Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flared jeans out!!!!And Skinny Jeans in!!!

• 08-05-2011 1:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭

Its come to my understanding that in this country people still wear flared jeans.they look ridiculous,not only to the drag on the ground,they make people look like there living in the 60s.
    And it makes no sense if you by a cool looking pair of trainers why cover them up with flared jeans.

Skinny on the other hand
    - look better
    - fit better
    - and they dont run the risk of dragging on ground

Oh and by the way...shirts tucked into jeans not a good look at all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭compsys

tommmy wrote: »
    Its come to my understanding that in this country people still wear flared jeans.they look ridiculous,not only to the drag on the ground,they make people look like there living in the 60s.
    And it makes no sense if you by a cool looking pair of trainers why cover them up with flared jeans.

Skinny on the other hand
    - look better
    - fit better
    - and they dont run the risk of dragging on ground

Couldn't agree more. But there are alternatives to skinny jeans e.g. straight leg jeans.

A lot of people continue to wear flared jeans because they think the only alternative is super super skinny jeans, which don't always look great on everyone.

A nice pair of dark fitted straight-cut jeans is the best style IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Is that you paul galvin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭tommmy

compsys wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more. But there are alternatives to skinny jeans e.g. straight leg jeans.

A lot of people continue to wear flared jeans because they think the only alternative is super super skinny jeans, which don't always look great on everyone.

A nice pair of dark fitted straight-cut jeans is the best style IMO.

true indeed,straight jeans are a good look too,and slim jeans also.
    slim jeans arent as narrow as skinny but are a good look too.
    But in my opinion i love skinny jeans,and look great with plimsolls or even hi tops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

Are you talking about for guys or girls?

I hate skinny leg jeans on men, only like bootcut.

My wardrobe has a mix of skinny,bootleg and flared jeans and I love them all.
    I don't like wide leg flares which is as you said very 60's but I like tight skinny fit jeans that flare out at the ends.

How boring would it be if everyone had the same style?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

People should wear what they want. Who are you to say they look 'ridiculous'

Skinny jeans suit some people, but not others, so as long as they wear whatever they want in moderation, where's the harm?

Tayla wrote: »
    Are you talking about for guys or girls?

I hate skinny leg jeans on men, only like bootcut.

My wardrobe has a mix of skinny,bootleg and flared jeans and I love them all.
    I don't like wide leg flares which is as you said very 60's but I like tight skinny fit jeans that flare out at the ends.

How boring would it be if everyone had the same style?

sorry my mistake i was originally talking about males.
    But i think as far as the persons bulid is as long as skinny jeans are not super tight they can get away with them.
    skinny/slim are the best in my opinion.
    im not a fan of bootleg becuse of the dragging concern

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

But in my opinion i love skinny jeans,and look great with plimsolls or even hi tops

Not everybody wants to look like a hipster.

Tallon wrote: »
    People should wear what they want. Who are you to say they look 'ridiculous'

Skinny jeans suit some people, but not others, so as long as they wear whatever they want in moderation, where's the harm?

Fair enough thats a good point too.i should have probably stated that skinny/slim/straight jeans are a good look.

With all due respect as far as jeans looking ridiculous i think i can safely say if i see someone wearing flared jeans that have the material dragging on the ground,then that is acceptable to say that looks ridiculous...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Surely im not the only one who doesnt give a ****e what jeans someone else wears , i dont think i have ever actually looked at someone in jeans and thought that looks good or bad .
    search%3Fq%3Ddisco%2Bstu%2Bpants%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26biw%3D1680%26bih%3D946%26tbm%3Disch0%2C114&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=1014&vpy=623&dur=436&hovh=220&hovw=229&tx=150&ty=83&page=1&ndsp=43&ved=1t:429,r:40,s:0&biw=1680&bih=946

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

People should wear jeans that suit their shape, nothing else. If jeans fit and flatter a person's shape, then who cares what style they are?

Fair enough thats a good point too.i should have probably stated that skinny/slim/straight jeans are a good look.

With all due respect as far as jeans looking ridiculous i think i can safely say if i see someone wearing flared jeans that have the material dragging on the ground,then that is acceptable to say that looks ridiculous...
    Ok, are you talking about just these:

46281-166x249-WideLegJeans.jpg

Or Brady bunch ones like these?

7-for-all-mankind-super-flare-jeans-in-ibiza-profile.jpg

In this pic, I think the guys jeans are grand, but the girls are a bit (ughh) That being said, I would never ever have an issue with it, or treat her any different. They're just clothes!

kh5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Blindly following trends is the worst thing you could ever do from a style perspective. I know a bloke who crams himself into skinny jeans because he thinks they're cool. He works out a lot so he looks like the hulk bursting out of his clothes. NOT a good look.

i supose thats true,but if you have an interest in clothes and fashion you tend to care about apperance and type of jeans and styles and fit.

I do... But appearance of myself.

I don't judge others because of theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭E.T.

But if you're interested in styles and fit then surely you'd wear the ones that suit you, and not just wear styles because they're in fashion? I'd look like an overstuffed sausage in a pair of skinny jeans, so I stick to bootcut ones. I love the look of skinny jeans if people have the figure/shape for them, but they look terrible on loads of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Skinny jeans look good on skinny people but then what doesn`t. Skinny jeans don`t flatter everyone with some weight on (like me I`m a size 14). I do wear them but I choose carefully which ones and what to wear with them. My shape is also an issue because my legs are very thin and I need the balance that a bootcut offers to balance my large chest out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

I am a male and i think skinnys are the best fitting jeans you can get but you have to dress with them our it looks funny as hell even my work pants are skinny but i think you have to be skinny to ware them eg i am a 30 34 and they look great on me because you need to know how to where with them

But Flared look funny on people you can add check shirts with that i was out last night every 2nd person looked like that. Just because pennys have them does not mean there in style also do not forget your brown school shoes and white socks

Well my girlfriend loves the way i dress because its not hard to dress well and it does not cost much to get a right fitting jeans and nice tees

all im saying is striaght,skinny and slim are good styles of jeans..

I think that people should leave bootleg...

after all if your jeans are teared at the bottom or are dragging then thats not right either

I like guys jeans that get frayed at the ends.

As I said I hate skinny jeans on men, I think they are so unattractive but if people want to wear them then it doesn't bother me.

These threads come up all the time and people who love skinny jeans (not just you OP, it always comes up in jeans threads) are so against the thought of other people wearing the jeans that they themselves are comfortable in, I have no idea why it bothers other people so much :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

The amount of men I've seen wearing skinny jeans who shouldn't be wearing them...they all end up with the saggy arse effect in their jeans.

Wear what suits - whatever that may be.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Are we talking males or females here? If it's females then you've obviously missed the SS11 70s trend, flare jeans everywhere. Skinny jeans came back big into fashion in 2006, so them being "in" isn't exactly news!

link
    link

If it's men, well I think flared jeans look terrible on men, honestly. Straight leg, and maybe bootleg, are much better options. Skinny jeans can also look great if you've got the body. Men can have muffin tops too :p

Skinny jeans on men

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>. gay forum

RoverJames wrote: »
    Skinny jeans on men

Grow up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Skinny jeans on men

Reported

Why are they gay ? Also have a look at any bands you like they all where them

Well i got with my girlfriend over the way i dress she chated me up because she loves a man you dress like there a rock star eg if you go to the right clubs you fit in a lot more to the crowd thats why i go to indie nights because i hit your kind you thicks whereing shoes is gay or going to a hairdresser to get your haircut is gay

Not everyone cares about 'fitting in' to the crowd.

Apologies to any gay folk that took offence from my comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I love flared jeans on men - not bell-bottoms, but a moderate 70s ish flare. Hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Apologies to any gay folk that took offence from my comment.

It wasn't offensive it was just stupid. I wear skinnies and I get a healthy dose of gee every now and then :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Flares only drag on the ground if they're too long, same as any jeans.

As for skinnies looking better, depends on your shape. My sister-in-law has a beautiful hourglass figure, skinny jeans just make her ass/thighs look bigger and legs shorter. Flares on the other hand balance out her hips and she can wear heels under them, making her legs seem longer.

As for flares looking better on guys... I can't stand the sight of a guy in jeans so tight they look like they're painted on to him :p I'd rather see them in a decent pair of bootcuts (that flatter the backside ;))

qz wrote: »
    ............... and I get a healthy dose of gee every now and then :rolleyes:

Such a gentleman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Better than being a touch homophobic ;)

I'm not at all homophobic, I know many gay chaps. And they all wear skinny jeans.

C'mon lads, back to jeans :)

@the OP, how do you feel about stone washed jeans as a matter of interest? I mean like a proper fitting pair (Skinny-ish)

Skinny jeans on men

hey,

listen i believe it treating threads and people's opinions with respect.

with all due respect i think you should do the same.

Thanks to everyone who posted on this thread...3 pages in is not so bad!!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

RoverJames, please take the time to read the charter and notice that calling clothes "gay" is not allowed. The clothes you wear does not influence your sexuality.

Everyone else, if you have a problem with a post, report it. Do not discuss it in thread. It is dealt with now, so any more mentions of that post in the thread and I'll hand out infractions.

I have yet to see a guy (pardon the expression) pull off a pair of skinny jeans. It doesn't matter how thin you are they do nothing for the male physique whatsoever. Slim jeans on the other hand look great on skinner lads without throwing proportions all over the place.

Whats the difference between skinny and slim jeans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭compsys

all im saying is striaght,skinny and slim are good styles of jeans..

I think that people should leave bootleg...

after all if your jeans are teared at the bottom or are dragging then thats not right either

I agree. There's enough styles to fit all shapes and sizes without having to go into bootleg/flared jeans.

In fairness, this is the favoured style in most other European countries too. It only seems to be us Irish that think bootcut really works :rolleyes:

skinny

skinnyjeans.jpg

slim

Garde-robe2.jpg

All i'm saying is one day you're in skinny jeans, the next you're wearing Orange Ugg boots :D

article13833440be61c830.jpg

Your really limiting your look and what you can buy if thats what you think.

padi89 wrote: »
    Your really limiting your look and what you can buy if thats what you think.

im sorry i dont know what you mean,do you think shirts tucked in is a good look?

compsys wrote: »
    I agree. There's enough styles to fit all shapes and sizes without having to go into bootleg/flared jeans.

In fairness, this is the favoured style in most other European countries too. It only seems to be us Irish that think bootcut really works :rolleyes:

Yes indeed i completely agree with this comment above.
    In most european countries they are so far ahead of us as regards styles in fashion,and i do believe bootleg/flared jeans should be a last plan.

im sorry i dont know what you mean,do you think shirts tucked in is a good look?

It depends on the shirt and what it's worn with. Some shirts are designed to be tucked in. You wouldn't see many folk at a social event like the Punchestown racing festival etc with a shirt hanging out.

Right ok fair enough my mistake,yeah i understand.

For e.g. wearing a suit would require you to have the shirt tucked in.

Im sorry my mistake i didnt specify, i was talking about wearing jeans and a shirt and in that case i would not wear the shirt tucked in but like i said before these are just my opinions...

Yes indeed i completely agree with this comment above.
    In most european countries they are so far ahead of us as regards styles in fashion,and i do believe bootleg/flared jeans should be a last plan.

They are definitely not ahead of us in regards to style and fashion,
    I was in France last year and they were all wearing skinny jeans and it looked horrible, not stylish or fashionable, it doesn't suit a mans body to have these skinny legs and figure hugging trousers.

A lot of men here wear them aswell so how are they ahead of us in terms of fashion?

Both tucked and untucked can look just as good or bad as one another, it goes both ways.

Tayla wrote: »
    They are definitely not ahead of us in regards to style and fashion,
    I was in France last year and they were all wearing skinny jeans and it looked horrible, not stylish or fashionable, it doesn't suit a mans body to have these skinny legs and figure hugging trousers.

A lot of men here wear them aswell so how are they ahead of us in terms of fashion?

Well i disagree respectively of course.
    Now i was i a european city there no so long ago,and they dress sense among both genders was quite impressive.

This is just an example i dont mean to cause any offence,i find in here people in everyday clothing will wear tracksuit bottoms and a jersey of some sort and thats fine i dont have any problems with that but in other european cities.
    What you will find is that everyday clothing over there consists of perhaps skinny/slim jeans a cardi and a tee and even accessories or even a satchel.thats where im coming from when i say european cities are ahead of us.
    And they dont have to be skinny jeans it could be even chinos either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Clothing has taken a nose dive as with everything else since around 2003, I dislike the hipster look in addition to the music and attitude intensely. Personally I prefer flares as they're relaxed and funky. 90s/70s clothes were good precisely because people weren't trying to be cool, they were colourful and baggy (granted some of those styles were wtf but in 10 years time people will look back on hipster style and see it as the abomination that it is). In anycase I imagine skinny jeans are uncomfortable, you're not allowing for any breathing space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 paul2641

The funny thing is Flares are a big thing this season for both men and woman, so maybe get your facts right :rolleyes:.

They aren't for me (that's flares) But still you shouldn't shun them because you think they are out of trend when they actually aren't :D.

I wear slim fit :D.