Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Odd, Unintentional Trends In Your Partner Choices..

• 11-05-2011 4:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

The thread in AH about the age gap kind of got me thinking - am I the only one who notices weird little trends in the type of people I choose that, ultimately, have no bearing on the success/failure of the relationship or why I chose them, but are there nonetheless?

e.g. I've always dated nerds. Actually hasn't been intentional; it's just how it goes for me, they're the only ones I seem to attract :pac:. Also only ever dated guys with blue eyes and brown hair, though those were never part of my criteria or conscious decisions. All of my exes have ties to Ireland, despite only one of them actually living there (and he's not Irish). All had slightly poor vision (e.g. had glasses, but didn't need to wear them all the time). etc. etc.

Does anyone else notice stuff like this, or am I the only one strange enough to? :o What weird trends in your past partners can you find?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭kaki

Haha that's something I've thought about at length.

I have a pattern, not so much in the personality/physical appearance of my partners, but rather their lineage.

Each of my 3 partners so far has had a mother that teaches science and a father that works in IT/Computers. What that says about me I shudder to think!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭Hamiltonion

As of the last 3 years american, slight build, hippyish mentality and dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Oh, just thought of another one, they all had da's who hated me. :o

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I can't get away from musicians. I swore them off when I broke up with my musician ex but every single guy I've been with or even liked since then has turned out to be a secret musician :rolleyes:. I almost always end up with blue or light-eyed men, despite having a preference for brown eyes. Somehow I also seem to go for guys with bigger-than-average noses, a trait I never notice in a guy until it's pointed out to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

The guys I go for are always tall, dark with blue eyes. Again strange, because I prefer brown eyes on paper. My dad was dark with blue eyes-Freud would have a field day.

Personality-wise my exes/current boyfriend couldnt be more different. One was a nerd, one was a musician and the current fella is into sports.

liah wrote: »
    Oh, just thought of another one, they all had da's who hated me. :o

Better than the Da's who want to ride ya.

I have no odd coincidences to report myself.
    I sometimes notice that friends have a habit of serial dating men with the same first name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭blackalicious

Moonbaby wrote: »

I have no odd coincidences to report myself.
    I sometimes notice that friends have a habit of serial dating men with the same first name.

the girl im currently dating told me that the last three fellas she has dated all have the same name as me, found it a bit wierd and funny tbh..

the only trend ive found in my partners is they all have terrible taste :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Ophiopogon

They are all d!ckheads!! sounds like a bad joke but it seems to be what I am attracted too. I was told its because I don't want to commit so I go for someone who is not capable of it...no idea if thats true but I'm staying single till I figure it out!

I also always seem to end up with blonds even though I prefer dark hair/eyes:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

That just gave me a horrible flash-back *shudder*

As for trends...all have dark hair and that lovely broad-shouldered, narrower hips trapezoid body shape...other than that, all completely different I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Similar to the OP, always seem to attract nerdy types. Sci-fi-loving, computer-obsessed, socially awkward, metalheads... kinda like myself! Not really intentional, it just seems to be who I end up with. Also I get more male attention where this type congregates (Fibber's, Whelans, etc) than in 'conventional' clubs so that's probably part of it! :p

I think all wore glasses, or close enough
    Um... usually fairly slender as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

My ex's had a few similarities, they all had glasses, they all had dark hair and they were musically talented. One was great at singing, another was a great guitar player:) And they were good dancers as well!

Oh and they were all Irish, I never dated a Swedish bloke for some strange reason....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

The girls I hook up with and consider my type are never the girls I go out with.

I'm into heavily pierced, tattoo'd emo/scene/metal girls.

Off the top of my head my last few relationships have been with A girl who used to work in river island, a chef and a violinist.

Probably the exact opposite of my type.

Oh I like short girls. Thats a very reoccuring theme with girls I like.

Azureus wrote: »
    The guys I go for are always tall, dark with blue eyes. Again strange, because I prefer brown eyes on paper. My dad was dark with blue eyes-Freud would have a field day.

Oh stop. I have a very very fixed type - Tall, dark, beardy and smart, and if I have to fight for their attention, all the better. I'd love to say that my dad is short, blonde and adores me, but... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

The one and only trend that I know of is that I have possibly dated more virgos and pisces than is statistically normal. Other than that, they had almost nothing in common at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

The weirdest unintentional recurring theme is that I end up with guys who's parents are divorced. Just copped that now. Strange.

They all have very artistic tendencies.

They all have one subject/area that they're a total geek about, currently it's history.

Blue eyes is almost a constant.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

having a first name as a surname

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I like skinny boys....dark/black hair, musicians..... :D

My first kiss (and first bf) had beautiful eyelashes and my current boy has gorgeous eyelashes too....(dunno if its something you would notice about your boyfriends but it struck me one day when he was reading the paper!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I'm notorious for noticing eyelashes, I think they're lovely! My exes all had long ones.

It's a sort of envy thing, as I have blonde eyelashes and always wanted beautiful, long, dark ones. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭redz11

The only trends I can see are that all my exes have been Irish ... and that they've mostly been younger than me (or only very very slightly older than me.)

Also they've all been very nice guys. Which I guess is a good thing? :confused:

Can't think of any interests, personality traits, features etc that they've had in common!

Oh, having nice eyes is a must, if we are on the subject!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I love my boyfriends eyes, I swear they are so brown with a lovely hint of green sometimes when he looks at me with puppy dog eyes I get lost in them and they make me feel all giddy and shivery! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Thinking about it, I can only see one common trait among most of the men I've liked. Lets just say it seems I like to be the smart one.:)

Giselle wrote: »
    Thinking about it, I can only see one common trait among most of the men I've liked. Lets just say it seems I like to be the smart one.:)

What do you think is the reasoning behind that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

It's funny, my friends actually used to point guys out in the street and say, "There's your next boyfriend!". I always went out with guys who were tall and very slim, with long-ish, dark hair. Oh, and the kind of teeth you'd see in a toothpaste ad! They all wore their jeans hanging off them too, and tended to be really into music and/or art.

My current bf is completely different from all of my previous though, other than being slim. We've actually joked about it - how we're the complete opposite of what we've went for in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Tall, skinny fellas. Almost always. :/ And usually with a bit of facial hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭micayla

I always date older guys. I have dated a few who still lived at home with their parents, my mate used to tease me about that quite a bit! I always go for the nerdy ones but then I'm a nerd myself so that makes sense:D Tall and dark would be another trend even though if you asked me to pick a celebrity I like 90% of the time he'd be blonde:pac: I always seemed to date guys from small families, I'm from a huge family myself so wonder what that says about me! That's all the similarities I can think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

e.g. I've always dated nerds. Actually hasn't been intentional; it's just how it goes for me, they're the only ones I seem to attract :pac:. Also only ever dated guys with blue eyes and brown hair, though those were never part of my criteria or conscious decisions. All of my exes have ties to Ireland, despite only one of them actually living there (and he's not Irish). All had slightly poor vision (e.g. had glasses, but didn't need to wear them all the time). etc. etc.

I think we may actually be dating the same guys, your description there fits mine so exactly :cool:. Except the not Irish bit.

Apart from that, mine have been very different people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Weirdest coincidence is the same name thing. I've a total of four ex-Brians! :pac: I know it's a common name but four???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

What do you think is the reasoning behind that?

Without a doubt, my own insecurities.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Drummers. I have no conscious interest in them (apart from telling them to use more china and double kick) but they show up constantly in my relationship history. Maybe it's the mystery - I can make a decent stab at a fair few instruments but the co-ordination of drumming is completely beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Anybody I like is mean to me
    Anybody who likes me is usually on the far end of the crazy scale:eek:
    I've not had much success to this stage of my life :P

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

EMF2010 wrote: »
    Weirdest coincidence is the same name thing. I've a total of four ex-Brians! :pac: I know it's a common name but four???
    :eek: OK four of my exes have had at least more than two of their exes before and after me with the name Dave. OK David is a pretty mundane name and if you say at the door of a party you're trying to crash "yea it's grand we're with Dave", you'll likely get in... That said, stepping back and looking it, my trend? Being a temporary squeeze/shaggee between men of the same name. I'm the relationship ham in a Dave sandwich. :eek: Oh god... Then again, that just means I'm the flavour between the roughage. :p That is a tad weird though. I blame ye. You mad same name fixated women I have known. :D

Oh yea and it seems if ya go out with me, the next bloke is "The ONE"tm. No it's mad. The number of exes of mine who right after me ended up all madly loved up with The Love Of Their Life? I'm thinking of hiring myself out for profit. "Can't find Luuurve?. Do Not Despair. Snog me and wait one month. Satisfaction guaranteed*.

*References on application. Satisfaction NOT guaranteed. Your mileage may vary. The EU has determined this is not a medical device and or service. All Wibbian rights reserved.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭yogalady

hi there

Gargleblaster do you mind me asking are you a scorpio? you mentioned dating alot of pisces and virgo. i find myself drawn to these star signs alot. I'm a scorpio. Wonder if it is a scorpio thing or just a personal thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

All 3 of my long term boyfriend's worked in businesses their Dad's owned, I dunno how I'd react with a guy who couldn't wrangle a day off easily from his Dad!

And I somehow found three guys who accepted my ridiculously close relationship with my mother, I am always incredibly grateful for that, not many men would understand the 4+ phonecalls a day so I have been lucky to find three.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Tradesmen. Four guys I've been involved with have been a carpenter, a mechanic, a sparky and a plumber.

There's a joke in there about guys who are good with their hands but I won't make it :cool: *

* it's true btw :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭micayla

Wibbs wrote: »
    :eek: OK four of my exes have had at least more than two of their exes before and after me with the name Dave. OK David is a pretty mundane name and if you say at the door of a party you're trying to crash "yea it's grand we're with Dave", you'll likely get in... That said, stepping back and looking it, my trend? Being a temporary squeeze/shaggee between men of the same name. I'm the relationship ham in a Dave sandwich. :eek: Oh god... Then again, that just means I'm the flavour between the roughage. :p That is a tad weird though. I blame ye. You mad same name fixated women I have known. :D

Oh yea and it seems if ya go out with me, the next bloke is "The ONE"tm. No it's mad. The number of exes of mine who right after me ended up all madly loved up with The Love Of Their Life? I'm thinking of hiring myself out for profit. "Can't find Luuurve?. Do Not Despair. Snog me and wait one month. Satisfaction guaranteed*.

*References on application. Satisfaction NOT guaranteed. Your mileage may vary. The EU has determined this is not a medical device and or service. All Wibbian rights reserved.

I'm pretty sure that's the plot of the movie Good Luck Chuck :pac:

Wibbs wrote: »

Hey wibbs, you busy? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Sporty guys. I can't for the life of me resist em. That lean, athletic while-not-being-overly-muscly look...last ex was a hurler, guy before him was soccer mad. Both fit and very good-looking, also real ladies' men. Hence my catastrophic relationship history...!

Also, in my head height is a massive turn-on, but most of the guys I've been with have been 5'8 or 9ish. And the dark hair, blue eyes thing, but I figure that's pretty standard in Ireland. Don't think I've ever been with a blonde guy...just wouldn't do it for me.

ETA: Oh wait, American Brian was blonde! Whatta ya know...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

micayla wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure that's the plot of the movie Good Luck Chuck :pac:
    Just wikied that and it is :eek: I shoulda sued. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

Facial hair. Man I'm a sucker for a good bit of beard!

Also, the men I've dated have either been massively into rock/metal and they were either obsessed with instruments or gaming. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I can't really think of any outright similarities, except that they were all older than me. Oh, and I mostly end up with guys around my height as opposed to being much taller - but then I'm 5'10' so I guess that's why!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Interesting topic, I was discussing this the other day with someone.

It sounds a bit strange but women with 'father issues' (deceased/absent/abusive/w*nker) have tended to be attracted to me.

The same name in multiple partners thing seems to be very common n my experience too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

All guys I've ever gone out with have had at least one sister and no brothers. :eek: What's that about?

I'm the opposite of the name thing. I tend to end up with guys with weird names, or who're known almost exclusively by nicknames. My significant ex has an unusual name, but to make it even more unusual, it's spelt the French way, rather than the Irish way. To top it off, nearly everyone calls him by his nickname (including his parents!) except for me because I think it's weird to call your boyfriend by a nickname. It makes it confusing when talking to friends about him, because I end up switching between the two names a lot, which makes them do it too :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Malari wrote: »
    All guys I've ever gone out with have had at least one sister and no brothers. :eek: What's that about?

We're more comfortable in the company of women and it shows...

6 sisters, no brothers...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Yes, they have all had a penis. :D

Honestly, that's about it. No pattern at all to my ex boyfriends. They have been tall & lean, shorter and stocky, brown eyes, green eyes, bearded, cleanshaven.

I've also swung from an emotionally unavailable men to one who was a veritable stalking mess so no pattern there either.

Although in latest developments I am a total sucker for beard & hairy chest, I have to physically restrain myself from running my fingers through it. And I also almost immediately notice brown eyes. Swooooooooon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

cdaly_ wrote: »
    We're more comfortable in the company of women and it shows...

6 sisters, no brothers...

Hmm, only noticed this trend years later though! And mostly I was hanging around with a big bunch of lads and only a couple of close girl friends.

Coincidence? I think so :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭starling.

e.g. I've always dated nerds.
    All had slightly poor vision (e.g. had glasses, but didn't need to wear them all the time). etc. etc.

Me too, weird that I've never noticed that 'til now :pac:
    guys with blue eyes and brown hair

It's seriously like you're describing my boyfriend :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Younger Men...I have never been involved with anyone older than me....and they tend to be at least 3 years younger.
    I love brown eyes, but they have all had blue.