Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bulgarian training bag

• 08-05-2011 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭

anyone got one or make one? is it any use as a conditioning tool, for someone who is not a combat athlete or is it a gimmick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Remmy wrote: »

I should add that I have never used one before but I might try making one in the next few weeks.The look like a good way to train rotational strength.

+ I love building new gym/exercise gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

im injured at the minute so as i am im doing a lot of readin and ive come across a few new things i want to try, this being one of them. ive been spendin alot of time on rosstraining.com, im still gona go back to SS(to make up for lost strentgh as quickly as possible), then madcow, but i want to include some conditioning/metcons as cardio has long since bored the pants off me!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Rotational strength eh.

Every day's a schoolday I guess.

Rotational strength eh.

Every day's a schoolday I guess.

I dunno if they would be tbh It just looks like a good way to train rotational strength.What do you reckon?You've probablly forgotten more about this kinda stuff than I know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I dunno if they would be tbh It just looks like a good way to train rotational strength.What do you reckon?You've probablly forgotten more about this kinda stuff than I know.

You want anti-extension and anti-rotation :) (ie the ability to resist those forces, not create them)

Hanley wrote: »
    You want anti-extension and anti-rotation :) (ie the ability to resist those forces, not create them)

Ah right thanks for that Hanley.What would be an example of anti extension and anti rotation movements?

Anti extenstion: ab roll outs & planks, basically anything that makes you brace your core in the sagittal/front to back plane

Anti rotation: pallof press, halos, tornado ball swings, woodchoppers etc etc

EDIT: turny-around type movements in that vids are anti-rotation, the swings/slams are anti extension, broadly speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭sharky86

Any ideas where to get an inner tube big enough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Here's one I'm bringing out: Irish Potato Sack Swinging does everything, strength of a culchie, charming good looks of D4 socialite and six pack like a six pack of dutch gold. Its Epic

im gona try motor factors theres a few in my area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

We're spoilt in work, so guess what we have - Bulgarian bags :P

Depending on what you use them for, I guess they can be a good addition to your kit.

I use them as they replicate (somewhat) the power I need to move someone around the judo mat (and break their balance) - of course this is best done with a partner, in a judo jacket - on a judo mat!.. But since I don't have access to all that in work I use the Bulgarian bag, but in conjunction with all the other training I do and not to replace any of it.

Would I buy one - probably not, unless I needed to swing something about the place.

well honestly i was just going to use it for conditioning, in say a circuit or as part of a metcon or a tabata interval, but im going to make it im fooked if im paying for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

I bought one in Feb from here, http://www.buykettlebelldublin.com/products/bulgarian-bags

I got the 17kg one and find it great. So far its held up to a load of abuse. There is a video at the end of that page of yer man using one which shows some of the routine you can use it for. Mostly I use it for squats, good mornings, military press, shoulder press, etc and grip strength for BJJ. I was going to make my own but my DIY skills aren't the best to be honest.

I would highly recommend it. The come with a handy dvd which shows you all the circuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

I bought one last year, but made two this year at a fraction of the cost.

Got the inner tubes from here
    http://www.camskill.co.uk/

zip ties, some tape and play sand from argos and sorted.

Nice for squats, swings, running etc.

BrianjG wrote: »
    Mostly I use it for squats, good mornings, military press, shoulder press, etc and grip strength for BJJ.

Just as an aside, a better suggestion for working on your grip strength for BJJ would be to do chins/pull up's with either a towel or a Judo Gi - I recommend the Judo Gi as the collar and material is thicker and rougher than the BJJ Gi as I can't see how a Bulgarian bag would benefit Gi grip strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

I can't see how a Bulgarian bag would benefit Gi grip strength.

i've found doing the swings (overhead and around the world) to be excellent at building grip strength. the handles are thicker than the Gi obviously but you need a tight grip to stop the thing flying away.

BrianjG wrote: »
    i've found doing the swings (overhead and around the world) to be excellent at building grip strength. the handles are thicker than the Gi obviously but you need a tight grip to stop the thing flying away.

Ok.

Sweet mother of Jesus, just checked out the prices from THIS SITE you'd want to have a hole in your head to pay that kinda money, madness.

Ha! Understatement of the year! Remind me not to use that site

251 for a 22kg bag?? F*ck. My. Life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

I suppose it depends on who is buying it.

If I wanted to get one for SanoVitae, it would be the gym paying for it so it would simply be a matter of demonstrating its worth to the gym e.g. could we use if for something like a Strongman Class, which would either make money directly or inspire people to join our gym.

If I was building a home gym, on the other hand, I'd definitely make one myself. I might give it a go actually!

Hanley wrote: »
    251 for a 22kg bag?? F*ck. My. Life.

Jesus thats crazy alright.Especiallly if you consider the raw materials cost less than about 25 euro.

I'm thinking that making a bulgarian bag might be a good idea, whats to lose I guess.

SanoVitae wrote: »
    I suppose it depends on who is buying it.

If I wanted to get one for SanoVitae, it would be the gym paying for it so it would simply be a matter of demonstrating its worth to the gym e.g. could we use if for something like a Strongman Class, which would either make money directly or inspire people to join our gym.

If I was building a home gym, on the other hand, I'd definitely make one myself. I might give it a go actually!

I agree absolutely, I was thinking more about an individual buying one.

Like I said, we have them in work. Along with power bags, kettlebells and all the usual gym gear - what we do have, and I really have to get around to including them in my training are rings.. Not sure the proper name, but they're rings suspended from the ceiling on nylon ropes/straps.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

They're either just rings or blast straps. Great tool.

I think bulgarian bags look good for variety, like power bags, sandbags etc. but the price is just crazy. It's hard to justify paying out for something like that. Per kilo that makes it about the most expensive piece of kit around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Along with power bags, kettlebells and all the usual gym gear - what we do have, and I really have to get around to including them in my training are rings.. Not sure the proper name, but they're rings suspended from the ceiling on nylon ropes/straps.
    Gymnastic rings
    Solid barstewards of yokes, but wonderful in their own way. :D

They're either just rings or blast straps. Great tool.

Cheers, I tried using them once or twice & felt like I was about to be hung, drawn & quartered :o

Can anyone tell me where to get an inner tube in Ireland? I can not find anywhere that sells them.... I can not find them on the site mentioned above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

Just rechecked camskill, yeah they seem to have disappeared. I guess most tyres are tubeless so the market is limited.

This would do
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/16-INCH-INNER-TUBE-205-215-75-16-CAR-TYRE-VAN-4X4-/320686069577?pt=UK_Cars_Tyres_RL&hash=item4aaa611749

figured id post this seen as i started it

made the bag today, haven't weighed it yet, two cable ties, 16" truck tube and duck tape, will post pics and weight later, had a bit of a mess about with it when i made it, naturally, cant wait to use it and sure ill let yee know how it goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I think I'm going to make one of these and a prowler just as something to do this summer. I'll post up pics if/when I get the time to do it. A combination of the 2 of them would be a tough but fun workout on a sunny day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,895 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

newby.204 wrote: »
    figured id post this seen as i started it

made the bag today, haven't weighed it yet, two cable ties, 16" truck tube and duck tape, will post pics and weight later, had a bit of a mess about with it when i made it, naturally, cant wait to use it and sure ill let yee know how it goes
    Could you post total weight, and rough cost please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Wollwead

jive wrote: »
    I think I'm going to make one of these and a prowler just as something to do this summer. I'll post up pics if/when I get the time to do it. A combination of the 2 of them would be a tough but fun workout on a sunny day
    Let us know how you get on making the prowler buddy, would absolutely love one of those badboys, i have pretty much everything else kettlebell sandbag weighted vest gym rings! The prowler would complete the torture!

Mellor wrote: »
    Could you post total weight, and rough cost please

I have just made a 15kg bag.. Cost in total €12.95
    Argos sand 4 euro and inner tube the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Wollwead wrote: »
    Let us know how you get on making the prowler buddy, would absolutely love one of those badboys, i have pretty much everything else kettlebell sandbag weighted vest gym rings! The prowler would complete the torture!

Will do :) Probably won't get time to research + do it until the end of June/early July. I'll post up pics/advice (i.e. what I did wrong :P) when I get round to it!

sharky86 wrote: »
    I have just made a 15kg bag.. Cost in total €12.95
    Argos sand 4 euro and inner tube the rest

Where'd you pick up the inner tube?