Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dearest Queen Elizabeth/Obama, you are cordially uninvited...

• 09-05-2011 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭

...from visiting Ireland and resulting in the closure of Phoenix Park for TWO WHOLE WEEKS!

Sincerest,
    A/T/R forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

****ing hell

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'd say you'll get some nice new roads out of it though. Not so much use for running, but cycling up the main road should be a bit less potholed...for a while anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Surely they ain't closing it from next Saturday to the 28th? There's the Calcutta Run on next Saturday so i doubt that. But it will be a nightmare for the next couple of weeks alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

AngryLips wrote: »
    ...from visiting Ireland and resulting in the closure of Phoenix Park for TWO WHOLE WEEKS!

Sincerest,
    A/T/R forum

:mad::mad::mad:
    No, I refuse to believe this, April 1st is long passed. 2 weeks! Chesterfield shut for commuters, there'll be uproar surely. Can you imagine if it's glorious sunshine at the weekend and the Park is shut. so her highness can feed the monkeys on her own. No, no, no.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I thought they'd only be shutting it for a couple of days. But, two weeks? :eek: Laps of the memorial park will not be fun...

To the hills, we can all run in the hills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭AngryLips

Okay, I actually don't know if this is true ...but a neighbour of mine whose apartment overlooks the park was visited by the Guards and that's what I've heard...

Fingers crossed it's not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Sweet, at least the main avenue will be in decent condition for DCT this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

There seems to be a range of events booked into the park for some the of the dates the two of them will be here? [Obama is here for less than 24 hours now last I heard].

http://www.phoenixpark.ie/media/Events2011.pdf

They have been working there over last couple of weeks, sealing everything which is possible to seal.

I guess that route down the liffey, by the rowing clubs will get good usage for those few days/weeks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

AngryLips wrote: »

Sincerest,
    A/T/R forum

I heard that all forest trails will also be closed for two weeks.

Actually I don't know if this is true...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Why is there no road closure listed for the race series 10 mile, and no mention of the marathon at all. They are not actually going to use hop-on-pop's alternative route he put up at the beginning of last month are they? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Anyone that has roof access to any area that they are visiting/passing by has been called to by the Gardai in the last fortnight so thats normal.

War Memorial Garden will also be closed for a couple of days as will Croke Park. Croker is closed for 3 days but how they will close the biggest city Park in Europe for two weeks is beyond me.

Huge traffic restriction yes and Farmleigh will be locked down but thats it i'ld say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Only Jackeen area they could bring her to I suppose, had to be kept between the canals and all that..........

Leave the Queens park behind and head for the republican strongholds of the Dublin mountains people :
    http://www.dublinmountains.ie/index.php?id=135
    It was good enough for Markievicz and Connolly !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

You lot sound like the toddlers in my daughter's creche at the end of outside play time.

Stop the whining and use the opportunity to explore new running options, ferchrissakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

It is not totally closed for two weeks.

There will be 'restriced' access. There will be no parking in the park between May 15th to 25th which could actually make it better for cyclists and runners. Could mean you could actually run the Dublin race series route on the road.

So you should be able to still go for a run.

In saying that, at least queenie fixed the Chesterfield avenue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

It's prob still her park anyway and were just renting if from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Surely dublin zoo wont be too happy about this, if we cant park the car there.