Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Plus size bikini.. yay or nay?? :)

• 09-05-2011 12:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

Hi guys just wondering what you think about bikinis on larger ladies.. im a size 14-16 on bottom half and 36f on top.. i have slim legs.. im just wondering would a bikini look awful on me?? ive lost a lot of weight lately (4 stone) so this is the first year ive even contemplated wearing a bikin!! but should i leave it to the slim girls and stick to my one piece/tankini??
    BE BRUTALLY HONEST :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

It's hard to judge what you would look like in a bikini as I've never met you. But I say if you feel comfy then go for it! Perhaps bring a one piece cossie in case you have a sudden change of heart.

Congrats on the weight loss and if you're dying to wear a bikini then I say wear one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

As a man I will give you my honest opinion.
    If you feel comfortable in a bikini then go for it. There is nothing more sexier than a woman is comfortable in her own skin. Fair enough some women and men go a bit vain about it all but honestly, if that's what you wanna wear then wear it. :-) thing I always noticed about people who lose weight is they lose it but still have a mental stigma towards wearing what they want. If ya know what I mean.
    If I was you I would wear the bikini and do the fecking river dance in front of people outta happiness of losing the weight.
    Whatever you do I honestly hope you enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

Go for it OP! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭pmurphy00

imho put it on and look in the mirror
    if u feel good wear it
    if u feel awkward and shy leave it
    until u feel better in your body..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

pmurphy00 wrote: »
    imho put it on and look in the mirror
    if u feel good wear it
    if u feel awkward and shy leave it
    until u feel better in your body..

I disagree. The OP looking at herself wearing a bikini on a wet dreary day in May in Ireland is not going to instil herself with any confidence in herself.

OP, contrary to what you might think men love curvy women. You recently lost 4 stone so you are not fat any more, you are now curvy, and a lot of women would love to have what you have now.

If the choice is between full body swimsuit and bikini I say bikini every time for 2 reasons. The first being, a fullbody swimsuit, shows off the same amount of your dimensions as a bikini does. Where as a bikini shows off more skin, which is what us guys like to see. Thats why bikinis are considered sexy because they show off more. There was a song a few years ago caled the "Itsy-bitsy teeny-weeny yellow polka dot bikini". No-one ever wrote a song about a one-piece swimsuit.

When you go to get it, make sure you get one with an underwire. Those 36Fs will need some support but should look awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭lorebringer

I think, if you have the confidence for it, then go for it! You'll probably look a million times better than more people wearing them! A size 14-16 is a perfect size to wear one and show off the curves!

You could always buy a bikini bottoms and a selection of tops to go with it, most places sell them as two seperate items and there is usually an ok selection of tops and bottoms (depending on where you go) so you could mix and match. If you were having a not so slim day you could wear a tankini top and if you are feeling slinky you could wear the bikini top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

You're not going to look like a swim suit model but then most people don't look great in swim wear. It shows off everything. Fatter people than you wear bikinis. If you are happy then go for it. A holiday is a time to relax and not to be worrying about anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

OP, you are NOT plus size! (Congratulations on losing all that weight btw!)

I'd say by those measurements you'd look great in any swimsuit as long as it has some good boob support :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

Defo go for it. You could pick up some cute sarongs or a wrap skirt to throw on over it if you are feeling self conscious walking around.

Wear it, definitely.

It's cliché, but how good you look really is dependent on how confident you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Go for it OP! Show off all your hard work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Sarah Bear

oh you guys!! haha i think i will deffo wear it!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

Wear it with pride. Just pick a well fitting on with a underwire top and maybe a 50's style shorts bottom. You will look fantastic.

For the record you are FAR from plus sized.

have a fantastic holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

syklops wrote: »
    I disagree. The OP looking at herself wearing a bikini on a wet dreary day in May in Ireland is not going to instil herself with any confidence in herself.

OP, contrary to what you might think men love curvy women. You recently lost 4 stone so you are not fat any more, you are now curvy, and a lot of women would love to have what you have now.

If the choice is between full body swimsuit and bikini I say bikini every time for 2 reasons. The first being, a fullbody swimsuit, shows off the same amount of your dimensions as a bikini does. Where as a bikini shows off more skin, which is what us guys like to see. Thats why bikinis are considered sexy because they show off more. There was a song a few years ago caled the "Itsy-bitsy teeny-weeny yellow polka dot bikini". No-one ever wrote a song about a one-piece swimsuit.

When you go to get it, make sure you get one with an underwire. Those 36Fs will need some support but should look awesome!

Believe it or not, not all women dress just to please men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Go for it:D

I've lost 5 stone, I have some loose skin on my tummy, I have stretch marks after having my son and I couldn't give a flying swear word:D I'm a curvy 12 and I love the fact that I have a defined waist, full hips, full bum and a half decent bust. I had lost more weight, I dropped down to a size 8 and on me, it was just awful, no curves, didn't suit me.

Wear your bikini and enjoy every minute of your holiday:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Wear it! :D The only accessory you need is confidence ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ladypip

Wear it and fair play to you on our weight loss you must feel great!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

Wear it! Well done on the weight loss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

Go for it! You are not plus size and you sound as if you have great curves so show them off. Good posture, confidence and a little swagger and you'll be fab.

I have big boobs too - look great in a bikini top but one word of advice - go for a top with support. I find my boobs too heavy for halter neck tops and end up with a red ridge around my neck, while strapless ones leave me a bit droopy therefore shortening my waist. Tesco are great for underwired bikini tops that offer support & can be bought by cup size & clothes size around the back.

Happy holidaying!

Picked up a lovely bikini in tescos today.. underwired to in bra size so great supprt.. tried it on and it looks good.. well imho :o asked the OH what he thought... he said i was a ride :P but then he would say that haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Is he said you were a ride and not "oh it'a grand." then your a ride...
    pics please...:D And congrats on the weight loss. As a man I really need to lose some weight....

totally off topic.. but why not try weightwatchers? i never believed i could loose so much weight but i did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ladypip

Sarah Bear wrote: »
    totally off topic.. but why not try weightwatchers? i never believed i could loose so much weight but i did!

Totally agree ive lost 3 stone so far on weight watchers and its much healthier now than it used to be!