Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

jobs programme

• 06-05-2011 10:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭

just wondering what people think will happen next tuesday in this jobs thing enda kenny is going starting.hopefully it will give people willing to work some hope of a job soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,934 ✭✭✭RichardAnd

There are a few threads already discussing it at the moment. Though we won't know for sure until next week, the rumours flying about are that it contains a hefty amount of unpaid internships and buffed up work placements. I'm not one to engage in cynicism but I don't think many real jobs are going to come of it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

where are they :confused:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The details are in the programme for government.

A reduction of employers PRSI is very welcome, what a stupid tax.

Paying for it by stealing money from private sector employees who have prudently saved for their future is a terrible choice however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭donkey balls

I heard of a rumour that a company operating in my industry are going be looking to take on about 150/200 people either directly or through recruitment agencies,They seemingly are having problems hiring staff due to the salary and T&C been offered there is work out there in certain industries but the salaries are absolute crap for the responsibilty the person would have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭jakdelad

twincamman wrote: »
    just wondering what people think will happen next tuesday in this jobs thing enda kenny is going starting.hopefully it will give people willing to work some hope of a job soon.
    yes the work program
    will be similar to the german model first used in the thirtys
    to build the autobann
    here we will be filling potholes helping farmers save the hay,

cleaning the sh1t out of cuckoo clocks
    leading blind turkeys out to sh1te
    wheeling daylight into dark coners
    helping every town with the tidy towns campaign
    oh i cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

well id fill potholes or whateverneeds to be done.beggers cant be choosers

No they can't but jakdelad was talking about carrying out such works for "free". Would you be so eager to do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

But nor do they have to remain beggars.

dan_d wrote: »
    But nor do they have to remain beggars.
    no one wants to volunteer for nothiing
    does anyone seriously think the hard core dole boys
    will get out and work???
    it will be like the fas schemes
    the decent folk who lost their jobs will be keen to get activly involved
    the real dole cheats will find a way out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭Count Dooku

it will be more about hiding unemployment in subsidized by state programs rather then about real job creation

jakdelad wrote: »
    will get out and work???

Exactly, the one who just want a job, a paid job and not some placement bulls**t, who will be hit by this nonsense. I'll be keeping a close eye on RTE tomorrow afternoon.

will get out and work???

This is true, they will find a way around it.
    I just would like some sort of kickstart for the economy to end the uncertainty so companies might start hiring some people again..

i am sick to death of having to get up every day to work
    for small pay
    while my neighbour who draws the dole his live in girlfriend has 3 kids
    and gets a whack everyweek for herself n kids
    a council house **** all rent they have a medical card
    i shell out 50 euro every time i visit the doc
    then the chemist is waiting to skin me
    oh and yer man has more nixers cash in hand jobs

i often say to myself whos the real gobsh1te here
    it wont get any better the hardcore dole boys will get out of
    whatever the govt trows at them

well i would work for my dole payments .it would mean alot to me to get outta bed in the morning and do a days work.and work as in proper much needed work like road repairs,cutting ditches, NOT that fas thing sweeping STREETS AND PLANTING A FEW FLOWERS.

why does everyone run down street sweepers
    local authority street sweepers are not very well paid
    and they do a very valuable service
    yet everyone looks down on them
    spare a thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Fair play to ya !
    Fair f***ing play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

RichardAnd wrote: »
    I'm not one to engage in cynicism but I don't think many real jobs are going to come of it.

Whereas I am indeed one to engage in cynicism, and I think that this halfbaked idea that started off as a "jobs budget" but has now been, to use a term likely to become increasingly familiar to us - downgraded to a "jobs initiative" will be a hollow affair with little of substance behind it.

The Govt would be happier if about 250,000 people under the age of 30 emigrated and never came back.

why does everyone run down street sweepers
    local authority street sweepers are not very well paid
    and they do a very valuable service
    yet everyone looks down on them
    spare a thought
    im not having a go at street sweepers but there are roads that need major work and lots of other important things that need to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

This is an absolute joke
    1. You cant take a load of cash and give it out to create jobs, reducing Employeers PRSI would be a better initive than raping peoples pension funds.
    2. Raping private pension funds is a disgrace, if you paid into a pension fund for 20 years, have 20 years to go, youre being taxed on a lump sum that a) you never signed up for when paying into, b) this wont just last for 4 years, it will be the usual introduce now and forever
    3. I dont know if its 500 million over 4 years or 500 million per year( please correct me someone? ), either way 60% of that will eventually end up in government coffers from VAT, TAX, PRSI, USC, pensions, also using services means more service employment, so they'll get most of the money back anyway, per person they will save about 20k on the dole per year for that person so in all likely hood its just taking pension funds directly and ending up in government coffers.
    4. Im sick of this tax now and pay up on assets which havnt even been liquidated, like a share scheme you entered 4-5 years ago, now you have to pay huge taxes on it every few months even though you havnt sold the shares, same with the pension, you cant control if its worth 200k or 500k yet youre being taxed on something you have very little access to.
    5. All the crap about throwing money about, hows about getting 20,000 people together to dig up the country and install fibre, or spend it on infrastructure, or something usefull than( and i know its not been published yet ) but incentives to take people off the dole that will end up with small businesses laying people off, going on the dole, rehiring but at a lower cost to the employer.

They could have just increased income takes, where you have some form of control over what you earn, and its as you earn, not being taxes huge sums of money when you potentially have nothing now.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

But didn't you know limmfn? In this country, pension funds are a nice pot of extra cash, to dip into when needed. It's the back-up....allows to mis-manage the rest of the economy, because sure the NPRF is always there to cover any problems there might be. And now they've declared open season on private pensions too....

Is it any wonder that people in this country have so little regard for saving for old age when that's the attitude our Gov display??

Hmm I suppse we'll see that the jobs budget has in store in a few hours. What I will say is that this could be a turning point for this government. When they were elected, they got in on a similar high to Obama. That is to say, so many people were upset with Bush and the saw Omaba as change. However, the guy proved to be all talk and demonstrated that judging on skin colour works both ways ;)

Likewise, back home, FG/Labour got into power on a backlash against FF. They are still in what I would call a "honey-moon" period where they are not in power long enough to have done anything and are still living off the high expectations that people had for them. However, when they were elected, I postulated that unless there was some manner of improvement in the state of affairs within 6 months to a years, the new government would become as unpopulaur as the last one.

And now, we reach something that formed a corner stone of FG's campaign. If this "budget" today does not yeild REAL employment and merely moves people from the dole into some manner of euphemism for unemployment that will allow that 14.6% figure to fall, then it could be the first step towards another election like the one just passed.

Morgan Kelly brought this up in his article over the weekend as he seems to believe that FG's current tenure will be the runation of them. NExt election will be interesting...Paddy Hitler anyone ? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

I heard of a rumour that a company operating in my industry are going be looking to take on about 150/200 people either directly or through recruitment agencies,They seemingly are having problems hiring staff due to the salary and T&C been offered there is work out there in certain industries but the salaries are absolute crap for the responsibilty the person would have.

I had a brief look around recently; applied for a job that I liked and was offered it after an interview. The salary was very competitive but it turned out that the original job description, which noted that the job was a permanent position, was incorrect and the role was actually a fixed term contract amongst other discrepancies.

As others have said, raiding the pensions of any worker is an awful idea and really sends out the wrong message. Once again, people who have acted responsibly are being punished and those who have been wasteful get away untouched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭paddy0090

Cool Choices 2.0.

Expect nothing and you won't be disappointed. I'd prefer cool choices 1.0 as it didn't involve raiding pensions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

i am sick to death of having to get up every day to work
    for small pay
    while my neighbour who draws the dole his live in girlfriend has 3 kids
    and gets a whack everyweek for herself n kids
    a council house **** all rent they have a medical card
    i shell out 50 euro every time i visit the doc
    then the chemist is waiting to skin me
    oh and yer man has more nixers cash in hand jobs

i often say to myself whos the real gobsh1te here
    it wont get any better the hardcore dole boys will get out of
    whatever the govt trows at them

Well then turn them in.
    It is the same as those ads about the insurance scammers.
    They are robbing the rest of us.
    About time in this country people acted to screw those that screw the system be they the well connected or the ones scamming the dole.
    lmimmfn wrote: »
    This is an absolute joke
    1. You cant take a load of cash and give it out to create jobs, reducing Employeers PRSI would be a better initive than raping peoples pension funds.
    2. Raping private pension funds is a disgrace, if you paid into a pension fund for 20 years, have 20 years to go, youre being taxed on a lump sum that a) you never signed up for when paying into, b) this wont just last for 4 years, it will be the usual introduce now and forever
    4. Im sick of this tax now and pay up on assets which havnt even been liquidated, like a share scheme you entered 4-5 years ago, now you have to pay huge taxes on it every few months even though you havnt sold the shares, same with the pension, you cant control if its worth 200k or 500k yet youre being taxed on something you have very little access to.

Great my private pension took a hammering a few years ago thanks to fact our and the worlds banks were run by greedy morons.
    Now the government want to tax it.

That is the other worry that this new tax will be around forever. :mad:

Next thing I can foresee is a tax on savings/assets.
    Or at the very least I can foresee limitations on freedom of removal of funds from Ireland.
    COYW wrote: »
    As others have said, raiding the pensions of any worker is an awful idea and really sends out the wrong message. Once again, people who have acted responsibly are being punished and those who have been wasteful get away untouched.

You know sometimes I reckon I would have been better off to have borrowed millions, bought huge overpriced property, blown it on flash cars and then become unemployed. :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭COYW

jmayo wrote: »
    You know sometimes I reckon I would have been better off to have borrowed millions, bought huge overpriced property, blown it on flash cars and then become unemployed. :rolleyes:

I know the feeling. It really is a very strange country. People are punished and cast as greedy rich ...... for being responsible and planning for their future whilst those who borrowed too much, blew all the cash they had on holidays, drink, etc and never even thought about putting a penny away are now poor old victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭billyboy01

Full time working week for 188€ plus and extra 50€ equals slave labour!

Good luck with that!rolleyes.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

While I don't expect this initiative to succeed, its however still surreal to hear the likes of Micheal Martin and Fianna Fail giving their opinions on the plan - kind of like getting babysitting advice off the McCanns.

billyboy01 wrote: »
    Full time working week for 188€ plus and extra 50€ equals slave labour!

Good luck with that!rolleyes.gif
    The alternative will be freedom for nothing
    EU mission chief proposes phasing out payments to long-term unemployed

The EU will be phased out by us there bosses! The People!

Who is this non person, Istvan Szekely to dictate to people and a country that never heard or elected him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Like the idea of new jobs for road repairs, what do we do with the existing staff in local authorities paid to do this work:rolleyes:

And if road repairs are badly needed why are rates for road tax so low for new cars:eek:

I wonder what their definition of long term unemployed is....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭beeno67

dan_d wrote: »
    I wonder what their definition of long term unemployed is....:confused:

Over 12 months

rodento wrote: »
    Like the idea of new jobs for road repairs, what do we do with the existing staff in local authorities paid to do this work:rolleyes:

And if road repairs are badly needed why are rates for road tax so low for new cars:eek:

Id love to see the state of the roads after a disgruntled Anto or Damo, gets there sledgehammers at them for 188 quid a week, oh plus the 50€ contribution!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

Great laugh watching Aengus O Snodaigh trying to stay awake in the Dail debate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

If the Govt melted down and sold on John Halligans medallion the national debt would be wiped immediately. A whopper. He must wear that out at da disco :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

will vat cuts be passed onto consumers or will the businesses just pocket the cash

billyboy01 wrote: »
    Who is this non person, Istvan Szekely to dictate to people and a country that never heard or elected him!
    The guy who pill pay for state bills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Can someone rename this thread please?

"jobs programme/0.6% private pensions tax"

When you listen to RTÉ, there's barely a mention that this jobs initiative it actually being funded by taxing those private sector workers with a pension

That's our definition.Is that the EU's definition?