found a 1.7 turbodiesel bmw, a 1.8 petrol bmw and 2.0Td toyota carina all got cheaper quotes for me than a 1.3 starlet