Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Importing 2008 520d-Tax and VRT Extras Question

• 10-05-2011 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭

Hey all, I have been reading around here a few other places about the tax rate for an imported 2008 car (pre July). The car im looking at was registered in March 2008 in UK so is would I be able to tax it with the C02 based system (136g for the car im looking at), I have read conflicting reports, can anyone confirm.

Also in relation to extras, the car im looking at has Sat Nav, Half Leather, Bluetooth, Parking Sensors and i'm wondering how much extra to expect on the VRT (Its currently €3907 on ROS website)

Any guidance would be gratefully accepted folks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

You will pay the lower rate of motor tax OP. Only the inspector in the NCT centre or revenue offical can tell you about the extras.

Actually if you dont mind me asking how much do you hope to have the car for after all costs???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭hollywoodhoppy

Thanks Corkie, am looking at about 21500 at the moment including travelling and all, im half scared about the NCT centre and their take on the extras, i'm worried it might take another 1000 or more from me, am stretched enough buying it as it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

it will go on co2 tax.

In relation to extras, the overall cost of the extras is calculated and then vrt charged at 16% on your car. Now this amount is depreciated also based on age down to zero at 4 years old. So really on an 08 car, you will be paying something like a quarter of 16% of the original cost of the extras.

I guess the extras could add up to 20k here when new (probably worst case) so in that case, you would be looking at €800.
    The other problem is that the NCT people may not agree with your estimate from revenue website due to them entering the wrong spec or whatever and things can get messy

If you are not happy with the price the Revenue quotes you can make an appeal to them. Its supposed to work as well.

Oh ye, very good, I am going to try and ring them tomorrow and ask them if i give them the Chassis no(because its a BMW it links the extras to the chassis no) can they give me a better indication. Thanks for that.

I know other people have imported 520d's on here with extras so it would be interesting to hear their experiences.

I dont know if they will give you a price over the phone but if you are lucky to speak to someone nice you might be in luck...:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

mickdw wrote: »
    it will go on co2 tax.

In relation to extras, the overall cost of the extras is calculated and then vrt charged at 16% on your car. Now this amount is depreciated also based on age down to zero at 4 years old. So really on an 08 car, you will be paying something like a quarter of 16% of the original cost of the extras.

I guess the extras could add up to 20k here when new (probably worst case) so in that case, you would be looking at €800.
    The other problem is that the NCT people may not agree with your estimate from revenue website due to them entering the wrong spec or whatever and things can get messy

Good post, but I think the extras would only add up to well less than half that, so maybe 300-400 euro VRT at most. That said, the NCT crowd are the only ones who can tell for sure as Corkie said.

€21k landed for a 3 year old 520d seems a pretty good deal BTW. Let us know, hollywoodhoppy, how you are getting on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They will not give you a price over the phone, they will tell that you can only get a price after you present the car for inspection at an NCT centre. When you bring it to the NCT centre for inspection and a price there is a strong chance they will tell they need to contact Revenue for a price as it is not on their system. :rolleyes:

They really mucked it up these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

I brought one of those in in March, the VRT was about €100 out from the tax website, I think the only extra I had was the heated seats, everything else was part of the standard model (MSport Bus Ed).

The only issue is it takes 3/4 days from when you present it for them to give you the quote.

I only just found out that you tax the car online using the chassis number as a PIN, still think the €156 tax is a joke, but I'll take it all the same.

Good luck
    Dubal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

bazz26 wrote: »
    They will not give you a price over the phone, they will tell that you can only get a price after you present the car for inspection at an NCT centre. When you bring it to the NCT centre for inspection and a price there is a strong chance they will tell they need to contact Revenue for a price as it is not on their system. :rolleyes:

They really mucked it up these days.

Its not so much, not on their system as they need to contact the UK with the chassis number to get the list of extras and it takes a few days.

Regards
    Dubal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭kebrosnan

I brought in a 5 series last year and in my case, I presented the car and the guy on the desk checked all the paperwork, checked the car and then told me that as it was a BMW less than 4 years old, it goes to a manual calculation where the calculated the VRT on the extra's. As one of the other guys said here, budget for worst case and you can only be happy. Either way, its a lot of car for the money.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Hey all, I have been reading around here a few other places about the tax rate for an imported 2008 car (pre July). The car im looking at was registered in March 2008 in UK so is would I be able to tax it with the C02 based system (136g for the car im looking at), I have read conflicting reports, can anyone confirm.

Also in relation to extras, the car im looking at has Sat Nav, Half Leather, Bluetooth, Parking Sensors and i'm wondering how much extra to expect on the VRT (Its currently €3907 on ROS website)

Any guidance would be gratefully accepted folks

Sat Nav is the only extra there OP. PDC and half leather are standard on the 5 series and bluetooth was IIRC standard on all LCI models after sept 2007.

Also, what trim level are you buying? as price very much depends on this? ie. SE or MSport?

Thanks all for you input, very useful info from all concerned.

@kceire- the trim is msport so im not sure what is an extra and whats not, it remains to be seen, i'd the professional nav, bluetooth radio and DAB radio are prob the extras i will get charged on

just a quick update, brought the car in yesterday, very happy with it now, have booked it into the NCT centre for Wed so god knows how much they will charge me. Fingers crossed anyways!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Good luck and keep us updated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Thanks all for you input, very useful info from all concerned.

@kceire- the trim is msport so im not sure what is an extra and whats not, it remains to be seen, i'd the professional nav, bluetooth radio and DAB radio are prob the extras i will get charged on

Presuming you have it, you will be charged for metallic paint too. Bill for the pro navigation may surprise too as it was a pricey extra here - c. 3.5 grand retail iirc, although I think that included bluetooth and maybe dab too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

When I wanted to guestimate the VRT I used the online calculator plus total cost of all extras from BMW website at current prices divided by applicable emissions based VRT rate and reduced by 25% for each year on the car. In other words for an 08 car, you should be charged 25% of the total cost of all non standard features on the car.

My estimated total was a good few hundred less than they charged me - hope yours comes in like that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

IIRC, Bluetooth became standard on the LCI E60, but yeah the definate extras will be the professional nav, and DAB radio, did you input the MSport trim level into the VRT online calculator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Be sure to bring a printout of your VRT calculation to the NCT Centre with you. This alone saved me over 800 euros last year when I imported a 5 series. Mine had Sat Nav, Leather and auto and while I don't have the exact figure I think the extras only cost around 450. That was for a 2009 btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

kceire wrote: »
    IIRC, Bluetooth became standard on the LCI E60, but yeah the definate extras will be the professional nav, and DAB radio, did you input the MSport trim level into the VRT online calculator?

Bluetooth was still an extra on the E60 until it became part of the Business Edtion model. Didn't order it on a single E60 in 09 as it was so much cheaper to put a Parrot in. In July 08 it was €921 retail on a 520d SE Manual.

Don't have figures for Professional NAV or DAB, but the Media Pack included them I think, along with Bluetooth. On a July 2008 520d M-Sport Auto (band C) the Media pack was €3,780 - I can't remember if there was a Business and a Professional option, but this would have been the Professional version if there was the 2 options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭brennarr

just a quick update, brought the car in yesterday, very happy with it now, have booked it into the NCT centre for Wed so god knows how much they will charge me. Fingers crossed anyways!!

Sounds like a very nice car! What did you do with your passet? :)

great input there lads, very much appreciated, i have inputted my details for the m sport and it is saying €3931 for the VRT, so i am allowing myself 600 extra for my extras which by the sounds of things shouldnt be too far out. I think the professional was more pricey than the business to buy originally. I take it auto lights and wipers were as standard in the msport?

i put my passat up for sale there 3 weeks ago now and had it sold within 48 hours, it was a 05 2.0 tdi with loads of extras (i also imported this) and was in great condition so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Auto lights and wipers were standard across the E60 range afaik. Professional media centre cost alot more new than the Business version.

Hey all just got this resolved just before weekend, came to € 4077 after which was only about 150 more than the online quote so happy out with that, thanks for all the input here lads, very helpful as usual!