Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racist Graffitti in Balbriggan

• 11-05-2011 6:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭

I just drove down hamlet lane on the way back from Dunnes and saw some disgusting and appalling racist graffitti on a wall in very large letters. :mad:

I am so upset and offended by it, particularly as it is close to my home, and as a result directed at neighbours of mine. Just seeing it has upset me quite a bit, so I can only imagine how the people it abuses feel.

I hope my neighbours realise that it is just a small group of scum who did this, and that most people in the area are appalled and disgusted that this has happened, and that it is not an opinion held by most decent and reasonable people.

I've phoned the guards to ask what they are doing about it and they said its up to the council to paint over it. I asked if they were investigating in any way to find out who the culprits are, and got fobbed off, so that would be a no then! :mad:

I would appeal to residents to stick together in fighting this sort of hateful behaviour. We can't let a minority of ignorant scum turn our community into an unpleasant place to live for our neighbours.

I'll be on to the council first thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Fair play, OP. I hate seeing graffiti in the area, but racist graffiti is so upsetting, especially considering the multi cultural town in which we live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

You can also log the incident with these

http://www.immigrantcouncil.ie/submissions-policy-papers-and-analyses/2009-2010/243
    The data we gather about racist incidents will be used to inform advocacy for legislative or policy change.

Racist incidents are under-reported in Ireland. Whether the type of incident involves actual violence or threats, damage to property, racist insults, graffiti, racist publications – including on the web – or discrimination at work or when accessing services, we believe it should be recorded.

I was checking it out myself today to report the Guy that fills in for Joe Duffy on Liveline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

I've had to remove inflammatory & off- topic comments. Stay on-topic please.

HB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭rccaulfield

Thats awful- get out and paint over it yourself don't wait for the council imo- is that the main road down by the playground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

If the op painted over it her/him self she be more likely charged with criminal damage,best keep with your neighbours in putting pressure on your local authority to get it cleaned up now and asap.imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭DubArk

That’s a very worrying development indeed. All of us as citizens and the Garda must have a Zero Tolerance, we can’t afford ever for that rot to take place.
    I hope the council have a policy of instant action if NOT they need to get one in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭bingobars

I was very impressed with Cork city councils response to Graffiti outside my family home recently almost to the point where I was like 'Does it take a fecking 4 person team to tackle this?'

They didnt even have a tea break in the 20 mins that they were there!!

I always remember Graffiti from when I was a kid I hope parents address this if their children bring it up after seeing it.

I never asked my parents what UB40 meant but eh never mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

realies wrote: »
    If the op painted over it her/him self she be more likely charged with criminal damage

Woke up one morning last year to some racist graffiti on the ESB box near my house. Went back to the house, got paint and brush and painted over it. It's going to have to be painted over anyway. I can't see any criminal damage case resulting. Judges are reasonable members of society anyway and would likely just toss out something like that. I didn't want my kids seeing what was written on that box regardless.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I've just deleted some more posts that were inflammatory. Please stop generalising here - one ban has already been issued and more will be forthcoming if similar posts are made again

Beasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,817 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Another couple of posts deleted. DUB_Shane, if you have an issue with a mod decision - PM me or Beasty. Do not question mod actions on-thread. It only drags the thread off-topic.

HB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I saw that myself OP and it is a little depressing to think that we have folk like that in the community. Someone painted over it the next day but it was still readable. The following day someone had applied another layer and thankfully you can't read it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

What did it say? I saw some fresh Man City and Man Unira crap on a few walls there a few days ago. You'd swear people didn't have a league of their own to support. Plastic the lot 'o them. They're the same saps that'll say 'Blacks out,' and 'Keep your foreign Queen,' ..Jesus.. show some national pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

What did it say? I saw some fresh Man City and Man Unira crap on a few walls there a few days ago. You'd swear people didn't have a league of their own to support. Plastic the lot 'o them. They're the same saps that'll say 'Blacks out,' and 'Keep your foreign Queen,' ..Jesus.. show some national pride.

Graffitti has been dealth with here before and it seems to be happening all over the place but I dont think its as bad as it was.

As for the rest of rest of your post people have views and once they are not inflamatory are quite entitled to their views. We might not like them but thats tough.

Oh and I have quite a bit of national pride but am not fully behind Queens visit, (bad timing for a start) but I do hope it goes well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Graffiti here in Rush isnt a problem but thats because that one little sap got a bollocking form the Gards once he was caught.
    Iv got national pride myself and am also against the visit of the Queen - I wont go into my reasons why, though. That would be off topic ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

Ive seen a lot around the town over the years.I know Balbriggan Youth Against Racist BYAR, a small group of kids painted over it.It MIGHT be worth contacting the local tidy town and asking for their help in painting over the nastys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Eoineo

That's a good idea Cathy. Also if you have a residents association in your estate they can get a graffiti kit from the council. I'm told it's only aimed towards graffiti on metal but that would help with meter boxes.

I didn't even know there was a BYAR, if you had any details to pass on I'd appreciate it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

BYAR are long gone, most left school , some doing exams now.It was started when a local guy , seen his friend from the Congo, pushed by a man.Their other friend from Afganistan wasnt happy about it either.Things came to a head when a load of grafftii was painted around the convent.The kids got together and painted over it, with the help of the town council and the tidy towns.They went on to address the problem in schools and community events.It was fun for them, but hopefully lead to a better understanding of Racism for the wider community.
    Cathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Eoineo

Very interesting thanks.

There's a new integration officer down in the Youth Service so maybe they might revive some of the BYAR goals and objectives. I know that Show Racism the Red Card is run by a local man but that's aimed at Football all over Ireland.