Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Keanes

• 11-05-2011 9:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭

just out of curiosity when the 2 Keanes played for Ireland on the same team, what did their jerseys have on the back? Or do the Ireland team put names on the jerseys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

they never played in a competition together that required names on the back.

almost did once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

they never played in a competition together that required names on the back.

almost did once!

What happened??*

*gets popcorn and sits back:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

cson wrote: »

names weren't required on the back of jerseys for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

I thought Robbie had R. Keane on his jersey in the 2002 WC

Edit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pt5uUkxCx5g&NR=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭henke

Yeah Robbie had R. Keane on it.

Who knows what they would both have if Roy played too. I doubt it would be R. Keane and R. Keane or Keane and Keane though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Before the 2002 World Cup,7up were giving out those green jerseys with Keane 6 on the back.I still wore mine to the pub for the Germany game,got a few ice cubes thrown at me head and all!

Anyways,when Robbie scored we got chalk from the bar and wrote +4 after the 6 on the back of it.Got interviewed by some newspaper lad and all about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

There was a similiar situation in Germany a few years back twins Hamit & Halil Altintop both played for Schalke and if I remember correctly they had their first names on the jersey

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I remember about 5 Chois lined out for S. Korea in 1990. I thought there were a load of Mubaraks on teh UAE team that year too but it seems not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭bohsfan

I'm sure Ireland would have had the jerseys already printed before they jetted off for Saipan. So if robbie ended up with R.Keane 10 then Royston probably had Keane 6, seeing as he was there first and all.

Altho saying that, if there were a few pre-printed Keane jerseys for the World Cup surely at least one of them would have shown up on ebay by now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    just out of curiosity when the 2 Keanes played for Ireland on the same team, what did their jerseys have on the back? Or do the Ireland team put names on the jerseys?

on roy keane's shirt it said > keane

on robbie keane's shirt it said > over-rated big head who's paid too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

fryup wrote: »
    on roy keane's shirt it said > keane

on robbie keane's shirt it said > over-rated big head who's paid too much
    :rolleyes: Look up Supply and Demand Economics it might help you understand why he gets paid what he does

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

You think that's confusing? Check Englands squad 1986. (specificially #2 and #15)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1986_FIFA_World_Cup_squads#England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

Just on Today FM (question was asked on ray D'arcy's Fix it Friday spot)

bohsfan got it right:

had they both have played in the 2002 World Cup Robbie would have had "R. Keane" on his shirt, and Roy would have had just "Keane"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Lads, I have one at home from Saipan, it does indeed say just Keane! I'll start the bidding at 2 grand!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Seems ridiculous to be changing names on the back of the jersey. Surely the ref could tell the difference between 6 and 10, which I believe is a double digit number and looks nothing like 6, no matter how blind you might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

y'know your dead right! whats the point, the number should be enough.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's not for the refs. It was brought in so that American commentators could pretend to know who was playing in WC '94, was it not?